Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Coleman Moving Systems Inc

Phone: (619) 223-2255 Fax: (619) 223-9125 View Additional Phone Numbers 3045 Rosecrans St #202, San Diego, CA 92110

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers moving and packing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Coleman Moving Systems Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Coleman Moving Systems Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1979 in CA Business incorporated 05/24/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 0189466.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Stuart Coleman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stuart Coleman, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Movers - Office Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Relocation Service Travel & Moving Services

BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 3045 Rosecrans St #202

    San Diego, CA 92110 (619) 223-2255 (619) 235-6300 (800) 995-4515 (760) 746-1153


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Colemans said they would have storage for our delicate items . instead ,they threw them in our garage. they damaged precious crystal, antiques, lamps from 1800. they also stole or lost a lot of items. their insurance company has been dragging their feet in compensation.Their workers treated our precious items like they were garbage, chipped irreplaceable antiques . oils , stole limages and lalaques, ruined one room of hardwood floor. their insurance agent some nasty guy from new york suggested i get the police involved like they would do anything. They left our tv out in the rain. you should have seen the devastation to our belonging which their insurance company is taking their sweet time addressing. Coleman should not be allowed to be a moving company if this is the way they operate. I tried to deal with them in good faith but they are crooked so you can not do so.settle the claim timely Colemans or I will have no choice but to sue you as some of the items were irreplaceable. the total claim comes to $43,300. Coleman hires delicts so this is what you get? I think the company should acknowledge their wrongs and make them right monetarily. Like they advertise they have liability coverage they should now see that this 3 month old claim is settled monetarily.

Desired Settlement: monetary settlement of their gross mishandling , shocking of our possession which we had for a life time immediately

Business Response:

Our insurance company is actively investigating the claims made by Ms. *******. We put her stuff in storage. We did not put her beds in storage because of the condition of the beds. The mover's were told NOT to take the pictures/artwork off the walls by the other workers that were in the home. The TV's were put in the laundry room. How they got outside had nothing to do with our men. Our guy's did not feel comfortable putting her beds on our truck because of the condition of them. Most of the claims she has made are false. We have pictures from before the move started to support those claims. Also, on two different days the mover's refused to do the job because they did not feel comfortable in her home. We have never had anything missing on job's from any of these mover's in the past. There is nothing in her home that they would want. The reason why it is taking a long time to investigate this, is because she has a new claim almost every week. She tried dealing with us in "good faith"? How? By calling me every week before the job was even finished to make false claims, then to talk bad about my worker's. These are good men with families to feed, that we trust. They are not "derelicts". This matter is in our insurance companies hands now.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


***** *******


4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was moving from a small studio condo to an even smaller one bedroom apartment from downtown San Diego to Little Italy. I called and emailed the company a month in advance and explained what I needed to have done. They were aware of the locations and sizes of the units before arriving. The two men show up on the day of my move and one smells like marijuana. The other one gets lost on the property and it takes us about 10 minutes to find him. The one that is on drugs tells me after seeing my unit, that there the elevator is pretty far away and that I will probably need another guy. I was upset about that because I made it clear what the project was before they arrived. I contact the manager of the moving company, **** to address the "high" employee and the additional man issue. He tells me that it was him who told them to suggest an additional man and as for the drugged out employee, he cannot do anything about it. He was shocked because he didn't know either of his men even smoked weed. I asked what he planned to do and he didn't have any answer for me. Not until I threatened bad reviews did he finally say he would work something out. He initially said he didn't have any other workers to replace the men, but then he called back and said he would replace the men about 30 minutes later. He actually came with the replacement and did help out a little to compensate for the time lost. However, the men were careless with my items even though I asked several times to take extra care of a brand new bedroom set that my mother had bought me as a graduation present. It was a new and expensive bedroom set. One of the movers (the new guy) had the nerve to suggest that since it was insured, it should be okay and that the furniture store would move it. He also made a comment that the bed set was inferior because he could not figure out how to release the drawers from the frame. It took him over 30 minutes before he realized there was a release latch. Finally, we were headed to the new apartment (only 5 minutes away) but before we get there, the movers truck breaks down. It breaks down literally only feet away from my building but not close enough to matter. Also it is blocking traffic. I asked them if they needed a jump which they replied "no". The passenger said he thought it was the gas. The driver (the new guy) said he was just coming off another job and was unfamiliar with the truck. For 45 minutes to an hour we sat there waiting for another of their trucks to arrive and assist. I took pictures and video. The truck finally comes and helps the other truck start. Now all of the men are working to unload the truck. I carefully check my furniture and the walls of the new apartment (this is a new construction property) to ensure no damage. They have already smudged the new walls in the hallway and my new apartment. As they were bringing in my bedroom set, I saw a large jagged scratch running down one of the drawers. The drawers that I had specifically asked the men to pad before leaving my old apartment but they said they would pad them in the truck. I was furious. I showed them the scratch and they admitted it was new. I took pictures and they tried to use some scratch fixer liquid to make it disappear. When it was time for me to pay, no one offered me any discount or acknowledged the damage to my property. I was only told that I would not be charged for the 45 minutes that the truck was down or for the extra man power (that I didn't ask for), or for the saran wrap. I asked about my furniture and all I got was that I could submit a claim and several apology. I initially wrote a check for the ridiculous amount. I cancelled the check when I realized that some of my things were missing. I had a white step stool that I did not get back. I have not noticed if other things are missing as of yet. I have read other Yelp reviews where customers have seen items missing as well.

Desired Settlement: I want there ratings on BBB to be dropped. They should not be allowed to have these 5 star ratings on this website because people are being fooled. I also do not expect to pay full price for those terrible services. They stole my things, damaged my things, took up my time costing me money, and had terrible service.

Business Response:

Coleman Moving takes every complaint seriously. Regarding Ms. ******** remarks: we did replace the pot smoking mover as soon as we had a replacement mover. This took about thirty minutes. Our manager, ****, then personally went to the job to see that everything was going smoothly. He stayed and helped out for 1 hour at no charge. Upon loading the truck Ms. ****** informed ****, one of the movers, that we could NOT unload for at least one hour since another company was using the elevator. Our truck broke down for almost one hour, coincidentally, on the drive to the unload. We then sent another truck and 1 man to help - which he did for 2 hours - at no charge! After completion of the move Ms. ****** noticed a scratch on her bed drawer. One of the men repaired that and another pre-existing scratch on her dresser. The scratch was still slightly visible yet blended in pretty well with the almond stick repair. Basically 3 hours (at $36 per hour) of the extra men plus $20 shrink wrap
($128 total) was not charged. Total cost - 6 hrs. @ $79/hr. plus $30 fuel surcharge = $504. Very reasonable considering the long walk to and from the elevators at each end. Ms. ****** then puts stop payment on check!!

11/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The movers came on time to the pick up address. I wanted to move everything from one warehouse to my home and storage area, both located in the same destination zip code. The driver was told this in the beginning. He and his partner took 4 hours to load a truck full of prepacked boxes that were stacked at perfect height to load on the truck with a hand truck. No one box was more than 25lbs. The drive was 16 miles to the drop off. The truck parked directly in front of the storage locker with wide open access. I gave the first driver the storage area keys with intructions to return them to me prior to leaving for the day. That I have a 24 access storage locker and I planned on working in to the evening emptying boxes. The keys were not returned, taken to their office. I was unable to work because they took my keys. They took them for one of these reasons. 1. too dumb to remember to give them back 2. Simple accident which then they should have returned them immediately 3. Holding my keys hostage. The first driver was told to pass on to the next truck and team to bring painting stuff at a minimum and enough stuff not too exceed a two car garage. I told him the 2nd destination was a 3 car garage and there was plenty of room. That I only wanted one of the 3 garage spaces open. The ceilings are 10 ft. I told him this on 2 separate occasions in person and once over the phone. I think a moving company with a team of movers should know the approximate amount of goods that will fit in a 2 car garage. The second team and truck came out and ended up charging me for 2 hours and brought 15 items to my house. The 15 items took them 1 hour to load and 15 minutes to unload. Unloading took this long due to the fact they damaged on shelf and spent time trying to fix it. This company moved all of the same household goods in 2009 in one day with two movers. Something has seriously changed since then. I think they have a good foundations as a company. That the leadership is a little too young to handle the load.

Desired Settlement: Refund of 2nd teams labor and time. I agreed on the fuel surcharge ahead of time

Business Response:

******* ****** was not present during the move, nor was he accessible at certain times when we needed unload addresses or specifics on exactly what he wanted us to move.  The items we did were efficiently moved in the time that was charged.  The second team's hourly breakdown is 15 minutes waiting for him to call with unload address, 25 minutes drive time doubled totaling 50 minutes, 40 minutes to dig out of the pile and load on the truck and 20 minutes to unload.  This totals 125 minutes which rounds up to 2.25 hours at $79 per hour, or $207.75 including the $30 fuel surcharge.  We could have charged him $267 for the three hour minimum that comes with each team.   It must also be pointed out that Mr. ****** initially wanted everything moved which is why we sent a second truck.  It was after the second team arrived that he decided to move less than at the beginning.  The first team relayed Mr. ******'s list of items to be moved to the second team and left.  The second team rushed to load and unload the little amount that Mr. ****** wanted, locked to storage and left knowing they were scheduled to finish the move in the morning.  Mr. ****** cancelled the move the next morning and is making a big deal about the keys which would have been returned if he didn't cancel that morning.  We would have sent him the keys.  It is not fair that he is complaining about the move when he should have been present.  It was very confusing for the movers and he is acting inappropriately.  The move was done professionally, efficiently and he was charged a fair amount.  We do not feel he deserves any compensation, especially since he should only blame himself for all of the confusion and indecision.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I was present during the first 30 minutes of the move at the warehouse where **** was loading the truck with all of my pre-packaged boxes.  These were all stacked in columns/rows to accommodate and speedy truck load out.  The first truck was loaded to the top and completely full of these boxes.  This simple task did not need my supervision.  The truck was parked with in 10 feet of the 20 foot high warehouse door on the same level.  **** and I agreed that he would contact me via voice or text message when the 1st load was complete; then we were to meet at the storage facility.  I gave **** the address to the storage facility and awaited for contact.  Once **** loaded the truck he contacted me, and communication he was on the way to the storage facility.  The storage facility is 16 miles from the warehouse via highway 5 north - 54 - 125.  I told **** I will reimburse him for the 125 toll ($2.50).    

When I initially met **** and his partner before the first load commenced I went over the details about the reason for moving, the reason I had a storage area within 1 mile from my home.  I explained that my wife and I would be working later that day and in to the evening emptying boxes preparing to move our household goods back in to our home.  **** is a highly intelligent individual.  My hunch us that he is not the type of person that needs to be told the same thing multiple times in order to remember what he is told and being paid to do.  I did  however go over this with him one more time when I opened my storage locker, which is on the bottom floor with drive up access and a 15 foot door and gave him the keys.  Later that afternoon when I notice the 2nd driver did not have my keys I realized he had taken them.  This was verified by a text message he sent me after I contacted him to ask him where my keys were.  He apologized via text message and would not answer my phone calls.  This was either a simple mistake or a blatant act.  I initially thought this may have been an honest mistake.
The message was clear from the beginning of the day.  Move everything. When I realized I did not hae enough room in my storage area for everything I went in to more detail on what I needed at a minimum and I had a 3 car garage.  That two of the three spaces in my garage should be filled with my goods.  That I needed painting equipment (brushes, rollers, etc...) and anything else that would fit without going over the 2 car space limit.  Again I hired professional movers and a professional moving company, I did not think I needed to explain the difference between a 1, 2 and 3 car garage.
I am not contesting the first truck load.  Although I think it took more time than it should have move a truck of pre packaged low weight boxes that were stacked at dolly height less than 20 feet from the truck, I am satisfied with the work.  I am contesting the fact that the company did not work as a team and help their customer.  Their work caused me to lose a day in moving expenses and painting.   If the moving company would have worked as a team for the best interest of their customer I would have not been left with nothing in the second load, I would have been given my keys at the end of the moving day and got what I paid for.  In stead I got a halfway done job by a group of people who were more interested in getting off early so they could get to doing what they were planning to do.  
I was present at the warehouse to start the move, at the storage facility for the 1st load drop off and available during the entire day with exception of a 15 minute window where my phone needed to charge.  My keys were not returned to me as I requested and I was given 12 items that were packed in a 30 foot moving van.  I trusted that a company I hired in 2009 that moved less than the amount I needed moved this day with 2 people to help me out.  I don't think it is fair to pay for the 2nd team as it was not what I asked for and paid for. The next day I hired a company that moved the remain household goods in to two of the spaces in my three car garage in less that 5 hours with two people who busted their ass to do the job they committed to doing.  

******* ******

Business Response:

We were more than fair with Mr. ******'s bill and could have charged him for the full three hour minimum as mentioned previously, but saved him $59.25.  That should be recognized as his compensation.  Further questioning of the second team reveals that Mr. ****** was told what was loaded by the second team and was asked if he wanted other things put on the truck.  He told them enough.  It should also be pointed out that when Mr. ****** paid the movers $400 which was $193 short of the total bill, he also failed to remember to ask for the keys.  Otherwise, we have reported the facts as they occurred and have nothing more to add to the confusion.  He has received his "discount" of $59.25 and the first team even stopped their clock when they finished unloading their first truckload.  We deny any more compensation.  

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Coleman Moving Systems Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)