Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Priority Moving

Phone: (858) 689-2525 Fax: (858) 689-2385 View Additional Phone Numbers 9755 Distribution Ave #A, San Diego, CA 92121 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.prioritymoving.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local and long distance moving and international moving, short and long term storage, freight forwarding and sales of moving supplies.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Priority Moving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Priority Moving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Priority Moving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 19, 2002 Business started: 04/24/2002 in CA Business under new ownership as of: 01/02/2014 Business incorporated 06/02/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 0191182.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Lovejoy, President Mr. Bryan Bloom, Owner/CEO Ms. Lori Wivart, Director of Customer Service and Sales Mr. Ira Wren, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Lovejoy, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Lori Wivart, Director of Customer Service and Sales
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Movers Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Storage Units - Household & Commercial Movers - Office Moving & Storage Company Movers - International Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Relocation Service Travel & Moving Services Freight Forwarding

Service Area
Serving San Diego County
Alternate Business Names
Gold Coast Moving JRL Transportation Inc
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Additional Information

Gold Coast Moving has closed. Priority Moving Inc has purchased the assets of Gold Coast Moving and will continue to serve customers of Gold Coast Moving. 

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 9755 Distribution Ave #A

    San Diego, CA 92121 (858) 689-2525

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales and estimate person ****** visited the home and provided bid and service estimate in the home. He was specifically asked re: moving the big scree TV. We were advised we must remove the TV from the wall mounting, so his crew could place the TV in a special shipping box. We declined additional insurance on the shipment because we were promised appropriate professional packaging. Our move appt was missed by Priority Moving and they admitted a scheduling error, coming the day following the originally scheduled day. ****** was absent due to this scheduling error and was on another move and unable to supervise his crew. When we arrived at our new home I found the 55" TV with a blanket on the back, and a piece of standard cardboard taped to the front of the screen...needless to say I was surprised, as we had been promised a special purpose built box to protect the 3,000 dollar TV. When we finally connected to the cable and was able to turn the TV on about two weeks after our move, we were disappointed to see pixalation flaws and stripes accross the lower right corner of the screen,creating vertical stripes the right lateral border 6 inches wide. Looking at the screen it appeared there had been a compression injury to the right lower screen, causing the defect. We have spoken with ****** twice, emailed back and forth at least twice, and dealt with **** ******** in claims. We have offered to settle for replacement value (600.00) and have been offered instead a 60 cents a pound settlement, because we did not purchase extended coverage. I feel we have suffered loss due to breech of contract, as we were not provided the protective packaging we were promised. ******'s response: "Sorry, but why didn't you supervise the moving crew." My wife was scrambling to perform the delayed final clean up of the residence, as we were contracturally obligated to be out of the house the day before. She trusted the professionals to do their job.

Desired Settlement: Existing replacement value, about 600.00

Business Response:  I have read the complaint. I would like to first and foremost apologize to Mr. & Mrs. **** for the error in scheduling.  It is true that there was an error on the part of Priority Moving in regards to the moving date. We are sincerely sorry for the error and expressed so to the ****s, We offered to get a truck and crew out the same day to take care of the move but Mrs. **** said the next day would be fine because her house was still under construction. We also offered a discounted rate as to show we are sincerely sorry, which they accepted.  When we arrived to perform the move her destination home was still under construction and she asked that we store everything in the garage as the home was not ready.  We let them borrow over 50 moving pads that our crews wrapped the furniture in  to keep her belongings protected while in her garage. Priority Moving did not charge the ****s any rental fees for use of the moving pads as to show them we do care and were sorry for the error in moving dates.  We offered to come back and move her belongings into her home  but they opted to move them back in on their own. In regards to the Television we do offer packing services however the ****s elected not to use our service. As you can see from the attached paperwork it shows the T.V. as P.B.O (Packed by owner) the customer reviewed and signed the paperwork to that affect as well and clearly has no charges for packing services.  The ****s moved the belongings into their house not Priority Moving so it is possible that the T.V. could have been damaged by who ever moved it into their home from their garage. Our estimator offered additional coverage which the ****s declined. Although we are professional, experienced movers we take all of the steps to protect belongings however we are human and occasionally damage may occur thus the reason we offer additional coverage. Upon review of the ****s claim our claims department offered to settle the claim for the television at the basic valuation protection which the ****s chose and signed for of .60 cents per pound per article which is offered free of charge per the Public Utilities Commission.  Please see attached documents showing this.  Priority Moving made every effort to make good on our error and are truly sorry to hear that they ****s were not satisfied with the settlement offered to them. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I will respond to the statements in this response since many of them relate to me.  
1. On the appointed day - I called Priority moving because no one had shown up and it was after 10am.  The informed me that they did not even have me in the system and would not be able to come out that day but "would the next day work”?  I didn’t really have a choice - I said “yes, that would work.”  I was later called and told that I had done everything correct and it was a glitch in their system.
2.They did give me a discounted rate as a concession for their error.  Yes, it gave me another day to get things ready but several things had to wait  until after the move was done. This inconvenienced the buyer of our previous home and I was literally still cleaning when they were moving in and having utilities turned on due to the one day delay.
3. The home was not “under construction”  We were having new flooring put in and felt it would be easier to have things placed in the garage and outside.  They offered the pads - I did not ask - and the movers were a little concerned that the supervisor would not be pleased with it.  
4. We elected not to have them move the items back in because I did not want to pay the additional cost and felt we could handle it on our own. I removed the pads and called as soon as our flooring was done.
5. As indicated on the original contract  - we had two TVs.  Both HD 55” one in the “loft” which was PBO (this one was gone before they arrived) and one in the “Living Room” which was contracted to be packed and moved by Priority. It was sitting on the floor in a stand in the Living Room. This is our major bone of contention.  Victor, the sales rep, assured me that it would be professionally packed in a TV box.  We had quite a discussion about this.  He offered to come down and help my husband take it off the wall.  We did that ourselves.  
6. Our move was 7 miles away.  I packed all of our breakables myself (none broke). I took all of our computers in my car and any other breakable valuables.  Truly the only concern was the TV - we did not feel the additional insurance would be necessary.  Had Priority followed through on their promise to properly pack the TV, we would not be having this discussion.
7.  We are not asking for a full reimbursement but more than $60.  The TV, when purchased was about $1800 and one of the best at that time.  Obviously technology has improved and prices have come down.  The TV was still in excellent working condition - a new TV of comparable quality can now be purchased for $600-1000. We are requesting $300 based on the reality that Priority Moving did not fulfill their contractual obligations as outlined on the contract.  The did not properly pack the TV which resulted in it breaking. They have not made “every effort to make good”  they have, in essence, denied their own culpability and negligent business practices and misrepresented the contract. How is this good business?
Please let me know if you have any other questions.
Thank you,
***** ****

***********@gmail.com

Regards,

****** And ******* ****



Business Response: I have reviewed the response from Mr.& Mrs. ****. While it is true that we offered the next day, our dispatchers did let them know we could do the move on the scheduled day but it would be a couple of hours to get the crew out there. Mrs. **** said the next day would work better. As stated in the previous statement we did discount our rate to make up for the inconvenience. Now to the matter at hand of the television. As you can see from the attachment I am sending that on the first page the customer signed for the valuation coverage of .60 cents per pound per article, the selected that coverage. On the 2nd page you can see that there were no charges for packing a T.V. nor any notes to do so and they signed confirming the information was correct prior to the move date.3rd page attached is our customer scorecard that Mrs. **** filled out, it is clearly marked she inspected for damages and under listed damages she put zero. Pages 4 & 5 are the offer we sent her based on the coverage Mrs. **** elected and signed for of .60 cents per pound per article and we offered a settlement based on the coverage she elected.

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Priority Moving did a terrible job. They ran out of garment boxes after one bedroom. They said they’d call for more boxes but none showed up. We ended up putting all our clothes in garbage bags for the sake of expedience as we had strict timelines to. Then they ran out of blankets to cover everything from furniture to art piecesI insisted at this point that they should call for additional help and was told they’d keep an eye on it and call if necessary.. I asked the lead again to call for assistance as we weren’t going to make the deadline and again he assured me there are no issues. Long story short, at six I asked that the remaining furniture remain on the truck, placed in storage, and the move completed the next day. The lead called his supervisor and apparently was told not going to happen as they needed to complete the move this day and it would only take another hour. I contacted the association and was told we had one more hour. The move wasn't completed until 11:00 p.m. that evening The lead complained that their estimators got this move very wrong and admitted they were not only shorthanded but low on supplies.. A number of art pieces that we were assured were separated and packed separately were seriously damaged along with a number of pieces of furniture that we now know can’t be repaired. On top of all that, the movers damaged doors and the hallway requiring $800 in repairs. We were quite confident that Priority would make all this right by either repairing or replacing the damaged items as we’ve used them before and they were quite good. Much to our dismay, Priority Moving’s customer service team is beyond incompetent. I left many messages for Lori Wivart, their general manager, that were largely unreturned. Two months and a frustrating and agonizing process of trying to communicate and find a solution to our issues and we keep getting the same delays and frustration from Lori and her team.

Desired Settlement: Some sort of financial resolution that will account for the damages to our furniture and other items.

Business Response:

I have read the complaint and would like to first apologize to Mr. **** for any inconvenience and damage that occurred on his move. We perform thousands of moves each year without incident but unfortunately we are not perfect and occasionally damage happens. Mr. ****'s move was performed on May 22, 2014. On May 23rd I received a message from Mr. **** with concerns regarding damage on his move, I called back and left him a message. Once we connected a claim form was sent to Mr. **** and we started the claim process.. Mr. **** claims a lack of communication however we have several times. Mr. **** signed for the basic valuation protection of .60cents per pound per article that we offer free of charge as per the Public Utilities Commission. The option to purchase additional coverage was offered to Mr. **** but he opted for the basic coverage at no additional charge. Upon review of Mr. ****s claim we sent him an offer letter to settle his claim based on the coverage he elected. Mr. **** was not satisfied with the offer and emailed us "see you in court". I passed this along to our insurance company who also spoke with Mr. **** and he was not satisfied with their outcome either. We have made several efforts to resolve this issue reasonably with no avail. Attached you will find the documentation showing our efforts as our offer  per P.U.C. regulations and the coverage that Mr. **** opted for. We value Mr. ****s business and hope to find resolution to close this matter. Thank you for your assistance. Should you have any further questions please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

**** ******

*************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

After multiple communications with **** ****** and Priority Moving's claims department, in addition to a BBB complaint, it has become clear that we can't a find a resolution to the damages related to our move. Additionally, a call to James Lovejoy, the owner of Priority Moving left over two weeks ago to try to resolve this matter has gone unanswered.Therefore, I've filed a lawsuit against Priority moving for the damages initially outlined in our first claim. Thank you for your effort to try to resolve this matter. 

Regards,

**** ****

12/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i hired this company and paid a premium price for their service under the assumption that they would send a quality moving crew to move my furniture and belongings. They sent a very young, unprofessional crew that failed to secure our belongings in the back of their truck and proceeded to completely damage an expensive headboard and mar our dresser. They took twice as long as any normal moving company would take and I believe this is because they had no other jobs that day. They charge hourly and dragged out the clock to charge us twice as much as it should have been. We paid $134/hour for a three man crew that took 7 hours to move the contents of a small apartment and storage unit 8 miles. It was an absolutely ridiculous amount of time and the damage to our furniture is of no concern to them. If they are licensed or bonded this should be revoked.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least half of the moving charges refunded to our credit card. This will not cover the damage incurred but it would at least be a reasonable charge for the actual move.

Business Response: This customer stated that the move took twice as long as it should. The move took 7 hours and 10 minutes and it entailed picking up from 2 different locations (each a second story) and then delivering to a 3 story town house. CA requires us to double the drive time between each location and allows us to establish a minimum drive time. Our minimum drive is 15 minutes, which doubled is 30 minutes of billable time. Therefore, the drive from the first pickup to the second and then to the drop off accounts for 1 hour of the billable time alone. In order to get the job done in “half the time”, as the customer asserts, we should have would mean we would only have 2 hours & 30 minutes to protect and load her possessions from 2 locations and then unload her furniture. Furthermore, if the customer had a problem with the time they can bring it up at any time during the move. We provide direct contact phone numbers for the office as well as a text number that goes to all the senior managers 24 hours / day. In this case the customer signed the paperwork indicating they were satisfied. Regarding her assertion that we did not send a professional crew, that is simply ludicrous. All of our movers attends 60 hours / year of formal training in all aspects of moving. This training is documented in their personnel files. This is more than is usual or customary in the industry. Regarding the damage, it is an unfortunate reality that damage can occur during a move. Whereas we do train our people to minimize the loss, it can happen. That is why the state limits our basic liability to $0.60/lb but requires us to offer, for a minimal charge, full replacement coverage. In her case, it would have cost her no more than an extra $50 and her damage would have been repaired or replaced. The customer was offered this additional protection when she booked the move on the telephone and then again when the movers had her sign the Agreement for Moving Services prior to the commencement of the move. She elected to forgo the additional coverage on both occasions. Additionally, she has not followed up and actually opened a claim with us (again as required by CA law). This would allow us to process her claim and provide some recompense. I am attaching a copy of the paperwork so you can see where they elected the basic liability coverage ($0.60/lb.) and signed off on the time.

7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired the moving company to move two sofas I bought on craigslist and had a friend meet them there to open house. While placing one sofa it was slid across the wood floor, newly finished wood floor, and a large gash was left in the floor. I had it repaired and the moving company insists it wasn't them. They were the only ones that touched the sofas. So now I am out my moving money and the cost to repair the floor.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the $500 to repair the floor.

