Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Priority Moving

Phone: (858) 689-2525 Fax: (858) 689-2385 View Additional Phone Numbers 12270 World Trade Dr #102, San Diego, CA 92128 http://www.prioritymoving.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local and long distance moving and international moving, short and long term storage, freight forwarding and sales of moving supplies.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Priority Moving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Priority Moving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Priority Moving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 19, 2002 Business started: 04/24/2002 in CA Business under new ownership as of: 01/02/2014 Business incorporated 06/02/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 0191182.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Lovejoy, President Mr. Bryan Bloom, Owner/CEO Ms. RaeDeane VanMeter, Vice President Mr. Ira Wren, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Lovejoy, President
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Movers Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Storage Units - Household & Commercial Movers - Office Moving & Storage Company Movers - International Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Relocation Service Travel & Moving Services Freight Forwarding

Service Area
Serving San Diego County
Alternate Business Names
Gold Coast Moving JRL Transportation Inc
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Additional Information

Gold Coast Moving has closed. Priority Moving Inc has purchased the assets of Gold Coast Moving and will continue to serve customers of Gold Coast Moving. 

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 12270 World Trade Dr #102

    San Diego, CA 92128 (858) 689-2525 (858) 869-5913 (800) 970-0455

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Priority Moving subcontracted my move to ******** ******. The Priority Moving Representative was aware of my tall upright piano, but the movers failed to bring an appropriate piano dolly. The dolly that they did use subsequently broke underneath the piano while moving down cement steps. This will require a piano technician to check for damage and to repair if necessary. Secondly, the Representative promised each piece of furniture would be wrapped in blanket, but an antique cedar chest was not wrapped and was subsequently scraped, 1 inch wide, 2 inches down in length on the front of the chest. Thirdly, the Crew Leader convinced me to "sign off' on the final paperwork. I felt uncomfortable stating that I looked in the truck before and after the move because I had not done so as well as sign off on other items. He also overcharged me. A week later I realized that I had several missing items. Their response is that they don't have it and besides, I "signed off" on the final paperwork. I believe that their attitude is that I bought insurance, so I can just file a claim. This is the worst move I have ever made. They did not want to deal with me after the move to attempt to resolve the issues. As far as I'm concerned, I can just file an insurance claim to resolve the issues. Since I did not anticipate these problems, I took a $500 deductible, so an insurance claim is not worthwhile. Their attitude of not wanting to talk to me and make a genuine attempt to resolve the issues, as well as locate the missing items and return them to me is inexcusable. Their customer service is great before the move, but afterward, no one wants to talk with me. I regret that I will need to give them a failing and negative review. I would like to see them locate the missing items, and make an attempt to resolve the issue of the scrape on the cedar chest.

Desired Settlement: Even though I chose a $500 deductible on the insurance claim, I would like to see them return or replace the missing items; offer to repair the antique cedar chest and piano if necessary, if the total is less than $500.

Business Response: We have found resolution on the missing items with Mrs. ***** and we are still currently working directly with her to resolve her issues with damaged items. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have not yet been sent payment for the missing items.  I was originally told that the payment would be received as soon as I sent Ms. ******** a list of items with their replacement costs. After having done so, a payment was not mailed to me.  Because I heard nothing from Priority Moving, I called Ms .********, who then said that she would send payment after I completed the claim form for the damaged items. I plan to fax a Claim form for the damaged items today or tomorrow.  Once payment has been RECEIVED for the missing items, and the issue of the damaged items is RESOLVED, I will accept your response.  Until then, this issue remains unresolved.


Regards,

******** *****



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 


Dear Ms. ****,

I am submitting the following rebuttal to supersede the one I had previously submitted to BBB.

I filed a complaint at BBB on or about 11/13/2015 against Priority Moving,CAL P.U.C. T-191182. I hired Priority Moving to move my personal belongings on October 31, 2015 from my residence to an apartment in the *** ****** ** area.  During this move, there were several items that were suddenly "missing", and there was  significant damage to my piano and furniture. When reporting this to Priority Moving by November 6, 2015 and receiving no resolution, I filed a claim at BBB to state that the matters remain unresolved.  In response, **** ******** from Priority Moving, contacted me to resolve the issues; however, to date they still remain unresolved.

1. The issue of the missing items and the invoice for the Piano:
Piano Invoice: When securing Priority Moving to move my belongings in early October 2015, I told employee ***** ***** that a piano dolly would be needed to move the upright piano. Since he was in my home at that time, he could see that the piano was a tall and heavy instrument, yet the moving crew failed to bring a piano dolly on the date of the move as per my request. As a result, the furniture dolly they used instead, broke under the piano while moving it down 5 cement steps.  After the piano was delivered to my new home, I arranged for a piano technician in the area to check it out to ensure that there was no damage, and to tune the piano since it was jostled around quite a bit due to the drop when the dolly broke. This invoice totaled $150.00.

2. Missing Items: After the moving crew loaded the truck with my belongings, they were to follow me to my new residence. When I turned onto the onramp of the 805 freeway, they failed to turn with me, and instead, continued on down the street! The truck was immediately behind my vehicle so there was no possibility that they did not see my car turn onto the freeway.  When one of the crew members finally called, they advised that they "went to get gas". The office of Priority Moving was approximately 2 miles away from my prior residence, and there were 2 gas stations on the right side of the road when they drove to my apartment in the morning. I wondered why they didn't get gas on the way to my apartment.  At the end of the day when my belongings were delivered to my new residence, I noticed that there appeared to be some "missing items," but since I wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt, I decided to look for them to see if they were somewhere in my new residence before reporting them missing. After having looked for them for 4 or 5 days, and did not find them, I notified Priority Movers, who did little to attempt to resolve this issue. Consequently, I filed the BBB report.   The total replacement value of the "missing items" is $168.32. 

The total of the invoice for the piano and the missing items is $318.32

3. When Ms. ******** contacted me in response to the BBB complaint, I advised her of the missing items and invoice for the piano and requested reimbursement of these items. I had verbally given her the list with some values, but in a subsequent email message received from Ms. ******** on 12/2/2015, she stated, "As soon as you confirm the price for the Wreath let me know andI will have a check processed for you."   I responded to her on12/6/2016with a complete written list of the missing items with their replacement values. It was my understanding that Priority Movers would absorb these expenses outside of a formal claim for damages, and I expected immediate payment. However, payment for these missing items has not been received to date.

4. Damaged furniture: At this time, Ms. ******** requested that I complete a "claim form." I didn't know why this was necessary since it was my understanding that Priority Movers would resolve this issue by sending me a check per her message on12/2/2016.  When I called to ask her about this, she stated that she needed the claim form so she could "wrap it all up together" which included the damaged furniture with the list of missing items and the piano invoice.  I was baffled at this request because it continued to be my understanding that Priority Moving was to send a check for the missing items and the piano invoice regardless of any claim for damaged furniture as soon as I had submitted the list and the invoice. To that date I had not received the payment so since I was trying to cooperate with her, I completed a claim form for the damaged furniture per her request The claim form was submitted to her with photos of the damaged furniture on 12/23/2015.  It became my understanding that she would review the claim form, then send the check for the missing items and the piano invoice, totaling $318.32 as soon as she completed her review.

NOTE: It was always my intention to NOT claim damages to repair the furniture because I did not want to pay the $500 deductible. All I was asking was to be reimbursed for the Missing Items and the Piano Invoice., totaling $318.32.  I did not want to file a claim for the damaged furniture, but I did so because she stated that she could not send the check for reimbursement unless I completed the claim form.  I believed that, since the way that the items went 'missing' was very questionable and unprofessional, and since they disregarded my specific request for a Piano Dolly, I believed that the least that Priority Moving could do was to reimburse me for these items outside of a claim for damaged furniture.

5. By January 28, 2016  I had not heard from Ms. ******** about the results of my claim, so I sent an email message to her requesting the status of the payment of the list of missing items and the piano invoice, and the results of this claim.  She replied that she was busy with other claims and would review my documents soon.  On January 29, 2016, she sent me a calculation of the value of the damaged items at $0.60 per pound.  I immediately called her and let her know that I had insured my items with a $500 deductible.  She recalculated the damages accordingly and responded to me with her results.
 
 
 
 
 
6. On January 29, 2016, she stated that she is going to send her repairman to my home to fix the damaged furniture.  At the end of this email message, she stated, "Once the repairs are completed I will send you a check for the$168.32 for the missing items & $150.00 for the piano repairs. "  I believed that the claim for the damaged furniture was separate from the list of missing items and the piano "repairs" (piano invoice)
 
7. In the same message, she advised that she was going to speak to the repairman and ask him to call me.
--She failed to discuss thepossibilityof repairing the damaged furniture with me. She simply had Mr. *** ***** call to set up an appointment for furniture repair. 
--She failed to advise me of the cost of Mr. *** *****'s services to repair the furniture

--She failed to discuss the $500 deductible and how it would apply to the repair of the furniture

--She failed to advise that she intended to deduct the cost to replace the Missing Items and the Piano Invoice as part of the $500 deductible.

--She didn't call me to discuss this, she didn't "ask" me if I wanted to proceed with the repair of the damaged furniture, she simply stated that this was how she was going to resolve this claim.

