This business is not BBB accredited.

Culver Capital Group Inc

Phone: (714) 689-9552 3 Hutton Centre Dr #400, Santa Ana, CA 92707 http://www.culvercapital.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that <em>lowered</em> the rating for Culver Capital Group Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Culver Capital Group Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Culver Capital Group Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 07/12/2006 in CA Business incorporated 07/12/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Business Oversight (DBO)
7575 Metropolitan Dr #108, San Diego CA 92108
http://www.dbo.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (866) 275-2677
Fax Number: (619) 682-7217
The number is 603I020.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Ranitra Coleman, Executive Assitant Mr. John Ryan, Customer Service
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John Ryan, Customer Service
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Loans Business Brokers Business Services - General Office Furniture & Equipment - Rental & Leasing

Industry Tips
Financial Industry

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3 Hutton Centre Dr #400

    Santa Ana, CA 92707 (714) 689-9552

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Culver under ******** **** * **** for a leasing line to finance equipment. Culver approved the lease and required a down payment of $16,366.75 that was deducted from our bank account. Culver repeatedly refused to finance the lease that we had to pay out of our own funds. We sent several emails asking for the lease to be funded or the money returned. Culver did not respond to any of these. Culver took our funds to provide a financing service and they did not provide it and now refuse to refund our money.

Desired Settlement: Culver did not provide the service contracted for so all of our funds should be returned.

Business Response: ******** **** * **** LLC applied for $600,000
of financing with Culver Capital. As a part of Culver’s standard credit review
process, information was requested related to the financial health of the
applicant, including existence of any open liens or judgements currently
against the applicant. The applicant represented there were not such open liens
or judgement. Following acceptance of a financing proposal, underwriting determined
the following: Derogatory public filings (2 open judgments for $5,142 and 9
open tax liens for $149,175.  Information regarding the specific nature
and status of such derogatory public fillings was requested but never received
by Culver. In lieu of providing such information, client has elected to cancel
such financing request. Per the terms of the agreed proposal terms the client
would then also be electing to forfeit their financing deposit. To avoid such an
occurrence, Culver has been in contact with ******** **** * **** LLC to
pursue possible acceptable alternatives.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,
****** ********

******** **** did apply for a $600,000 line and after submitting all required paperwork was approved. Culver immediately debited our bank account for $16,366 that represented initial payments on the first lease. After they took the money, they came up with 2 D&B claims from ******* and one from the state of *******. The total of these was approximately $21,000 and were due to filings under erroneous federal ID numbers. This was explained to Culver. They refused to go forward and fund the first lease that we had to pay for out of pocket. I told them to either fund the lease or return our money. They have done neither and have made no attempt to settle.  

5/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Culver Capital Group offered to help fund/finance a wheel alignment rack I was interested in from ****** *********. The salesperson, ****** ***, was on top of things in the beginning. I was very cooperative with providing whatever they need from me to make this happen. The contract I was waiting for, but never received, was for it to state that it will be a $1-buyout at the end of the lease, and not be stuck with a fair market value deal. During the application process, ****** sent me a form to sign which stated an initial deposit in the amount of $3,078.24 (2 advance payments). Prior to signing it, I made a phone call and exchanged e-mails with ****** regarding that form. He explained to me that they (Culver Capital) will not take money from my bank account. According to him, that form was going to be used for bank account verification. When I noticed that the amount stated above was taken from my bank account, I then called and e-mailed them several times. I had asked for them to reverse the charge because it had also caused my bank account to become negative at that point, due to other expenses I had made. During this process, I was directed to deal with ***** *******. Apparently, this is beyond ******' pay grade (as he described it). ***** *******, a manager at Culver Capital, asked if the charge was pending or if the funds were taken out from my bank. He said that they cannot reverse the charge if it was still pending. Since the charge was taken out in full, he promised me that he will get the charge reversed. My conversation with them are all saved in writing (e-mails). Up to now, over 2 months have passed, I'm still trying to get my money back. I have not benefited from this transaction, nor received any type of merchandise. I no longer wish to move forward with this company based on the service/treatment they have given me.

Desired Settlement: I want Culver Capital to return the $3,078.24 they took from my bank account.

Business Response:

Complaint Response:

*** ******, Inc. applied for financing with Culver on December 16, 2014. Following pre-approval based on the ownership and supporting credit information provided, a financing proposal was generated on January 21, 2015 and returned on January 23, 2015, with a deposit of $3,078.24 being due upon return. Client elected to transfer such funds via **** Attached paperwork is provided attached.

Upon the file entering funding, Culver received a fraud flag from one its funding partner due to a previous application being received from the same business but with conflicting ownership information. Accordingly, verification of ownership provided on the initial credit application was requested (the last years business tax return), but client never provided. File was closed as potentially fraudulent application and submitted to the applicable industry watchdog.

If the client would like to provide current proof of ownership, we will gladly re-open the file and advance the transaction as requested.

 

 

Regards,

 

**** **** ¦ Customer Service

Culver Capital Group

************ ¦ F ************

*********************** ¦ www.culvercapital.com

4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BORDERLINE HARASSMENT AFTER BEING INFORMED MULTIPLE TIMES (VIA PHONE CALL AND FAX) THAT THIS BUSINESS AND ANY INDIVIDUAL HERE WAS NOT IN ANY WAY INTERESTED IN ANYTHING THIS COMPANY WAS OFFERING AND WISHED TO BE REMOVED FROM WHATEVER LIST THE COMPANY/INDIVIDUAL HAS.

Desired Settlement: WE WISH FOR THIS COMPANY TO STOP ALL CONTACT WITH THIS BUSINESS.

Business Response: This company was contacted by Culver Capital twice on 6/12/14 and 8/1/14.
On the second call our Culver's representative spoke with the manager who said no fiancing requirements existed and asked that no further calls be made to their office. This was noted in Culver's phone system and no contacts have been made to this business since.

2/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeatedly leaving voice mail messages on my home phone to call them. This is a scam!

Desired Settlement: Quit calling me and leaving messages.

Business Response: Phone call with customer 2/2/15 4:54PM PT:
Customer was mistaken and thought Culver had been calling him at 10PM at night. He was informed that Culver had only called him once at 9:03 PT on 1/28/15 and per his request would not be calling again.

This complaint should be removed as created by mistake. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *******


They are claiming they only called once however that is false.  There were several phone calls made to our home and messages left.  

Business Response: ******,
Our firm offers financing to small business.
Our hours of business are from 7AM to 4PM PT. When I spoke with your husband yesterday he said the calls were at 10PM at night.
Additionally, I've checked your account in our system and only one call was placed to you on Jan 28th.

Most importantly, you stated we were are scam. This is not only incredibly false but hurtful.
Please reconsider your response to this complaint. We are a small business and false complaints inaccurately portraying our who we are and the work we do is damaging to our efforts to help our clients.

Thank you,
**** ****
###-###-####

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed with this company to finance a truck i was interested in buying from a private party, they sent me paperwork after looking at all my information with a payment that showed $781.81 with $1963.62 downpayment. Once i sent them a check for the downpayment they sent the final paperwork showing a payment and downpayment which was totally different, which came to a downpayment of $2,672 with a monthly payment of about $1,032. I asked the loan officer whose name is *** ******* what this ,eant and how they could change all these numbers after the had already given me numbers according to my credit and all the information provided. During this time the seller calls both me and *** and tells us that he no longer wants to sell us the truck and that he has other buyers, and he never answers a phone call or text again. Because of the sellers withdrawal i tell *** that i need my deposit back because im gonna have to go a different route, he tells me i cannot have my deposit back and that it will be held by their company for 18 months and then will be forfeited, which was a way to force me to finance something through their company. I told *** that i no longer have anything to finance the truck was the only item i needed and because this is not working out, i will have to go a different route and just keep my own truck. I have emailed them letting them know i will be taking further action, i have also told him over the phone and no response has been given. i know they had a $400 processing fee, I even noted to them several times go ahead and deduct your processing fee and send me the difference back and they have still refused to do so.

Desired Settlement: All i want is for them to send me a check of my total deposit minus their processing fee which was $400, therefore my total coming back on a check would be $1,563.62

Business Response: I spoke with the customer today and discussed that this complaint was filed by mistake as he was unaware of the financing terms. Any misunderstanding has been resolved. Thank you

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied to a few loan companies to buy a piece of equipment. They said they approved my laon and took out the first and last payment. During that time I was also approved by someone else and I did not take the funds at the time because Culver had better terms. Anyway, I was given the run around for a month after they took the money. They never gave me the loan. They will not return calls and they will not refund my first and last payment even though I did not get the loan. I have left a minimum of 10 messages and emails. THe only response I received it was escalated to management.

Desired Settlement: I want my first and last payment that was taken on loan approval and the interest they would have charged me on the loan for the money they took from me.

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responded to a equipment purchase postcard from Culver Capital. I want to buy a 3D Printer for my orthodontic lab. I filled out the necessary paperwork and began working with a man named ***** ******. He emailed a proposal of a 3 year lease, specifying the monthly payments and the initial payment due upon approval of the lease. The initial payment consisted of 1st and last months rent, and a $375 lease processing fee. I signed the proposal, gave them my checking account information, and was told by ***** it still had to go to underwriting for the final decision, but he was pretty sure it would go through because otherwise he wouldn't be wasting his time or mine.The following day he requested bank statements. Two days later he said underwriting did not approve it. That same day, Culver Capital Group took $375 out of my checking! I have called and argued with ***** about refunding the loan processing fee that never happened. He refuses to give me my money back. In the small print it says if I cancel the agreement I forfeit the processing fee. But I didn't cancel it -- They did!I have leased vehicles, bought houses, made large purchases that all require a fee to process. But only IF the financing is done!

Desired Settlement: I want my $375 back and I want them to remove myself and my business from their mailing lists.