Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Barbizon Model and Acting School of Southern California Inc

Phone: (800) 870-6633 View Additional Phone Numbers 2960 Airway Ave #A103, Costa Mesa, CA 92626

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers modeling agency services.  

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Barbizon Model and Acting School of Southern California Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Barbizon Model and Acting School of Southern California Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 2013 Business started: 01/26/1993 in CA Business incorporated 09/01/1999 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David D'Alessandro, President Mrs. Diane D'Alessandro, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David D'Alessandro, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Modeling & Acting - Training

Alternate Business Names
Barbizon Modeling and Acting Barbizon Modeling School

Additional Locations


    2960 Airway Ave #A103

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (714) 540-4200 (909) 612-1818 (954) 345-4140 (800) 870-6633


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter, ******* *****, was signed up for classes in August 2014, which she recently completed. We are on a payment plan, and I have encountered several issues along the way with the billing and payment process.1. I was signed up for automatic payment. I sometimes receive a receipt by email, and I sometimes do not.2. In the event that my automatic payment is declined, I do not receive any type of notification for 2-3 weeks (a letter by mail). How am I supposed to set up an alternate payment within the 5-day grace period if I do not receive any type of notification for 2-3 weeks? A phone call or email would be appreciated at the time the payment declines!3. I have been attempting to get an account ledger with all charges and payments, since I have not received any type of statement since my payments began. Nobody at the class location can seem to help me with payment issues (changing automatic payment source, giving me an account ledger, etc). They direct me to corporate. I have tried contacting through Facebook, email, and via telephone, but I cannot get a response from anyone (I can provide proof of phone calls made and emails sent, if necessary).

Desired Settlement: -I want any and all late fees reversed thus far. -I want notification within the grace period when an automatic payment declines so that I may resolve the issue. If I then fail to make the payment, I can understand receiving a late fee at that time.-I want a receipt emailed to me every time a payment posts, not just sometimes.-I want an account ledger detailing my opening balance, payments made, and current balance, as well as monthly statements from this point on.

Business Response:

***** a call has been put out to Mrs. *****. I personally head up the in-house collection department and to my knowledge have never received a call from this customer.  I am waiting for a return call so I can explain to her our collection procedures.  To address her complaint: We use an outside company that processes all of our auto debits, as most companies do.  Depending on the day the client chooses the Auto Debit is either processed on the 1st or the 15th of each month until the account is paid in full.  One of the features that the processing company incorporates in their software is to automatically send an e-mail to the client when the credit card is authorized.  If the credit card is declined we receive a report from the processing company and in turn must run the card manually from our office.  If this is done then no e-mail is sent as that is not part of our procedure.  If the credit card continues to decline over a weeks time we then issue an account past due letter that we mail out indicating that their credit card has been declined and a late fee added.  It is up to the customer to make sure there are sufficient funds in their account so as the credit/debit card does not get declined.  If there are insufficient funds in the account then the customer knows the card will be declined and should make the effort to rectify the problem before the late fee is added.  Please feel free to contact me with further questions.
Thank You
***** ************   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

***** would not have record of me contacting the office because I have never spoken to him.  Before making my complaint, I had attempted to call his office twice but received only voicemail recordings each time.  I did not leave messages because I was not sure if I was connected to the correct department. 

I did receive a call from ***** on 5/27/14.  He left me a specific window of time which he prefers me to return the call (10 am to 2 pm).  Due to my work schedule, it was not possible for me to return the call until 5/30/14.  I was told by the man who answered that ***** was out of the office.

Regardless of how the company chooses to process their payments, I should be entitled to a monthly statement.  The payment does not come out of my bank account, it comes off of a credit card, and I do not check it every day as I would my bank account.  Therefore, there are times payment can decline and I do not know.  Additionally, there are times there have been sufficient funds but the payment has not been accepted (I am working with the credit card company to find out why this has happened).  The company should not assume that the customer knows; the company should inform the customer within a reasonable amount of time.  It is impossible for me to rectify the problem when I was not able to reach anyone at corporate and nobody at the class location could be of assistance.  It is unacceptable to notify me in front of a crowd of parents that my payment declined and furthermore to refuse to let my daughter into class until I pay it, after I drove half an hour to the class and did not come prepared with payment because I did not even realize that the payment declined. 

I would greatly appreciate a ledger of my account listing beginning balance, dates of payments made, late charges assessed, and remaining balance, as requested in my original complaint.  This can be emailed to me at ********** or faxed with a cover sheet to (951) ********.  Once I look this over, I will attempt to call ***** once again once I know specifically what I am looking at.  According to the letters I have received by mail, I should have 2 late fees at this point.  It is my desire to be able to pay off the remaining balance on time.


********* *****

Business Response:

I will contact Ms. ***** on Monday and forward the appropriate paperwork to her.


Thank you

***** ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I received an account ledger via fax on 6/16/14.  It was a little hard to read, but it seems to match my records.  I emailed Mr. ************ on 6/19/14 and updated my payment information  to prevent any future payment issues.  I also asked about the late fees once again.  My email stated, "
I am also wondering if you are willing to reverse the 2 late fees on our account as a courtesy for the reasons outlined in my complaint.  I don’t feel it’s fair when I am not notified within the 5-day grace period.  After you explaining it to me and then going back and re-reviewing my contract, I understand that I need to keep a better watch on whether the payments are clearing as well. " He acknowledged the new payment information but did not address the fees; therefore, I do not accept the response by the business to resolve my complaint.

********* *****