This business is not BBB accredited.

St Fin Corp

Phone: (949) 461-0543 View Additional Phone Numbers 23330 Mill Creek Dr, Laguna Hills, CA 92653 http://www.thestarfinancial.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company offers mortgage lending.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for St Fin Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on St Fin Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 07/02/2002 in CA Business incorporated 07/02/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org
Phone Number: (240) 386-4444
The number is 1429.

Department of Business Oversight (DBO)
7575 Metropolitan Dr #108, San Diego CA 92108
http://www.dbo.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (866) 275-2677
Fax Number: (619) 682-7217
The number is 603C571.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Timothy Matthews, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy Matthews, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Susan Morris, Manager
Number of Employees

40

Business Category

Mortgage Brokers Mortgage Lender

Alternate Business Names
St Fin Corporation Star Financial
Industry Tips
Financial Industry

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    23330 Mill Creek Dr

    Laguna Hills, CA 92653 (949) 461-0543 (866) 761-7827 (888) 671-7885 (949) 900-6204

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I were trying to refinance our home through Star Financial but then changed our minds and wanted to go with a more reputable loan company. After several e-mails requesting the file be closed they kept the file open and did nothing with it since 2/19/15, the date it was first opened. We informed them with several times over e-mail and by phone we wanted it dropped, so we could move forward with someone else. They kept wanting to get information on what we were doing even after being told to close everything and we didn't want to share the information. It is now 3/17/2015 and the file has not been closed. as a result we were unable to get our rates locked in with our other company that would be saving us over $400 on our house payment. Also My family is planing a trip this summer and will not be able to go if this loan is held up any longer. Everyone at that company, Every time we talked to anyone was rude and condescending. We got several different answers and were lied to MANY times about the whole process. Today I called them and again forcefully asked for it's closer. Since opening this complaint I have received an email saying they requested the file be closed with FHA. I am still very upset with the practices of this company.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure what I would like to see done. I feel they already owe me $400 for delay they are causing, but if it takes longer to resolve then it will end up being a matter for small claims court. If they are really sorry for the delay, then they should have no problem cutting a check for the money they have cost me and be happy I'm not asking for compensation for my time. Beyond that there is nothing this company can do to save their reputation and I will warn everyone I know about them.

Business Response:

****** this is the first I have heard of this complaint from the consumer.  *** ****** is a very ethical Loan Officer.  My instinct is that the borrower did not qualify.  When a borrower submits an application and we are the lender we underwrite to make sure it is salable in the secondary market and that the borrower qualifies based on their income documentation and our appraisal did not come in at value.   I see that he would like 400.00 which is probably the cost of the appraisal.  We as a lender cannot guarantee when a borrower submits a loan application if they qualify.  We in fact try to help the borrower but if they do not qualify for the loan than we cannot do it.  If the consumer would like to give me a call I would be more than happy to speak to them since I care about everyone that applies for a loan.  As you know we have always been A+ rated.