BBB Accredited Business since

Discount Movers

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 490-0155 Fax: (858) 490-0199 8775 Miramar Pl, San Diego, CA 92121 http://www.discountmovers.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers household and commercial relocation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Discount Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Discount Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Discount Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 02, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1996 in CA Business incorporated: 09/12/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 0189594.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Berzanski, President Mrs. Kristie Berzanski, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Berzanski, President
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Pacific Moving Systems Inc
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 8775 Miramar Pl

    San Diego, CA 92121 (858) 490-0155

  • 8895 Towne Centre Dr #105-310

    San Diego, CA 92122

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Be aware of bait and switch aggravated by extremely unprofessional service. I called 10 days ahead and told about our moving. The guy told me 2 guys would do the job in 7 hours. On the moving day, the mover appeared at the door and the first thing he brought up was that you need 3 guys. He then suggested that they can do the job if I gave them a ridiculous amount of tip each. He simply took the advantage of the fact that we had to move and it was too late to look for another mover, the classic example of Bait and Switch. They ended up damaging our dinning table. Few items are still missing, either left out in the truck unloaded or never being loaded. I called them the next business day, the guy told me he would investigate the issue and call me next day. I have not received any call yet.

Desired Settlement: Refund Training their staff.

Business Response: I already have spoken to this customer regarding his move. He had more than double the boxes he told us over the phone 90 not 30, several additional large pieces of furniture and additional items. The two movers despite the much larger inventory still finished the move within the time frame the customer was quoted over the phone. He gave them additional money (tip) that he stated his wife's company is paying for and now wants to make $200 from a move he did not pay for to begin with.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I clearly told them that I have a 1200 sqft 2 bedroom apartment with a garage, an elliptic, king size bed, kid bedroom and etc. Do you really think that calls for only 30 boxes? It is a clear example of bait and switch. there are precedents as shared with people online. You guys need to train your staff and discipline whoever bends your ruls. And please don't be judgmental, I have not sent your receipt for reimbursement yet, send me 200$ along with 706 receipt please.  ]

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: The inventory we take down over the phone dictates the truck size and amount of movers we use. And yes, people with 2 bedrooms have 30 boxes or less quite often actually (by the way, we had you down as a 1 bedroom). We move the same apartment buildings and condos with the exact same square footage and the furniture and box count can be 4 times greater from unit to unit. I don't understand why that is so hard to believe. That is why we take the time over the phone to get a complete inventory. I have a copy of the same receipt you have. If you would like me to speak with your wifes co. regarding the charges and what you and your wife instructed the movers to do with said receipt, I will be happy to do so.

8/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 14th 2014, I called Discount Movers to confirm a quote I had received the week prior to move a 1 bedroom apartment from one side of downtown San Diego to the other. I told them I would have bins/boxes packed with personal effects and a bunch of sporadic items like large gear bags and unpackable items such as pictures, a sofa, ottoman, etc. They also asked if I would need a wardrobe box and I said yes. I was told I would require two movers. On the day of the move, they sent two movers and not one piece of furniture was wrapped to prevent damage. Also, when they arrived at my destination, they informed my fiance that they could not move my couch up stairs (due to the sections not fitting in the elevator). They did mention, however, that she could just pay them $140 and it would be their "tip". She then called me to relay the message and I in turn called discount movers. The representative told me that it was against California State law for movers to take anything up past the third floor. They also informed me that they would normally have three men there for a couch that size. And that their crew at my new apartment could move it for $140. At this time I was in a compromising position with leaving my couch outside or moving it for the price quoted. I told them to go ahead and execute the move, they did and charged me for it, which my fiance paid. Later that day when I arrived at my apartment, I noticed the leather on my couch was torn in several different places, beyond repair, obviously from being scuffed in the stairwell. Had they wrapped the furniture, it would have been prevented. On their website they claim they move furniture and wrap it for the customer. Not only did they only move ONLY the boxes I had pre-packed (left all the other items like the picture frames, cooler, etc)but they did not wrap my furniture.

Desired Settlement: I went to Discount Movers and asked how to file a claim and they gave me a website with instructions on pictures and a statement and weight of the couch. I called to follow up with the company and was told I would receive $66 for the damage to the leather upholstery on my couch. The retail price is approximately $988 and it was less than two years old and in immaculate condition. I would like a full refund on my move which comes out to $309.00 + $140.00 = $449.00. This is the total of my initial quote plus the extra $140 dollars for the couch move which they ruined. Being that it is not a new couch, I cut the value by 50% which is more than fair for completely ruining the leather.

Business Response: The signed and agreed upon insurance is 60 cents per pound. That was the basis used to pay out Mr. *******'s damage claim. I have left a message with Mr. *******. I was unaware he was dissatisfied with the agreed upon insurance rate and hope to rectify the situation with him.

7/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 1, 2014 at 3:28 p.m., I telephoned discount movers via the phone number form their website 858-490-0155 to obtain a quote for a move from Alpine, CA to Linda Vista (San Diego), CA. The man provided me with some figures and information about their services. After researching other companies, my wife and I determined we will choose Discount Movers as our company to facilitate our move. The BBB "Accredited business" title did make us seriously consider them. So on July 2nd at 3:32 p.m. I called Discount Movers to schedule the move as quoted. I spoke with a male that answered the phone and his voice appeared to be a different individual from the first male I spoke with for the quote. This man asked me questions about the quantity and the size of the move. He said the original price of the quote of approx $515 is still valid. I offered to give me credit card info as a deposit and he said that wasn't necessary he'll just schedule the move and upon the services being rendered they will take payment. The date that was scheduled for the move with this operator was July 8th with an arrival of between 8-9am. So on July 8th - 8am, 9am, and 10am came and went and no arrival from Discount Movers. Not even a call. So I called them at 858-490-0155. A male answered the phone. I explained to him that we had a move from Alpine to San Diego scheduled today and there is a no show. He responded saying while laughing "That's funny you called me yesterday to cancel the job." I said to him the last time I called Discount Movers 858-490-0155 was on July 2nd to schedule the move. He said "You're wrong pal, you cancelled" I said back if I called to cancel then why am I calling today to ask where the movers are? He remained silent... I then said "So i'm a lair" He replied "yes you're the liar." He then went on to tell me he has my number in his caller ID when I called yesterday to cancel. I asked him then what number do you have from me and what was the time it says I called?? He didn't answer. I asked him again and he hung up on me. So my wife and I had to find another mover last minute, and we have to pay an extra day of rent to our landlord as we are in Alpine another day unexpected.

Desired Settlement: This behavior exhibited by Discount Movers and it's employees is not indicative of a BBB accredited business. This might be a mis-communication, or a blatant error on their end. You never call a client a liar, or hang up on them during a phone call.

Business Response: I agree with Mr. ***** that there was a mis-communication but it was not on our end. I was in the office when my manager, **** ****** took the phone call on July 8th. To recap. Mr. ***** cancelled the day before the move date and as a result of the last minute cancellation he made the day before the scheduled move the scheduled movers were unable to work. He mentions he offered to give his credit card as a deposit and was told he could use his credit card after services were rendered. We don't and have never accepted credit card payment. If he would have said that to anyone in our office he would have been told we don't take credit card payments. This leads me to believe he may have been dealing with two companies to move him. Regarding being called a liar. I witnessed Mr. ****** telling Mr. ***** over the phone that he talked with him on the 7th and that he cancelled as he was the one who took the cancellation call the previous day. He at no time called him a liar. He replied to Mr. ***** twice in saying I am not calling you a liar, I am simply saying your number is on the caller ID from the day before when you cancelled.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with ***** last week in regards to my bed being damaged during the Horizon move. More items were damaged, but my main concern is my unusable bed. I purchased a complete set of wrenches in order for them to take apart my bed. They insisted it would be too difficult to put back together, even though I told them I was the one who put it together. One of the guys was suppose to help on the second move and he called in sick. Wonder why? The broken part of the bed was in a completely different spot when packed in the truck, which indicates the frame was damaged whiling moving it. The bed was maybe 10 months old and I paid $1000 for the bed. I am asking for a refund on my moving fees, due to other items being damaged as well. I hired your moving company to make sure my belongings were moves properly without damaged and Discount Movers failed to deliver the service they promised.

Desired Settlement: refund my moving fees of $618.00

Business Response: My company has responded to the customer both verbally and via e-mail several times regarding her damage claim.  We loaded a U-Haul truck on Aug. 19th and then unloaded the u-haul truck on Sept. 7th.  The customer stated she has incurred damages.  It was explained to the customer that we are not responsible for items put into a moving truck that we do not drive as the insurance company has no way of determining how the truck was driven.
 
In order to appease the customer we offered to pay her 60cents per pound.  This is the insurance that she paid for and signed paperwork for (we offered to fax or mail copies of signed paperwork if needed).  We actually have an additional piece of paperwork in bright yellow with 60 cents per pound written in bold that the customer has to initial and sign for in addition to the bill of lading.  The 60 cents per pound is covered if something breaks while loading into the customers u-haul truck.  Nothing was noted by the customer or the movers.  The only thing the customer wrote on the receipt was her signature and circling excellent for the service.
 
Other than the bed, we have not heard back from the customer regarding the items and weight thereof of damaged items with supporting material.   We have been in business 16 years and in that 16 years we always try and make every move a pleasant move and are truly sorry the customer does not feel like we provided good service.
 
Sincerely,
Discount Movers