Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Bay Park Moving?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bay Park Moving

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 994-4668 Fax: (858) 535-9192 View Additional Phone Numbers 6495 Lipmann St, San Diego, CA 92122 http://www.bayparkmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial moving services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bay Park Moving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bay Park Moving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bay Park Moving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1996 in CA Business incorporated: 03/16/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 190145.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Douglas K Hackley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas K Hackley, President
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
A-Instant Movers Inc
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 5406 Renaissance Ave

    San Diego, CA 92122

  • 6495 Lipmann St

    San Diego, CA 92122 (800) 994-4668 (858) 535-1911 (858) 472-4123

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 21, 2014, I was moved by Bay Park Movers from Mission Hills to Ocean Beach. During the move, I noticed damage to my couch. This couch is relatively new, and original cost was thousands of dollars. The couch was wrapped in plastic. When the couch was placed in the den area of the new house, I immediately noticed damage to the corner by the movers. I immediately pointed it out to the move supervisor, who said, "they would take care of it, it was clearly there fault". Before they left, he noted damage on the receipt, and he said he would call into the office to notify them it was their fault and damage occurred. I called on Monday to talk about the claim, and was told not to call, that all communications needed to be in writing. I filled out the claim form and filed it. I was immediately concerned I would not receive full replacement cost, when the move supervisor stated, with multiple witnesses, that it was their fault, and all damage would be covered. After multiple phone calls with the CEO, ****, the final one including a statement from **** that full replacement cost to fix the couch would be coming in the mail, only a check for the insurance portion was received. I'm very disappointed that a CEO of a local business would conduct business in this manner. I'd expect better ethical behavior. If you say you are going to stand behind your mistake, then do it.

Desired Settlement: Full replacement cost of the back padding of the couch, material plus cost to have it repaired. $500.

Business Response:

*******,

This complaint is the same complaint that was filed with the Better Business Bureau under complaint #******** (***** *****) which the Better Business Bureau rejected as it was filed by a third party.  The facts from our side do not change just because Mr. ***** supposedly filed the complaint now.  We stand behind our response to complaint #********.  I did notice that whoever filed this complaint under Mr. *****'s name changed a few of the details. to make appear different.  First, Mr. ***** was told to put his claim in writing as required per the "Important Information for Persons Moving Household Goods" booklet which he received (he signed saying he received it on the Bill of Lading, copy provided under complaint #********) , here is an example of an untruth by Mr. *****, he was not told "not to call", he was told to follow the procedure for filing a claim which was to put it in writing.  Secondly, he said he filled out a claim form, which is untrue; Bay Park Moving had to send a certified letter on September 23, 2014 (copy provided under complaint #********) which is two days after his move asking him for the information on his couch to process his claim and in said letter it was stated what his insurance coverage that he agreed to in writing for his move prior to his move starting.  Bay Park Moving never received a response to this letter until October 23, 2014.  Mr. ***** stated he made multiple telephone calls to me regarding this matter and this is untrue.   Mr. ***** had the opportunity prior to the move starting to purchase additional insurance for his move but declined and accepted the standard insurance coverage of sixty cents ($0.60) per pound per article which was included in his hourly rate to cover his goods and furniture during his move.  Just because the movers acknowledged that the damage occurred does not mean that Mr. ***** would receive any coverage over and above what he agreed to in writing.  It should also be pointed out that Mr. ***** left a threatening message (on our answering service, so it was recorded and now preserved) which has  subsequently passed on to our legal counsel for possible suit if Mr. ***** continues to proceed with these untrue claims again Bay Park Moving.  Bay Park Moving processed Mr. *****'s insurance claim and paid it as it was required by the written agreement between Mr. ***** and Bay Park Moving.

Please let me know if you need any additional information or copies of the supporting documents referenced.

Regards,

**** *******

Bay Park Moving

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like to point out the mistakes in Mr *******'s response and then for him to answer a very simple question, which is why I proceeded down this path.  It should also be pointed out, as he likes to say, that this is the second time he has threathened legal action.  If he does not want to stand behind what he verbally agreed to do, as well as his move supervisor, then, we will consider moving to the next step as well.

Mistake 1- he should check with his staff, when I called, I was told not to call again, that everything from this point forward "was to be in writing".  I was not even  allowed to speak with him regarding the claim, and what his move supervisor said.

Mistake 2- Multiple phone calls were placed by myself (one, and told not to call), and several by Mr. *****.

Mistake 3- His move supervisor was the one that stated that the damage would be covered in full because they admitted full fault at the time the damage was discovered, in the house, still in shrinkwrap.

A simple question for Mr. *******, did a phone call to you on October 21st asking for the status of the claim not result in you stating a check would be put in the mail, a follow up call shortly after by Mr. ***** confirming for the full amount of $492.38, and you verbally stated yes?


Regards,

***** *****



Business Response:

Our position remains the same and we stand by our previous response.  Mr. ***** was paid the insurance coverage for the damage per the written agreement that he signed.  No one at Bay Park Moving stated that he would receive payment over and above the insurance for which he agreed to in writing.  Mr. ***** has tried to blackmail Bay Park Moving into paying over and above what he agreed to in writing by threatening Bay Park Moving with bad reviews on social media and such, which is why we have turned it over to our attorney, as it becomes slander as we did everything we were obligated to do by paying Mr. *****'s claim as per the written agreement.
 
Regards,
 
**** *******
Bay Park Moving

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr *******'s lack of business ethics is very disappointing.  Unfortunately for him, this will end up affecting the future of his company with lost business from bad referrals (and if fact, it already has).  His response again includes more threats and not documented facts.  Anyone doing business with Bay Park going forward should learn a valuable lesson from this and document everything.  I would also recommend people understand before paying the move supervisor the All Cash transaction when damage is done.  Again, I stand by my claim, and was only following what the move supervisor and CEO both verbally committed the Company to and now going back on their word.

Regards,

***** *****



Business Response:

****,
 
Attached is the requested copy of the Bill of Lading.  Please note the insurance coverage section where Mr. ***** signed and agreed to the coverage for which we paid his claim.
 
Any questions do not hesitate to contact us.
 
Regards,
 
**** *******
Bay Park Moving 

2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used this company to move my items and they damaged an antique dining room set. The movers initially denied damaging the items - they dropped and scraped a table and did not properly wrap a china cabinet and hutch).The movers eventually admitted damaging the items and the owner was not willing to reimburse me for the cost to repair or replace the items. Also, I was never asked prior to the move, if there were any high value items.The owner told me that if I wanted this resolved I should contact his lawyer.

Desired Settlement: I want my items either repaired or replaced for their current value which I estimate to be in excess of $10K.

Business Response:

This letter is in regards to your claim we received by email on January 11, 
2013 for damage to your dining room table that you stated occurred during
your move with Bay Park Moving on December 29, 2012 and your subsequent
complaint with the Better Business Bureau dated January 28, 2013.
First for the benefit of the Better Business Bureau we would like to reiterate
the history between yourself and Bay Park Moving. On December 4, 2012 you
contacted our office to request a written estimate for your upcoming move, on
December 5, 2012 at 9:27 a.m. we sent an email confirming our scheduled
estimate date and time, which was December 6, 2012 at 10:00 a.m.. 1
personally came to your home at the appointed date; however I was late to our
scheduled time, to perform your estimate. I then had your estimate emailed to
you on December 6, 2012 at 10:33 a.m.; you called our office asking for
changes and subsequently a revised estimate was sent to you on December 8,
2012 at 1:30 p.m.. You signed the revised estimate, which you dated
December 10, 2012 and returned it to our office, then scheduled your move for
December 29, 2012 with an approximate arrival time between 11:00 a.m. and
1:00 p.m on that day. On December 28, a call was made confirming your move
for December 29, 2012. The movers arrived at 11:00 a.m. on December 29,
2012 to perform your move and completed your move by 3:45p.m., which was
well under the written estimate of time.
Then on Friday January 11, 2013 I received a call from ***** *********
president of the California Moving and Storage Association stating he received
a call from Mr. ****** demanding that he (Mr. *********) make us pay a
claim for damage to his dining room table. Mr. ********* called our office and
spoke with me and I stated we did not know anything about said claim as we
had never been contacted by Mr. ******. Mr. ****** then contacted our
office and I spoke with him personally at 10:48 a.m. and 10:57 a.m. regarding
his claim. I told him he needed to put his claim in writing and submit it to our
office for investigation. We received an email that same day with pictures
attached at 11 :34 a.m.
Per the Public Utilities Commission, which is the governing body for movers in
the state of California, once the claim is received we have thirty (30) days to
acknowledge the receipt of said claim and then must pay, decline to pay or
make a firm compromise settlement within sixty (60) days of the receipt of the
claim. All of this is stated in the "Important Information for Persons Moving
Household Goods" (copy enclosed) which was given to Mr. ****** on two
separate occasions, once on the day of the estimate and then it was sent in
the mail along with a copy of the Bill of Lading prior to his move date. Mr.
****** did acknowledge in writing on the Bill of Lading that he did receive
this booklet (copy enclosed)
A letter was sent by email at 1:43 p.m. and also by certified mail on January
14, 2013 to Mr. ****** asking for additional information (copy enclosed) that
would be necessary to process his claim (copy enclosed to Better Business
Bureau). Mr. ****** promptly called our office at 1:47 p.m. demanding to
speak with myself. I was not in the office as I had my assistant email the
letter to Mr. ****** after I had signed it. He then accused my assistant of
signing my name, then when she replied that she had just forwarded the letter
on my behalf he got demanding saying that she need to go to her computer
now to see if his response was there and demanded to know what the next
step was. When she tried to explain that he would be getting a written
response with thirty (30) days, he stated he did not deal through the mail and
that she could tell him right now what the steps were, then threatened a "big"
lawsuit, when asked if he was threatening her, he replied yes. My assistant
said she could take his number and have me call him upon my return to the
office but Mr. ****** became very belligerent making offensive comments
about "English as not being her first language" and then proceeded onto
making the following comment "Oh, you have special needs", at which point
my assistant hung up the phone. He proceeded to call back at 1 :50 p.m.
stating he"··· was sorry and didn't know you were that way", my assistant told
him he was offensive and vile and hung up. He proceeded to call back again
and harass my assistant at 1 :52 p.m. stating he donated a lot of money to the
March of Dimes for "people like you" and stated he "didn't know you swung
that way". He continued to harass my assistant verbally refusing to leave his
number at which point she hung up again.
I contacted Mr. ****** on January 22, 2013 to see if he could tell me the type
of wood that his table was make out of at which point he told me to come look
for myself. I arranged to meet Mr. ****** at his home on January 23, 2013.
Mr. ****** subsequently contacted me on my cell phone to reschedule the
time to between 3:00 and 3:30 p.m.. I arrived at him home and took pictures
not only of the dining room table, but now Mr. ****** alleged damage to a
china cabinet/hutch and server. I sent a text message to Mr. ****** on
January 24, 2013 at 8:04 p.m. stating that check would be forwarded to him
early the following week, I did not say what the check amount would be for
and what it would cover.
Then on January 29, 2013 Mr. ****** called me on my cell phone demanding
to know how much money he was getting and that his furniture was worth
"ten's of thousands of dollars". He threatened to sue Bay Park Moving at which
time I told him I would have my attorney contact his attorney if that is how he
wanted it to go. I told him to have a nice day and hung up. He then filed a
complaint with the Better Business Bureau stating that we lied about the
damage and told him if he wanted it resolved to contact our attorney all which
is false.
The claim was received on January 11, 2013, which started the clock on the
thirty (30) days for us to acknowledge receipt of his claim. We did
acknowledge his claim on January 14, 2014. Since his claim was received on
January 11, 2013 and he did get an acknowledgement of receipt of his claim
within thirty (30) days, Bay Park Moving has until March 11, 2013 to pay the
claim based on the insurance provided in his move (which he signed and
acknowledged in writing, copy enclosed); deny his claim or make a
compromised. So for Mr. ****** to make the statement we are refusing to do
anything (pay or repair) is false as never once have I stated that verbally or in
writing.
Now to respond to the claim for damage to the dining room table and the
alleged damage to the china cabinet/hutch and server. We are denying his
claim for the damage to the china cabinet/hutch and server as it is apparent
that there was no damage that occurred during the move at the hands of Bay
Park Moving and that the "alleged" damage is pinhead marks consistent with
patina on the china cabinet/hutch and server. As to the table the insurance
that was agreed to and was signed for is standard carriers insurance which is
sixty cents ($0.60) per pound per article (copy of signature enclosed). Since
Mr. ****** was not able to provide any information other than the
manufacturer (Thomasville) and the dimensions, we located a similar table on
the Thomasville website (copy enclosed) and then on January 30, 2013
contacted the customer service department at Thomasville and spoke with
***** ******* at 11:33 (central time) to determine the weight of the similar
table shown in the picture enclosed, which is two hundred sixty three (263)
pounds. Thus making the maximum reimbursement for the table $157.80 based
on the agreed upon insurance coverage.
Enclosed is a check for $157.80 as full and final settlement in this matter.

**** *******
President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First, Mr ******* is perhaps the most disingenous person I have ever met.   To begin with, his ne'er-do-well crew of movers scared the bejesus out of me and my neighbors with their low rise jeans, tattooed necks, gruff manner and the faintest hint of herbal effluvium on their person suggesting more than a few run ins with ****** law and perhaps a extended stay or two in the pokey.   Meanwhile, the esteemed Mr. ******* takes pride in regaling his clients with fantasy tales about his close, personal relationship with ******** ***, **** ****** and other Hollywood luminaries.   Of course, if Mr. ******* were indeed the heir apparent mover to the stars, why would he set up shop in the low rent district of San Diego?


Anyway, the facts are these:

Bay Park Moving did significant damage to my dining room table set

Bay Park movers originally lied and then admitted to damaging my items

Bay Park insisted on a receipt for an item that is nearly 100 years old 

Bay Park never asked if I had any items of "significant" value and Mr. ******* bragged how he recently moved a $25M painting.   Hmmm, why wouldn't the actual owner move it himself?   I smell a rat, Mr. *******!

Bay Park magically determined the make, model and weight of my dining room table by "finding something similar online."   Really, how did they do that and I have no idea what they are referring to.

Bay Park sent me a check for $157 which covers, at best, about 1% of the value of my dining room set


I refuse to accept this resolution


Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

This is in response to H***** ******** complaint ID ******* regarding damage to
his dining table and his additional Information.
Mr. ****** was given Information regarding tho insurance coverage that was
provided for his move on a number of occasions and even acknowledged said
Insurance in writing. As stated In our prior correspondence, the Insurance
covorage was provided at tho time of the walk through for his estimate in the
booklet entitled "Important Information for Persons Moving Household Goods"; It
was listed on his written estimate, which he signed and returned to our office; It
was on the Bill of Lading and again In the booklet was sent prior to his move and
then on move day he signed and acknowledged said Insurance on the Bill of Lading.
Now Mr. ****** wanted to dispute the coverage when In fact he was fully aware of it.
What Mr. ****** states as facts" in his response are just rants and are unjustified.
If all Mr. Berman's "facts" are subjective remarks as to the character and
appearance of people at Bay Park Moving and our location we are not going to sink
to his level.
We have clearly stated tho facts which are he agreed to and acknowledged the
insurance coverage for hi& move and hiS claim was acknowledged and paid in tho
manner which he agreed to In writing. We stand by our previous response and
payment of the claim.

**** *******
President