Somehow I believed that Priority Movers was sending Mr. *** ***** out to my home to repair my furniture to show that they are doing their best to resolve the issues since I had filed the complaint at the BBB. I truly did not realize that she would apply the $500 deductible. I just didn't think about this issue at all and allowed Mr. *** ***** to come into my home and complete some of the repairs. I was thrilled and was thinking about writing a wonderful review of how Priority Moving resolved this issue to my complete satisfaction; however, things soon went awry and the issues are still unresolved.

 
8. More damaged furniture: Mr. ******** came to my home to repair the damaged furniture per my claim form on Feb 5, 2016. While he was there, I asked him how much he would charge to refinish or repair the bottom of a bedpost which was damaged by apriormove, thinking that I may consider personally paying him to complete damages not caused by Priority Moving. It was at that time that I noticednewdamage which was done to the top of my bedpost, which obviously occurred during the move by Priority Moving.  Mr. ******** took photos and advised me he would seek Ms. ********'s approval to repair these new damages. He said that he would let me know after she gave the approval and we would set a date and time to return to my home to complete the repairs.  After he left my home that day, I carefully went over all of the bedroom furniture to see if there was any more new damage that I didn't notice before and found a few more places, but decided to wait for Mr. *** ***** to come back to repair the bedroom furniture, thinking that we could include these new damages when he arrived in my home for the next appointment.
 
9.  A few days later I contacted Mr. *** ***** and asked him if Ms. ******** had approved the repair of the bedpost and he stated that she had done so. We set a date for him to return to my home on 2/15/2016 based on her approval.
 
10. On 2/13/16 and 2/14/16, I began to think more about this situation, and began to wonder about how the calculations for the damages would be completed.  I suddenly began to wonder if Ms. ******** intended to use the List of Missing Items and the Piano Invoice of $318.32 as part of the $500 deductible, or would she truly send me a check for this total?
 
11. If she sent me a check for the total of $318.32 as promised many times, both verbally and written, I then began to wonder if I would then be required to pay the $500 deductible, which would include Mr. *** *****'s time for completing the repairs.   To reiterate: I had not intended to file a claim for the damaged furniture because I did not wish to pay a $500 deductible.  I would just take care of these damages later; but all of this suddenly got out of hand when Ms. ******** announced that she was sending the repairman without discussion of how she intended to calculate all of this.
 
12. I contacted Mr. *** ***** on 2/14/2016 and cancelled the appointment on 2/15/216. On the morning of 2/15/2016, I called Ms. ******** and left a message on her voice mail letting her know that I had several questions about all of this and wanted to discuss this with her. That afternoon she returned my call; however, I was unavailable and did not speak to her.
 
13. In the afternoon of 2/15/2016, I received an email message from Ms. ******** advising that she is closing the claim. Her calculations included the cost of the Missing Items and the Piano Invoice as  the first $318.32 of the $500 deductible.  She then calculated a cost of $300 to repair the damages to the outside of the piano which Mr. *** ***** was unable to repair. All of the damaged items that Mr. ******** repaired were not listed with a $ amount, but were simply listed as "Repaired.".  The result was that her calculations show that Priority Moving now owes me $118.32. She did NOT include any repairs to the bedroom furniture, which Mr. ******** had verbally verified that Ms. ******** approved for repair.
 
14. I was dismayed at this message stating that she is closing the claim with this calculation. I told her I would like to discuss this with her before moving forward. On 2/16/2016, she sent a new message advising me that there will no longer be any "appeals" over the phone, but they must all be in writing.  She requested that I accept her calculations to close the claim, the results of which would be a check sent to me in the amount of $118.32.
 
15. As a result of this "attempt" to resolve these issues,  I definitely feel deceived, manipulated, and tricked into a "bait and switch" situation. There were many verbal and written promises to send me a check for the List of Missing Items and the Piano Invoice, totaling $318.32; however, in the final calculations that Ms. ******** sent to me in her email message of 2/15/2016, she did not intend to send this check. Instead, she included it into the $500 deductible.
 
16. As noted above, Ms. ******** failed to explain the process to me of filing this claim form for damaged furniture. I had intended only to request reimbursement of the $318.32, and NOT to file a claim for the damaged furniture, yet Ms. ******** demanded that I submit a claim form anyway before sending me the check for $318.32.
 
17. In filing the claim form, I found myself in a new situation where the $500 deductible would apply and I had not verbally agreed to accept this. She failed to ask me to agree, she failed to advise me of the cost of Mr. ********'s services for repairs, she failed to advise that she intended to include the $318.32 in the $500 deductible.
 
18. Lastly, she failed to include the cost of the repairs of the damaged bedroom furniture after she had approved its repair, per Mr. *** *****.
 
19.0 Since I was gradually brought into this bait and switch situation, I am requesting the following:
--Immediate reimbursement of the List of Missing Items and the Piano Invoice, Totaling $318.32
--A Waive of the $500 deductible on the claim form
--A Waive of the cost of Mr. ********'s furniture repairs
 
--If the $318.32 is sent immediately, and Ms. ******** advises that she will close the claim without seeking reimbursement from me for the cost of Mr. *** *****'s repairs, and without seeking $500 deductible, then I would agree to close the claim even though the damage to the bedroom furniture and to the outside of the piano would not be included.
 
Documents, including copies of email messages to and from Ms. ******** will be furnished upon request.
 
Sincerely,
 
******** *****
 
 

Business Response: again... this customer did NOT hire Priority Moving. We were hired by the building she lives in and many of her complaints are because of the way THEY set up the project. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This does not appear to be a response to my particular complaint. I believe that Priority Moving has me mixed up with someone else.

I would like to add to my complaint to state that there has been significant damage to the bedroom furniture. The mirror was attached to the dresser upside down. The dresser has a bad scrape on the left side.  The headboard is scraped on the 2 bedposts which are attached, and the piece between the 2 bedposts. The bedposts attached to the footboard are badly scraped. There are also nicks and scrapes on the rails of the bed, the dresser, the chest of drawers, and the nightstand. There is also a scrape on the oak bookcase.  This should also be included in the complaint,


Regards,

******** *****



Business Response:

We settled her claim already and I can proved a copy of the signed claim form from her.

 ***** *******

President
Priority Moving

************ (mobile)
************ (office main)
************ (fax)
www.PriorityMoving.com
CAL P.U.C. T-191182
http://www.prioritymoving.com/images/logo-for-signature-long.png
Follow us on Facebook


Consumer Response:

In response to Priority Moving, my claim has NOT been settled and I have NOT signed any forms. 

 

I continue to believe that i am being confused with another client. 

 

Please continue with the next step in this process as my claim has not been settled. 

 

Thank you

 

******** *****


Business Response: my claims manager informed me that she never sent her settlement form back to us. we are in small claims court with her today so the matter will be settled by end of day. we can send anything we need to after the fact. 

Business Response: my claims manager has three big claims going on and confused them. this one IS NOT in small claims. however, we sent a claim settlement form and this customer has not responded since. obviously she does not like our settlement. on the last response i attached our file on her claim so you can see that everything is in order ad we offered to settle according to PUC regulations. we are still waiting on a response from her since we sent our offer. 

4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We believe that Priority Moving and Storage; also dba JRL Moving and Gold Coast Moving, may be using "illegal day laborers" and misrepresenting them as trained employees and/or independent contractors. The use of this moving company resulted in damages to more than 75 personal household items and property damage to our home; the workers were blatantly untrained.The head of Priority's claim department threatened to find more charges she could accrue to our contract if we did not pay the full amount on our contract, despite our legitimate complaints. A personal visit from the Director of Quality control to view the damages caused by their packing and moving crews, was apologetic, but still required filing a claim, and 7 months to get partial reimbursement for our damages, despite taking out a Full Replacement Value Policy. Priority Movings' website quotes a "A+ rating from the BBB". We believe Priority's new ownership (JRL) has resulted in the poorest, most egregious, and possibly illegal packing/moving services, that should not be inflicted on anyone in the name of profit. Being an active duty military family (paying independently for a non-military move), makes this assault even more despicable to anyone considering using their services.Moving is difficult enough; being a military family has enough challenges; being "assaulted" by a moving company should not be allowed to go without repercussions. The removal of their BBB rating and this complaint is a start towards justice.

Desired Settlement:

Removal of the BBB's A+ rating, and warning to consumers is the best outcome. If it is found that illegal practices were used, then the appropriate financial sanctions and/or legal recourse.

We would like the following resolution with regards to our claim against Priority Moving & Storage:
A refund + Other, specifically


1) Refund of the monies paid for packing and moving services provided by untrained workers; and in breach of contract signed for White Glove Packing  services
2) The inclusion of the two dbas on their website, Gold Coast Moving and JRL Moving
3) The removal of A+ BBB rating


In addition we would like Priority to note on their website that they have new ownership as of 2014, and all the awards and certifications they received were prior to the 2014.  This seems like deceptive advertising policies, resulting in deception to the public.

Consumer Response:

We would like the following resolution with regards to our claim against Priority Moving & Storage:
A refund + Other, specifically

1) Refund of the monies paid for packing and moving services provided by untrained workers; and in breach of contract signed for White Glove Packing  services
2) The inclusion of the two dbas on their website, Gold Coast Moving and JRL Moving
3) The removal of A+ BBB rating

In addition we would like Priority to note on their website that they have new ownership as of 2014, and all the awards and certifications they received were prior to the 2014.  This seems like deceptive advertising policies, resulting in deception to the public.

