Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

San Diego Van & Storage Co

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 578-2000 Fax: (858) 578-8165 View Additional Phone Numbers 9320 Miramar Rd, San Diego, CA 92126

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers moving and storage.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that San Diego Van & Storage Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on San Diego Van & Storage Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1960 Business started: 08/01/1960 in CA Business incorporated 12/14/1961 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 0071943.

Department of Transportation
USDOT C-75 Room 4137, Washington DC 20590
Phone Number: (202) 366-2220
The number is 125563.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Elaine McFarland, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Elaine McFarland, Vice President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Packing & Crating Service Storage Units - Household & Commercial Movers - Office Moving & Storage Company Movers - International Relocation Service

Alternate Business Names
San Diego Van & Storage Agent of Mayflower
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 1154 Grand Ave

    San Marcos, CA 92069 (760) 582-5545

  • 120 S 20th St

    San Diego, CA 92113

  • 1426 Fayette St

    El Cajon, CA 92020 (619) 202-1900

  • 1944 Commercial St

    San Diego, CA 92113 (619) 449-2600 (800) 200-6683 (760) 744-4114 (858) 578-2000 (866) 314-7275

  • 9320 Miramar Rd

    San Diego, CA 92126 (858) 432-2777


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good Morning, I usually hate complaining about stuff like this. I do understand that most businesses have a time window for delivery, but we had to go out of our way to actually be there between a certain time and the business could not accommodate with me in regards to date or time. I had to go out of my way to ask my Mother to leave work early to help me out and specified to please be notified an hour in advance before their arrival as she was coming from San Marcos to Fallbrook. This was specified in the notes as well. The employee called ME saying they would be there in 20 minutes and I told them what I had been told by the individual who scheduled the delivery. They were given another call number and given specific instructions on the paper to call an hour in advance. The individual then told me that if no one was home they leave and go to their next stop. I explained to them further the situation and the guy hung up on me. They then called my mother and told her that they would give her extra time, but if she wasn't there in an additional 20 minutes, they could not deliver. Honestly, this is something I will not do again. Like I said, I understand the delivery window, but to call 20 minutes before and then hanging up once I told them that someone was on their way but that they may not get there in time due to the fact that they did not follow instructions is horrible customer service.

Desired Settlement: I really would like a refund on the cost I paid for having this item delivered to a specified room. Horrible customer service and could not follow instructions that were clearly written on paper.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of the complaint filed by the above referenced individual. We are very sorry Ms. ***** found fault with our services.

We provide delivery services to internet furniture/commodity sales venues, such as Nonstop, Wayfair, etc. as part of our customer base. Ms. ***** purchased a dresser from one of these entities and San Diego Van & Storage Company provided the delivery services.

Our customer requires we provide the purchaser with a four hour delivery window on the delivery date, and a phone call twenty to thirty minutes prior to our arrival. Ms. *****'s delivery was scheduled for the window from 12:00PM to 4:00PM. She wanted delivery after four o'clock and a phone call one hour before our arrival. She was advised we would make every effort to honor her request, but that it might not be possible to accommodate her completely.

We perform over one thousand deliveries per month. The trucks are loaded with up to 20 stops with items placed onboard in order of delivery. This is the first complaint received about our delivery Services.

In Ms. *****'s case, phone calls were made to advise of our pending arrival. During one of the calls the cell phone cut out, but our delivery personnel did not hang up on Ms. *****. Our written records indicate S. ***** signed for the delivery to her residence at 4:30PM, after 4:00PM as she originally requested.

We have contacted our contract customer from which Ms. ***** purchased her dresser. They have agreed to refund to Ms. ***** the amount she paid for delivery. We believe this to be a most generous offer on their part.

Again, we are sorry that, despite our best efforts, our services did not meet Ms. *****'s expectations. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.


****** *********

Vice President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


***** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on San Diego Van & Storage Co
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)