Business Response:

We were contracted by Ms. ******* and asked to pickup a sofa and love seat, on April 11,  that she had purchased from a private party and bring them to her residence in ********.  Ms. ******* was not going to be present and we would be let in by ***** *********, (presumed to be her contractor – they were working in the house).  Our instructions were to place the sofa in front of the window in the living room and to put the love seat  on the wall with the heater.

On the day of the move, our crew picked up the two items and delivered them to the residence.  Both items had been wrapped and protected  in moving blankets per our standard operating procedure.  Our crew unwrapped the sofa and love seat then placed them in the house where the contractor indicated, the contractor instructed our crew to place the sofa and love seat in the middle of the floor.  Our crew then went back outside to fold and store the moving blankets in the truck and remove the tape and debris used in the move.  Upon returning to the living room to get Mr. *********’ signature on the paperwork, our crew discovered that the sofa and loveseat had been moved and the floor had been damaged.  The lead mover immediately called in to our VP of Operations to report the incident and document that the damage was caused by Mr. *********.  When Ms. ******* reported the damage to us, the claim was denied because it had already been reported to us that the damage was caused by Mr. ********* or his crew.

1/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired them to move my one bedroom apartment on 9/1/2012. They violated our written agreement to send three people and sent two people instead. One of the movers did almost no work and it took more than 7 hours to finish the move. I made the mistake of giving my credit card which they charged immediately. After they left, we realized that a lot of our furniture was damaged and the carpet was heavily stained since they did not use any carpet protection contrary to what is stated on the agreement. I sent an email to them (Louis Medina, the agent and his manager) immediately with a claim form for the damages along with photos. They did not reply until this day. I called my credit card afterwards to stop the charges but that wasn't successful.

Desired Settlement: They charged me $850 for this move. Most companies charge half of this without any damage. I would like to get a refund of $500.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** mistakes the facts in this case.  All though he did initially request 3 movers, he agreed to 2 movers on the day of the move.  This agreement is in writing and is memorialized in the signed "Agreement for Moving Services" at number -7- where it states the hourly rate, minimu charge, number of men, hourly rate, additional rate per man if he requested more men and the overtime rate.  His initials at number 7 indicate his acknowledgement that the time to effect the move was not guaranteed.  His signature at -9-, on the bottom left, indicates his agreement to these terms.  When, after the move was started, Mr. ****** requested the 3rd man, one was sent out to assist.  Furthermore, when Mr. ****** signed the time sheet for the job, he acknowledged that he was being charged the correct amount of time.

Regarding the claim for damage, this customer has left out several pertinent pieces of information.  Since we are regulated by the state, we must comply with certain requirements to process a claim. One of the requirements is a customer's bill has been paid.  Although he did pay with his credit card, he left us a message the day of the move that he was stopping his credit card payment. When this customer elected to handle his claim via a chargeback, he effectively failed to pay his bill.  On the rare occasion when this happens, we will process a claim up to, but stopping short of settling, until the chargeback is dismissed (the credit card company always dismisses the chargeback because they are not the correct venue for handling a claim).  Once the chargeback is reversed we will then settle the claim.  In this case, the customer has never returned a call regarding the claim and he simply trusted that the credit card company would provide him with relief.  Now that the chargeback has been cleared, we are happy to process his claim.  However, instead of contacting us directly, he has elected to use the BBB services. 

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: -Used Priority moving to move my stuff from San Diego to Seattle area in May 2012.-Already Paid them money to unpack my every box and that was already written in the bill as well-They delivered the stuff and never showed up to unpack-I contacted Priority moving multiple times no action-I send an email to Wheaton Moving partner of priority moving but no action so farSummary- I paid them to unpack the boxes and they never did that even after multiple follow ups, very unprofessional experience

Desired Settlement: Refund me the money they charged for the service they never delivered.

Business Response:

We truly regret that this had to rise to the level of a BBB complaint. The customer moved at the very end of May and contracted for unpacking services. He booked the move, through us, as an agent for Wheaton Vanlines. We handled the origin services and move coordination but did not handle the transportation or destination services.  The customer paid Wheaton Vanlines directly on delivery. We were informed on the day his shipment was delivered that the unpacking was not performed. We immediately put in a request to Wheaton to refund the customer the unpacking charges. Our last correspondence with the customer was 2 weeks after the delivery. At that time the customer had not been reimbursed, however, sometimes corporations take longer to process things.

Our failure was in not following up with the customer. Had we done so then this would have been avoided and the customer would have received their refund over the summer. As of today, I have personally spoken with Wheaton’s revenue and accounting department and they issued a refund today on the customer’s credit card.  I also sent a personal apology to the customer via email.

Sincerely,

***** *********

President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ****