Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

K T Construction

Phone: (949) 588-9318 24252 Amurro Dr, Mission Viejo, CA 92691

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers designers, masons, and concrete finishers.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for K T Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on K T Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2013 Business started: 02/04/1992 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 637204.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Kurtis Bargabus, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kurtis Bargabus, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Mason Contractors Concrete Blocks & Shapes Landscape Contractors

Industry Tips

Additional Locations


    24252 Amurro Dr

    Mission Viejo, CA 92691 (949) 588-9318


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company will promise anything to get you to sign the contract. Majority of project construction went fine, however, the company representatives fail to communicate with their workers, they fail to deliver on what was agreed upon. They make the customer have to constantly contact them and press them to complete these items. Owner ignores phone calls and will not return a call even after several voice messages. Once they have their money, they will drag their feet on completing anything else. I believe their tactic is to procrastinate long enough until the customer is so fed up, they give up. Too bad for them I've got time to see this dispute through until the end. I will get what was promised to me and what I paid for. This company is disillusioned in believing they are professionals. They are not. Professionals do not operate this way.

Desired Settlement: I want KT Construction to install the natural gas quick connect fitting that was agreed upon and that I paid for. I want KT construction to install the inline switch for the water features that was agreed upon and that I paid for. I want KT construction to come set the pavers by my water features that was agreed upon and that I paid for. I want KT Construction to quit dragging their feet and deliver everything that was agreed upon and that I paid for.

Business Response: KT Construction made no promises to get a signed contract. KT Construction is in constant communication with employees. The agreed upon contract was fulfilled. KT Construction stopped returning phone calls after excessive verbal abuse. We asked him to refrain from verbal abuse, client stated he was ex-military, and that's how they did business. We have worked for many clients, who were military and never been treated like that by anyone. The project did drag on,client choose tile that was manufactured back east. 4 week delivery, in good weather. Natural gas quick connect is installed. In-line switch is installed in water feature. Employee was sent to finish pavers (6 pieces). Client told him not to set pavers,he would do it after testing of pool equipment. All contracted items are complete. Client still has an unpaid balance of $1,000.00.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

When the owner of the company will not speak with you, not return calls, not return email, it becomes EXTREMELY frustrating for the client.  When I did finally make contact, yes, there were choice words, but it was a bi-directional and certainly not worse than the racist rhetoric that constantly came from the company representative I dealt with.  The work was not completed at the time of the initial complaint, however, an employee did stop out to complete the items.  There is no "unpaid balance" of $1000.  During the project, they had me write a check directly to a pool contractor that they "have worked with for years".  The pool contractor came in, did a horrible, unfinished job and disappeared.  Now they are trying to act like they had nothing to do with it and their hands are clean, however, I have hand written quotes from *** **** where he is brokering the pool work between myself and ******* ***** that clearly shows KT's involvement.  *** **** admitted that there was miscommunication between the pool contractor and KT as to who was supplying which parts/building materials/pool items.  I was told to use the remaining funds $1000 to pay for someone to complete the pool items and so we could move past the miscommunication on KT's part.  That phone conversation with *** **** was recorded via my Google Voice number, so I would love to see KT try to challenge that!  It is an outright lie by the owner of the company.  Very underhanded now trying to act like there is an unpaid balance.  I've paid KT $22,360.00.  That is paid in full for what they have provided me and I have a recorded phone call to prove it.

KT likes to use the excuse that the tile had to come from out east.  Yes, it took a while for it to question is why didn't they order it earlier?!  They knew what the tile selection was.  I went to the exact store they told to me to pick out tile and gave them the sample and tile model info almost a full 2 MONTHS before they finally ordered it!  As a paying customer, I hired someone to do a job.  It has only recently been completed after having to constantly contact the company to find out when they would be out to work on various tasks throughout the project.  This company struggles with completing a job.
Glad we are done dealing with each other.


***** *****

Business Response: When we started  project client asked if we would remove gunite from around skimmer and expose plumbing, that leads to pool equipment. Client stated, his pool maintenance man suspected a leak in the pipe and was going to have him upgrade plumbing. Knowing this is not the way to check for leaks, KT Construction called their pool contractor. Pool contractor only referred pool plumber, to perform pressure test to check for any leaks in system. No leaks were found. Client fired pool maintenance man and contracted directly with pool plumber to upgrade system. Pool plumber installed light, dedicated suction line for pool sweep, and replaced failing plumbing. Pool plumbers don't plaster. Client payed pool plumber in full. Pool plumber did his job complete. Client did not understand that pool plumber does not cut pipes plaster and set pool pipe inserts. This is the job of a pool plaster contractor. Client stated he was holding KT Construction responsible and threatened lawsuit, in almost every conversation after that. Client was trying to be General Contractor on the project. Client didn't understand complete scope of work, and who is licensed to perform certain aspects of the project. KT Construction has completed everything on the contract as well as  numerous other items. As client stated numerous times in last response, the project is complete. The pool is also up and running. KT Construction prides itself on customer relations, unfortunately you can't please everyone.  

Consumer Response:

KT loves to blame the clients for their mistakes.  So hard to find good help.  Someone had to be general contractor on this project because KT certainly wasn't stepping up.  Glad relationship is severed and done with KT.  

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


***** *****

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service