 

Business Response: JRL Transportation DBA Priority Moving does not EVER use day laborers illegally. Before anyone is allowed to work in the field our protocol makes sure their background has been run and they are also drug tested. Workers in the field are not direct employees of JRL Transportation, we DO use contractors who are incorporated and have their own PUC license. These contractors have dedicated crews who only work for us and they are trained in paperwork, packing and moving before we let them work in the field. If needed, we can provide any information on anyone in the home at any time and we do not tale these accusations lightly. This customer's claim has been settled, we have also settled all of her complaints with the PUC as well. It would appear they would like one last dig at us. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The following is my response to Priority Moving’s response.  

In response to JRL/Priority Moving/Gold Coast Movings' response to our claim against them, they offered, in writing, to provide “any information on anyone in the home at anytime”.  We are therefore requesting, through the BBB investigation process, that they provide the following:
1) The names of the 7-8 men that were hired to perform our packing on 7/25/15, under the direction of packing manager **** *****; 
2) The name of company that was contracted to supply the men for this job and that associated PUC number; 
3) Evidence of the training this crew received in paperwork & packing, in addition to confirmation that these men were drug tested and background checked as claimed in their written response and on their website.

Following the official CPUC determination of January 20, 2016, outlining many violations including an “illegal 5% consumable fee”, and other overcharges for loading time that we experienced, in addition to thousands of dollars in damages from what we suspect was due to an untrained packing crew, we are not trying to “get one last dig” at JRL/Priority/Gold Coast moving.  We are just following through on all possible avenues of retribution & justice for all consumers that have been overcharged and underwent property damages due to untrained, independently contracted packing crews.

We hope that the BBBs’ Practice Analyst, who is reviewing the CPUCs’ findings, will revoke Priority’s BBB A+ status. secondary to these documented violations of business standards and ethics.


Regards,

****** ********



Consumer Response:

In addition to the information requested about the packing crew that was sent to our home, we would like proof that the names/company you are providing were those that were sub-contracted for our specific move on 7/25/15. 

Respectfully,

****** ********

Business Response:

Yes, we provided local moving services for Ms. ******** in July 2015. Unfortunately, the level of service provided was not up to our normal standard. The shipper was very specific in how she wanted things handled, and the entire move was a little over whelming. We sent our Director of Quality Control out to the job to try and get a grip on the escalated situation. It was very obvious that no matter what we did, or the crews did, that she was not going to be happy. At one point, Ms. ******** slapped our Director of QC.

At the end of the day, Ms. ******** refused to pay for the packing services that we provided.  It wasn't until later, during the claims settlement process, that Mrs. ******** paid her moving costs in full. After payment in full was provided, we moved forward with the claims settlement process, per the CA PUC Guidelines. Due to the dollar amount being claimed by the ******** for damages, we turned the claim over to our insurance carrier for resolution and settlement.

I have attached a copy of the claim settlement for your review. Mrs. ******** was not pleased with moving services or the claim settlement process, so she also took her complaint to the CA PUC.

We were contacted by the PUC, they researched the complaint and asked that we issue a refund to the shipper for $452.00. I have attached the letter so you can see the detailed explanation.

Yes, we utilize licensed Independent Contractors to perform moving services. As do most moving companies in California. It is our company policy to perform back ground checks on all labors, packers, and movers. We also utilize training certification programs through Industry Associations, as well as on the job training. We did not misrepresent ourselves with regards to "trained employees / independent contractors."

Mrs. ******** retained an attorney on this already. Our attorney was also involved. The CA PUC has been involved. The CMSA and AMSA have been contacted, along with ***** *** *****. I believe it is her intent to discredit us however she can. She is all over social media sites as well, with her complaints and allegations.

Mrs. ******** is just not pleased with the entire situation. We have refunded monies, at the request of the CA PUC, and her claim for damages was settled by our insurance company. Just not sure what else we can do.

Respectfully,

******** ********

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


The most recent response by Ms. ******** ********, the VP of Sales and Development for JRL Moving, dba Priority Moving & Storage, failed to addressed any of the requests for information regarding the name of the independent contractors/company used; their PUC license #; or training history of the packing crew which was sub-contacted by JRL on 7/25/15, which resulted in approx $20,000 worth of damages.  Because of the extent of the damages, we can only assume, unless proven otherwise, that these men were untrained, and possibly illegal immigrants.  

We cannot control who JRL decides to send out for packing and moving, unless, through legal discovery, JRL will be compelled to provide that information.

In addition, Ms. ******** asks what else JRL, dba Priority Moving "can do" other than having provided a refund for their illegal overcharges, and a settlement from their insurance company, which required 7 months and a "pay out amount" less than the amount of the damages for repair/replacement.  

