Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Omega Moving & Storage Inc

Phone: (619) 531-0000 Fax: (619) 531-0600 View Additional Phone Numbers 8594 Siempre Viva Rd, San Diego, CA 92154 http://www.omegamoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local, long distance, and commercial moving and storage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Omega Moving & Storage Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Omega Moving & Storage Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Omega Moving & Storage Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 2004 Business started: 09/10/2002 in CA Business incorporated 02/13/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 189875.

Department of Transportation
USDOT C-75 Room 4137, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-2220
The number is 1268217.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Elan Basset, CEO Ms. Trish Cardenas, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Elan Basset, CEO
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving & Storage Company Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Equipment Rental

Products & Services

Omega Moving & Storage Inc offers the following product(s): Packing Materials such as boxes, packing paper and wrap, and moving equipment.

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Card, Money Order     
Alternate Business Names
Pak N Box
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 8594 Siempre Viva Rd

    San Diego, CA 92154 (619) 531-0000 (877) 531-5100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted the company to move furniture from ********** to *******. Omega delivered our antique furniture soaking wet, and when the moving blankets were removed covered in green mildew, and the quality birds eye maple blistered and falling off. It was if they left it out in the rain or in a tent outside in a hurricane. One of the pieces was so wet the wood separated and warped. Many of the boxes were soaking wet to the point they were falling apart. I was very upset and showed the moving man the condition of the wet pieces and all the wet boxes, he just said his truck didn't leak. Lovely quality antiques we planned to move into our 1926 remodeled vintage ******* home were ruined. Not from moving, but from obvious neglect and disregard in storage. Although the original packing was good and conducted under our watchful eyes, the storage and shipment could be considered abusive. Our complaints went without consideration and as ignored as the damp and mildew watering of our furniture - soggy and no longer usable in our home. We provided detailed photographs and only asked modest compensation for the restoration of the pieces. They finally made an offer of $250 which is less than half of the repair on just one piece.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay for the restoration of the antique birds eye maple dresser

Business Response:

Response to Consumer’s Complaint:

Omega Moving & Storage Inc. received, acknowledged and processed Ms. ******* ********** claim received on August 14, 2014. Through various ways the company communicated with the client explaining that although we highly regretted her peculiar case in which nature and rare coincidences took place, Omega Moving & Storage is regulated by federal law and must follow guidance per contract. Per company’s contract signed by client, under Valuation Coverage – provided at no additional charge clause – clearly states that Omega Moving & Storage Inc. assumes liability for no more than $0.60 cents per pound per article. In the claim submitted by the client she indicated two damaged items one being 145 lbs. and second with 110 lbs. totaling 255 lbs. these number of pounds converted in money totals $153.00.

Omega Moving & Storage offers a wide variety of insurance available to all its customers and abides by the clause selected by the client. The client decided to waive insurance and signed the option for Valuation Coverage (all records of these materials are available upon request). Omega Moving & Storage still stands with the offer to compensate this client with an addition $100 over the required compensation totaling $253.00.

The company highly regrets rare incidents such this one as we make every effort to provide excellent care of our clients and their belongings. Omega Moving & Storage also regrets that this was not a satisfactory delivery and is sensitive to the client’s feelings towards her belongings, we hope to assist the client in reconciling this matter in the near future.

Sincerely,

Management Team

Omega Moving & Storage Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The vendor states that they regret the "peculiar case in which nature and rare coincidences took place".  They don't say what the rare coincidence is or why nature should have any part in the care of my belongings.  Did they have the furniture sitting out in the rain?  How else would my antique wood furniture be delivered wet and moldy?   My contention is that due to the poor care of my belongings the valuation coverage is void and they should pay for the repairs.
******* ****


Regards,

******* **********



Business Response:

Good afternoon Ms. ****,

Omega regrets that you have a less than perfect experience. We have been in contact with you since August 2014 via email and telephone. Omega would like to resolve this matter but have yet to come to an agreement on amount to settle the claim for your repairs without violating company policies.

We would like to offer you $306.00 to close this claim at twice the amount legally required.

Previous Offers to settle claim:

1/16/15 $153.00 (per .60 per lb.)

2/20/15 $250.00 (more than valuation above)

On the Bill of Lading, signed, initialed, dated and printed the following: “0.60 cents per article per pound” by the customer. “The valuation coverage provides minimal protection under this option at no additional cost. The coverage only applies if articles are totally destroyed or lost. Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. assumes liability for no more than $0.60 cents per pound per article. There is no provision for coverage of cosmetic damages. This option does not cover scratches, dings or dents. Carrier cannot be held liable for any damage to internal electronic, mechanical items, particle wood items (pressed wood) and items packed by the owner, fragile or brittle items such as glass, china, ornaments, etc.”

1. Item#31: Water Damaged Desk/Broken Leg (Weight 145lbs) Valuation Calculation $87.00

2. Item#30: Water Damaged Dresser/Mirror (Weight 110lbs) Valuation Calculation $66.00

In summary, Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. is only liable for compensation according to your insurance coverage selection, which was valuation coverage that only protects $0.60 cents per pound per article based on total loss.

We thank you for taking the time to explain your concerns. Per our company policies and selected insurance option, we find $300.00 to be a fair settlement. Omega is offering more than $0.60 per pound per article for Claim #*****. We regret to inform you that we cannot cover the cost of the repairs at the amount requested by Miss **** of $400.00. As additional insurance was not purchased and items were not lost nor destroyed. We respectfully regret inconvenience as the photos provided do not clearly show water damages and the broken items appears to have residue that indicates previous repairs.

Best regards,  

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc.

Office: ************

Fax: ************

Website: *******************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Here is some of the correspondence from Omega and me back to them.  I have a few more to send you.
******* ****

From: *********************
To: *****************
CC: *********************
Sent: 2/16/2016 4:35:35 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time
Subj: RE: Claim: ******* **** / Job #*****

Dear Ms. ****,

We would like to offer you $306.00 to close this claim at twice the amount legally required.

Per our company policies and your selected insurance option, we find $306.00 to be a fair settlement. Omega is offering more than $0.60 per pound per article for Claim #*****.

Thank you,

Omega Moving & Storage

From: ***************** [mailto:*****************
Sent: Tuesday, February 16, 2016 12:27 PM
To: Claim Omega Moving
Subject: Re: Claim: ******* **** / Job #*****

 

Firstly, I do understand what insurance I signed for, but negligence on your part is a different circumstance than normal damage to furniture which I was willing to accept.  The man who delivered could attest to the fact that the blanket covering the furniture was wet and the damage was purely to water.  This wasn't the only thing that was wet, many boxes were still wet when they were delivered to the point the bottoms fell out but they contained items that were not damaged due to the water. 

I sent photo's of the birds eye maple dresser to your office before you picked it up.  It was in pristine condition and never had any repairs.  I can send affidavits to that fact.  What I got back was warped wood with green mold on it. 

It would seem to me that your company should be responsible for negligence.  Water damage is not a normal moving occurrence and all I can conclude is that you left my possessions outside and they got rained on or your warehouse had a flood.  That is not taking reasonable care of my items.  The amount I was asking was just to fix the one piece of furniture, the birds eye maple antique dresser.  The other piece was a loss and was scrapped.  If you need better pictures of the warped wood I can do that, but the piece was in perfect condition and anything you see on the photo you caused.

******* ****  

In a message dated 2/16/2016 3:15:29 P.M. Eastern Standard Time, ********************* writes:

Good afternoon Ms. ****,

Omega regrets that you have a less than perfect experience. We have been in contact with you since August 2014 via email and telephone. Omega would like to resolve this matter but have yet to come to an agreement on amount to settle the claim for your repairs without violating company policies.

We would like to offer you $306.00 to close this claim at twice the amount legally required.

Previous Offers to settle claim:

1/16/15 $153.00 (per .60 per lb.)

2/20/15 $250.00 (more than valuation above)

On the Bill of Lading, signed, initialed, dated and printed the following: “0.60 cents per article per pound” by the customer. “The valuation coverage provides minimal protection under this option at no additional cost. The coverage only applies if articles are totally destroyed or lost. Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. assumes liability for no more than $0.60 cents per pound per article. There is no provision for coverage of cosmetic damages. This option does not cover scratches, dings or dents. Carrier cannot be held liable for any damage to internal electronic, mechanical items, particle wood items (pressed wood) and items packed by the owner, fragile or brittle items such as glass, china, ornaments, etc.”

1. Item#31: Water Damaged Desk/Broken Leg (Weight 145lbs) Valuation Calculation $87.00

2. Item#30: Water Damaged Dresser/Mirror (Weight 110lbs) Valuation Calculation $66.00

In summary, Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. is only liable for compensation according to your insurance coverage selection, which was valuation coverage that only protects $0.60 cents per pound per article based on total loss.

We thank you for taking the time to explain your concerns. Per our company policies and selected insurance option, we find $300.00 to be a fair settlement. Omega is offering more than $0.60 per pound per article for Claim #*****. We regret to inform you that we cannot cover the cost of the repairs at the amount requested by Miss **** of $400.00. As additional insurance was not purchased and items were not lost nor destroyed. We respectfully regret inconvenience as the photos provided do not clearly show water damages and the broken items appears to have residue that indicates previous repairs.

Best regards,  

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc.

Office: ************

Fax: ************

Website: www.omegamoving.com

*****************

Mar 19 (2 days ago)
to******

From: *********************
To: *****************
CC: *********************
Sent: 2/16/2016 5:15:01 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time
Subj: RE: Claim: ******* **** / Job #*****

Good afternoon,

We would like to offer you $306.00 to close this claim at twice the amount legally required. Per our company policies and your selected insurance option, we find $306.00 to be a fair settlement. Omega is offering more than $0.60 per pound per article for Claim #*****.

Please confirm to settle this claim.

Thank you,

Omege Moving & Storage

From: ***************** [mailto:*****************
Sent: Tuesday, February 16, 2016 12:51 PM
To: Claim Omega Moving
Subject: Re: Claim: ******* **** / Job #*****

 

Can you please explain to me how my furniture and boxes got wet while in your care?  The driver said it was the only thing in his truck that was wet so it happened under your care at the warehouse.  I do not think I am being unreasonable when this is a clear case of negligence on your part.  Delivering wet items is not a part of normal moving practices I am sure.

*****************

Mar 19 (2 days ago)
to******
Here is the last one.  They never say why my furniture was delivered wet, just that it was an unfortunate occurrence.  I still feel this was negligence on their part and the insurance option I picked should not apply.  It will cost me $450 to repair just the one piece.  The second piece couldn't be salvaged.  I feel having my piece repaired is not unreasonable and their responsibility since it is not normal moving damage, but damage due to negligence on their part.
******* ****

From: *********************
To: *****************
Sent: 2/16/2016 5:27:37 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time
Subj: RE: Claim: ******* **** / Job #*****

Ms. ****,

This was an unfortunate occurrence. We would like to move forward and settle this matter.

We would like to offer you $306.00 to close this claim at twice the amount legally required. Per our company policies and your selected insurance option, we find $306.00 to be a fair settlement. Omega is offering more than $0.60 per pound per article for Claim #*****.

Thank you,

Omega Moving & Storage

From: ***************** [mailto:*****************
Sent: Tuesday, February 16, 2016 1:23 PM
To: Claim Omega Moving
Subject: Re: Claim: ******* **** / Job #*****

 

I would like to know why the furnishings in your possession were delivered wet.

Thank you


Regards,

******* **********



4/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company has promised me to revert back the approximate amount of $27.00 to my credit card. It has been more than a month and a half now, including a few discussions with ****** ***** and **** *****. The last time I have conversation with ****** ***** on the phone, she warned me about her boss. According to her, the boss is a different kind of person and it's hard to deal with. Sounds like this is a threat to me, and it seems like that the Omega put my concern to the lowest priority or completely ignored me after conducting business with them. This is a terrible experience to me and regretting why I have chosen this company.

Desired Settlement: Get it done the soonest, it has been long overdue.

Business Response: The desired settlement for Complaint #******** has been resolved. Please see the attachments for correspondence with the consumer. The credit in question has been cashed. We have the customer survey filled out by the customer where he selected all 5’s (Very Satisfied) with his move (see attached).

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used this company to move and store our household items. They were moved in Nov 2013 and put in storage until Feb 2014. Among the moved items, a $200 worth of bookshelves were damaged. We contacted this company and they were brought back for repair. First of all, the repair took very long time (30days). When the item finally came back, all the cracks are still there and the bookshelves are far away from their initial quality. Then the company offered to pay $82 and take the bookshelves back. We think the offered price is too low and it is impossible to buy a equal-quality bookshelf from the market use the same amount of money. In summary, the complaints to Omega Moving & Storage company are: 1. Improper handling of furnitures. The bookshelves should not be damaged in the first place. 2. Very lengthy customer service and repair. And the repair is far away from satisfaction. 3. Low-balling customer. We feel very disappointed with the way we were dealt with.

Desired Settlement: We keep the sub-par repaired bookshelves and take the $82 refund. (We do not want to spend any time longer with this company). Or the company replace the bookshelves with ones that we are satisfied with.

Business Response:

Dear Valued Customer,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. agrees to honor your request for compensation of the bookshelf.  We will process your claim compensation within 7-10BD for a total of $114.50, which includes the new amount and the former amount offered of $32.50.  We will also send you a seperate confirmation via email as well.  Thank you for your time and consideration.  Have a pleasant day! 

Very Respectfully,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc.

 

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Because I was not given the required by law DOT weigh-in amounts I was over-charged. I am requesting the refund of over-weight charges for 9020 lbs(tickets ******** and ******** from (CATS) Certified Automated Truck Scale)-8480 lbs.of 540 X $.63= $340.20, late fees of $160.00, and weigh-in charges of $20.00 for a total of $520.20. Gil charged me $80 per hour even though his helpers did arrive to unload until I came back with the extra monies he was charging me. He could not have unloaded alone, nor did he try to. I have the weigh-in tickets, weigh-in charges recipts,and ***** text message of his intent to charge me late fees. I am happy and eager to send them to any address you would like me to send them to.

Desired Settlement: Refund check in the amount of $520.20 ASAP.

Business Response:

Dear Valued Customer and BBB,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. would like to address the concerns of Mrs. ***** and her recent move from California to Florida.  Mrs. ***** was picked up by our company on October 10th and before any work was complete, we address that the list of items provided to her moving consultant was not matching to the list of items at the home on the day of the move.  Therefore, a revised written estimate was provided before any work was complete and signed on moving day.  Additionally, we contact Mrs. ***** about her final weight once back in office and her paperwork was reviewed by the Accounting Dept.  The Accounting Dept sent over the final invoice and a copy of the weight ticket as requested to Mrs. ***** via email.  Again, as a courtesy, it has been attached to this complaint response as well.  If Mrs. ***** does request a refund for the over-weight, which is unclear how that came about since we also weighed Mrs. ***** at a DOT Certified weigh station, we would like to review the copy of her official weight ticket since it was not shown to the driver at the time of re-weigh.  The "late charges" are not labelled correctly, our driver stated that it was wait time charges of 2hours because Mrs. ***** did not arrive to the delivery address with the correct final balance and had to go to another location retrieve the funds.  According to our contract, wait time applies if you require our staff to wait for any reasonl; therefore the wait time is non-refundable.  Mrs. ***** was given the option at the delivery to receieve the credit of the weight charges but did not give the chance to our driver to review the weigh ticket and provide her reasonable options.  In short, Omega Moving & Storage, Inc would be happy to send a refund check for the over-weight amount and the ticket funds to Mrs. *****, if our office may review the revised weight ticket.  Thank you for your time and consideration.  Have a pleasant day! 

 

Very Respectfully,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** *****



I accept the refund of the under-weight amount and tickets for taking weight again, but the late charges are still in dispute.  The emaail was a lie. There was not a weight taken before or after the loadig of my household goods. Anyone can just write on  a peice of paper. Gil accepted part of the  payment and was willing to wait for the rest and could have stared unloading if he had help. He did not have help. He accepted the money so he should have started working. He caused the lateness by not having help there at 1:00pm. They did not come until after 2:00pm. He charged me for 2 hours of sitting around instead of working.

Business Response:

Dear Mrs. ***** and BBB,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. would like to resolve the dispute reasonably with Mrs. *****.  The weigh that was done here in San Diego at the pickup was emailed to Mrs. ***** as requested on Oct 22, 2013.  It was not fabricated and we recommend that she calls the number on the weight ticket to prove that the actual weight was complete as required by the DOT.  I do regret that she did not have access to internet prior to the arrival of her shipment; but, nonetheless, we did provide her the weight ticket prior to delivery of her shipment.  Next, the wait time charges will not be refunded because my driver was ready to unload but Mrs. ***** did not have all her total balance available.  Mrs. ***** was notified prior to her shipment leaving of her balance and reminded again by the driver while in route and the total balance was not available at her scheduled time of delivery.  Therefore, according to company policy, no unloading will commence without payment.  The refund of the weight tickets and re-weigh amount will not be processed until receipt of of the current weight ticket.  Thank you for your time and consideration. 

 

Very Respectfully,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** *****


I also charge Omega $80 per hour for FORCING me to travel to/fro to get the correct weight of my household items. That amount is 8hrs of my time for $80 X 8 = $640.00. The $160 fees Omega charged was subtracted from that for a new total of $480 added to over weight charges and ticket charges.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

The dispute between Ms. ***** and Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. has been resolved.  We have received the weight tickets and Ms. ***** has accepted our offer to return her re-weigh dispute compensation, which will be mailed to her early next week.  Thank you!

 

Very Respectfully,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Omega Moving & Storage Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart