Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Liberty Capital Group Inc

Phone: (888) 588-4128 Fax: (888) 230-3431 1011 Camino del Rio S #440, San Diego, CA 92108 http://www.libertycapitalgroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers businesses loans.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Liberty Capital Group Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Liberty Capital Group Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Liberty Capital Group Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 03, 2006 Business started: 12/02/2004 in CA Business started locally: 09/01/2005 Business incorporated 07/01/2006 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jules Dalsey, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jules Dalsey, CEO
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

Loans - Small Business Business Services - General Credit Card Processing Service

Industry Tips
Financial Industry Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • 1011 Camino del Rio S #440

    San Diego, CA 92108 (888) 588-4128

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unsolicited telephone calls at all hours, tracking service hangs up to bracket times at home and call pickup patters. False caller id. Pre-qualify service calls number even though we are on the do-not-call list. Caller is deceptive as to what they are calling about and they do not remove you from their list even after demanding that they do not call any more.

Desired Settlement: Do not call *** ********* *** ********* *** ******** ** *** ******** ever, ever again. And stop trying to hook unsuspecting business owners into debts they can't pay under terms they can't meet, with a FICO score of 500 or more. Admit you are a predatory loan company and make restitution to me for my time. At $200 per hour, answering at least 300 hangups in the last two years. That's a averages out to $1000 payable to ***** * ******** Services, ** ********* ****** ******* ** ******

Business Response: We apologize for the inconvenience. We have investigated the source of the phone call by a person named ****. The call appears to have originated from a third-party pre-qualification call center that has been contracted by our company. Since then we have alerted  the call center of the complaint and have requested that you not be contacted in the future. Thank you for helping us identify this matter.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

On the other hand, if this does not resolve, then my demand for further measure will increase.

Regards,

***** ********

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My business received a card with the wrong name, but the correct business. I called the company, they were rude, cussed me, degraded me , and dared me to report them. I want them investigated for potential fraud. If someone other then me got this letter, they could acquire money in my companies name

Desired Settlement: I want the local BBB to investigate, then contact me with your findings.

Business Response:

This was a pure Marketing glitch. No one can ever receive funding without any due diligence. We have not collected money nor requested money from anyone.  

We informed the merchant that this was a glitch but he insisted that it was fraud. He keep calling over and over again and wanted to talk to the manager. He mentioned he was going to call the FBI, AG and other authority such as BBB and I told him we can’t stop him. We informed him to disregard the marketing piece. Merchant admitted this was a solicitation.

 

Card isn’t a credit card but a marketing card. NO one can use a credit card replica without any magnetic strip.

Yes you will probably get more complaints because there was a mixed up in the mail house which is out of our control now that the mailers have been dropped. Just another bitter person.

 

****** ******

Direct: (**** ********

www.libertycapitalgroup.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

****** *******



Business Response:

We never asked for application fees or any advance money upfront. There is no fraud about sending an incorrect innocent marketing solicitation. 
Here is a sample of what potentially a real fraud looks like: h************************************************************

10/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept. 9, 2014 I received a fax from Liberty Capital Group. On the fax was a handwritten note from "*****" stating "As your account manager, I wanted to follow up with you..." This confused me as I had no recollection of an account with this agency. However, I do carry insurance through Liberty Mutual Group so I thought maybe it was a subsidiary. When I called *****'s number, there was a recorded generic message that did not identify the company name or *****'s name. I left a message stating my concerns that this was a erroneous fax. I received a call back from a gentleman. I asked him about my account as I didn't know I had one with his company. He indicated that I don't have an account with them and that the fax was simply a notice they send out randomly to businesses. At that point I told him that I believe the fax was misleading because it referred to my "account manager" and that it was written as a personal note as if I knew her. His vehemently denied that it was a misrepresentation even though he admitted that I have no account with them. I told him that I did not appreciate that the secretary's time and my time were wasted on what looked to be a legitimate issue. We had words as he continued to deny that the fax was a misrepresentation. He began to insult me. The call ended with him telling me that I was the stupidest person he had ever talked to. When I indicated I was going to make a complaint to BBB he became extremely rude. I have retained a copy of the fax as to illustrate the nature of this solicitation.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to change their solicitation procedures so that it is more clear that it is a business offer or advertisement. I would like them to acknowledge that the fax was misleading and to agree to make the change. I want to add that there were no last names provided, either on the fax or on the phone.

Business Response: Well it seems to be a one-sided response. ****** called to ridicule our employees; called our company Fraud & SCAM but she couldn’t come up with a reason as to why. We never asked for any money nor did we request for any personal information from her. Then she continues to insult and belittle our employees by showing her self-importance since she has PHD, Masters and all her accolades and that she is well educated enough to know that when someone has an Account Manager that an account has been established. We informed her that we will remove her from our database and that there is no account established, but she continues to call us names and demanded to speak to a manager. She even went to ask our employees what country they’re from and what accent is that you must be a foreigner. After speaking to a manager she insisted that she would complain to BBB because that’s the most ethical way to do, just like BBB, a Company you can trust! We told her go ahead and here we are! Our rep simply told her "for being educated you sure make some ignorant comments" and then hung up.

4/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received an UNsolicited fax from "*****" at Liberty Capital Group, Inc (No address provided on fax) claiming that he is our "account manager" and wanted to "follow up on our last conversation as account is still active". This is a waste of our fax paper/time as we have NEVER spoken to this spammer (or any business name) about business financing. The fax has the BBB Accredited Business A+ Rating logo on it. The spammer lists a contact phone number of 6***********. It is well known that if you respond to spammers unsolicited faxes that you wind up getting more spam so we are not going to call them or respond directly. BBB should be concerned that this spammer puts the BBB logo on their spam.

Desired Settlement: That BBB care enough to stop spammers from using the BBB logo on their spam faxes.

Business Response: We apologize. We removed the company from our database. No contact will be made anymore. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

I would have also preferred that they resolved to stop spamming fax machines but at least they say they will remove our data. 

Your help in this matter is appreciated.

 

Regards,

***** ******

7/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** of Liberty Capital has repeatedly called my business workplace, leaving messages about loan information that is inappropriate and unsolicited. I have asked repeatedly to be taken off their 'call list' to no avail.In addition, this company sends out letter/solicitations via mail that resemble government documents, in an effort to get the owner to open them. Again, this is inappropriate and gives a bad impression to those who view the letters/mail - gives the appearance that an 'urgent' official document must be opened.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be officially taken off their 'call' list and have this type of conduct rectified.

Business Response:

Hello Ms. *****,


My name is ****** ******, I am the CEO of LCG. With all due respect, I may sound unprofessional here that's because I am responding to an unprofessional complaint. Baseless complaint is one thing but going through BBB?, apparently, you have some ill intent by going through BBB. That's fine, it shows character! But before I answer your complain(s) how is this a 'selling practice' issue??? Second, I will provide you information/evidence that proves my statement about your exaggerated baseless complaint is true. I wish that no one does the same to your business.

 

#1 You stated here: In addition, this company sends out letter/solicitations via mail that resemble government documents, in an effort to get the owner to open them. Again, this is inappropriate and gives a bad impression to those who view the letters/mail - gives the appearance that an 'urgent' official document must be opened.

 

This statement is absolutely FALSE. By the way, I hope you did your homework before you disparage anyone because there are many other Liberty Capitals out there, especially, that you're in PA, where business name with Liberty is very common. Liberty Capital in San Diego never sends out any MAILERS that resembles Gov't documents to trick our clients. SO THIS IS FALSE.

#2 You stated:
Johnny of Liberty Capital has repeatedly called my business workplace, leaving messages about loan information that is inappropriate and unsolicited.

First of all,
have you heard of COLD CALLING? How is calling a business about a business loan inappropriate? Of course it's unsolicited call, It's a cold call? You can't blame us for actually working? Come on, what else are you going to complain about?

You stated that ****** called repeatedly.


On June 24th ****** called once, left a msg and sent an email, which he got from your website:
http://www.**********.com/contact/ which is a normal process for any sales organization.
And, when a One Time occurrence became repeated??? Then, on June 25th you called him back demanded to removed because you weren't interested, which he noted. Then on the very same day you further wasted your time to complaint to BBB. Come on! Are you kidding me? We're glad to remove your information but you still went to BBB?????? We've don't like to waste our time anyway. You will never hear from us again. But please keep in mind that are a lot of imitators with Liberty in their company name, pls make sure to check.

You demanded to rectify something? What would you like rectified? To educate you Ms. ***** there is no OFFICIAL REMOVAL OR DO NOT CALL Registry for businesses. BBB is not one of them, either. Fortunately we're very ethical that we do have our own internal DNC. I will bet you that you will receive many more calls again and again, but not from us. I hope you keep complaining to BBB. I hope you keep wasting your time instead of doing actual business.

Good luck!

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I cannot believe that an owner of a company would act this way and refuse to take responsibility for his employees and actions and business ethic. No, we received multiple calls from your business. Yes, I am aware of cold-calling, however, for your employee to leave messages on a line answered by employees, giving out confidential information and stating that he knows I already have a loan -  is irresponsible. 

I expected more of a response or a simple apology. Instead I received an insulting letter. Nice - real nice. 

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: I am baffled by the grievance that's why.  You have the right to complaint but I was expecting a reasonable complaint. What do you want me to do? I am confused.  You called back to be removed which we did. You could have asked for a manager if you weren't satisfied. We complied to your demand. I understand your complaint if you received more calls after your removal request, but that was the last you heard of us until you went ahead and complaint to BBB, even after we had you company contact removed from our system already. We are sorry that our time is wasted. As I said we won't be making any contact with your company in any way from here on. 


Best wishes, 

7/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have received literally over 100 unsolicited faxes from this company over time. They are a constant source of frustration. Not one of these faxes were agreed to or authorized, there is no prior relationship. The request to halt the sending of faxes went unheeded and I burn with receipt of each freshly sent fax. I am hesitating between filing here and filing at Small Claims Court. It sickens me a bit that this company will be allowed to use a boilerplate response while denying all wrongdoing. I have actual out-of-pocket costs incurred by their actions and they do not care.Knowing this complaint will become legible to others, I'd like to share that the repeated faxed ads for uncollateralized working capital loans and any other financial offerings from this company make it seem they are a company to be avoided. This company clearly doesn't care about me to the point that they'll milk my fax ink cartridges dry. They may similarly not care about you to the point that they might milk you dry. You may be looking for assistance, but this company doesn't seem like the place for you to be getting it.

Desired Settlement: $20.00 reimbursement of costs, and underrepresentation. Or maybe I should go for punitive damages in court.The name, contact information including telephone number, website and email address for the fax blast service this company is using. Immediate cessation of all faxes to me.

Business Response:

Hi Mr. ****,

My name is ****** ******, I am the CEO of Liberty Capital. I do sympathize with your frustration. We do receive these faxes ourselves and most of them hide their company name and true identity. Since it's hard to know who these people are we can't make any formal complaint. I wish there was a way. I can understand your frustration.

Since business information is public we do constantly add leads to our database, we get ours from infousa.com. Other sources we use Manta.com & Dun & Bradstreet. I suggest contacting them to have your company removed from their databases so that your contact information won't be sold to anyone again. They're data aggregators who sell business information to the public.

I know for a fact that your company contact was created onto our CRm on June 10, 2013. ***** sent you a fax on June 14th. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your business. We have removed your information from our database. You will never receive calls, receive faxes nor receive mailers from Liberty Capital again.

I have included sample of faxes we receive ourselves where we don't know who's actually sending it. As you can see most of them hide their name, company info, and most don't have an actually person to talk to. If our intention was the same we would not publish our company, contact info & website onto out fax cover.

Once again, your company information has been removed from our database.

Please don't hesitate to call me directly if you have further concerns. Thanks.

Best wishes,

****** ******

###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.  My comments include:

1) The business sent faxes unilaterally and without prior relationship.  All sent faxes were unsolicited.  No permission was given for the business to send faxes, none of the faxes were desired, and none of the faxes were approved for receipt.  All sent faxes consumed our resources.


2) The Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) and Federal Communications Commission (FCC) rules generally prohibit most unsolicited facsimile (fax) advertisements.  The Junk Fax Prevention Act applies to the faxes that have been sent. 

3) It does not matter to us where the business gets its scavenged fax numbers.  The tremendous number of unsolicited faxes sent were each an explicit action taken by the business, each individual fax a violation.

4) It does not matter to us who within the business set up business-internal information related to faxes being sent to us.  The faxes were sent to us without our permission and without any kind of prior relationship.  If the business wishes to claim it has on its staff a rogue employee, this remains a matter for the business to pursue internally if it so wishes.  If the business wishes to claim that one of its employees telephoned to us, this is insufficient to establish a relationship that allows for the sending of junk faxes.  

5) Penalties are available for collection from the business should this matter go to court, that is, should this matter not be resolved under the auspices of the BBB.  An explicit request for restitution of costs has been made.  This request has been ignored by the business.  As the junk faxes sent by the business were received in the Los Angeles area, jurisdiction is in the Los Angeles area.  If this matter is not resolved through the BBB, the amounts claimed will be limited to be at or under the maximum that can be awarded in small claims court.  There is a small claims court within several blocks of our location but, even with such close proximity, costs will still be incurred for filing and service, costs for which reimbursement will also be sought.

6) The name and full contact information for the service(s) that is/are actually sending the faxes was requested.  Again, it does not matter to us how the business scavenges for fax numbers.  Our concern is with the actual sending of faxes intended for our receipt.  We continue to demand the name(s) and full contact information (telephone number, address, names of individuals, etc.) for the junk faxing service(s) being used by the business so we may pursue throttling of such faxes at the point from where they are generated.  Just as the business has scavenged and aggregated fax number information from other sources, so has the business become the source of fax numbers to junk faxing service(s), exposing us to even more junk faxes.  

7) A "thank you" may be merited to the business for offering to take us off their unsolicited outbound fax list.  However, as yet we have no way to confirm this has been done, and we have no way to confirm this has been done permanently.  A heartfelt "thank you," which has not been earned, would have been freely given for not having put us on your outbound junk fax list from the start.

We are expecting payment of $20.00 and full contact information for the service or services being used by the business for sending these junk faxes.

Regards,

*** **** 

Business Response:

If $20 will make you happy i will be more than happy to mail it out. 

i know you are not trying to extort money but sure is funny you have a random demand. 




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

$20.00 and the names and full contact information for all the fax blast services you used to send faxes to our fax number are what are acceptable.  Not just one; not just the other; but both.

For an explanation of rationale, take a moment to read our prior reply.  As for the dollar amount, we're being kind to you so consider being more humble.  No doubt it is this same brashness that got you into this situation to begin with.  Between the cost of supplies, connectivity, having to process the junk faxes you send, running out of paper as an interference with other business process and what you're putting us through, you should bite your tongue before thinking of expressing disdain at the dollar amount being requested.  You are welcome and encouraged to pay more if you feel a higher amount is a more fair representation of what you owe. 

$20.00 and the names and full contact information for all the fax blast services you used to send faxes to our fax number are what are acceptable.  Not just one.  Not just the other.  Both.

Regards,

*** ****