So that it is clear to JRL, I will continue to inform all agencies; including the BBB; the CPUC; the CMSA; the AMSA; SD District Attorney's Office; SD City Attorney's Office; the Channel 10 news; all negative Priority **** reviewers; NAPO; SD Real Estate Agents; and all past, present, and future JRL/Priority customers, about the overcharges fraudulently perpetrated by this company, and hopefully obtain an audit their customer contracts since this company underwent new ownership, by ***** *******.  I will work to insure that JRL is in compliance with CPUC's notification of corrections needed to be taken to their website & contracts that rightly state their dba; and to investigate whether or not their have ceased and desisted in their "consumable fee" illegal charge; and other overcharges that can only be determined through scrutinizing of their customer contracts by a forensic accountant, and possible IRS and/or other criminal investigation.

My attempts to protect other consumers from this company will allow for "something good" to result from a reprehensible experience.












Regards,

****** ********



11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent in a claim form for my stolen speaker to this company! This is my note/email sent to them regarding my Hardon/Kardon $450.00 wireless speaker. And this company did absolutely NOTHING to resolve the issue, just looked at the contract telling me there was no exception written for missing item written on paperwork....huh!Here is my claim form and pics of the missing item. I hope we can rectify this problem as I did not plan to be a victim of theft after paying your company/movers a large fee for providing an Honest service. I look forward to working with you soon! Thank you! My response from the company!Lacking evidence to support any mishandling on our part or on the part of our personnel, we are unable to offer compensation. As a courtesy to you, we spoke to our personnel but have been unable to come up with anything more than what the paperwork reflects and supports. Based on the confirmation of delivery by our crew, absence of any notations at the time of delivery and the lack of evidence to substantiate loss, we find that we are unable to offer any compensation. We must respectfully deny liability and ask for your understanding in this matterRegards,**** ******** Claims ManagerJRL Transportation Inc dba Priority Moving 858.689***** (office main) EXT.*** 858.689.**** (fax)****************************www.PriorityMoving.com CAL P.U.C. T-191182Description: Description: http://www.prioritymoving.com/images/logo-for-****************** Follow us on ********

Desired Settlement: A proper settlement for my stolen item. Either some type of compensation or bill adjustment. Thank you.

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales and estimate person ****** visited the home and provided bid and service estimate in the home. He was specifically asked re: moving the big scree TV. We were advised we must remove the TV from the wall mounting, so his crew could place the TV in a special shipping box. We declined additional insurance on the shipment because we were promised appropriate professional packaging. Our move appt was missed by Priority Moving and they admitted a scheduling error, coming the day following the originally scheduled day. ****** was absent due to this scheduling error and was on another move and unable to supervise his crew. When we arrived at our new home I found the 55" TV with a blanket on the back, and a piece of standard cardboard taped to the front of the screen...needless to say I was surprised, as we had been promised a special purpose built box to protect the 3,000 dollar TV. When we finally connected to the cable and was able to turn the TV on about two weeks after our move, we were disappointed to see pixalation flaws and stripes accross the lower right corner of the screen,creating vertical stripes the right lateral border 6 inches wide. Looking at the screen it appeared there had been a compression injury to the right lower screen, causing the defect. We have spoken with ****** twice, emailed back and forth at least twice, and dealt with **** ******** in claims. We have offered to settle for replacement value (600.00) and have been offered instead a 60 cents a pound settlement, because we did not purchase extended coverage. I feel we have suffered loss due to breech of contract, as we were not provided the protective packaging we were promised. ******'s response: "Sorry, but why didn't you supervise the moving crew." My wife was scrambling to perform the delayed final clean up of the residence, as we were contracturally obligated to be out of the house the day before. She trusted the professionals to do their job.

Desired Settlement: Existing replacement value, about 600.00

Business Response:  I have read the complaint. I would like to first and foremost apologize to Mr. & Mrs. **** for the error in scheduling.  It is true that there was an error on the part of Priority Moving in regards to the moving date. We are sincerely sorry for the error and expressed so to the ****s, We offered to get a truck and crew out the same day to take care of the move but Mrs. **** said the next day would be fine because her house was still under construction. We also offered a discounted rate as to show we are sincerely sorry, which they accepted.  When we arrived to perform the move her destination home was still under construction and she asked that we store everything in the garage as the home was not ready.  We let them borrow over 50 moving pads that our crews wrapped the furniture in  to keep her belongings protected while in her garage. Priority Moving did not charge the ****s any rental fees for use of the moving pads as to show them we do care and were sorry for the error in moving dates.  We offered to come back and move her belongings into her home  but they opted to move them back in on their own. In regards to the Television we do offer packing services however the ****s elected not to use our service. As you can see from the attached paperwork it shows the T.V. as P.B.O (Packed by owner) the customer reviewed and signed the paperwork to that affect as well and clearly has no charges for packing services.  The ****s moved the belongings into their house not Priority Moving so it is possible that the T.V. could have been damaged by who ever moved it into their home from their garage. Our estimator offered additional coverage which the ****s declined. Although we are professional, experienced movers we take all of the steps to protect belongings however we are human and occasionally damage may occur thus the reason we offer additional coverage. Upon review of the ****s claim our claims department offered to settle the claim for the television at the basic valuation protection which the ****s chose and signed for of .60 cents per pound per article which is offered free of charge per the Public Utilities Commission.  Please see attached documents showing this.  Priority Moving made every effort to make good on our error and are truly sorry to hear that they ****s were not satisfied with the settlement offered to them. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I will respond to the statements in this response since many of them relate to me.  
1. On the appointed day - I called Priority moving because no one had shown up and it was after 10am.  The informed me that they did not even have me in the system and would not be able to come out that day but "would the next day work”?  I didn’t really have a choice - I said “yes, that would work.”  I was later called and told that I had done everything correct and it was a glitch in their system.
2.They did give me a discounted rate as a concession for their error.  Yes, it gave me another day to get things ready but several things had to wait  until after the move was done. This inconvenienced the buyer of our previous home and I was literally still cleaning when they were moving in and having utilities turned on due to the one day delay.
3. The home was not “under construction”  We were having new flooring put in and felt it would be easier to have things placed in the garage and outside.  They offered the pads - I did not ask - and the movers were a little concerned that the supervisor would not be pleased with it.  
4. We elected not to have them move the items back in because I did not want to pay the additional cost and felt we could handle it on our own. I removed the pads and called as soon as our flooring was done.
5. As indicated on the original contract  - we had two TVs.  Both HD 55” one in the “loft” which was PBO (this one was gone before they arrived) and one in the “Living Room” which was contracted to be packed and moved by Priority. It was sitting on the floor in a stand in the Living Room. This is our major bone of contention.  Victor, the sales rep, assured me that it would be professionally packed in a TV box.  We had quite a discussion about this.  He offered to come down and help my husband take it off the wall.  We did that ourselves.  
6. Our move was 7 miles away.  I packed all of our breakables myself (none broke). I took all of our computers in my car and any other breakable valuables.  Truly the only concern was the TV - we did not feel the additional insurance would be necessary.  Had Priority followed through on their promise to properly pack the TV, we would not be having this discussion.
7.  We are not asking for a full reimbursement but more than $60.  The TV, when purchased was about $1800 and one of the best at that time.  Obviously technology has improved and prices have come down.  The TV was still in excellent working condition - a new TV of comparable quality can now be purchased for $600-1000. We are requesting $300 based on the reality that Priority Moving did not fulfill their contractual obligations as outlined on the contract.  The did not properly pack the TV which resulted in it breaking. They have not made “every effort to make good”  they have, in essence, denied their own culpability and negligent business practices and misrepresented the contract. How is this good business?
Please let me know if you have any other questions.
Thank you,
***** ****

***********@gmail.com

Regards,

****** And ******* ****



Business Response: I have reviewed the response from Mr.& Mrs. ****. While it is true that we offered the next day, our dispatchers did let them know we could do the move on the scheduled day but it would be a couple of hours to get the crew out there. Mrs. **** said the next day would work better. As stated in the previous statement we did discount our rate to make up for the inconvenience. Now to the matter at hand of the television. As you can see from the attachment I am sending that on the first page the customer signed for the valuation coverage of .60 cents per pound per article, the selected that coverage. On the 2nd page you can see that there were no charges for packing a T.V. nor any notes to do so and they signed confirming the information was correct prior to the move date.3rd page attached is our customer scorecard that Mrs. **** filled out, it is clearly marked she inspected for damages and under listed damages she put zero. Pages 4 & 5 are the offer we sent her based on the coverage Mrs. **** elected and signed for of .60 cents per pound per article and we offered a settlement based on the coverage she elected.

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Priority Moving did a terrible job. They ran out of garment boxes after one bedroom. They said they’d call for more boxes but none showed up. We ended up putting all our clothes in garbage bags for the sake of expedience as we had strict timelines to. Then they ran out of blankets to cover everything from furniture to art piecesI insisted at this point that they should call for additional help and was told they’d keep an eye on it and call if necessary.. I asked the lead again to call for assistance as we weren’t going to make the deadline and again he assured me there are no issues. Long story short, at six I asked that the remaining furniture remain on the truck, placed in storage, and the move completed the next day. The lead called his supervisor and apparently was told not going to happen as they needed to complete the move this day and it would only take another hour. I contacted the association and was told we had one more hour. The move wasn't completed until 11:00 p.m. that evening The lead complained that their estimators got this move very wrong and admitted they were not only shorthanded but low on supplies.. A number of art pieces that we were assured were separated and packed separately were seriously damaged along with a number of pieces of furniture that we now know can’t be repaired. On top of all that, the movers damaged doors and the hallway requiring $800 in repairs. We were quite confident that Priority would make all this right by either repairing or replacing the damaged items as we’ve used them before and they were quite good. Much to our dismay, Priority Moving’s customer service team is beyond incompetent. I left many messages for Lori Wivart, their general manager, that were largely unreturned. Two months and a frustrating and agonizing process of trying to communicate and find a solution to our issues and we keep getting the same delays and frustration from Lori and her team.

Desired Settlement: Some sort of financial resolution that will account for the damages to our furniture and other items.

Business Response:

I have read the complaint and would like to first apologize to Mr. **** for any inconvenience and damage that occurred on his move. We perform thousands of moves each year without incident but unfortunately we are not perfect and occasionally damage happens. Mr. ****'s move was performed on May 22, 2014. On May 23rd I received a message from Mr. **** with concerns regarding damage on his move, I called back and left him a message. Once we connected a claim form was sent to Mr. **** and we started the claim process.. Mr. **** claims a lack of communication however we have several times. Mr. **** signed for the basic valuation protection of .60cents per pound per article that we offer free of charge as per the Public Utilities Commission. The option to purchase additional coverage was offered to Mr. **** but he opted for the basic coverage at no additional charge. Upon review of Mr. ****s claim we sent him an offer letter to settle his claim based on the coverage he elected. Mr. **** was not satisfied with the offer and emailed us "see you in court". I passed this along to our insurance company who also spoke with Mr. **** and he was not satisfied with their outcome either. We have made several efforts to resolve this issue reasonably with no avail. Attached you will find the documentation showing our efforts as our offer  per P.U.C. regulations and the coverage that Mr. **** opted for. We value Mr. ****s business and hope to find resolution to close this matter. Thank you for your assistance. Should you have any further questions please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

**** ******

*************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

After multiple communications with **** ****** and Priority Moving's claims department, in addition to a BBB complaint, it has become clear that we can't a find a resolution to the damages related to our move. Additionally, a call to James Lovejoy, the owner of Priority Moving left over two weeks ago to try to resolve this matter has gone unanswered.Therefore, I've filed a lawsuit against Priority moving for the damages initially outlined in our first claim. Thank you for your effort to try to resolve this matter. 

Regards,

**** ****

12/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i hired this company and paid a premium price for their service under the assumption that they would send a quality moving crew to move my furniture and belongings. They sent a very young, unprofessional crew that failed to secure our belongings in the back of their truck and proceeded to completely damage an expensive headboard and mar our dresser. They took twice as long as any normal moving company would take and I believe this is because they had no other jobs that day. They charge hourly and dragged out the clock to charge us twice as much as it should have been. We paid $134/hour for a three man crew that took 7 hours to move the contents of a small apartment and storage unit 8 miles. It was an absolutely ridiculous amount of time and the damage to our furniture is of no concern to them. If they are licensed or bonded this should be revoked.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least half of the moving charges refunded to our credit card. This will not cover the damage incurred but it would at least be a reasonable charge for the actual move.

Business Response: This customer stated that the move took twice as long as it should. The move took 7 hours and 10 minutes and it entailed picking up from 2 different locations (each a second story) and then delivering to a 3 story town house. CA requires us to double the drive time between each location and allows us to establish a minimum drive time. Our minimum drive is 15 minutes, which doubled is 30 minutes of billable time. Therefore, the drive from the first pickup to the second and then to the drop off accounts for 1 hour of the billable time alone. In order to get the job done in “half the time”, as the customer asserts, we should have would mean we would only have 2 hours & 30 minutes to protect and load her possessions from 2 locations and then unload her furniture. Furthermore, if the customer had a problem with the time they can bring it up at any time during the move. We provide direct contact phone numbers for the office as well as a text number that goes to all the senior managers 24 hours / day. In this case the customer signed the paperwork indicating they were satisfied. Regarding her assertion that we did not send a professional crew, that is simply ludicrous. All of our movers attends 60 hours / year of formal training in all aspects of moving. This training is documented in their personnel files. This is more than is usual or customary in the industry. Regarding the damage, it is an unfortunate reality that damage can occur during a move. Whereas we do train our people to minimize the loss, it can happen. That is why the state limits our basic liability to $0.60/lb but requires us to offer, for a minimal charge, full replacement coverage. In her case, it would have cost her no more than an extra $50 and her damage would have been repaired or replaced. The customer was offered this additional protection when she booked the move on the telephone and then again when the movers had her sign the Agreement for Moving Services prior to the commencement of the move. She elected to forgo the additional coverage on both occasions. Additionally, she has not followed up and actually opened a claim with us (again as required by CA law). This would allow us to process her claim and provide some recompense. I am attaching a copy of the paperwork so you can see where they elected the basic liability coverage ($0.60/lb.) and signed off on the time.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Priority Moving
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart