BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local, long distance, and commercial moving and storage services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Omega Moving & Storage Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Omega Moving & Storage Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Omega Moving & Storage Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 22, 2004 Business started: 09/10/2002 in CA Business incorporated: 02/13/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The license number is 189875.

Department of Transportation
USDOT C-75 Room 4137, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-2220
The license number is 1268217.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Elan Basset, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Elan Basset, CEO
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 8594 Siempre Viva Road

    San Diego, CA 92154 (619) 531-0000 (877) 531-5100

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 531-5100(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used this company to move and store our household items. They were moved in Nov 2013 and put in storage until Feb 2014. Among the moved items, a $200 worth of bookshelves were damaged. We contacted this company and they were brought back for repair. First of all, the repair took very long time (30days). When the item finally came back, all the cracks are still there and the bookshelves are far away from their initial quality. Then the company offered to pay $82 and take the bookshelves back. We think the offered price is too low and it is impossible to buy a equal-quality bookshelf from the market use the same amount of money. In summary, the complaints to Omega Moving & Storage company are: 1. Improper handling of furnitures. The bookshelves should not be damaged in the first place. 2. Very lengthy customer service and repair. And the repair is far away from satisfaction. 3. Low-balling customer. We feel very disappointed with the way we were dealt with.

Desired Settlement: We keep the sub-par repaired bookshelves and take the $82 refund. (We do not want to spend any time longer with this company). Or the company replace the bookshelves with ones that we are satisfied with.

Business Response:

Dear Valued Customer,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. agrees to honor your request for compensation of the bookshelf.  We will process your claim compensation within 7-10BD for a total of $114.50, which includes the new amount and the former amount offered of $32.50.  We will also send you a seperate confirmation via email as well.  Thank you for your time and consideration.  Have a pleasant day! 

Very Respectfully,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc.

 

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Because I was not given the required by law DOT weigh-in amounts I was over-charged. I am requesting the refund of over-weight charges for 9020 lbs(tickets ******** and ******** from (CATS) Certified Automated Truck Scale)-8480 lbs.of 540 X $.63= $340.20, late fees of $160.00, and weigh-in charges of $20.00 for a total of $520.20. Gil charged me $80 per hour even though his helpers did arrive to unload until I came back with the extra monies he was charging me. He could not have unloaded alone, nor did he try to. I have the weigh-in tickets, weigh-in charges recipts,and ***** text message of his intent to charge me late fees. I am happy and eager to send them to any address you would like me to send them to.

Desired Settlement: Refund check in the amount of $520.20 ASAP.

Business Response:

Dear Valued Customer and BBB,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. would like to address the concerns of Mrs. ***** and her recent move from California to Florida.  Mrs. ***** was picked up by our company on October 10th and before any work was complete, we address that the list of items provided to her moving consultant was not matching to the list of items at the home on the day of the move.  Therefore, a revised written estimate was provided before any work was complete and signed on moving day.  Additionally, we contact Mrs. ***** about her final weight once back in office and her paperwork was reviewed by the Accounting Dept.  The Accounting Dept sent over the final invoice and a copy of the weight ticket as requested to Mrs. ***** via email.  Again, as a courtesy, it has been attached to this complaint response as well.  If Mrs. ***** does request a refund for the over-weight, which is unclear how that came about since we also weighed Mrs. ***** at a DOT Certified weigh station, we would like to review the copy of her official weight ticket since it was not shown to the driver at the time of re-weigh.  The "late charges" are not labelled correctly, our driver stated that it was wait time charges of 2hours because Mrs. ***** did not arrive to the delivery address with the correct final balance and had to go to another location retrieve the funds.  According to our contract, wait time applies if you require our staff to wait for any reasonl; therefore the wait time is non-refundable.  Mrs. ***** was given the option at the delivery to receieve the credit of the weight charges but did not give the chance to our driver to review the weigh ticket and provide her reasonable options.  In short, Omega Moving & Storage, Inc would be happy to send a refund check for the over-weight amount and the ticket funds to Mrs. *****, if our office may review the revised weight ticket.  Thank you for your time and consideration.  Have a pleasant day! 

 

Very Respectfully,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** *****



I accept the refund of the under-weight amount and tickets for taking weight again, but the late charges are still in dispute.  The emaail was a lie. There was not a weight taken before or after the loadig of my household goods. Anyone can just write on  a peice of paper. Gil accepted part of the  payment and was willing to wait for the rest and could have stared unloading if he had help. He did not have help. He accepted the money so he should have started working. He caused the lateness by not having help there at 1:00pm. They did not come until after 2:00pm. He charged me for 2 hours of sitting around instead of working.

Business Response:

Dear Mrs. ***** and BBB,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. would like to resolve the dispute reasonably with Mrs. *****.  The weigh that was done here in San Diego at the pickup was emailed to Mrs. ***** as requested on Oct 22, 2013.  It was not fabricated and we recommend that she calls the number on the weight ticket to prove that the actual weight was complete as required by the DOT.  I do regret that she did not have access to internet prior to the arrival of her shipment; but, nonetheless, we did provide her the weight ticket prior to delivery of her shipment.  Next, the wait time charges will not be refunded because my driver was ready to unload but Mrs. ***** did not have all her total balance available.  Mrs. ***** was notified prior to her shipment leaving of her balance and reminded again by the driver while in route and the total balance was not available at her scheduled time of delivery.  Therefore, according to company policy, no unloading will commence without payment.  The refund of the weight tickets and re-weigh amount will not be processed until receipt of of the current weight ticket.  Thank you for your time and consideration. 

 

Very Respectfully,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** *****


I also charge Omega $80 per hour for FORCING me to travel to/fro to get the correct weight of my household items. That amount is 8hrs of my time for $80 X 8 = $640.00. The $160 fees Omega charged was subtracted from that for a new total of $480 added to over weight charges and ticket charges.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

The dispute between Ms. ***** and Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. has been resolved.  We have received the weight tickets and Ms. ***** has accepted our offer to return her re-weigh dispute compensation, which will be mailed to her early next week.  Thank you!

 

Very Respectfully,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc.

7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contract indicated that the movers are to show up at 9 am with two trucks. We received a call at 8:30 indicating that they are running late and they will show up between 10-11. They were non responsive to our requests that they needed to show up on time as we needed the entire day to move and had a time line to meet. The movers showed up at noon with one truck. The foreman of the company conceded that there was a miscommunication on their part that resulted in only one truck showing up where the contract specified two trucks. The second truck didn't show up until 3 pm. As a result of the the movers showing up three hours late and the second truck showing 6 hours late, we didn't arrive to our new home until 9:40 pm. Since we live in a gated community and the HOA CC&Rs dictate a curfew prohibiting moving vans from entering into the community past 7 pm, we were denied entry into the community. As a result, the trucks had to stay out side the community until 7 am of the next day. Our family had to stay at a hotel that night and the move was completed at 1 pm the following day. This was a very stressful and hectic experience that put undue strain on our family. We consider that Omega moving company breached the terms of the contract by showing 3 hours late and providing the second truck 6 hours late. We were not offered any type of discounts by Omega to compensate us for our added expense of spending one night outside of our home and the undue stress that they caused.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a significant discount due to Omega's breach of the contract terms.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc would like to formally respond to the ****** complaint.  Our company is fully aware of the stress involved with moving and we politely notified the customer in regards to our tardiness of the first and second truck.  In fact, we sent another mover at a discounted rate as well to speed up the process considering our tardiness.  But in regards to our non-responsiveness on the day of the move, that statement is not accurate. In fact, it is the complete opposite.  Considering our business relationship with the customer from the moment of booking with our company; the customer was looking for multiple discounts starting from the team rate and from our in-house valuation coverage.  We dealt with all of the requests given starting with their waivering decision about booking with us and possibly cancelling with us on a daily basis.  Next, the customer purchased third-party moving insurance and choose not to follow the proper procedures in order to insure their Grand Piano.  Again, the customer requested for us to insure the piano and also for the amount of the insurance to reduced as well.  We were not sure we were going to move the ****** family until the day prior of the move.  Most importantly, discounts were given to the customer above and beyond a normal customer.  We did not charge the customer overtime for our movers and our company absorbed the costs. Next, we lowered the cost of the team that was sent significantly.  Lastly, the customers never stated to our company nor the moving team that there was a curfew to access the destination home.  If that were the case, we would have offered a better solution to the ****** family to prevent any further frustrations.  Therefore, considering that the work was complete as requested and the curfew was not disclosed to our company.  We are declining to offer any additional discounts to the ****** family.  Thank you for your time and consideration. 

 

5/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Omega Moving and the owner, **** ******, have not fulfilled their obligations. I could list several complaints starting with top to bottom mismanagement, inaccurate quotes, false promises, slow service, overworked staff, did not stick to schedule, and finally damages to personal belongings in possession of Omega during storage and subsequent moving. According to this BBB system I can only post a single grievance, as such damages to my belongings are paramount. Damages were made to a TV console, TV stand, a reading chair, a couch, a dresser, a lamp, a BBQ grill top, and numerous smaller items. **** ****** attempted to have an in-house handyman repair the furniture and it was done poorly, the items are not the same. I have requested further action be taken to be "made whole" for the damages. I have two options; continue to have an inferior (as opposed to an independently hired professional) in-house handyman repair my items or relinquish my furniture to Omega for .60 per pund per item according to their insurance coverage. Meanwhile I have paid Omega for their services which I argue have not been fulfilled in many regards including the damages.

Desired Settlement: Refund compensation paid to Omega. I will then use those funds to make myself whole from the damages.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern, 

I regret that Omega Moving & Storage, Inc and Mr. **** **** was not able to come to a reasonable solution in regards to the damages during his stay and move with our company.  We have attemptted to make professional repairs to aforementioned items by Mr. ****.  For any additional items to be repaired, it would need to be done at our warehouse but the customer is not able to allow it leave thehome.  As a result, we are willing to compensation the customer based on their selected Moving Protection, which is Valuation Coverage. 

 

Most importantly, full moving coverage insurance was not purchased and was offered via www.movinginsurance.com.  Therefore, the elected moving coverage protects the customer's possessions $0.60 cents per pound per article.  More specifically, the following statement was written, signed and acknowledged on the Bill of Lading:

 

"This acknowledgement stated that the valuation coverage, which is provided to you as a customer at no charge, provides minimal protection under this option at no additional cost.  The coverage only applies if the article is totally destroyed or lost.  Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. assumes liability for no more than $0.60 cents per pound per article.  There is no provision for coverage of cosmetic damages.  This option does not cover scratches, dings or dents." 

 

We, Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. would like to come to a reasonable resolution to this situation.  Please do take note that if our claim is to be paid for the total weight of the item, it would need to be surrendered to our company because it is not deemed as totally lost or destroyed. 

 

Closing,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear 

Two issues. **** ****** said he would replace my tv stand for the full amount. He instructed me to order the replacement item. I am still in search of the item and have also provided Omega a quote for the replacement cost, which I have in writing they would reimburse me for the purchase. As for the reading chair Élan also stated he would purchase a new chair if I was not satisfied with the repairs done by their in-house handyman. I am not satisfied with the repairs. Further if the furniture repair person is a professional please submit his license as evidence otherwise he is just a handyman. If he is unlicensed I am requesting compensation to hire a professional to repair the damaged items to a level that is acceptable. I have been lied to throughout the entire engagement with Omega Moving. Whether it was incorrect quotes, movers ill equipped, or just plain tardy at every leg of the experience. And now denying responsibility and changing their story.  It's very sad. 

Regards,

**** ****

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc would like to address the concerns of Mr. ****.  In order to resolve this issue reasonably, we would like to know the depreciated value of the reading chair involved in this claim.  Our claims department will review the information and respond within a reasonable time.  The TV stand will be replaced based on the price given previously by Mr. ****.  More specifically, we are willing to close the claim and if the items are replaced for their individual values, both items must be surrendered to Omega Moving & Storage, Inc.  In essence, the closed claim is paying for the item that is deemed totally lost or destroyed per the elected moving coverage.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am not sure what Is being offered. Are you offering for full reimbursement of the tv stand?  Is the reading chair offer only for depreciated value?  The chair was in perfect condition prior to Omega's handling. Also how does this solve the request to have a licensed professional work on the rest of the damaged pieces?  At the end of your offer you slipped in your so called insurance coverage. None of which was discussed in making me whole for the damages when **** came to my house the day we moved. So let's put actual "reasonable" dollar values down in an arrangement. $275 for the tv stand and $750 for the furniture repair person to be hired by myself.  No furniture will be surrenderred to Omega.  

This is reasonable. 

Regards,

**** ****

2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a claim about damage to my property and some of my furniture being left behind at my old address in Alpine, CA with Omega Moving and Storage on 9-8-2011. I filled out all of their forms, got them notarized and did everything according to their policies. They told me that their claim person was on maternity leave and that it would be weeks before I heard back, Then they told me that another person was handling my claim. Then they emailed me and offered me $150.00 to settle because that's what the TV was going for used in my area on **********. They left my ******* recliner and a designer chair on the back porch worth about $900.00 and it was stolen in 24 hours because my friends went to go get them for us and they were gone. They destroyed our 52 inch big screen TV, scratched numerous pieces of wood furniture and put a whole in the back of my husband's chest of drawers. All I have asked for is $699.00 which is .60 cents per pound standard insurance. I am not asking for replacement of the two chairs at all. I just want to be able to buy a new TV. Some of the wood furniture were antiques, so I can't replace those two items. Once I rejected the $150.00 they will not answer my emails at all. I have been very civil about this whole thing and would now like closure to move on.

Desired Settlement: All I have asked for is $699.00 which is .60 cents per pound standard insurance. I am not asking for replacement of the two chairs at all. I just want to be able to buy a new TV. Some of the wood furniture were antiques, so I can't replace those two items. I am not asking them to repair the other damaged furniture at all, I just want my .60 cents per pound as stated in their booklet and on their paperwork.

Business Response:

October 25th, 2011BBB of San Diego
5050 Murphy Canyon, Ste. 110

San Diego, CA 92123

RE: #*******
 

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. would like to thank ******** ******* for having choosen us as her moving and storage company.  We value ******** as a customer and appreciate all her business.  After reviewing all of the documents submitted, unfortunately we were unable to grant Kymberly the total value of the claim.  ********s’ claim was denied based on the following information:

 

Once again, on the Bill of Lading, which ******** was able to refer to in her copy as well, ******** signed, initialed, dated and printed the following: “0.60 cents per article per pound”.  This acknowledgement stated that the valuation coverage, which is provided to you as a customer at no charge, provides minimal protection under this option at no additional cost.  The coverage only applies if the article is “Totally Destroyed” or lost.  Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. assumes liability for no more than $0.60 cents per pound per article.  There is no provision for coverage of cosmetic damages.  We are not obligated to give ******** full replacement value since ******** did not purchases additional full coverage insurance for the move. This option does not cover scratches, dings or dents only “Totally Destroyed” items.

 

Therefore, Omega Moving & Storage, Inc. is only liable for compensation according to your valuation coverage, which was a declared value that only protects $0.60 cents per pound per article based on total loss.  Therefore, your total claim is valued at $150 based on customer satisfaction and the following information:

  1. TV- to help cover the cost of buying a new TV equivalent (TV listed on ********** for $120). ******** cites her TV as weighing 500Lbs when it actually weights approx 223 pounds based on researched product specs (http://www.amazon.com/Hitachi-53FDX20B-53-Inch-Projection-HDTV-Ready/dp/B00006CFM4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1319571608&sr=8-1)
  2. Weight per pound of wood damage even though there was no additional full coverage insurance purchased.

 

If you are satisfied with our offer, please return our Stop Claims Affidavit Form to our office as soon as possible.  Thank you for your time and consideration. 

 

Closing,

Claims Dept.

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They are not addressing the "lost items." Which are the two chairs in the photos, bottom right. The men refused to put them on the truck saying they were not on the manifest. Manifest is attached with photos and they were on the manifest. The chairs were stolen off the front porch. My friends went to the house after my mother informed me that they did not load the chairs. My friends were going to bring the chairs to me and now they are gone. I would like to be compensated for my lost items as well.

Regards,

******** *******

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me in the amount of $150.00.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** ******* 

Business Response:

Hello ******* Family,

I am responding in regards to the claim that was filed today.  The check that was mailed to you as promised.  I regret that there is delay in receiving your closed claim funds due to the mailing system.  The check has not been returned to our office for incorrect address.  If another check is to be cut, a stop payment fee  of $25 would need to be deducted from the closed claim funds and a new check can only then be reissued. Thank you for your time and consideration.  Have a pleasant day.   

Closing,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc

619-531-0000

info@omegamoving.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

On Friday, December 30, 2011, Omega Moving & Storage told my husband to come pick up a check by 3 pm and sign a form. He was unable to get there by that time, so he had them mail the release form to our address in El Cajon. He then signed the form and mailed it back. He called to check and make sure the form was received and Omega told him they never got it so they never issued a check. They then emailed a form for my husband to sign on January 6, 2012. He signed the form and emailed it back and emailed to confirm they received it. Then Omega stated they would cut the check for $150.00 the very next Monday and mail it. When we did not receive it by Friday of that week, my husband called and was told the check was mailed to our old Oregon address and was promptly hung up on. By January 25, 2012 my husband emailed Omega again asking where the check was and we got no response so we filed this claim again to try to collect the funds.

All of our mail has been forwarded to our El Cajon address with no issues from Oregon. We had not had one piece of missing mail until now. We do not believe they ever cut a check, so I am asking for evidence to prove they cut a check and mailed it, before I will agree to anything more.

Regards,

******** *******

Business Response:

Hello and good afternoon,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc stands behind our original claim that the check was indeed mailed to the Oregon address by mistake and will re-issue the check minus the stop payment fee or will re-mail to the El Cajon address, if returned to our office.  Thank you.  Please see attached copy of check.

 

Closing,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc

619-531-0000

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

We finally received the check and it looks like it cleared our bank without incident. I will consider the matter closed unless the check bounces.

Regards,

******** *******

1/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently hired this company to move my furniture from Rancho Bernardo to Carlsbad. The movers significantly damaged the walls and railings of my stair wells at both homes. They had 3 professional movers moving a couch that had been originally delivered by 2 men with no trouble, but still caused significant damage to the railings and walls. The company assured me they had a contractor on staff that would fix the damage, but then they sent out one of the movers to fix it. All the guy did was apply some paint to cover up the scratches, without sanding, patching, re-filling or texturing anything. He also spilled paint on my carpet and didn't clean it up. Each time I have tried contacting the company they have been extremely rude (as if it were my fault they damaged my home). They have also not responded to me about fixing the home I moved to. I'm not sure what to do about the situation or how to proceed.

Desired Settlement: Has not yet been resolved.

Business Response:

Hello and good afternoon,

I would like to formally disclaim that our company has received the claim from Ms. ******* and we have been in contact with the customer in regards to settle her damage claim.  The appointment date and time is still being neogiated.  Thank you for your time and consideration. 

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc would like to update and close the complaint ID# ********.  Our company is scheduled to visit and make the necessary repairs at Ms. ****** ********'* home tomorrow, January 21, 2011 between 1-3pm.  We believe that her chief complaint are the banister damages and the spilled paint.  All will be resolved tomorrow. Thank you for your time and consideration. Have a pleasant day. 
--

******* *****

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc

Office Manager

1/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract for Omega Moving company to move my property to a new residence with expenses not to exceed $350. I am now attempting to submit a claim for damages to my property during the move and the company is refusing to process my claim. They fradulently changed the not to exceed amount after I signed it (it was whited out and re-written after I signed it without my permission or consent or even knowledge) and are claiming I owe more before my claim for damages will be considered. They also forged my signature on the contract where it indicated the ending time of the job.

Desired Settlement: $1111 for damaged/missing property.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc would like to formally address the Demand for Payment for Ms. ***** *******.  We would like to acknowledge that there was miscommunication between the foreman and the customer on the day of the move, which occurred on November 19, 2011.  Due to the miscommunication, an error involving the paperwork occurred and mistakenly displayed a form of forgery which is not accurate.  The foreman provided a NTE and a change of order at the completion of the load on the day of the move.  The amounts that were originally written were to be added to the original estimate plus the amount on the contract, which explains the amount of $685.25 re-written on the contract.  In fact, the mathematical error was changed at the office the following business day.  The foreman was also re-trained the following business day in regards to the paperwork but forgery or deceptiveness was never the intent.   

The correct NTE amount of $685.25 was the actual amount that it would have taken if the assigned team were to the complete the move using the standard protocols in the moving industry.  For example, placing all furniture into the proper rooms and reassembling beds.  But due to the budget restrictions of the customer, the team only unloaded all items into the living room.  Upon the presentation of the updated NTE and change of order, the customer made it very clear that she could not pay more than $350 for the entire move.  The customer and her concerns of price was a concern and the foreman collected $300 before leaving the premises to the destination address. The collection of the $300 before leaving was not a deal to close the job at $350 but to secure that payment would be rendered for services complete.  Therefore, the total amount for the job for Ms. ******* is $434.75, which leaves a balance of $84.75. The remaining balance is due to the unpaid labor at the destination.  Per the signed Bill of Lading, no claims for damage can be opened with an outstanding balance.  (See Section: Filing of Claims) 

In summary, Omega Moving & Storage, Inc respectfully declines the demand for payment by Ms. ***** ******* of $1111.00.  On the other hand, we are willing to waive the balance due of $84.75 in lieu of the claimed damages during the move.  Therefore, such agreement would then close our claim for the move which occurred on November 19, 2011.  Thank you for your time and consideration. 

 

Closing,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc


 

******* *****

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc

Office Manager

 

Phone (619) 531-0000

Fax     (619) 531-0600

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The communication from Omega Moving & Storage continues to contain inaccuracies and portray a spirit of deceptiveness to prohibit my ability to recover damages to which I am rightly entitled. The NTE (not to exceed) amount was described to me as the maximum amount to complete the move of my furniture under the contract I had agreed to. That amount, when I signed it, was written as $350. This was following the verbal agreement of the office staff person who was answering the phones that my furniture would be moved into my living room (not placed in individual bedrooms, etc.) for $350. I was on the phone with her for 10 minutes at 12:07 PM while she confirmed with her supervisor that this would be acceptable.

I maintain that the forgery and deceptiveness were the intent and my complaint is not resolved, considering the following facts:

- The Ms. ***** acknowledged in her response to BBB that I had made it clear that I could not pay more than $350. This supports the fact that I would not have signed an NTE agreement to pay up to $685.25.

- As cited in my original complaint, I spoke with Omega Moving & Storage after the move was completed to request the copies of the contract (which were included in the original complaint). At that time, the person I spoke with verbally confirmed that the NTE amount on the paperwork he was looking at stated $350. I confirmed this with him twice, because he also cited the remaining balance of $84.75. At that time, I asked if, since the NTE clearly stated $350, would the remaining balance over $350 be waived so I could file my claim for damages. He said he thought that would probably be the case but that I needed to file the claim and it would all be reviewed at that point. He took over two hours to scan (requiring a second phone call from me asking where the paperwork was) and email the copies of the contract showing the NTE that I had requested, which was when Omega must have changed the amounts. This indicates that the attempt to deprive me of the damages I am entitled to was likely at a level higher in the organization than the foreman, as Ms. ***** claimed was the case in her response.

- I have signed many contracts in my life, including the purchase of multiple houses and other assets. It is never appropriate on a contract to "white out" any material part of a document. Corrections should be drawn through with both parties initialing to acknowledge that the change had been made.

- The foreman did not collect the $300 before leaving the premises. It was paid on the living room floor of the destination. It was the collective understanding of myself, the office staff, and the foreman at that time that the $300 was the remaining balance to close out the job (as supported by the originally signed NTE of $350, which included a $50 deposit I had made at the time of booking the move).

- Ms. *****'s "offer" to waive the alleged balance of $84.75 in lieu of my agreement to drop my claim for damages is completely inappropriate and continues to display Omega Moving & Storage's attempt to defraud me out of my right to payment for damages to my property. Had the NTE amount not been tampered with after I had signed it and my signature not forged, I would have never owed the $84.75 balance in the first place and I would be entitled to the claim for damages without any additional payment.

The issues of a tampered contract and forged signature do not even get to the other serious concern that I was originally quoted ~$280 for the move. I clearly described all of the furniture, boxes, and amount of personal belongings when I received the quote.  There was no significant difference in the volume of items to move, yet once the truck was loaded, I was advised that the amount would actually be more than a 200% increase of the original quote. It was my feeling that this was a type of "bait and switch" because there was nothing that I could do at that point since they had all of my property loaded in their van. It was at that time that I called the office, advised that I did not have more than $350 for the moving services, and offered that they could unload the contents of the truck in the parking lot of my new residence (and I would then be responsible for moving it inside). The new residence was a travel distance of 1.41 miles. That was when the office staff called her supervisor and they agreed to put everything in my living room for $350.

Omega Moving & Storage has done nothing to resolve my complaint except offer to waive the fraudulent $84.75 in lieu of their responsibility for the damage to my furniture that I am rightly entitled.

Regards,

***** *******

 

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc would like to come to a reasonable solution with Ms. *******.  In efforts to do so, we would like to send someone to visit Ms. *******'s home to survey any damage done at the premises.  We are available Mon-Fri between 8am-3pm.  In addition, we are willing to waive the outstanding balance as a courtesy but this is no admission any fault of deceptiveness, which is claimed from the customer.  Lastly, the monetary compensation is declined in full by our company. Thank you for your time and consideration. 
--

******* *****

Omega Moving & Storage, Inc

Office Manager

 

Phone (619) 531-0000

Fax     (619) 531-0600

12/12/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues