Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bay Park Moving

Phone: (800) 994-4668 Fax: (858) 535-9192 View Additional Phone Numbers 6495 Lipmann St, San Diego, CA 92122

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential and commercial moving services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bay Park Moving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bay Park Moving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1996 in CA Business incorporated 03/16/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is MTR0190145.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Douglas K Hackley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas K Hackley, President
Number of Employees


Business Category


Alternate Business Names
A-Instant Movers Inc
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 6495 Lipmann St

    San Diego, CA 92122 (800) 994-4668 (858) 472-4123


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 21, 2014, I was moved by Bay Park Movers from Mission Hills to Ocean Beach. During the move, I noticed damage to my couch. This couch is relatively new, and original cost was thousands of dollars. The couch was wrapped in plastic. When the couch was placed in the den area of the new house, I immediately noticed damage to the corner by the movers. I immediately pointed it out to the move supervisor, who said, "they would take care of it, it was clearly there fault". Before they left, he noted damage on the receipt, and he said he would call into the office to notify them it was their fault and damage occurred. I called on Monday to talk about the claim, and was told not to call, that all communications needed to be in writing. I filled out the claim form and filed it. I was immediately concerned I would not receive full replacement cost, when the move supervisor stated, with multiple witnesses, that it was their fault, and all damage would be covered. After multiple phone calls with the CEO, ****, the final one including a statement from **** that full replacement cost to fix the couch would be coming in the mail, only a check for the insurance portion was received. I'm very disappointed that a CEO of a local business would conduct business in this manner. I'd expect better ethical behavior. If you say you are going to stand behind your mistake, then do it.

Desired Settlement: Full replacement cost of the back padding of the couch, material plus cost to have it repaired. $500.

Business Response:


This complaint is the same complaint that was filed with the Better Business Bureau under complaint #******** (***** *****) which the Better Business Bureau rejected as it was filed by a third party.  The facts from our side do not change just because Mr. ***** supposedly filed the complaint now.  We stand behind our response to complaint #********.  I did notice that whoever filed this complaint under Mr. *****'s name changed a few of the details. to make appear different.  First, Mr. ***** was told to put his claim in writing as required per the "Important Information for Persons Moving Household Goods" booklet which he received (he signed saying he received it on the Bill of Lading, copy provided under complaint #********) , here is an example of an untruth by Mr. *****, he was not told "not to call", he was told to follow the procedure for filing a claim which was to put it in writing.  Secondly, he said he filled out a claim form, which is untrue; Bay Park Moving had to send a certified letter on September 23, 2014 (copy provided under complaint #********) which is two days after his move asking him for the information on his couch to process his claim and in said letter it was stated what his insurance coverage that he agreed to in writing for his move prior to his move starting.  Bay Park Moving never received a response to this letter until October 23, 2014.  Mr. ***** stated he made multiple telephone calls to me regarding this matter and this is untrue.   Mr. ***** had the opportunity prior to the move starting to purchase additional insurance for his move but declined and accepted the standard insurance coverage of sixty cents ($0.60) per pound per article which was included in his hourly rate to cover his goods and furniture during his move.  Just because the movers acknowledged that the damage occurred does not mean that Mr. ***** would receive any coverage over and above what he agreed to in writing.  It should also be pointed out that Mr. ***** left a threatening message (on our answering service, so it was recorded and now preserved) which has  subsequently passed on to our legal counsel for possible suit if Mr. ***** continues to proceed with these untrue claims again Bay Park Moving.  Bay Park Moving processed Mr. *****'s insurance claim and paid it as it was required by the written agreement between Mr. ***** and Bay Park Moving.

Please let me know if you need any additional information or copies of the supporting documents referenced.


**** *******

Bay Park Moving



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like to point out the mistakes in Mr *******'s response and then for him to answer a very simple question, which is why I proceeded down this path.  It should also be pointed out, as he likes to say, that this is the second time he has threathened legal action.  If he does not want to stand behind what he verbally agreed to do, as well as his move supervisor, then, we will consider moving to the next step as well.

Mistake 1- he should check with his staff, when I called, I was told not to call again, that everything from this point forward "was to be in writing".  I was not even  allowed to speak with him regarding the claim, and what his move supervisor said.

Mistake 2- Multiple phone calls were placed by myself (one, and told not to call), and several by Mr. *****.

Mistake 3- His move supervisor was the one that stated that the damage would be covered in full because they admitted full fault at the time the damage was discovered, in the house, still in shrinkwrap.

A simple question for Mr. *******, did a phone call to you on October 21st asking for the status of the claim not result in you stating a check would be put in the mail, a follow up call shortly after by Mr. ***** confirming for the full amount of $492.38, and you verbally stated yes?


***** *****

Business Response:

Our position remains the same and we stand by our previous response.  Mr. ***** was paid the insurance coverage for the damage per the written agreement that he signed.  No one at Bay Park Moving stated that he would receive payment over and above the insurance for which he agreed to in writing.  Mr. ***** has tried to blackmail Bay Park Moving into paying over and above what he agreed to in writing by threatening Bay Park Moving with bad reviews on social media and such, which is why we have turned it over to our attorney, as it becomes slander as we did everything we were obligated to do by paying Mr. *****'s claim as per the written agreement.
**** *******
Bay Park Moving

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr *******'s lack of business ethics is very disappointing.  Unfortunately for him, this will end up affecting the future of his company with lost business from bad referrals (and if fact, it already has).  His response again includes more threats and not documented facts.  Anyone doing business with Bay Park going forward should learn a valuable lesson from this and document everything.  I would also recommend people understand before paying the move supervisor the All Cash transaction when damage is done.  Again, I stand by my claim, and was only following what the move supervisor and CEO both verbally committed the Company to and now going back on their word.


***** *****

Business Response:

Attached is the requested copy of the Bill of Lading.  Please note the insurance coverage section where Mr. ***** signed and agreed to the coverage for which we paid his claim.
Any questions do not hesitate to contact us.
**** *******
Bay Park Moving 

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Bay Park Moving
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart