BBB Accredited Business since

San Diego Van & Storage Co

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 578-2000 Fax: (858) 578-8165 View Additional Phone Numbers 9320 Miramar Rd, San Diego, CA 92126 http://www.sandiegovan.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers household goods moving and storage.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that San Diego Van & Storage Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for San Diego Van & Storage Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on San Diego Van & Storage Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1960 Business started: 08/01/1960 in CA Business incorporated: 12/14/1961 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 0071943.

Department of Transportation
USDOT C-75 Room 4137, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-2220
The number is 125563.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Elaine McFarland, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Elaine McFarland, Vice President
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Packing & Crating Service Storage Units - Household & Commercial Movers - Office Moving & Storage Company Movers - International Relocation Service

Alternate Business Names
Mayflower Mayflower Worldwide Moving San Diego Mayflower
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 1154 Grand Ave

    San Marcos, CA 92069 (760) 582-5545

  • 120 S 20th St

    San Diego, CA 92113

  • 1426 Fayette St

    El Cajon, CA 92020 (619) 202-1900

  • 1944 Commercial St

    San Diego, CA 92113 (619) 449-2600 (800) 200-6683 (760) 744-4114 (858) 578-2000 (866) 314-7275

  • 9320 Miramar Rd

    San Diego, CA 92126 (858) 432-2777

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (858) 432-2777(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was moved by San Diego Van (********* *******) of 9320 Miramar Road. They moved my home contents less than 2 miles from one house to another in Tierrasanta on December 28,2010. My washing machine was in good working order before the move. During the move, it was damaged, and no longer worked.The move cost me (paid that day to San Diego Van) more than $2200 including packing. San Diego Van stipulated in their contract with me that I was covered for $.50 per pound in insurance for any damages incurred during their moving process. I filed a claim right away with them, and they told me to keep the damaged washer for them to inspect, which I did. Then they sent me a form letter stating that my claim was denied, and that they would not pay my claim (approximately $60 at $.50 per pound).I then had to pay a hauling agent $50 to haul away the broken washer.

Desired Settlement: I feel that they violated their contract (Guarantee) with me, and owe me at least $50 for the haul away, and an additional $60 for the broken washer = $110.

Business Response: July 23, 2012 

BBB of San Diego

Attn: ****** *****
5050 Murphy Canyon Suite 110
San Diego CA 92123 

RE: ID#*******       
B/L# *****    
********* ***

Dear Ms. *****: 

We have received your communication in regards to the above referenced customer. Mr. ******** was moved on 28 December 2010, over eighteen months ago. In early January of 2011, Mr.******** filed a claim in regards to his ten year old washer. He noted on the claim form the washer was“leaking badly". However, in his correspondence to your office he states the washer "no longerworked". In any event, the leaking and/or malfunction of the washer are not a moving carrier liability. Some items,such as washers, pianos, clocks, refrigerators, televisions, and other such articles, are susceptible tomechanical and/or electrical derangement of internal working parts caused by conditions beyond themoving carrier's control. An example of these conditions would be vibrations during transit. In short, some articles, despite being given all proper care during the move, will not function properlyafter delivery. This describes the situation with Mr. ********' ten year old washer. We attempt to address the any concerns our customers might have promptly, thoroughly, andcourteously. Our letter to Mr. ******** was not a form letter, but if Mr. ******** interpreted its contents asimpersonal or cold then we failed in our intent. 


We regret Mr. ******** was disappointed by our letter, and hope that we have better explained our position.


In the interest of good customer relations we are willing to offer. Mr. ******** a check in the amount of $25.00. Please let us know if this will be agreeable to Mr. ********. Thank you for your time in bringing this matter to our attention. 

Sincerely,  ****** *********
Vice President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Please have the business send the check, for ****** ** ******** to my address: ***** ****** ***** *** **** *** ***** ** *****.

Regards,

****** ******** 

6/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wed. March 28, 2012 SD Van&Storage was hired for a local move on Ramona, ca. They sent 3 men who were over an hour late, lost contact for over 2 hours,over charged when they were done, split the right side of the piano, put the boxes in the back of the garage and piled all the furniture in front of it. To the overcharge, they added packing they did not do, picking up an item at another location they did not do and then added an additional charge on top of that. They left the home before I can check to see everything was out at 11pm at night after 2 hours of not being able to contact the leadman. From Thrusday to Sunday (when they had the walkthrough of my old house) it took us 11 more trips to empty the home of items the movers should have completed but didn't. I stopped the check of payment.

Desired Settlement: Complete account overhaul, which has not been done. they want me to pay first and had a representative from A/R call to harrass me after speaking with their supervisor with whom I called to tell that I was not paying them for their services on April 5th at ************ ****. The Men also left all the wrappings and garbage here as well. I refuse to pay them and have to fight to get any results.

Business Response:

May 9,2012

 

BBB of San Diego

***** ****** *****

5050 Murphy Canyon

San Diego CA 92123

 

RE: ID# ******* Complaint by ***** ******** B/L # ***** Move Date ** ***** ****

 

Dear Ms. *****:

 

The only truth in Ms. ********'s story is that we performed a local move in ****** for her. Her claim that the crew was over an hour late is false. We are not a scheduled carrier. We provide customers with an arrival window of within one to two hours. Ms. ******** was advised our crew should arrive between 8:00 and 9:00AM. Ms. ********'s residence was in a very rural area of ******. Our crew did take a wrong turn and still arrived at 9:30AM. When the crew arrived Ms. ******** was not ready to move. She had completed only about 1/3 of the carton packing necessary and requested help from the moving crew. All three men packed cartons for over an hour and a half (a total of 4.5 man hours). It took two full trips to move Ms. ********'s belongings from the old residence to the new residence. After unloading the truck on the first trip the crew took a lunch break of 30 minutes. Ms. ******** was not charged for the time the men ate lunch. The house Ms. ******** was moving into was MUCH smaller than the old house. Ms. ******** directed the crew to put many items into her garage as they unloaded on BOTH trips.

 

The crew drove back to the first residence and loaded the rest of Ms. ********'s belongings, including her plants. It was during this time that Ms. ******** was unable to reach the crew leader as his cell phone was dead. It would not have been difficult to determine his whereabouts as he was back at Ms. ********'s origin residence loading the remainder of her household goods.

 

When the crew arrived at the destination with the second load, Ms. ******** was not there. They began unloading the plants until Ms. ******** arrived and could direct placement of her belongings as they were unloaded. EACH item of furniture, boxes, etc. was brought to the front door of the destination residence in order that Ms. ******** could tell the crew to bring it into the house or take it to the garage. EVERY box and EVERY piece offurniture placed in the garage was put there at Mrs. ********'s request.

 

As to the piano, it was in such poor condition prior to our crew handling it that the crew made a point of bringing the poor condition to the attention of Ms. ********. Ms. ******** was well aware of the considerable pre-existing damage to this item. No new damage occurred during our handling of the piano.

 

Items she stated were "forgotten" at origin were items that she had not carton packed such as loose clothing, bedding, toys, small pictures, etc. These items require carton packing.

 

As to her accusation that the men left wrappings and garbage" ... The crew did not perform any carton unpacking services. They did not generate any "wrappings and garbage". The wrappings and garbage she is referring to could only be her own. A careful review and audit of the moving charges was performed. The charges are accurate and proper.

 

Ms. ******** was provided an estimate of $2292.00. The actual moving charges totaled much less, only $1765.00. Ms. ******** did not issue a stop payment on her personal check. Her check was returned from the bank marked "non-sufficient funds". This indicates Ms. ******** knowingly wrote a check for which she did not have adequate funds in her account. This amounts to "theft of services" a criminal offense.

 

Ms. ******** was not "called and harassed" for her non-payment. An attempt to contact her by telephone was made, a voice message was left regarding her NSF check, and she returned the call.

 

In that phone conversation Ms. ******** was very rude and very condescending in her tone. Although she praised the moving crew very highly during the move and in the phone conversation with the AR representative, she now complains about everything the moving crew did. Her statements and accusations are not only vague and untrue, they are contradictory as well.

 

As a continued courtesy, we will allow Ms. ******** until end of business on Friday 18 May 2012 to provide to us payment in full, in the amount of $1815.00, by cash, cashier's check, or U.S. postal money order. If full payment as described above is not received by end of business on 18 May 2012 we will be pursuing all available legal means of collection. Enclosed is a copy of the invoice dated 13 April 2012 and supporting documents.

 

Thank you for your time in reviewing this information. Please advise if you need any additional information.

 

Sincerely,

Vice President

Cc: ***** ********

Encl: 2

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Most everything in this response is incorrect and the person who is writing this response did not even have sign their name.  1st off, the original estimate was written for $1,667.00, and the movers charged me the $1765.00.  When I called and spoke with their Supervisor ***, he told me I should not have paid the extra money.  However, it was midnight and we were all exhausted at the time and I just paid it.  The orginal estimate included the movers taking an extra trip to "Rancho Santa Teresa" to pick up a dishwasher that they did not have to do after all, so that should have been subtracted from the amount as well (which they did not do).    After further inspection since I last wrote this complaint we also discovered that the movers dropped and broke my expensive wall chimming clock as well as the piano.   The piano, whether old or not is not the questions, the matter is that the movers broke the treble end of my piano and it plays tinny.  I now have to get it fixed as well as broke the upper wood on the corner.   

Movers are never supposed to leave the home until it has been inspected and to make sure that everything has been moved out.  Whether the head guys phone died or not, I was trying to call him for 2 hours to get a fix on when to get over there.  I am alone with 2 kids and we already discussed that they were supposed to call me 1/2 hour before they were ready to leave so I can get back there.  As far as lunch... I bought then lunch and we sat in my back yard and ate it, they were nice men, what does that  have to do with price of corn?  They did not do a very good job and charged me over the quoted figure, knowing i was an easy target at that time.  They piled all the boxes I needed to get at in the back of the garage in back of the furniture, what sense does that make?     All my packing was done before the men got there, with the exception of the clothes hanging in the closets that they supplied the boxes for and charged me , this was arranged ahead of time.  If they would like to take me to court, they can do so, I have the copies of all the original estimates and they can see that I have been overcharged and I have pictures of the way my home was left and statements from the friends who had to take the 12 extra trips to get my home cleaned out.  I have to climb over furniture to get to my underwear and dishes because of the inadequacy of this movers, so I am ready as well to take it to the next step.  I am not ready to pay for this type of treatment and until these people come and fix the mistakes that were made, as well as fix the invoice to adequately state the correct amount, payment will not be rendered.

Regards,

***** ********

 

Business Response:

May 24,2012

 

BBB of San Diego

Attn: ****** *****

5050 Murphy Canyon

San Diego CA 92123

 

RE: 10# ******* ***** ******** B/L#***** Move Date ** ***** ****

 

Dear Ms. *****:

 

In her second communication Ms. ******** is again continuing her habit of complete fabrication. We have no employee, supervisor or otherwise, by the name of "***". Additionally, no one received a phone call from Ms. ******** at "midnight" as she claims, nor did anyone discuss with her "paying extra money". The movers did not drop her piano, or her clock, or anything else for that matter.

 

Ms. ******** had every opportunity to check her residences during the move, just as she had every opportunity to complete the carton packing of her items prior to the crew arriving to perform the move. She elected to do neither, and attempts to blame others for her shortcomings.

 

Her sales representative indicates Ms. ********'s comments about "an extra trip to ****** ***** ****** to pick up a dishwasher" are completely false. No such discussion happened, and no such consideration was included in her estimate. The estimate was for $1667.00 with an additional $625.00 for partial packing if needed for a total of $2292.00. This information was listed on all the paperwork and was signed by Ms. ********. The actual charge for Ms. ********'s was considerably less than the total estimated.

 

Ms. ******** wrote a personal check on an account that did not contain sufficient funds to cover the check. That account still does not have sufficient funds to cover the check. We have received no payment for a move that occurred nearly two months ago.

 

The moving crew that provided services to Ms. ******** have been with us for in excess of twenty years. They have moved community business leaders, military Admirals and Generals, prominent local attorneys, and nearly all of the local museums, as well as many hundreds of happy residential customers, all without complaint. This crew is in very high demand by repeat customers, and Ms. ******** was most fortunate to have them assigned to her move.

 

Based on Ms. ********'s behavior, we must assume she is unable to pay for her move at this time. We will extend to her one final courtesy. If Ms. ******** will pay one half of the charges ($907.50), by cash or cashier's check before end of business on 1 June 2012, and the second half of the charges ($907.50), by cash or cashier's check before end of business on 8 June 2012, we will consider the matter closed. If she fails to agree to this final offer, or fails to meet the requirements, we will send the file to an independent collection agency. Once that occurs we will no longer accept any payment directly from Ms. ********. She will have to remit payment to the collection agency. The collection agency will proceed with suit in superior court if necessary. This will be our final communication regarding this matter.

 

We appreciate your time in reviewing this information.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** *********

Vice President

Consumer Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am writing respectfully to Ms. *********,

Ms. *********,

I understand that writing makes it much easier to condescend and make little of other people, but I mean no disrespect to you.  I may have, in my haste made some mistakes as far as names so let me clear some things up here.  Nothing that I have stated are fabrications, I try to only tell the truth.  1st off you are correct the Supervisors name was not ***, it was ****, **** *****.  I contacted him at the number ************ ****.  The email he told me to write my complaint to him was **********************.  This took place at 1pm on april 5, 2012.  Mr. ***** stated he would forward the paperwork to the downtown office.  2ndly, the extra trip to Rancho Santa Teresa was added in by the "extra services" area on the bill for extra fuel by **** ******** on our first consult at my home.  They were to pick up a Dishwasher at my Fathers home that was to be installed in the new home the following week.  My Father will say so in court as will the sales person from ***** who was there when I made the phone call when **** was present, and if **** is an honest man, so will he unless you from the sound of the way you speak to me, an honest person, coherce him differently.

The original estimate was for $1662.00.  and they charged me 213.00 for the boxes.  Which came out to $1875.  As I explained to **** in the beginning, it was only myself, my 17 yr old daughter and my 12 year old and we did the packing ourselves but I would not be available most of the time throught the move because of my kids and animals and I needed a trustworthy team.    IT WAS MADE CLEAR AND WE HAD AN UNDERSTANDING THAT HE WAS TO CALL ME WHEN HE WAS ABOUT 1/2 COMPLETE WITH THE PACK UP BEFORE HE WAS READY TO LEAVE MY OLD HOME... THAT WAS THE INSTRUCTIONS....  SO I THEN CAN COME TO HIM AND CHECK THINGS OUT.  I CALLED HIM AND CALLED ... IT WAS NOT MY RESPONSIBILITY TO CHARGE HIS PHONE.. THAT IS YOUR WORKERS! TO TAKE THE ORDERS GIVEN AND MAKE SURE HIS MEANS OF COMMUNICATING ARE RELIABLE...  AND YOURS QUITE FRANKLY MAME. 

He was to call me so I can then come back from my home dealing my with children and unpacking and caring for them and check the house and have then follow me back.  It was ridiculous how much time it took them to complete this job. 

For you to turn their incompetence on me shows the integrity of this company.  Now I am attaching pictures and I am CC: my attorney that I have had to hire for situations in my home because of non disclosure. I am very happy now to take this on as well.  People with your attitude, without knowing or  understanding there are good moral people, who do have money but are not willing to hand it over to people who do not hold integrity and work ethics as part of the values as a company should understand that there are people like me willing to fight them.

PS:  If this goes to court, I will seek damages for the clock and piano..

***** ********

Regards,

** *** ********