Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Activus Home Loans

Phone: (949) 777-2730 24 Executive Park #150, Irvine, CA 92614 http://www.myactivus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mortgage brokerage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Activus Home Loans meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Activus Home Loans include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Activus Home Loans
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 15, 2013 Business started: 02/20/2007 in CA Business incorporated 02/20/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
http://bre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 1 (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8641
The number is 01824717.

Department of Business Oversight (DBO)
7575 Metropolitan Dr #108, San Diego CA 92108
http://www.dbo.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (866) 275-2677
Fax Number: (619) 682-7217
The number is 603J449.

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org
Phone Number: (240) 386-4444
The number is 307057.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Chaplin, Customer Service Manager Mr. John Cordes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Chaplin, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. John Cordes, President
Number of Employees

55

Business Category

Mortgage Brokers

Alternate Business Names
Activus Activus Corporation Activus Homes Activus Real Estate
Industry Tips
Financial Industry

Additional Locations

  • 24 Executive Park #150

    Irvine, CA 92614 (949) 777-2730

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Initially contacted Activus in June 2014 after receiving a mailer from them. Gave them all of our required information and we were turned down because of debt to income ratio and loan to value. Fine, nothing you can do about that right? Well then in December 2014 we were contacted by Activus and told we should re-apply. I of course told them we were turned down in June and our income is still the same and our homes value is still the same so why would now be any different? I didn't want to waste any more of my time but after repeated calls from Activus and being told that there was some "new guidelines" that would now allow us to qualify I proceeded with the application. They came up with some bogus loan that I now know never could have worked. I repeatedly told them I can't afford any extra expenses for a loan that will not happen and they guaranteed we had the numbers to make it work. Well I am not in the mortgage business so I had to take their word for it that everything was on the up and up. So after charging me $560 for an appraisal (nearly twice the going rate) and trying to get me to pay $250 for subordination fees, they finally admitted it could not happen. It turns out that our house would have had to appraise for $87,000 more than it is worth in order to have a chance at the loan they were trying to get. Now at any point if someone had told me your house has to appraise for that much I would have said there is no possible way and walked away without wasting $560. While I know I can't get back my 2 months of wasted time and energy, I certainly want a refund of the money I NEVER would have paid for an appraisal that anyone can see would never materialize.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $560 fee that they should have been upfront about so I could decide if I would even have moved forward at that point.

Business Response: We worked to help the ********** family obtain a new mortgage loan to save money on their monthly expenditures.  Unfortunately, predicting the value of a home in this market can be tough.  While the appraiser did to the inspection and the work was done, we were able to get the client a refund for the full appraisal fee!  Thank you

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* **********

11/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was referred to Activus home loan by my supervisor. I contacted them and was promised a refinance. I asked if I could be approved before paying for the appraisal. They said I was approved and that under the HART program I would qualify no matter what my appraisal value was listed as. After the appraisal was completed the company told me that they could cover the first mortgage. They told me to pay Bank of America a $125 for the subordination cost so the 1st mortgage can be released. Bank of America denied the request, so I was out a $125. The loan officer said she could get me approved under the FHA loan. I told her I would not be approved under that loan because my wifes credit was bad. She said it didnt matter and it will work out. She asked me to pay for a second appraisal. I told her I could not. She was approved by her manager for the company to pay for the second appraisal for the FHA loan. The appraiser came out and I never received any report until 9/3/2013(almost 2 weeks later). I got the report after the manager called me and I told him that I never received the report. The manger then told me that they cant do the loan after a two month process and a loss of over $500. Through this process I received several emails and calls stating, Congratulations your loan is almost ready for closing! I stated to the manager that I was not pleased with his company's services. He did not offer any refund or compensation for time wasted. I emailed the manager and asked for a refund. I also emailed him after our conversation and stated that I would file a formal if he could not do so.

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

Business Response: I believe this complaint may have been due to miscommunication. I personally helped our Loan 

Officer work on the refinance for this client. We tried to refinance this property through Fannie Mae 

but the appraised value came in too low for that to work. I talked to the client and let him know we 

had to change the application to FHA and we would need another appraisal. Even though we cannot 

dictate the value for an appraisal, our company paid for this second appraisal to help this client with his 

refinance. The application had a lot of hurdles that prevented the loan to be approved by government 

/ FHA lending guidelines. I notified the client and we agreed to refund his first, and only, appraisal fee. 

The refund was to go through on a credit card but did not post. I later talked to the client and it still had 

not posted so I sent out a refund check for the full amount to him. The client received this check and it 

was cashed. I later talked to the client to confirm that he received it and he stated that he did. He was 

very appreciative. He said that he was unable to refinance with other companies and was forced to sell 

that house. I gave him some advice on how to improve his application on a new home loan and he said 

he would contact us when he was ready. We would welcome the opportunity to get this client and his 

family into a new home in the future! Please feel free to contact me directly with anything else. ***** 

*******, Activus Home Loans, ************.

11/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Activus continues to send their junk mail to my address despite being asked to stop mailing to me 4 times in the last year. They need to stop sending this junk mail.Their advertising is deceptive. The return address does not say activus, but instead they use RE San Diego credit union. It is not until the the letter is opened that it shows that it is not the credit union. The advertisement is pink to make it appear to be a past due bill.I would be happy if they would never contact me again. But I think that companies using this type of deceptive marketing should be shut down.

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

Business Response: We apologize for any inconvenience receiving our letter may have caused this customer. When she first notified

us, we removed her from our mailing list but it can take a little while to take effect as the marketing department 

may have already had other batches of mail sent out. All information about the client’s name, address or current 

lender is taken from public record and we do not share this information with anyone else. This client will not 

receive anything else from our company and she can always contact me directly with any other questions or 

concerns. ***** ******** Activus Home Loans, ************.

10/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company sends unsolicited mail using pink paper which has traditionally been used for late bills. The letter includes the line "Important Time Sensitive Material" - which it is not. They also include the name of my mortgage company as the second line of the letter.This leads me to believe that this is a letter from my mortgage company and that it is important. It is neither. Once you open the letter, you realize that it is an advertisement - and a small disclaimer on the back of the letter tells you that they are not affiliated with my mortgage company.This is intentional and calculated deception, and it is deplorable.

Desired Settlement: Cease deceiving me and others - stop sending these letters and stop using these tricks to trick customers.

Business Response: Customer information is pulled from public records and is used only to offer services to better the

position of their current financing. Posted rates are subject to change with the market and economy 

and are therefore, very time sensitive. Out of respect for consumers, we do remove anyone from our 

mail lists, as soon as possible, upon request. We have removed this client from receiving any future 

mail. Please feel free to contact me directly with anything else. ***** *******, Activus Home Loans, 

************.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ***********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Activus Home Loans
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart