Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of OCMBancorp?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

OCMBancorp

Additional Locations

Phone: (714) 479-0999 Fax: (714) 619-0060 View Additional Phone Numbers 14351 Myford Rd #200, Tustin, CA 92780 http://www.ocmbc.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mortgage banking services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that OCMBancorp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for OCMBancorp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on OCMBancorp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 03/09/2001 in CA Business incorporated: 03/09/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento CA 95815
http://bre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 1 (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8641
The number is 01317091.

Department of Business Oversight (DBO)
7575 Metropolitan Dr #108, San Diego CA 92108
http://www.dbo.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (866) 275-2677
Fax Number: (619) 682-7217
The number is 4130724.

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org
Phone Number: (240) 386-4444
The number is 2125.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rabi Aziz, CEO Ms. Lina Colon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rabi Aziz, CEO
Principal: Ms. Lina Colon, President
Number of Employees

65

Business Category

Mortgage Bankers

Alternate Business Names
OCMBC OCMBC Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11016 Artesia Blvd

    Cerritos, CA 90703

  • 14351 Myford Rd #200

    Tustin, CA 92780 (714) 479-0999 (800) 760-1833

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 760-1833(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and i are in a chapter 13 bankruptcy in which this company approved our loan with the judges approval. On July 14,2014 when this company approved the loan and we spent hundreds of dollars, they decided we were not able to get the loan due to HUD required some type of overtime proof from my husband. They were informed in the beginning my spouse is a truck driver and was paid by a percentage in which if they knew the HUD regulations they should have turned our loan down instead of making us pay hundreds of dollars to follow through with the loan. And when it came time to close this is when they came up with this excuse. We are very upset and come to find out when i contacted the trustee's office there were a few other couples in bankruptcy that was done by this same company. I would like something done to this owner of this company where he cannot do customers like this and think we were going to close on loan.

Desired Settlement: We would like something to be done where this company cannot put customers through this kind of ordeal again. And according to the federal bankruptcy court this company has done this more than once. I would like to know what we can do to stop this.

Business Response:

 

Dear BBB:

OCMBC, Inc. 's Sr. Management and Ms. ***** ***** are in active dialogue.  We have discussed solutions that are agreeable to Ms. Young, which OCMBC is working to fulfill as a means to bring closure to the matter.  OCMBC, Inc. will provide additional information to the BBB as progress is made.

Thank you in advance for the opportunity to provide feedback for this consumers complaint.  

Sincerely,

 

**** *****

President,

OCMBC, Inc.

2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The mortgage company neglected to provide proper documentation to my agent so that we were able to get our money back due to the fact that we were unable to close and they were also very unprofessional, uncooperative and uninformative throughout the entire loan process. They have caused us to have emotional distress, we have endured pain and suffering and we took a financial loss because of these people.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of every penny that we spent throughout this entire process. We have lost a total of $1700 of our hard earned money and no one seems to care.

Business Response: I am responding with an update on behalf of **** *****. The Manager of the Division is supposed to be receiving a signed settlement agreement from the borrower today. I am sending a check in the amount of $1250 as a reimbursement to ******* * ********* **** via UPS today.
 
Thank you!
 

11/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a letter in the mail from this company stating that I was prequalified for IRRRL loan through the VA. The companies name was not on the letter ... instead they had ****** ***** Mtg SVC on the top of the letter making it appear that is who they were. It says that you may qualify for a waiver of VA funding fees and closing costs, but after spending hours of gathering paperwork and running credit checks they tell you that it is only for disabled veterans. The letter doesn't mention this and they don't bother telling you this until after you have already gone through their lengthy process. They also try to get you to give you your credit card information so they can charge you for the appraisal fee of the home. I told them upfront that I was trying to get rid of the 90$ per month PMI that I am currently paying on my existing loan then they send me the loan application and they tack on $9,000 in fees on an $81,000 which actually raised my mortgage payment even though it did drop off the PMI. So when I asked them about the fees and if it made sense to pay 9000 up front to get ride of a 1100 a year fee he actually told me it did make sense and he tried to tell me that my closing costs of 4000 was actually escrow money which is totally not true. I do realize that some of the money I would get back because of my escrow account for my existing insurance and taxes, but it isn't going to come close to 9,000. I paid less fees when I first bought the house and that included point towards the realtor. They also say the interest rate is 3.49% but after you get the paperwork they raise it up to 4.25%. I already have a 4.5% loan so the whole process was a complete waste of my time. There is a lot more that I could add, but frankly I am tired of typing. The sales person I worked with was ***** ****** **********.

Desired Settlement: First of all their letter head should be on the offer letter. If they are an A+ rated BBB business why do they hide who they are? Second the letter should read that the program is for disabled veterans. A lot of veterans coming back from the war are vulnerable and are not as good with contracts or finances and it bothers me that this predatory company is going to take advantage of them by tricking them into a loan that doesn't even make sense. They owe me and any other veterans they have pulled this trick on an apology and I am also reporting this company to the Veterans Administration so they can warn the military community. I think they should also be investigated into possible criminal sales practice.

Business Response: The content of the mailer discloses as follows:
 
“This document is not intended as an offer to extend credit nor a commitment to lend. Interest rates are subject to market fluctuations and the
rate quoted may not be currently available. Other terms and conditions may apply, loan terms may vary. Certain restrictions may apply. A final loan approval or commitment can be issued after we have verified and underwritten the information from your loan application, credit report, appraisal of the property and such other information as may be required under our
standard underwriting guidelines”
 
OCMBC, lnc. is located at 14351 Myford Road, Ste. 200, Tustin, CA 92780

The advertisement is a plain text generic flyer, it properly displays the required disclosure, including the name of the organization responsible for the solicitation, OCMBC, Inc., and includes the corporate address.  The font size was the required size.  
 
OCMBC, Inc. is licensed to lend residential mortgage products in 22 state and is an approved lender, with the Department of Housing and Urban Development, the Department of Veterans Affairs, USDA, CalHFA, and various state funded Down Payment Assistance Programs. 
 
Our practices are centered on the principals of strong Core Values; we are honest with our dealings and respect and appreciate our Veterans. 
 
Mr. ****s has indicated that his experience with our organization was unfavorable; we will take his feedback to self evaluate and make the necessary improvements to our customer service training and protocols.  With respect to the merits of the loan application, I may not comment on those particular circumstances, however, we do strive to place applicants into the best loan programs available based on their creditworthiness and based on the company’s available rates at the time of application.
 
Mr. ****, I apologize for any inconveniences cause you during this process.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

On the one hand they did apologize but they spent the first part of their message defending their business practices. I am not familiar with the legal requirements of their advertising, I am only speaking to the effect of it. When you read their flyer it is not clear who it is coming from and in my situation it looked like it was from Howard Hanna. They certainly may follow the letter of the law but based on the way they treated me I do not believe they are following the intent of the law and they do not appear to care anything about Veterans being I happened to be a 10 year Navy veteran with good credit and I was treated very poorly. I have reported this company to the department of Veteran affairs and they are warning Veterans about this company and companies like it. 

Regards,

******* ****


10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Based on the constant lies of "in a few days we should have docs", we moved forward with finding our retirement home and put in an offer. OCMBC was the lender for our buyers, with the promise from that the lender that this process would take NO MORE THAN THREE WEEKS,(now on week 7) we proceeded to look for a home. We are unable to get accurate informaiton, no call backs, not emails, and no loan to close escrow. Still we have no answers .We have now lost thousands of dollars and the the home we had in escrow. The sellers pulled out due to the extended amount of time this organization was taking. We believed organizations were mandated by integerity regulations, so we extended the buyser time,who stated that they truly desired to purchase our home and would do what it took to purchase it. What really saddened me was when this organization was told that we lost our first home choice and that the sale may be cancelled, ******* response was "Oh well, pull the loan." Not only was that very cold hearted, but in my opinion very unprofessional. We have now found a second home and offered to purchaes it, again based on the promise from ****** three weeks ago, the loan for our buys would be completed within two weeks.. Yesterday, we received a call from our agent stating that he had received a call from ********(***** agent) who stated he had a conversation with ****** (loan agent). ****** told him that both loans were completed and that he would be sending a email confirming this information. After numerous telephone calls to ******,(assistant to ******) who as usual, dodged them, we discovered not only was that an out right lie, but ****** attempted to cover up what ****** said by stating "there was just a misunderstanding with the information"

Desired Settlement: I dont know if this loan will or will not close. However, with the constant lack of communication, the promises of "just two more days to get the docs", and the lack of integerity of both the Lenders agent ******, and his assistant ******, I want to start the process of filing a complaint with the BBB as well as contacting the licensing board for this organization. It appears to me that there should be some recourse for a customer who has had thier lives turned upside down by people like ****** and ******. All we wanted was for my husband to have comfort that his family would be taken care of during his retirement and after he passes. Now all we have is shattered dreams and numerous lies. Please help us to finish this job.

Business Response:

Greetings:

Each loan transaction presents with a unique set of circumstances, which must be addressed and resolved during the underwriting process.  At times, and depending on the characteristics of a particular loan applications, the process can take longer than exptected which can present frustration for all partiees, especially, when the transaction may have a tightly coordinated closing schedule. Each purchase transaction has correlating parties such as Sellers, Title and Escrow for the property being financed.  Although the Seller is a party to the transactions, they are not prvy to private loan level details that pertain to the buyer  Our Corporate philosophy is and remains to provide excellent service and fast turn times during each phase of the loan process.  of that particular property. 

The person making the complaint, although a party to the transaciton, is not the borrower and therefore would not be privy to details about this particular approval.  In an effort to assist with resolution, I have initiated a review into this file to see where Senior Managment can assist with closig the loan transaction.

On behalf of OCMBC, I offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused to the Sellers.  Thank you in advance for the opportunity to respond to this complaint, an additional follow up response will be forthcoming.

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

President

OCMBC, Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear Sir/Miss

The complaint was not in regard to the lenght of time this process has taken.  The complaint was in regards to the continious lies told by the loan agent and his assistant.  We were told almost daily, as wer the borrowers, that the loan docs would be completed within the week only to go from a three week loan to a three month loan.  In as much as last week, we were once again told that the borrrows were to have an answer by Tuesday (September 23) and still, not even a phone call, email, or test to give an update.  

This complaint has every thing to do with the honest and integerity of the people working for this company.  I do not believe at this time that this company is able to give an honest answer.  Because of this issue, the sellers (myself and my husband) have lost out new home, again with the cold hearted response from the loan agent as "oh well, cancell the loan".  How can you answer for unprofessional people???



Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

This complaint has every thing to do with the honest and integerity of the people working for this company.  I do not believe at this time that this company is able to give an honest answer.  Because of this issue, the sellers (myself and my husband) have lost out new home, again with the cold hearted response from the loan agent as "oh well, cancell the loan".  How can you answer for unprofessional people???

Dear Mrs. ******, 

OCMBC's Core Foundational Values are Unity, Commitment and Strength.  It is through these Core Foundational Values that OCMBC looks to inspire and challenge its' employees to deliver excellent communication amongst our fellow employees and customers.  Respectfully, we apologize for your recent experience and as a result of your recent experience have used your complaint as an opportunity to take the appropriate actions to self-evaluate internal procedures, particularly in areas related to on-boarding and training procedures; our objective is to mitigate any future occurrences with poor communication.  Additionally, disciplinary actions have been taken to address this complaint with the appropriate employees.

OCMBC has been a BBB member for over ten years and is a member in good standing with an average rating of A+ and have only been able to maintain such a great rating by offering honest service - again, I apologize for your recent experience.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *****

President

 

Consumer Response:

Thank you for your response.

 

I am thankful that your customer finally saw the light and went with my lender.  They were approved, signed docs and we just closed after 30 DAYS.   There is no way to determine what happened. However, this site is the only rescourse I have to ensure that others do not receive the same treatment I did.

 

Good luck with your employees.

 

Respectfully

*****

 

 

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: OCM continues to harass me by mail and will not take me off of their mailing list. I have called every number that is on the letters they send and the number on the website. (They are all the same number) The best response I have gotten was from a guy who wouldn't even tell me the name of the company, just that he was from the "Loan Dept." and that he would take my information and connect me to someone who could help. He asked for my phone number but I refused to give him any information he didn't already have so I only gave my name and address. He assured me my name would be taken off their mailing address, but it has not been so.

Desired Settlement: I want confirmation that I have been removed from their mailing list.

Business Response:

OCMBC requests the borrower send to **************** a copy of the advertisement so we may look at the particular advertisement; we currently  have not data matches for consumer information in our system.  A copy of this advertisement may assist us with putting closure to his concerns.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *****

President

OCMBancorp

************ Direct Line

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service