Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oakley Relocation LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oakley Relocation LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oakley Relocation LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 2008 Business started: 03/01/2008 in CA Business incorporated 03/05/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 190480.

Department of Transportation
Office Policy & Communications, 16 State House Station, Augusta ME 04333-0016
Fax Number: 207-624-3001
The number is 070851.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Linda Oakley, CEO Travis W. Oakley, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Oakley, CEO
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Movers

Products & Services

Oakley Relocation LLC offers the following product(s): Packing boxs and tape

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards
Alternate Business Names
Agent for North American Van Lines
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 13026 Stowe Dr #A

    Poway, CA 92064 (858) 602-1010 (800) 537-4812

  • PO Box 503810

    San Diego, CA 92150

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract# ******, Claim file *******. Since we have Tempurpedic ****resses, the sales agent* **** ***********, said we should use ****ress boxes to protect the ****resses and box springs from damage. The cost of the boxes was part of the contract. I watched as the truck was being unloaded, and when the ****resses and box springs came off they were NOT in boxes. I pointed this out to the driver, and he said they didn't have any, so they loaded without using any. There was damage to two box springs. I called **** ****** from Oakley Relocation, the agent, and he had the cost of the boxes refunded, and emailed me a claim form for the damages. The claim was handled by ****** ******* and I informed her that the damage was due to negligence on the part of the driver, for not using the boxes we contracted for. The claim for the damaged box springs was for $629.63. When I received the settlement statement from *** ******* I was shocked when the amount was for $60.00. I called her and she said that since the contract was for damage claims to be paid at 60 cents per pound, that was all they would pay. I asked to have a supervisor call me. When the supervisor called, I explained that the damage was due to negligence, since the driver DID NOT USE ****RESS BOXES that were contracted for to protect the product. She said it doesn't ****er, 60 cents per pound is all they pay. What kind of logic do they use? THEIR DRIVER WAS NEGLIGENT, didn't not use the protection we contracted for, but they are not at fault?

Desired Settlement: expect to be paid $629.63 to replace the two box springs.

Business Response:

 

 
Oakley Relocation

P.O. Box 80008, San Diego, CA 92138 Toll Free: 800-537-4812 Fax: 858-486-6023

 

November 18, 2014

 

BBB of San Diego

4747 Viewridge Ave Suite #200

San Diego, CA 92123

 

RE: . ***** ********

Complaint ID# - ********

Carrier Ref# ****** / Claim #*******

 

Dear BBB of San Diego,  

 

Your patience throughout our review of the submitted complaint is and has been appreciated.

 

We have completely reviewed the complaint and also have reviewed the submitted claim form.  According to our shipping documents, and review, we do not show where Atlas Transfer & Storage or Allied Van Lines has misguided the shipper.  There was damage sustained to the household goods involved in the shipment and claim form was filed.  We have verified that we have compensated the customer accordingly based upon the rules and regulations set forth within our tariff.  The coverage limits the carrier to payout based upon the elected coverage chosen by the consumer.  In the event of a total loss of the entire trailer full of household goods, all claims are and would still be settled based upon the minimum coverage not to exceed $.60 cents per pound per article.  In this same instance we have recognized our negligence and compensated based upon the elected coverage.  The claim form, settlement letter, and paperwork (Bill of Lading and Rules of the Road) have been attached for your review.  This claim was and has been addressed fairly and handled by Allied Van Lines, in Fort Wayne, IN. 

 

We regret that the consumer has filed a complaint and are extremely apologetic for the unfortunate event that has occurred during their relocation with Allied Van Lines.  .   

 

If we or I can be of further assistance, please contact us via the information outlined below at your convenience.   

 

Sincerely,

 

 

**** ******

Atlas Transfer & Storage

Claims Manager

T: ************

F: ************

C: ************

E: ********************

                     

P.O. Box 80008, San Diego, CA 92138

Phone: 800-854-2938

Website:  www.AtlasAllied.com

 

 

An Interstate Agent for North American Van Lines

 

 

 

Street Address: 13026 Stowe Drive, Poway, CA 92064 Phone: 858-602-101 O

PUC # T190480 Federal ID # 26-2128650 U.S. DOT # 070851

www.oakleyrelocation.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Your driver was NEGLIGENT by NOT using the ****ress boxes we contracted for.

If he had the common sense and courtesey to have advised us at pick up, that he did not have the boxes, we would have delayed the shipment.
Had he ABIDED BY THE CONTRACT, the damages would not have occurred.

Your company breached the contract!
I expect amount claimed.


Regards,

***** ********



Business Response:

 

 
Oakley Relocation

P.O. Box 80008, San Diego, CA 92138 Toll Free: 800-537-4812 Fax: 858-486-6023

 

November 18, 2014

 

BBB of San Diego

4747 Viewridge Ave Suite #200

San Diego, CA 92123

 

RE: . ***** ********

Complaint ID# - ********

Carrier Ref# ****** / Claim #*******

 

Dear BBB of San Diego,  

 

We have fully settled the claim based upon the guidelines set forth in our tariff
and as outlined on the bill of lading.  We will be unable to issue any further
funds at this time and regret that you found it necessary to file a claim.

Thank you,
****

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

**** ******

Atlas Transfer & Storage

Claims Manager

T: ************

F* ************

C: ************

E: ********************

                     

P.O. Box 80008, San Diego, CA 92138

Phone: 800-854-2938

Website:  www.AtlasAllied.com

 

 

An Interstate Agent for North American Van Lines

 

 

 

Street Address: 13026 Stowe Drive, Poway, CA 92064 Phone: 858-602-101 O

PUC # T190480 Federal ID # 26-2128650 U.S. DOT # 070851

www.oakleyrelocation.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

All you do is state the same information and skirt the issue on each response.

You have NOT addressed the issue that YOUR driver was negligent, and did NOT abide by the contract, calling for ****ress boxes to be used.
YOUR company violated the contract.
I expect full payment for the claim submitted.

Regards,

***** ********



Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .********* , and find that arbitration is necessary. 

Regards,

***** ********

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our household goods were in storage at Oakley Relocation. Seven pieces of furniture were damaged in storage. Plus, the Kitchen Aid mixer leaked a large amount of oil. On many pieces the damage is significant. An additional three pieces of furniture were damaged when Oakley Relocation moved our goods from San Diego to Olympia, Washington on October 9, 2013. Additionally, Oakley's movers damaged the maple flooring in our brand new house. I sent a letter of complaint to North American/Allied Van lines on October 24, 3013. ****** ******, President of Oakley Relocation, was copied on my letter. Neither he, nor anyone at North American/Allied, has responded to my letter. I find this level of rudeness and abysmal customer service completely unacceptable. On November 5, a representative of Reliable Furniture in Tacoma, Washington, contacted us and took pictures of the damage. I've been working with a representative at this firm but **** cannot even discover who is responsible for our claim at a company called ServPro in Fort Wayne, Indiana, who apparently contracts with North American/Allied to service their customer complaints. It is now November 14 and we have received nothing but a complete runaround.

Desired Settlement: My demands are simple. I wish the following... 1. I expect Thomas Oakley to contact me personally to a.) read my letter, b.) apologize for not responding to my letter, c.) apologize for the appaling damage to our furniture and which was caused by people who work for him and d.) pledge to do whatever is necessary to cut the red tape in the North American/Allied Van Lines/ServPro culture to facilitate the repair of our furniture. 2. Everyone involved needs to realize that our furniture is Mid-Century teak. It is not easily replaceable. We categorically refuse to accept any sort of cash settlement. 3. The only acceptable outcome is the repair of our furniture to our complete satisfaction and the replacement of the Kitchen Aid mixer. 4. I expect someone within Oakley Relocation to be assigned to work with me directly to ensure that items 1 through 3 are accomplished to my complete satisfaction

Business Response:

 

Your patience throughout our review of the submitted complaint is and has been appreciated.


Oakley Relocation and North American Van Lines would like to apologize for the unfortunate events that have occurred during the relocation. We strive to perform each and every relocation without incident and regret any and all inconveniences that have been caused We understand the importance of customer relations and will continue working with you until all aspects of your relocation have been completed.


We have completely reviewed the complaint and also have reviewed the submitted claim form.  Please be advised we received the claim form on 10/25, and assigned adjuster at our Corporate office (SIRVA - Parent Company of North American and Allied Van Lines), on 10/28/13.  The adjuster name is ***** Followell, and the claim is currently pending in status.  Most claims take anywhere from 20-45 business days to resolve.  We show contacting the consumer immediately upon receipt of the form via email.  (mail notification sent to: ******@comcast.net Sent by: j************************ Mail Body: Mr. *********, Mr. *********, I have been assigned as your claim adjuster in our home office at North American Van Line. I have assigned a local repair firm to inspect or repair the damage you have reported on your move. The repair firm is Reliable Furniture Service CO at 253-588****** The van line asks the repair firm to call you within 5 working days to make an appointment. You should hear from them shortly. Our records indicate your address is **** ****** ** *** ******** ** *****. If this is incorrect, please advise as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience during this time. ***** ********* 1-800-348-3746 EXT-****)


The repair firm was then assigned for evaluation on 11/5/13 and we received the inspection report on 11/14/13.  The claim is in final review to determine how best to proceed with settlement.  The consumer does have a deductible that needs to be applied and we will do our best to see that items are repaired where possible. 


According to our shipping documents, and review, we do not show where Oakley Relocation or North American Van Lines has misguided the shipper in regards to the claim.  We do accept, acknowledge, and apologize for the service failures and damages and our doing our best to resolve in a timely manner and do so within the rules and regulations set forth within our tariff.  This claim was and is being addressed fairly and handled by our Corporate office in Fort Wayne, IN.  Should the consumer wish to speak with a representative within our company please have them contact our claims manager (M*** ******) directly via phone at 708-925-9671 or via email at matt@atlasallied.com.


We (Oakley Relocation and North American Van Lines) again regret that the consumer has filed a complaint and are extremely apologetic for the unfortunate event that has occurred during their relocation with North American Van Lines.

   

Thank you for the patinece and time while we continue working with the consumer towards resolution.

 

Sincerely,

*** ******

 

Oakley Relocation

President

Agent for North American Van Lines

P.O. Box 503810, San Diego, CA 92150-3810

Phone: 858-486-7002

Fax: 858-602-1001

E-mail: ************************

Website: www.oakleyrelocation.com

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Here's a copy of my response to *** ****** at Oakley Relocation.  After reading my response, I'm confident you'll understand why this claim must remain open until my furniture is restored. 

I wish to thank everyone at the Better Business Bureau for your help.  As you may recall from my previous email, I wrote *** ****** on October 24, 2013, regarding all the damage to my furniture that was caused by his company.  He did not even bother to respond to my letter.  Even though he refused to speak with me as I requested in my complaint to you, at least you were able to get him to send me an email.  \

Regards,

**** *********

 

Here's a copy of what I sent him today

Mr. *******

Thank you for responding to my complaint regarding the services of your business, Oakley Relocation.  I appreciate the fact that you have apologized for the way Oakley Relocation failed to meet my expectations.  However, I regret that you did not call me, as I requested.  I would have welcomed an opportunity to speak with you about the moving services provided by your employees.  Yes, I am extremely angry about what happened.  However, after my long business career at **** **** *****, I realize all too well that yelling, hollering and generally carrying on when one is furious does little to resolve the situation.  However, at this point, I am not about to rule out sarcasm and highlighting key words!

How nice of you to detail the steps that have been made so far to resolve the difficulties I’ve experienced.  However, the process has not been even one single, teeny-weeny bit as smooth as you indicate in your email.    It would have been MUCH EASIER, if I could have spoke with you directly instead of taking the time to write.  However, here’s an outline of what has REALLY taken place since our household goods, some severely damaged, were delivered on October 9, 2013.

My ONLY contact with anyone who has knowledge of the damage has been with ******* (sp?) at Reliable Furniture in Tacoma, Washington.  She’s a great, honest woman who is doing her best; albeit being thwarted at every turn by the representatives at SIRVA.  I find it amazing that she is the only person who will even communicate with me.  It’s no wonder I had to turn to the BBB!

Yes, Reliable Furniture’s representative came out and took pictures.  I followed up with ******* and she told me that she submitted my claim on November 5, 2013, and ***** ******** would be handing my claim.  On November 6, 2013, I called ******* to ask when ***** would be calling.  BTW, during that conversation, ******* confirmed that the damage to my furniture was the result of poor packing

After that, the whole process went completely south.  On November 8, 2013, I called ******* to find out why ***** hadn’t called me.  ******* told me she’d been informed that ***** ******** had retired and my claim was being assigned to Heather Amstutz . ******* remarked that Heather had asked for documentation related to my claim.  Of course, I never heard from Heather. I spoke with  ******* on November 12, and she told me she thought someone name ***** ***** would be assigned to my claim.  Later that day, ******* informed me that ***** wasn’t retiring; she was on vacation and my claim would have to sit until she returned.  I told ******* that leaving my claim to sit, untouched, until ***** returned from vacation was totally unacceptable.  ******* agreed to try and resolve this latest bottleneck.  On November 14, 2013, I realized that both ******* and I were getting a complete, thorough runaround from the people at SIRVA who are supposed to be HELPING me.  Aside from *******, NO ONE WOULD CONTACT ME ABOUT ALL THE DAMAGE TO MY FURNITURE.  I’ve worked with the members of the BBB in San Diego over the years I spent at John Hine Mazda, so  I turned to them for help.

And help they did.  At least then you responded regarding my claim instead of totally ignoring the letter I sent to you dated October 24, 2013.

On November 15, 2013, ******* informed me that her report of my losses had been lost and she would have to resubmit.  This strikes me as completely bogus since Heather Amstutz had requested information regarding my claim on November 8, 2013.  It’s just one more example of how totally useless SIRVA is when it comes to competently handling customer claims.  It’s now November 18, 2013, and, aside from yourself and Reliable Furniture,  NO ONE HAS CONTACTED ME REGARDING MY CLAIM!!!

However, here’s my bottom line. 

1.        I realize full well that I have a $500 deductible and have no difficulty paying that sum toward the repair of my furniture.  I wish to state categorically that anything less than the repair of my furniture to my complete satisfaction, the replacement of my Kitchen Aid mixer, the restoration of my hardwood maple floor and the prompt repair/replacement of any other damage and/or loss that I may find during the unpacking process is the only resolution of this situation that I will accept.  Period.  End of conversation.  This is NON NEGOTIABLE!!!  I trust you understand.

2.       Since you’re not available to speak with a customer who spent over $16,000 over the past year for your substandard services, I expect a phone call from **** ****** immediately.  I can be reached at 360 742-3104 or on my cell 619 884-1639.  I cannot even imagine why you expect me to pay for a long-distance phone call after the total run around and general abysmal customer service I have received from Allied/North American Van Lines.

3.       I insist that my claim with the BBB remain open until my demands listed above under #1 are completely resolved to my total satisfaction.

If you’ve bothered to read this far, I want to thank you for your time.  Even though you’re totally adverse to speaking with one of your customers, I trust you WILL STEP UP TO THE PLATE and ensure that all necessary steps are taken to achieve my complete satisfaction.

Sincerely,

**** *********



 

Business Response: We are working with the consumer and will continue to do so until
avenues of the submitted claim have finalized.  We again apologize
and will be contacting the consumer again to apologize and work
towards resolving the concerns.

Sincerely,

 

 

**** ******

 

Oakley Relocation

Claims Manager

T: ************

F: 708-575-1163

C: ************

E: ********************

                     

13026 Stowe Drive

Poway, CA 92073


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

**** ****** HAS NOT CONTACTED ME

Regards,

**** *********



Business Response: I (**** ******) have spoken with the customer this morning.  We have discussed our service failure
in regards to the damages and extended our apologies for the unfortunate events that have transpired.

We will continue working with the customer on all items claimed and repair items where possible
and issue cash settlement where items may be deemed as non-repairable.

We are committed to resolving the concerns for the customer and advised resolution in regards
to authorization of repairs or cash settlements with the next upcoming 5 business days.

Again , we are very sorry for the inconveniences caused and will continue to work diligently
to resolve all concerns for the customer.

Thank you,
****

Sincerely,

 

 

 

**** ******

Oakley Relocation

Claims Manager

T: ************

F: 708-575-1163

C: ************

E: ********************

                

13026 Stowe Drive

Poway, CA 92073


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear BBB.

The purpose of this email is to confirm that I spoke with **** ****** of North American/Allied this morning.  It was a good conversation. He indicated to me that he is confident that the repair/replacement process should begin NLT Tuesday November 26, 2013.  I am very hopeful that my furniture and the damage to my brand new maple floor will be repaired and my Kitchen Aid mixer will be repaired/replaced in accordance with my wishes.

As I indicated earlier, I am hopeful that my complaint will be resolved to my satisfaction.  However, I wish to emphasize that I do not wish to close this claim until Oakley Relocation and North American/Allied Van lines have actually followed through and completed everything promised to me today by **** ******.

Once again, I wish to emphasize how deeply indebted I am to the assistance I've received from the BBB.  As you know from my previous emails, I've been tilting at this "windmill" since October 24, 3013.  Totally frustrated and furious at the run-around I received from North American/Allied, I turned to the BBB on November 14, 2013.  Four business days later it apears as if a process to settle my complaint will actually take place.  You guys are the greatest!

Most Sincerely,

**** *********



11/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Don't use if you actually want to know where your things are or get them in one piece on the expected delivery date! Recently used them on a cross country move from Southern California. Everything sounded good on the phone and I was able to arrange for Ashley to come up and give me an in-person estimate, which inspired confidence. After that, it was all downhill. I got a call a week before the agreed move date saying that there was an earlier truck that they could get my things on which would likely get them to my destination by the following Friday. We rushed to get everything together in the far shorter time window and succeeded. The day of the move, they showed up almost three hours late. The people who were packing were not the ones driving, so the trailer went on to be re-loaded. Once I got to my destination, everything went wrong. The truck was not going to be there that Friday, but I was told it would definitely be there on Sunday. On Sunday after placing several calls to both Ashley and to the truck driver, the driver finally calls back to say that they have no idea where the trailer is. The truck finally made it to my place a full week after the company and driver told me it would be there, but several things were missing or damaged, including several items that the company packed themselves. Throughout the whole process communication with the company was next to impossible. After I finally got my things, I was given a delay compensation form to fill out, but guess what? My claim was rejected for still being within the window of delivery! Despite the fact that their agent gave me his word on the delivery date, the actual delivery was within their ten day delivery window and they don't feel I am owed anything for my time or suffering. I guess that's the difference between laws and morals. I'd pass on Oakley in favor of a business that cares about and actually keeps in touch with their customers.

Desired Settlement: I expect compensation for expenses incurred due to delivery being a full week after the agreed upon date, despite this being a verbal agreement. I also expect full payment for damaged and lost items.

Business Response: We have completely reviewed the complaint and  also have reviewed the submitted claim form. According to our shipping 
documents, and review, we do show Oakley Relocation and North American Van Lines has not misguided the shipper in regards
to the date of delivery. Our records  indicate a delivery spread  listed on the Bill of Lading  of 9-3-13 thru 9-13-13.  The delivery
did not occur until 9-15-13 leaving the shipment a period of 2 days late which was conveyed to the consumer.

There was damage sustained to the household  goods involved in the shipment, however  no formal claim form was filed as of the
date of this letter.  Upon receipt of the damage claim form we will process accordingly within the guidelines of our tariff.

The delay claim was and has been addressed by North American Van Lines, in Fort Wayne, IN.  We are working with them  and
the customer in an  attempt to reach  fair cash settlement for all parties. All future correspondence should be forwarded and
directed  to them via email at claims@claimsupport.com.

We regret that the consumer has filed a complaint  and are extremely apologetic for the unfortunate event that has occurred during
their relocation with Allied Van Lines. 

If we or I can be of further assistance, please contact  us via the information outlined below at your convenience.

Sincerely,

**** ******
Oakley Relocation
Claims Manager
T: ************
F: ************
C: ************
E: ********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

**** ****** is correct that he approached me in order to set things right, without being approached by me. I was asked to fill out a delay claim form, as well as a damages form. BOTH documents were submitted directly to **** on 10/01/13. Two weeks later, I received a posted letter of rejection from a different rep, claiming that my delivery was within their estimated window, a claim that both **** and I seem to agree is incorrect. I contacted **** on 10/10/13 to press on this fact and never heard back. Both the delay claim and damages forms are attached to this message, as they were to my message dated 10/01/13. If necessary, I am happy to supply the relevant e-mails, including the one dated 10/08/13 from **** specifically discussing the damages claim form he now claims I never submitted.

 
At the end of the day, a customer should NEVER heard a moving company tell them that an entire trailer of their belongings is missing. That, paired with the fact that it was next to impossible to get a representative on the phone throughout the ordeal is incredibly poor customer service and merits restitution. The fact that not all of my belongings arrived and that of those that did, many were damaged speaks extremely poorly of North American Van Lines and their affiliate Oakley Relocations.

Regards,

*** ******



Business Response: The consumer is correct in that we did receive his delay claim and a list of damages.  However,
it was not and does not represent a formal claim form.  What was submitted by the consumer
was a copy of the customer check off sheet used to inform the carrier that the moving crew
was negligent.  It is not a formal insurance form, like what was filled out for the delay claim.
Therefore, our Corporate office will not process a claim for household good damage until
the formal claim form is filled out and returned. 

I have attached a copy of the form to this email and also outlined below how to file
directly online. 

Attached you will find a copy of the claim form. Please go forth in filling out and then send back to me via email, fax, or USPS, at your convenience. Once received we will move forward in processing, and update you furthermore as to what steps will be taken to address the claim. You may also file directly online at www.northamerican.com. If you choose this option please be sure to reference your six digit registration number listed on your move paperwork, usually located in the top right hand corner of your Bill of Lading.  At the bottom of the webpage under the header of “Customer Support”, you will notice the link entitled “Domestic Claim Form".  Click on the link and the multiple choice claim form will then be available for your filing.  Please keep in mind you have a period of up to nine (9) months from the date of delivery to file any and all claims.  You may submit the items you are aware of now and file supplemental claims should it be deemed necessary within the nine month time frame.  

During this time please do not dispose of or attempt to repair any items, as this would void the specific item from your claim.   Should you possess digital photos of the claimed items and would like to submit them they are welcome but not required.  

Should you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact me via the below information at your convenience.

Again, our apologies for any and all inconveniences caused during the move and appreciate your time and patience while we work together towards resolution.

 

Thanks,

****

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

Oakley Relocation

Claims Manager

T: ************

F: ************

C: ************

E: ********************

                

13026 Stowe Drive

Poway, CA 92073