Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bernardo Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 487-6683 Fax: (858) 487-3197 10895 Thornmint Rd #E, San Diego, CA 92127 http://www.bernardomoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving and storage services for local, interstate, and international needs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bernardo Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bernardo Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bernardo Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 02, 1997 Business started: 05/22/1969 in CA Business incorporated 05/22/1969 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 92591.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Karen Snead, Owner Mr. David Price, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. David Price, General Manager
Principal: Ms. Karen Snead, Owner
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving & Storage Company Movers - International

Alternate Business Names
Bernardo Moving Inc Wheaton Worldwide Moving
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 10895 Thornmint Rd #E

    San Diego, CA 92127

  • 11035 Technology Pl #200

    San Diego, CA 92127 (858) 487-6683 (858) 487-4256 (888) 292-6683

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bernardo Moving Storage was hired to move our household in Aug 2013. We obtained a "Not to Exceed Proposal" from them on 6/22/13. In the proposal, the items are listed below: Local transportation & Labor (2 van & 6 Men) $2,116 (charge we agree to pay) Insurance (optional) $ 124 (charge we agree to pay) Cartons, Packing and unpacking (based on the actual amt used) $1,413 (charges only incurred partial of $860) Total Not to Exceed Cost $3,529 We scheduled them to come and pack our household prior to the move, however, the packing staff only packed kitchen and garage, the rest of the household and paintings were not packed. On the moving day, they brought 2 vans and 7 pple (which was not our request to add more pple), and they helped to pack up some items that were not packed on the packing day. At the end of the moving day, they gave me a bill of $4,375 stating that they incurred more time than anticipated. In their bill, the actual packing labor and boxes only totaled to $860 (less than estimated $1,413 since they didn't pack as much as we wanted them to). ***** ***** stated that they incurred more time than originally anticipated. I disagree because they are charging the actual packing labor and material fees per carton on the day of move and they can't double charge the time. The fact that they had not packed all my household prior to the move, so they had to incur more time to pack them on the day of the move is not customer's fault. Therefore, I disagree to pay more than what it was stated on the original "not to exceed quote". Further, their owner ***** ***** told me that I can keep the moving pads with a deposit if I need them for a couple of months during remodeling, however, in their final bill it became "rental fee" of $250. I called ***** stating that I would not want them if they charge me rental fees. She said fine then return them to us. So I did it within a week. After I dropped the pads off, on my way to work, I called ***** to let her know that the pads were dropped off. She said "you can go to the front office to ask for $250 check" I told her that i was on my way to work and asked her to mail it to me. Now they denied this and i never received the refund. Further, they are extremely unprofessional in handling this matter. They chose to ignore my voice mail and emails. I had to go through my credit card company to dispute the charges. I was hoping that they would be more coorporate with customers.

Desired Settlement: I agree to pay for the following that were actually incurred and agreed upon: $2,116 labor and transportation $ 124 insurance $ 465 packing labor $ 366 packing materials $ 30 sales tax $ 133 deposit for wardrobe which i should get refund upon returning them $3,234 total amount What they actually charged: $4,375 total charged to my credit card (which i am disputing) $1,141 Expected refund

Business Response: Although we do not agree with the explanation given by Ms. ******* regarding the rational for disputing her credit card charge, we chose not challenge that dispute and $831.94 was removed from our account by the credit card company on 8/27/2013.


The rental charge for the pads that were left the day of the move was to cover in part the cost of replacing those pads on the truck with new pads.  Although I do not believe this charge is unreasonable I will refund that rental amount.

The wardrobe deposit will be returned to Ms. ******* when she returns those wardrobes to us.  Those are also equipment that we use on our trucks and had to be replaced as well.  She was informed that the deposit would be returned when she returns them or we would charge a $50 p/u charge if we have to send someone to pick them up.

We will refund $383.00 if she returns the items above and $333.00 if we p/u the wardrobes.  If the wardrobes are not returned we will refund $250.00