BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Laprom Moving

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 719-6246 View Additional Phone Numbers 1350 Front St #229, San Diego, CA 92101 http://www.laprommoving.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides local and long distance moving services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Laprom Moving include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Laprom Moving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 11, 2010 Business started: 07/12/2006 in CA Business incorporated: 07/12/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The license number is 190325.

Department of Transportation
USDOT C-75 Room 4137, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-2220
The license number is 1402190.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Imir, Director of Marketing Mr. Eduard Karabet, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Imir, Director of Marketing
Principal: Mr. Eduard Karabet, President
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
24 Moving and Storage Laprom Inc Pink Moving
Additional Information

The BBB received returned mail from the company's address and contacted the company for a valid address, however the company declined to provide this information to the BBB.

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1350 Front St #229

    San Diego, CA 92101 (619) 609-0055 (888) 719-6246

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    615 C St #229

    San Diego, CA 92101

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (619) 609-0055(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday, February 28th, 2014 I called and made reservations for a moving service, two men, a truck, and misc. accessories as needed, for the following day, Saturday, 03/01/2014 for a move from my daughters house, at **** ******* **, San Diego, CA of misc. furniture and boxes to a storage in central San Diego. It was agreed that there was an afternoon opening 12:00 PM to 4:00 PM , and a price of $79 per hour, 4 hour minimum was stipulated. and agreed to. I explained that they would need to call my daughter and meet her there. The movers called at 8:15 AM Saturday and asked if they could do it in the morning, which was not possible. When the movers had not called by 1:30 PM, I contacted the central office and asked why the movers were late and was it possible to get an estimate of their arrival. The representative was VERY defensive, and stated that the contract was for any time between 12:00 noon and 4 PM and he refused to try to assess the actual time of arrival of his movers. When I tried to explain that that was not going to work for us, as we naturally assumed that a 4 hour minimum meant they would be started at a reasonable time during the early afternoon. We were NOT willing to wait until 4 PM to get started and work into the night. I was accused immediately of being aggressive, of shouting and profanity, (NOT TRUE). I then was told with an attitude like mine they were just going to cancel us period and I would be charged for the move via the credit card info I had given them. Somewhat later I contacted the actual mover who had called to inquire about doing it that morning and he confirmed they were just not able to get there until very late. As this move was scheduled for the first of the month it has caused us problems with the landlord, and we must now pay perdium rent and compensation for new tenants being held out until our move is completed, which, unfortunately, we must now start over from scratch. It very well may have also cost us our reservation with the storage company we reserved.

Desired Settlement: I would like this moving company to honor a new schedule later in the week (to be determined) and that I only pay for services actually performed. We can work out our issues with landlords, storage facilities, etc. If this moving company can give us a reasonable estimate of arrival and diligently honor their service commitment.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 24Moving moved me on December 2 2012. During the move the movers first damaged my brand new $2000 massage chair, they didnt cover it with blankets and repeatedly try to shove it through a doorway that wouldnt fit. I told them they had to take off one side but the leather on both sides was destroyed. I called 24Moving immediately when it happened. I have pictures of Everything!! They also damaged the right side of my bookcase, a big chunk was torn out of it. And damaged my king size Hemingway bed numerous times, scratches, gouges, from banging it into everything. I called 24Moving because all my furniture is brand new and I am still paying on it. I just bought it from deploying from overseas and was moving to a more central location. I never was offered there premium warranty so they said the objects would be paid .60 a pound. .60 would never cover the damage even on the massage chair, because an estimate was over $500 just for the leather being repaired. But being a good sport I said since I didnt know and I only had the basic warranty that would be fine. I sent a ton of pictures on 3 separate occasions, the representative *****, who is suppose to be the claim manager, said he was having troubles receiving them. I talked to him several times and he said it would take 2 weeks to get compensation. It has almost been 4 months now. Now I send emails, leave messages, I never get a call back. The last call I received was 2 weeks ago, ***** said the massage chair was going to get paid but he was going to try to find someone to fix the wood, which it is damaged and a cover up is not what Im looking for. He said if he could not find someone he would settle the claim. Last week I called he is on vacation again, and now he says he cant find pics of the furniture to pay out. It seems to me a big scam. I sent him an email telling him of my intentions of contacting BBB. Im also trying to contact someone of higher authority at his establishment. I am just looking for compensation. Thanks

Desired Settlement: Compensation for my damaged items, deposit from damages caused from moving, time loss is what I am looking for. 2 weeks it was suppose to be settled, 4 months later and I am still waiting. I have pictures of everything, during the move and after, even the doorway was damaged horribly from the movers trying to shove the massage chair through the door and gouging up the laminate floors which I have pictures of that too, which caused me $600 deposit.

Business Response:

We have received your claim and are in the process of processing the claim. We have every intention to complete the process and issue a check. We have asked for few items that are sill missing and once we have these, we will be able to completely settle the claim.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Complaint Detail
Used Laprom for a move and high ticket items were not delivered, such as 2 42" Plasma TV's, Canvas Painting, etc. On October 27, 2012 I called Laprom Moving for a quote to move my 1 bedroom apartment to Public Storage. Move date was November 9, 2012. Good customer service when setting up the move. When the movers arrived, they came in a car! My estimate listed 2 guys and 1 truck so I had to wait for them to drive back to San Francisco to get a truck. 1.5 hours later and 15 minutes on the phone with a very rude Amy, they returned with a truck. I was quoted 3 hours, it took them over 4 hours and they tried to wrap my bed, couch, etc., with plastic. My furniture was already wrapped! The "foreman" smelled of alcohol and was sweating a lot. They claim they are local, with a local Mt. View address and phone number. The phone number (###-###-####) is disconnected and the address (address *** ****** *** **** ***** **) they list for *** ***** **, does not exist! I go to my storage unit to move my belongings to a new place and 2, not 1, but 2, 42" Panasonic Plasma TV's are not there. Large mirror, painting on canvas, small fold up chair, Cherrywood marble topped table, Blue flower comforter set, roller skates....other small misc items as well are mysteriously not there. Per ******** w/Laprom Moving, all of their trucks have cameras, but ironically they cannot find the recording of my move (I have this statement in email from ******** w/Laprom). $600+ and hefty cash tip to each mover, to move a 1 bedroom apartment, I am out of 2 42" Panasonic Plasma TV's and they are now giving me the run around. Supposed to send a claim form, called them and they said it was returned as the address was not found. All the rest of my mail goes to my PO Box, and they confirmed they had the right address. Was to send the claim form again but still not received. Finally have the claim form in email from ******** but she says, in the email, that Laprom's insurance will not take action as I do not have proof and they do not have the recording from my move. I was told to file a police report but still that their insurance probably would not take action even with the police report.
Desired Settlement
I want my 2 (two) 42" Panasonic VIERA 1080p Plasma TC-P42S2 TV's replaced. I paid a total of $1665 for both and still have my receipts to prove this. Depreciated value is approximately $1150 for both.
Desired Settlement: Other (requires explanation)

Regards,

*** *******

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

6/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 24Moving moved me on December 2 2012. During the move the movers first damaged my brand new $2000 massage chair, they didn't cover it with blankets and repeatedly try to shove it through a doorway that wouldn't fit. I told them they had to take off one side but the leather on both sides was destroyed. I called 24Moving immediately when it happened. I have pictures of Everything!! They also damaged the right side of my bookcase, a big chunk was torn out of it. And damaged my king size Hemingway bed numerous times, scratches, gouges, from banging it into everything. I called 24Moving because all my furniture is brand new and I am still paying on it. I just bought it from deploying from overseas and was moving to a more central location. I never was offered there premium warranty so they said the objects would be paid .60 a pound. .60 would never cover the damage even on the massage chair, because an estimate was over $500 just for the leather being repaired. But being a good sport I said since I didn't know and I only had the basic warranty that would be fine. I sent a ton of pictures on 3 separate occasions, the representative Garry, who is suppose to be the claim manager, said he was having troubles receiving them. I talked to him several times and he said it would take 2 weeks to get compensation. It has almost been 4 months now. Now I send emails, leave messages, I never get a call back. The last call I received was 2 weeks ago, ***** said the massage chair was going to get paid but he was going to try to find someone to fix the wood, which it is damaged and a cover up is not what I'm looking for. He said if he could not find someone he would settle the claim. Last week I called he is on vacation again, and now he says he cant find pics of the furniture to pay out. It seems to me a big scam. I recently sent several emails of the SKU # for the weight of the items like they asked for but no response. I'm also trying to contact someone of higher authority at his establishment.

Desired Settlement: Compensation for my damaged items, deposit from damages caused from moving, time loss is what I am looking for. 2 weeks it was suppose to be settled, 5 months later and I am still waiting. I have pictures of everything, during the move and after, even the doorway was damaged horribly from the movers trying to shove the massage chair through the door and gouging up the laminate floors which I have pictures of that too, which caused me $600 deposit.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable