Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

North Park Transfer & Storage

Phone: (619) 258-9990 Fax: (619) 258-9992 View Additional Phone Numbers 8616 Cuyamaca St #102, Santee, CA 92071 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.northparktransfer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving and storage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that North Park Transfer & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for North Park Transfer & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on North Park Transfer & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 2005 Business started: 03/25/2005 in CA Business incorporated 03/25/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is MTR0190198.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Keller, President Ms. Michelle Keller, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Keller, President
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
North Park Moving North Park Moving & Storage North Park Transfer & Storage Inc
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 8616 Cuyamaca St #102

    Santee, CA 92071 (619) 258-9990 (888) 619-6683

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a deal on Angie's List for 3 movers for 3hrs from North Park Transfer & Storage for $279. If you call ANY moving company & say you need to move a 800sq ft/1 bedroom apt to a new apartment 15min away, they will tell you it is a small job & with 2 movers it will take around 3hrs, & 3 movers it will take around 2hrs. All 3 arrived nearly 2hrs late the day of the move & said how happy they were that this would be an easy move. I had all of my belongings packed in boxes. My doorway was directly in front of a small stair case of 6 stairs & they were just stacking the boxes up on a dolly & rolling it down the stairs, rather than carrying the boxes, to their truck parked down a cement path 35ft away. They continuously took breaks & 1 was obviously hung over as he kept vomiting. Finally the truck was loaded & we both took off–I arrived 12min later, they arrived 1 hour later. They parked in the loading zone 4ft from the entrance to my building. From there it is a straight shot to the elevators about 25ft away. My apt is right when you get off the elevators on the 8th floor. The elevators were not being used by other tenants since it was the middle of a workday. They unloaded at an extremely slow pace & 30min after they had finally finished, over 6hrs later, 1 of the movers showed up with paperwork (he charged me for this 30min). He had me sign a few papers including 1 he had "forgot" to show me upfront that stated my move would not exceed his quote of $1200! $1200 to move a 1 bedroom apt which has cost me $300 w/ 5 different companies in the past?! If I had seen that upfront I would called another moving company as it would have been clear that they were going to take their time & rip me off. He then gave me a bill for time over the 3hrs I had paid for. I argued that I shouldn’t have to pay extra since this move would have taken under 3hrs if they weren’t constantly taking rest/vomit breaks. I finally paid $424.88 (in addition to the $279) to get him to leave.

Desired Settlement: Let me start off my saying that I have used movers to move me to new apartments every few years for the past 10 years. I have used 6 different moving companies in total. In the past, I have always hired 2 movers & it would take them about 3 hrs (including drive time). I have had approximately the same items to move each time to a new apt about 15 min away. In all, it has never cost more than $300. With 3 movers, it should have taken less time & the fact that it took over 6 hours is unacceptable. I should not have to pay the extra $424.88 I was charged on top of the $279 since this move would have taken under 3 hours if they didn't constantly take rest/vomit breaks. The point of hiring professional movers was to have my entire apt moved in the morning so I could go back to work in the afternoon. This move wasted my entire day. It is unacceptable to take over 6hrs to move a 1 bedroom apt with 3 movers, when it has taken 3hrs with only 2 movers 5 times in the past.

Business Response: *******,
Start out this was a ***** **** special 3 men for $279.00 additional hours for 3 men would be $150.00 at origin we were not able to park truck in driveway due to the vehicles park there distance was 75 to 85 feet away as far as the drive time she was charged 15 minutes which doubles to half hour B/L will reflect charges the driver knowing that were she was moving to did take extra care and wrapping furniture in the house (she has very nice furniture) Destination: depending on traffic in the complex there can be a varience of 15 to 100 feet to the the entrance. Elevator was not locked out for movers for almost a hour into the delivery, a 14 story complex there is always somebody trying to take the elevator as for the furniture not fitting in her new apt. that is unfortunate Please also review her complaint with Angie list as for her FURNITURE NOT FITTING

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted North Park Storage and Transfer to ship my home's belongings from San Diego, CA to ********, MA. The contract states that full delivery is guareented on or before August 8th. I was also told all of my belongings would be loaded onto one truck. Neither has happened. Two trucks were used to ship my belongings and to date, the overflow shipment has not arrived. I was told that it MAY arrive on August 19th or 20th. I am taking my daughter to college before that date. On that truck are many of the belongings she needs for college. They of course were aware of this. In addition, I have been told my items have already shippped, when indeed they hadn't. I was assurred someone would contact me immediately regarding my shipment and was ignored. I have been lied to, ignored and mislead from the onset of this process and hope that no one else will fall victim to this negligent company's practices.

Desired Settlement: Publicize company's negligence

Business Response: Mrs. ***** shipment was contracted to ******* Van Lines however this shipment did not fit on one truck we had a overflow of items which did not arrive in Ma. on time she is in titled to a delay claim 

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Be aware that in signing with this company, you are choosing to allow them to subcontract a very mediocre service. I worked with **** *****, who was a great sales man. He was helpful in coordinating the move, very friendly and quick to get back to me....until their subcontracted mover LOST and DAMAGED $7500 worth of my goods. The following experience of misery is in regards to ******* Vanlines, however, it is relevant to post here, because if you are hiring North Park Transfer, you are allowing them to subcontract a service that you have no say in! Additionally, North Park Transfer was useless in helping us to figure out how to process our insurance claim. ****, their secretary, was rude and extremely disorganized. It took her several weeks to simply acquire the claim form for me to be able to file!We signed a contract with North Park Storage and Transfer, who subcontracted ******* Vanlines, to move our items from San Diego, CA to **** *****, OR. Several totes and a suitcase were missing when ******* Vanlines delivered our items. Additionally, our motorcycle and several pieces of furniture were damaged. We waited several weeks for the office manager of North Park Storage and Transfer to email us the Claims Form on behalf of ******* Vanlines. We submitted the claims form promptly. Months went by with no word from either North Park Storage and Transfer or ******* Vanlines until I received a call from my personal storage unit manager informing me that he received mail from ******* Vanlines and forwarded it to me. This mail informed us that we owed ******* Vanlines money, claiming the motorcycle required an additional fee. We immediately called ******* Vanlines to establish some communication, leaving several messages with no call back for the first week. Finally, a lady at the office informed me the claim had been processed and a check would be sent. We submitted a claim for about $7,500 and received a check for $347.51.

Desired Settlement: $3297. (We initially paid $2247. Then were charged an additional $900 due to a change in delivery date; however, after a phone conversation with ***** *****, we were under the impression the additional fees would be in the low hundreds, something like $300. On TOP of that, they charged an additional fee of $150 for a motorcycle oversized fee (they had known from the very start when we signed the contract the height, weight and specs of the motorcycle), which came from our insurance claim.)

Business Response: Dear BBB

i am currently working with ***** ********* on this matter directly she was able to send me documents over the holiday weekend for my review

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.  **** has reached out to me and is reviewing documents supporting our current situation.  No resolution has occurred yet, however we are one step closer to coming towards one.  When the situation is resolved adequately, I will be certain to follow up in this matter.  Thank you for your assistance.

 

Regards,

***** *********

Business Response: To: BBB 
Response to ***** *********
Date of loading was 12-04-12 and per order for service she was giving a delivery of 12-10-12. ***** ********* was unable to secure a location in **** ***** ****** by that date.  ***** *********'s agreement for service  states what dollar amounts it would cost if you can not accept by the delivery date and it has to go into storage. She chose to have her household goods put into our storage facility located in ******** ******. Her household goods later delivered out to **** ***** ****** on 12-31-12. At delivery, at the time of check off, there were notations made of a suitcase missing, packed by owner totes she received as overages and of packed by owner cartons which were mistagged. Also noted were 2 suitcases delivered without inventory numbers that were the only two suitcases noted on the original inventory which were delivered.Scratches on the motorcycle were noted at the time of pickup in the exact spot noted by driver in San diego before loading motorcycle. All set aside, when a claim is turned in to the insurace company North Park Transfer does not have any conrol over the claim. When the high value inventory was filled out and signed by her no notation was made as to $1900.00 helmets or $1310.00 stemware on this shipment. She also was asked to read and sign the "Notice to Customer Regarding Inventories ,Exceptions and High Value Items" form,which she signed and dated. We are protesting the inclusion of these items on the claim as invalid, we performed proper proceedures to cover ourselves as we usually do.