Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

All Star Moving Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (760) 931-6683 Fax: (760) 231-8206 View Additional Phone Numbers 2121 Oceanside Blvd #1, Oceanside, CA 92054 http://www.allstarmovinginc.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial moving and/or storage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All Star Moving Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for All Star Moving Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews on All Star Moving Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 11
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 13

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 17, 2010 Business started: 10/30/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is MTR0189349.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Daniel R Hernandez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel R Hernandez, Owner
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Movers Packing & Crating Service Storage Units - Household & Commercial Movers - Office Packaging Service Relocation Service

Method(s) of Payment
Cash and all major credit cards
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 180 Calle Iglesia

    San Clemente, CA 92672 (949) 266-6683 (714) 534-6683

  • 2121 Oceanside Blvd #1

    Oceanside, CA 92054 (877) 959-6683 (760) 931-6683 (858) 277-6683

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is my complaint against All Star Moving of *** ********, *** *****, ****** ******* ********* ****** in Southern California. Two guys showed up late. One guy basically hid in the truck for the first 3 hours of move and did very little moving. The other guy wrapped leather sofas. That is he wrapped the top areas, but for some reason did not wrap the bottom parts of the leather sofas and recliners he ended up scrapping against the cement and around stucco walls when moving. The guy who didn't work refused to lift, push and carry heavy items. The one guy had to do 90% of the work himself which lead to furniture needing to be pushed across cement stairs, around metal guard rails and around corners in hallways which dry walls got smashed in. In one instance where the guy did not tape a baby changing table shut and the other guy refusing to lift anything the entire (expensive cherry) piece of furniture fell to the concrete ground and drawers fell out. I ended up having to move my own boxes from garage to truck because the one guy moved like a turtle and pretended he was working. One mover constantly argued with the non-working mover for not doing his part and helping. When they didn't get a tip at the end I found a big spit goubber in my garage with yellow and green mucous in it as well as fast food cups, bags from a fast food company. The owner of the company has refused to acknowledge this incident, my damages and over billing despite this move being over 2 months ago. I sent several paper letters, emails and phone calls. He has all my contact info from reserving the move, etc. No excuse for no reimbursement. One insurance adjuster/professional negotiator from Texas told me he could pay me only $60 for nearly $1,000 in damages from All Star Moving of *** ********, ****** ******* *** ****** ********** *** ********** *** *** *******. Please take responsibility for damages if you hire goons to come to my house and ruin my personal property!

Desired Settlement: 1.) To be fair and not invent or exaggerate cost of damages, first there is 3 hours in excessive billing $89 x 3 = $267. (Basically one of your guys hardly worked all day and refused to lift heavy objects which resulted in many of the damages.) 2.) At a very minimum calling several leather repair companies who told me they need to replace entire pieces of leather to do any type of decent repair it will cost $167 + $175 = $342. 3.) Damage to my cherry wood baby changing table = $240 4.) My apartment move out charges (specifically due to your movers bashing into the sheet rock when moving sofa) = $175 Total amount of damages = $757 Total amount of overcharges = $267 Total amount of reimbursement needed = $1,024

Business Response: Hello ******-

Below you will find the written response to *** ************ complaint against All Star Moving, Inc. Thank you.


Re: Written Response to Complaint ID ******** - ********** vs. All Star Moving, Inc.

To whom it may concern-

Please accept this document as All Star Moving, Inc.'s official written Response to the above referenced complaint. We have read *** ************ complaint and are extremely concerned about his claims. As the volumes of positive reviews posted on the internet about us can attest, we take our utmost care to ensure a professional, caring, courteous and damage-free moving experience with each and every one of our customers.

In order to avoid wasting anyone's time and getting into any sort of "he said/he said" scenario, we will simply state the facts. ****** was not present the day of this particular move. He can neither confirm nor deny the details Mr. ********** spelled out in his complaint. The two movers from All Star Moving, Inc. have a different side of the story, deny allegations and are prepared to testify in court to the contrary.

Attached to this document you will find a copy of the front and back of the "Combined Agreement For Moving Services And Freight Bill" dated, signed and initialed by Mr. ********** on 1/17/15. This document shows that Mr. ********** was offered 3 options available to cover loss or damage. Mr. ********** clearly indicated his selection of the Basic/"Free" option noted by his initials and signature. The selected option entitled him to $.60(60 cents)/pound. The options NOT selected by him would have covered him for "Actual Cash Value", or "Full Value".

Although we regret to hear of ANY damage that may have occurred during the moving process, the insurance options are there for the consumer's protection. Mr. ********** has additionally elected to bypass our insurance company and instead chosen to launch a reputation smearing campaign against us on Social Media outlets. Our reputation is extremely important to us and we are well aware that it all starts with providing a superior customer service experience.

Please let me know if any further details or documentation are required by us to close this complaint. Thank you!



Respectfully submitted,

** ***** ********

Acting Marketing Manage

All Star Moving, Inc.

858-952-9391

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The reply to this is over 3 months late.

The owner refused to communicate with me about these damages. He has not reimbursed me for these damages. The minimal amount insurance you are required to carry by law and the CA Public Utility Company isn't sufficient
to pay me for the damages to my furniture.

Nobody would expect a moving company (after you failed to reply to this BBB Better Business Bureau complaint for months) would expect you to come and accept any responsibility for damages.

You have my address to mail me the check for damages. I'm in the process of escalating this to another level. This move date is from January 17th and you are not responding to me regarding these
damages and extremely incompetent movers you sent out until today June 16 2015. That alone speaks to you how you're running things over there.

While I advanced this to another level since you tried ignoring me for 6 months, it's still not too late to pay for damages and resolve this. Your insurance adjuster from some insurance company in Texas was a jerk
and tried to negotiate pennies on the dollar for the damages. Plus as I stated in my original complaint months ago, your guys wasted a lot of time and had to do a lot of moving myself if it was ever going to get done.
I grossly overpaid for hours wasted.

Nobody expects you admit fault. I have numerous photos of these damages and documentation that you have ignored me, expect for your one email that stated 2 weeks after my move date "I don't have your phone number."

Looks like you almost forgot about it. I have not forgot about it. I see the torn leather from my sofas and other items everyday and think about you.

I won't hesitate to continue my escalation of this unless I get compensated for my new furniture that got ruined.

I actually followed your guys around all day and had to micro manage them. Still they scrapped things across concrete and other details I documented in my previous complaint. Plus we have witnesses of the many neighbors who saw the movers maneuver furniture.

I'll accept half of this (what I told you are my loss for your guy wasting time and damages to my property) as my loss and a learning experience for both of us if you send me half of what my damages stated. When I hire a moving company I expect it's real professional movers with training and experience that would be better that a few "rag tag" group of guys I can assemble myself for much cheaper. I'd like to see you do the honest thing and reimburse me. I'm done jibber-jabbering on this for 6 months and am just getting  angrier and angrier by the day.

Regards,
**** **********



Business Response: In response to the rejection, we have made contact with Mr. ********** privately to resolve this issue.


Respectfully submitted,

** ***** ********
Acting Manager
All Star Moving, Inc.

Business Response:

In regards to the delay in responding to the ********** complaint, there was unfortunately a short period of time where ****** had to attend to a personal family health issues that were beyond his control.

However, Mr. ********** is neglecting to acknowledge that several attempts to settle this complaint have been avoided/evaded by him. I have attached screenshots of text messages and emails that were sent to him in effort to settle his complaint and prevent further damage to All Star Moving's exemplary reputation. 
 
Additionally, multiple attempts to reach him at the number he provided the company as his "Day time phone number". Calls were placed on several days at different hours of the day. The calls were never answered, nor were the voice mails ever responded to. It was as if ********** never really intended to settle his complaint, but rather continue on a malicious path to hurt ******'s business.

As evident in the Settlement email to **********, ****** not only agreed to **********'s terms, but offered additional money to put a quick resolution to the situation. No response in any format has been received at the time of this email.

As previously stated in earlier response, ******'s staff members that were present on the ********** move (and referred to in his complaint) are willing and able to testify in a court of law that several of **********'s claims are fraudulent in manner.
Respectfully submitted,

** ***** ********
Acting Manager
All Star Moving, Inc.

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this moving company to pack and move a 2 bed condo to a 4 bed house. It took them over 7 hours to move. I was charged for 3 guys at 165.00 an hour and really got two movers. One of the movers was new and didn't know any thing. I had to constantly tell him what to do. When they packed up the condo nothing was labeled so I couldn't find anything when they were done. When They finally finished at the condo they just left and never told me they were leaving so they sat at my other house for 30 min, which I was paying for. My neighbor was kind enough to let them in or I would of paid for another 30 min. of them sitting around waiting on me. Keep in mind I didn't even know they left. I never received a call stating they had left or they were waiting at my house... When they started to unload they didn't know were anything went because nothing was labeled. I had to hump boxes upstairs because almost everything was in the incorrect place. Stuff was in my garage for my kids rooms. They charged me for wardrobe boxes that they never used. I fount 6 boxes that they stuffed my kids cloths in (no wardrobe boxes). Here is my biggest complaint. One of the movers stole my medication. I filed a police. I attempted to stop payment on check but it was to late. You "All Star Moving" got lucky on that one... My suggestion to anyone moving is to stay clear from this company. The employees are not happy about their wages and they depend on tips. Oh yeh I gave them a 100 tip because I felt bad for them. It turns out I was the chump!! Value of stolen medication $800-1000 street value. I spoke to the owner of the company and not once on the call did he ask to compensate for my disappointment. His employees stole from me..... He did offer to send somebody out to help me move boxes. I declined because it was already done by me and frankly I didn't want to see his moving company every again...

Desired Settlement: Let this be a warming..........

Business Response: All Star Moving, Inc. and Mr. ***** ******** have agreed to an amicable resolution to the complaint. Mr. ******** has been compensated for his loss and has agreed that the matter is settled in full.


Respectfully Submitted,

** **** ********
****** *******
All Star Moving, Inc.

4/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired the movers and they arrived late. Damaged my fridge, dented my dryer, liquor was missing from my garage, a dining room chair was missing . . . and much of the furniture was left in the garage by the movers. Nice to hire movers and have to have friends move the belongings because the movers placed much of the furniture and the refrigerator in the garage. When I called the owner to complain, he said that the one of the movers denied the damage. The movers noted the damage to the fridge on the receipt. When I pointed that out, he agreed to reimburse me for the damage to the fridge only. I spoke with the owner numerous times, sent him a repair estimate from ******* and was promised that the check was in the mail. That was in October. There is $950 damage to my fridge and I have spent money to have the other furniture moved and to replace the "missing items.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $950 refund so that my fridge is repaired.

Business Response:

 Hello ******- 

I wanted to write to let you know that we have made contact with *******, the customer and are in the process of rectifying the situation she had with the company. We have communicated via email and are hopeful to receive a call from her to my Acting Manager, ***** ******** this week for resolution.  Thank you!
Daniel Hernandez/CEO
ALL STAR MOVING, Inc.

2/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Living Social gift voucher for my sister for 2 hours of moving service with All Star Movers for $95. I read all of the fine print. My sister called and made the appointment before I purchased the voucher to make sure that it would work for her, which it did. However, when the movers arrived, they told her that there would be a 4 hour minimum. My sister explained that it did not state that on the voucher and no one ever told her that. They said they were sorry but that was their policy, but maybe they could figure something out. In the end, my sister had to pay an additional $158 on top of the $95 voucher that I purchased totaling $253 for 2 hours of moving service.

Desired Settlement: My sister should be refunded the additional $158.

Business Response:

I have always answered every phone call that we schedule as the owner of the company which I take pride in . I explain that we have a 4 hour minimum as well as a California State law double travel time . This coupon from Living Social can be used for 2 of those hours as a discounted rate . When the customer called me before signing the contract I was happy to explain the 4 hour minimum again with her , she asked if we could work something out in the end  which I agreed . My employees finished the job around the 3 hour mark with some travel time  so we adjusted her bill to $158 instead of our normal $208 with this coupon , the customer was asked 3 times if she was alright with this in which she agreed in closing the person writing this complaint DID NOT sign our bill of lading and was NOT present during scheduling or paying this bill . 



******/Owner
All Star Moving,Inc.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The Living Social coupon is for 2 hours of moving service for $95. It is not stated on the deal that there is a 4 hour minimum. My sister contacted All Star Movers before we purchased the voucher. We only needed 2 hours of service. She asked what would be the charge if we went over the 2 hours and was told that it would be $104 for each additional hour. After speaking with All Star Movers, we then purchased the Living Social voucher. We would never have purchased the voucher if we were told that there was a 4 hour minimum as we did not need four hours of moving service nor was that an affordable price for us. My sister and I then made sure that all of the boxes and furniture were in the front rooms so that they could be easily and quickly taken so as not to exceed the 2 hours. I was not present the morning of the move, but my sister called me and told me that when the movers showed up, they then told her that there was a 4 hour minimum. She said that she was never told that. They then said that maybe they could call ****** and work something out. She said okay as she was put in a compromising position as she needed her furniture moved. I was very upset when she called me that morning and told me what they had told her. I could tell that she was under stress. She said that the movers did a good job. They told her that instead of charging her $208 they would knock off $50. She said okay as she did not know what else to do. I am extremely upset that I had purchased the voucher for my sister to help her out, when in the end it only added more stress for her and cost her $158.   This is false advertising. This is not right. Below is the link for the advertisement:

https://www.livingsocial.com/deals/1043179-two-hours-of-moving-services?utm_campaign=digest_athomedigest&utm_content=60&utm_medium=email&utm_source=blast


Regards,

****** *****



Business Response: I again answer every single phone call to schedule each and every move . I explain  our 4 hour minimum in full detail with all other charges ,I feel for this women who was helping her sister as this is only $158.00 but it is the pinnacle that we do not schedule any move for less than the 4 hour minimum and  the fact that this coupon does not even cover this area . Please see "service areas zip codes " that was provided by Ms.  ***** . I am willing to talk with them as I feel again was a very nice gesture to help her sister .

******/Owner
All Star Moving ,Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

13 Customer Reviews on All Star Moving Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart