BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

North Park Transfer & Storage

Phone: (619) 258-9990 Fax: (619) 258-9992 View Additional Phone Numbers 8616 Cuyamaca St #102, Santee, CA 92071 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.northparktransfer.com ! BBB Business Review on North Park Transfer & Storage is being Updated by BBB!

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving and storage services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.



Additional Locations

  • 8616 Cuyamaca St #102

    Santee, CA 92071 (619) 258-9990 (888) 619-6683

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 619-6683(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

BBB's Business Review on this business is currently being updated. Therefore BBB cannot provide you with any information at this time.


Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a deal on Angie's List for 3 movers for 3hrs from North Park Transfer & Storage for $279. If you call ANY moving company & say you need to move a 800sq ft/1 bedroom apt to a new apartment 15min away, they will tell you it is a small job & with 2 movers it will take around 3hrs, & 3 movers it will take around 2hrs. All 3 arrived nearly 2hrs late the day of the move & said how happy they were that this would be an easy move. I had all of my belongings packed in boxes. My doorway was directly in front of a small stair case of 6 stairs & they were just stacking the boxes up on a dolly & rolling it down the stairs, rather than carrying the boxes, to their truck parked down a cement path 35ft away. They continuously took breaks & 1 was obviously hung over as he kept vomiting. Finally the truck was loaded & we both took off–I arrived 12min later, they arrived 1 hour later. They parked in the loading zone 4ft from the entrance to my building. From there it is a straight shot to the elevators about 25ft away. My apt is right when you get off the elevators on the 8th floor. The elevators were not being used by other tenants since it was the middle of a workday. They unloaded at an extremely slow pace & 30min after they had finally finished, over 6hrs later, 1 of the movers showed up with paperwork (he charged me for this 30min). He had me sign a few papers including 1 he had "forgot" to show me upfront that stated my move would not exceed his quote of $1200! $1200 to move a 1 bedroom apt which has cost me $300 w/ 5 different companies in the past?! If I had seen that upfront I would called another moving company as it would have been clear that they were going to take their time & rip me off. He then gave me a bill for time over the 3hrs I had paid for. I argued that I shouldn’t have to pay extra since this move would have taken under 3hrs if they weren’t constantly taking rest/vomit breaks. I finally paid $424.88 (in addition to the $279) to get him to leave.

Desired Settlement: Let me start off my saying that I have used movers to move me to new apartments every few years for the past 10 years. I have used 6 different moving companies in total. In the past, I have always hired 2 movers & it would take them about 3 hrs (including drive time). I have had approximately the same items to move each time to a new apt about 15 min away. In all, it has never cost more than $300. With 3 movers, it should have taken less time & the fact that it took over 6 hours is unacceptable. I should not have to pay the extra $424.88 I was charged on top of the $279 since this move would have taken under 3 hours if they didn't constantly take rest/vomit breaks. The point of hiring professional movers was to have my entire apt moved in the morning so I could go back to work in the afternoon. This move wasted my entire day. It is unacceptable to take over 6hrs to move a 1 bedroom apt with 3 movers, when it has taken 3hrs with only 2 movers 5 times in the past.

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted North Park Storage and Transfer to ship my home's belongings from San Diego, CA to ********, MA. The contract states that full delivery is guareented on or before August 8th. I was also told all of my belongings would be loaded onto one truck. Neither has happened. Two trucks were used to ship my belongings and to date, the overflow shipment has not arrived. I was told that it MAY arrive on August 19th or 20th. I am taking my daughter to college before that date. On that truck are many of the belongings she needs for college. They of course were aware of this. In addition, I have been told my items have already shippped, when indeed they hadn't. I was assurred someone would contact me immediately regarding my shipment and was ignored. I have been lied to, ignored and mislead from the onset of this process and hope that no one else will fall victim to this negligent company's practices.

Desired Settlement: Publicize company's negligence

Business Response: Mrs. ***** shipment was contracted to ******* Van Lines however this shipment did not fit on one truck we had a overflow of items which did not arrive in Ma. on time she is in titled to a delay claim 

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Be aware that in signing with this company, you are choosing to allow them to subcontract a very mediocre service. I worked with **** *****, who was a great sales man. He was helpful in coordinating the move, very friendly and quick to get back to me....until their subcontracted mover LOST and DAMAGED $7500 worth of my goods. The following experience of misery is in regards to ******* Vanlines, however, it is relevant to post here, because if you are hiring North Park Transfer, you are allowing them to subcontract a service that you have no say in! Additionally, North Park Transfer was useless in helping us to figure out how to process our insurance claim. ****, their secretary, was rude and extremely disorganized. It took her several weeks to simply acquire the claim form for me to be able to file!We signed a contract with North Park Storage and Transfer, who subcontracted ******* Vanlines, to move our items from San Diego, CA to **** *****, OR. Several totes and a suitcase were missing when ******* Vanlines delivered our items. Additionally, our motorcycle and several pieces of furniture were damaged. We waited several weeks for the office manager of North Park Storage and Transfer to email us the Claims Form on behalf of ******* Vanlines. We submitted the claims form promptly. Months went by with no word from either North Park Storage and Transfer or ******* Vanlines until I received a call from my personal storage unit manager informing me that he received mail from ******* Vanlines and forwarded it to me. This mail informed us that we owed ******* Vanlines money, claiming the motorcycle required an additional fee. We immediately called ******* Vanlines to establish some communication, leaving several messages with no call back for the first week. Finally, a lady at the office informed me the claim had been processed and a check would be sent. We submitted a claim for about $7,500 and received a check for $347.51.

Desired Settlement: $3297. (We initially paid $2247. Then were charged an additional $900 due to a change in delivery date; however, after a phone conversation with ***** *****, we were under the impression the additional fees would be in the low hundreds, something like $300. On TOP of that, they charged an additional fee of $150 for a motorcycle oversized fee (they had known from the very start when we signed the contract the height, weight and specs of the motorcycle), which came from our insurance claim.)

Business Response: Dear BBB

i am currently working with ***** ********* on this matter directly she was able to send me documents over the holiday weekend for my review

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.  **** has reached out to me and is reviewing documents supporting our current situation.  No resolution has occurred yet, however we are one step closer to coming towards one.  When the situation is resolved adequately, I will be certain to follow up in this matter.  Thank you for your assistance.

 

Regards,

***** *********

Business Response: To: BBB 
Response to ***** *********
Date of loading was 12-04-12 and per order for service she was giving a delivery of 12-10-12. ***** ********* was unable to secure a location in **** ***** ****** by that date.  ***** *********'s agreement for service  states what dollar amounts it would cost if you can not accept by the delivery date and it has to go into storage. She chose to have her household goods put into our storage facility located in ******** ******. Her household goods later delivered out to **** ***** ****** on 12-31-12. At delivery, at the time of check off, there were notations made of a suitcase missing, packed by owner totes she received as overages and of packed by owner cartons which were mistagged. Also noted were 2 suitcases delivered without inventory numbers that were the only two suitcases noted on the original inventory which were delivered.Scratches on the motorcycle were noted at the time of pickup in the exact spot noted by driver in San diego before loading motorcycle. All set aside, when a claim is turned in to the insurace company North Park Transfer does not have any conrol over the claim. When the high value inventory was filled out and signed by her no notation was made as to $1900.00 helmets or $1310.00 stemware on this shipment. She also was asked to read and sign the "Notice to Customer Regarding Inventories ,Exceptions and High Value Items" form,which she signed and dated. We are protesting the inclusion of these items on the claim as invalid, we performed proper proceedures to cover ourselves as we usually do.

3/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pursuant to a referral we received, I contacted North Park Transfer & Storage to obtain an estimate for our January 28 move. On January 20, 2012, ****** ******** inspected our home in order to provide an estimate.I requested that he also provide me a separate quote on the cost of packing the household items. I explained to Mr. ******** that we had every intention of packing ourselves but wanted to know the cost of hiring North Park Transfer to pack us in the event we could not get to it. The estimate for moving (not packing) came in at $20/hour higher than another company I was interested in using. On January 21, 2012, I contacted Mr. ******** to see whether they could drop their hourly rate by $20/hour. He immediately called me back and said that he had spoken to the owner, ***** who had agreed (reluctantly) to lower the rate. I thanked Mr. ******** and told him that we would use their company. I also explained to him that I had a house full of adults that weekend who were helping us pack so I did not think I would need packing services. On January 26, I left a message for Mr. ********, inquiring about the upcoming move time and explaining to him that we would not be needing packing services. When he called me back, he pressed me on the packing issue and wanted the movers to come a day early to "get a head start on loading the truck." I told him I did not want my items sitting in a truck overnight and that the move would only take 1 full day. Shortly thereafter, I received a call from the owner, ****, who again questioned me on why I was "canceling" the packing services. I told **** that I had made it very clear to Mr. ******** a week ago that we were likely going to pack ourselves. **** then told me that he would never have lowered his hourly moving rate by $20/hour had he known we were not going to pay them to pack. I told him he was putting me in a bad spot as my move was 36 hours away. He told me to find another moving company.

Desired Settlement: North Park Transfer has engaged in a classic bait & switch business practice - violations of Calif Unfair Business Practices and False Advertising laws. Estimate clearly separates out "local transport" costs from "cartons, packing & unpacking" costs. Also states "valid for 30 days from date of signature." Customer never informed that hourly rate for moving was contingent upon packing services. Nearly 1 day prior to move, we are told pay higher rate or we are canceling. statutory penalties

Business Response:

As you are aware North Park Transfer does not get many complaints, we were contacted by ****** ** ***** for moving services appointment was set for sales rep. Warren

Phillips to arrive at residence at 2:00 pm on 01/20/12 she received a copy of a not to exceed proposal for a full service move. ****** ** ***** then contacted ****** on

1/21/12 at 10:00 am she said she found a different moving company with a lower rate and asked if we would drop are hourly rate ****** said I don't think so but let me check

with my boss, then contacted myself (**** ******) he explained to me what was going on about this job. He told me it was a full pack the 27th and local 28th I then proceeded to ask questions about the customer I replied will call him back in ten minutes, I then checked dispatch and came up with this scenario on Friday 27th I would give two of my salary employees to help the contractor pack and partial load to make up the difference in hourly rate and that is what the sales rep. ****** and ****** ** ***** agreed upon. On 01126/12 dispatch (*** *****) called ****** ***** to confirm packing and time of arrival for 01/27/12 at that time she told she did not need our packing services only the local on 01/28/12. I then contacted ****** ** ***** and told her, that is not what we agreed upon she then starting yelling and at me and proceeded to tell me I am a attorney and you will pay for this if I don't proceed with this move, I replied I am not raising the hourly rate find another moving company to do your move. Listing below is five reasons why I refused service

 

(1) Verbal agreement for packing services

(2) Cursing over the phone (very unprofessional for an attorney)

(3) No signed contract for moving services

(4) Within my rights to refuse moving services

(5) ****** ** ***** received copy of revised estimate of 1/23/12

 

**** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

CPUC regulations provide that written estimates are binding on the mover.  The written estimate I received from North Park Transfer & Storage provides a Local Transportation & Labor estimate at $140/hour for 12 hours, for a total estimate of $1730.40.  This estimate is neither dependent nor contingent upon the customer using North Park Transfer & Storage for their packing services.  At the time the estimate for transportation services was requested, and no less than 3 times thereafter, I clearly explained to ****** at North Park Transfer & Storage that it was my intention to pack my own items and that in all likelihood, I would not need the Company's packing services.  Indeed, ****** and I had a conversation on January 21, 2012 regarding my packing of my china, as I explained to ****** that I had family in from out of town and they were in the process of packing my entire china cabinet and we would be transporting the china to our new location (3 miles away) ourselves.  There was no misunderstanding as to my intentions with respect to packing.  Moreover, at no time did ****** ever state that the lower hourly rate for transport and labor was dependent on us using the Company for packing.  CUPC regulations also require moving companies to provide the consumer at the first meeting with the booklet entitled Important Information for Persons Moving Household Goods (Within California).  I was not provided with this information at any time by anyone at North Park Transfer & Storage.  In addition, CPUC regulations require the moving company to provide you with the complete the Agreement, sign it, and give it to you no less that three days before the day of the move.  This provides the customer with an opportunity to review the quote and clear up any confusion.  This requirement was not complied with; Had it been, perhaps ****, the Company owner, would have been more clear on his customer's needs, rather than make bait-and-switch pricing deals with his agents behind who make his customer's backs

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

February 22, 2012

To BBB

RESPONSE TO REJECTION ID *******

 

(1) Please see page 89 referring to about this booklet, it also states (obtain your assurance (meaning the carrier) that you received it from another source). In any case, you must initial a statement, on the Consumer Protections and/or Waivers section of the Agreement for Moving Services, which it is signed and initialed before the job starts.

 

(2) Please note on packing on page 3 on the inventory there is a complete separation on the cartons that were to be packed by owner and packed by carrier which it is also noted on the not to exceed proposal of $3,368.83

 

(3) You stated that I would not do your move unless we received are original rates, NOT TRUE, I stated to you find another moving company to do your move.

 

(4) PC 17300 UnFair Business Practice and PC 17500"17509 Bait and Switch Law follows under about the same category ofl.U1true or misleading. Are firm North Park Transfer has never mislead or been untrue to ****** ** ***** or any client in that matter...

 

(5) Your initial complaint you mentioned that at nO time were you planning on having North Park Transfer do any packing but on your rejection complaint you are mentioning that, there was talk about china to be packed

**** ******