Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Atlas Transfer & Storage Co/Allied Van Lines

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 513-3800 Fax: (858) 513-3900 View Additional Phone Numbers 13026 Stowe Dr #A, Poway, CA 92064

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers moving and storage services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Atlas Transfer & Storage Co/Allied Van Lines meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Atlas Transfer & Storage Co/Allied Van Lines include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Atlas Transfer & Storage Co/Allied Van Lines
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1925 in CA Business incorporated 02/04/1957 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is MTR0061487.

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1325 J St #1540, Sacramento CA 95814
Phone Number: (916) 930-2760
Fax Number: (916) 930-2778
The number is 877737.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Linda Oakley, Vice President Mr. Tom Oakley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Oakley, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Tom Oakley, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Allied Van Lines Atlas Transfer & Storage Co
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 13026 Stowe Dr #A

    Poway, CA 92064 (800) 854-2938 (858) 375-4850 (858) 513-3800

  • PO Box 503810

    Poway, CA 92150


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. Crew took accessories of the rented steam cleaner after they were told specifically not to load. Also told the Crew Supervisor who assured me the steam cleaner and its accessories would not be loaded into the moving truck. I was also there when the Crew Supervisor reiterated the instructions to the crew after I did. Upon returning to the garage after the crew and truck had left, I noticed that the accessories had been taken. They were unwilling to bring them back to me and said I would need to drive to Poway to pick up the item. I drove over 55 miles roundtrip to pick the items they were specifically told not to taken. No apology or credit was given. 2. I specifically told Relocation Consultant ****** ****** that if I selected his Allied company, I wanted Columbine Moving-Allied located in my destination location to unload. I have used Columbine in the past and had great service and no issues. I had called ****** to confirm this; he explained they usually partner with Bailey's in Grand Junction. Again, I explained I only wanted Columbine per our agreement and he said that would be no issue. I called Columbine to reach out to ******. They reached out to ****** to arrange the destination delivery and unload and wanted for the order to come in. ****** never sent it to them and sent it to Baileys. 3. I have two baby gates missing from our delivery. Driver explained that upon signing the "customer check off list" that he countersigned, we both were accepting that a few items had not been delivered. Upon filing a claim I received information on how to file a claim. I followed all directions including immediately notifying them of missing items. I received an email stating they are not located and to continue filing the claim. Upon resolution of claim, they will not repay for missing baby gates because I need to write special remarks on the "customer check off list", again that the driver (supervisor) said was not needed as we did not check them off as "delivered".

Desired Settlement: 1. Reimbursement for my time and travel for items that they were specifically told not to take. 2. Whatever the company deems appropriate for their Sales Rep agreeing to a customer's request and ignoring it, just to get the business. 3. Cost of full replacement of missing baby gates.

Business Response:

Atlas Transfer & Storage Co.

P.O. Box 80008

San Diego, CA 92138

Phone: (619) 513-3800 Fax: (619) 513-3900



July 28, 2014


BBB of San Diego

Attn:  ******* *****

4747 Viewridge Ave Suite #200

San Diego, CA 92123


RE: Allied Van Lines (REG#******)

Complaint ID# - ********


Dear Ms. ******* *****.


Your patience throughout our review of the submitted complaint is and has been appreciated.


We have completely reviewed the complaint and also have reviewed the submitted claim form.  According to our shipping documents, and review, we do not show where Atlas Transfer & Storage or Allied Van Lines has misguided the shipper.  There was damage sustained to the household goods involved in the shipment and claim form was filed.  We have verified that we have compensated the customer accordingly based upon the rules and regulations set forth within our tariff.  The claim form along with copies of the settlement has been attached for your review.  This claim was and has been addressed fairly and handled by Allied Van Lines, in Fort Wayne, IN.  All future correspondence should be forwarded and directed to them via email at


We also have contacted our moving crew and have verified with them they did not take any items or remove any items from the origin residence at time of loading.  All goods that were tendered to us by the homeowner were delivered to the destination residence.  The paperwork attached confirms this as well. 


We again apologize for not being able to accommodate the request to utilize the specific carrier the consumer requested.  We do our best to accommodate all requests by customers; however, we could not do so due to operational concerns and therefore, had to contract with another local approved Allied Van Lines agency. 


We regret that the consumer has filed a complaint and are extremely apologetic for the unfortunate event that has occurred during their relocation with Allied Van Lines.  .   


If we or I can be of further assistance, please contact us via the information outlined below at your convenience.    



**** ******

Atlas Transfer & Storage

Claims Manager

T: 708-925-9671

F: 708-575-1163

C: 708-969-9671

E: ****


P.O. Box 503810, San Diego, CA 92150-3810

Phone: 800-854-2938



Agent for Allied Van Lines