Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

United Limousine & Charter Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 766-7433 View Additional Phone Numbers 7101 McNeil Ln, Buena Park, CA 90620 http://www.ulclimos.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers stretch limos, party buses, stretched SUV's, and airport transportation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that United Limousine & Charter Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for United Limousine & Charter Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on United Limousine & Charter Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 2013 Business started: 03/09/2004 in CA Business incorporated 03/09/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 20184.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brandon J Jacobian
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brandon J Jacobian
Number of Employees

75

Business Category

Limousine Service

Alternate Business Names
United Limousines & Charters

Additional Locations

  • 1360 S Beach Blvd #B-313

    La Habra, CA 90631

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2202 S Figueroa St #614

    Los Angeles, CA 90007

  • 7101 McNeil Ln

    Buena Park, CA 90620 (562) 947-5758 (714) 209-7722 (888) 806-6643 (888) 766-7433

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter and myself phoned this company on October 11th 2014 to request a party bus that would seat 54 students for Saturday November 8, 2014. They took our order and informed us they would need a $250.00 deposit. We gave them my credit card information and later that evening, on my online banking, the limo company broke up the $250. 00. It was $150 to one limo company and $100 to another limo company. Two weeks after, we received an invoice showing how much we owed and how much has been paid. It showed we only paid $250. We phoned the limo company and they said they only asked for $150. We asked to speak to the president and they gave us the vice president. He said it was the error on my bank institution. I phoned them and the bank said it has to be the limo company because it was taken out exactly at the same time. On the evening of the event, the bus driver was a half an hour late, the bus had only room for 40 kids to sit, and there were no tv's as promised and the radio was staticy. The poles on the bus were broke and a possible danger hazard and the driver cussed out several kids. As they prceeded to the dance, the driver got lost and got them over an hour later. They missed the food and the experience was not one to remember. The party bus cost a total of $1500.00 and the kids paid with their own money. I feel they are owed a portion back or at least a sincere apology. My daughter phoned the company to complain and they laughed at her and told her to have an adult call back. I spent over one hour and a half calling, talking to a ***** and he kept transferring me to a Paul but kept hanging up on me. I informed ***** that I will have to report them to your company since they won't even give me a chance to speak to anyone. We are only asking for the respect and dignity a professional company should show their customers even after the event. Not just before. I would also like to know where the $100 went.

Desired Settlement: As I stated in the above statement, I would like to see the kids get at lease a portion of a refund and a sincere apology. Also, I would like to know where the other $100.00 went and I could show proof with my online banking statment showing a limo company took it out and they were the only limo company we talked to.

Business Response: Hello *******, First, I would like to offer an apology for any inconvenience you have suffered. I've searched our system by First and Last name, phone number and email address, your name doesn't appear in our system as a client. Please provide a client number which can be located on the terms & conditions that were signed by you, then I call begin my review. You can also contact me via email at ****************** or call me at 714-243-7108 ext. ***. I'm always here to assist our clients.

Consumer Response:

Good Morning,
I am writing to inform you that the ULC Limo company phoned and resolved the situation we had with their company and all is good.
I would like to thank you for helping me able to speak with a representative with the company as I tried many times myself.
If there are any other questions or if there is anything I need to do please contact me at *************
 
Thank you again,
 
******* ********

7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 17, 2014 DBHS Prom, Client ****** ******: Driver of United Limousine Charter, Inc.(ULC) brings a male adult friend with her that ruins the evening for the students on the bus. Both were unprofessionally dressed and showed no interest in working that evening. The bus somewhat clean in the interior but dusty and dirty on the exterior. With no evidence, the male friend falsely accuses the students of having drank alcohol and immediately reports this to the school administration at the Prom. The students are humiliated as they are walked single file into a room and given breath tests. All tested zero. An hour of the Prom is missed for these 16 students, a cost of $22.50 each. Upon returning to the bus, the male friend began arguing with my daughter as to how the remaining hour would be spent and slammed the window on her. The client's son offered the driver a $40 tip, upon returning, so as to avoid a confrontation with the adult, male friend of the driver.On 05/21/14, I wrote an email complaint to Mr. **** ****, ULC's Account Executive explaining all that had happened with his driver and male friend, the evening of the Prom. As of today, 06/04/14, I have not received a return email. I called his office and left a message for him to return my call and again no response. Called a second time and was told he was on another call.I would like to know if Mr. **** investigated the matter with the driver and if there has been any action taken against this driver. I would also like restitution for the 16 students who lost one hour of their Prom being humiliated and breath tested, a $22.50 cost each, and the $40 tip the driver was given. There is no restitution being asked for the anguish, fear and humiliation the students experienced on an evening that was supposed to be fun and memorable.

Desired Settlement: $22.50 per 16 students for the hour lost of the 4 hour Prom and the $40 tip wrongly accepted by the driver. A total of $220.

Business Response: This complaint has been handled directly with the customer who booked this reservation with ULC who is **** ****** and ****** ******.  We have agreed that due to the time lost a refund was warranted due to the driver claiming she smelled alcohol on the kids breath.  In addition, the drivers has been terminated and her full tip for this run is being refunded to the customer.  We apologize for this inconvenience.  We had sent an email to the customer on May 23rd regarding this incident in regards to the refund but I guess it was not received on their side. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

     First, the ******s were not your only customer. My daughter and I signed a contract/waiver with your company. There would not have been a booking without all 18 students coming together and requesting your services. I wrote you an email message and called you more than once and you did not have the decency to respond to me. Second, I will reiterate… it was the driver's male friend, not the driver, who told the school security guards he smelled alcohol on the students. And third, it was an hour of the students' Prom Event time that was lost, not the bus ride. I do not know the dollar amount refunded to the ******s and I shouldn't have to ask. A direct call or email message would have provided that information. Customer Service is crucial to the reputation of a company. I am surprised at the service I have received or should I say, lack of.   



Regards,

******** *********

Business Response: Once again, we have settled this complaint with our customer, the ******s.  They are the ones who booked our service and signed our service agreement.  A refund has been authorized for the drivers poor service and any lost time.  Anyone besides them that were allowed to ride in the vehicle had to sign a parental authorization form, which gave them permission to ride in our vehicle booked on behalf of the ******s.  This form went over our strict alcohol and drug policies while in the limo.  We only have one contract on file with the ******s, who are our clients.  We have issued a credit to them already.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

**** ****:

 
Sadly, you do not understand the importance of "Good" customer service. After reading that you had reimbursed the ******'s for the lost time at the Prom and for the tip the driver took, all that was desired was a simple "I am sorry" to me, because I too was your client. I paid $65 into that bus ride for my daughter to have a safe ride to the Prom. The full pleasure of what that night was supposed to be can never be recovered for my daughter. Rest assured that I, as a customer, will NEVER call on ULC Limos for your services. You lost a future client. If you care.
Regards,

******** ********* 

Business Response:

Please note that the desired outcome you asked for was:  "$22.50 per 16 students for the hour lost of the 4 hour Prom and the $40 tip wrongly accepted by the driver. A total of $220." 

Please know that we (ULC) have refunded even more than this already to the customer, Ms. ******.  Please contact Ms. ****** who is the customer who booked limo that day and signed the contract.  A check from ULC was sent directly to her. and was more than even you asked for here in this complaint.  

Business Response:

I would also like restitution for the 16 students who lost one hour of their Prom being humiliated and breath tested, a $22.50 cost each, and the $40 tip the driver was given.


Pursuant to our contract we have with our customer, Ms. ******, we have refunded more than this amount directly to her.  The 16 students who were riding in this bus on behalf of Ms ****** need to talk to Ms ****** since the refund was sent to her directly, including the drivers tip of $40.00.  If this person who was riding in the bus also would like anything else in addition to this refund, please let us know.    Further, our drivers have every right to ask the school to test kids for alcohol if they suspect drinking might be an issue during prom nights.  Thankfully, no alcohol was found on the bus.  This is a standard procedure for school dances where many times students may have brought alcohol in the vehicle. 

 

 

6/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This review is in regards to the reservation made for March 29th. The reservation was made to shuttle myself and fellow basketball fans from Costa Mesa, CA to Anaheim, CA. A total of 20-30 minutes. The reservation was made for 3 PM. The ride showed up at appx 3:10 PM at which time I was required to sign a contract for the ride. All fees were paid up front on my credit card. A couple days later, a $50 showed up on my credit card statement. When I called to find out what the extra fee was for, I was put on hold for 40 min, then repeatedly called back to try and get to the bottom of the issue. The customer service rep, told me it was was "excess cleaning" when I reviewed the contract, the only excess fee was for $300 if a passenger was to throw up. Thankfully that did not happen and the ride was only 20-30 minutes with no food on board, yes a couple bottles were left behind but nothing more than the typical ride and nothing close to "excess". The customer service rep advised me to then take it up with my credit card company which I did, and at this time American Express is investigating. I received a call from the owner stating he would like to settle the issue and split the fee in half. He states his GPS shows we departed at 3:24, 14 minutes after the bus arrived. He states we only are allotted 10 minutes to pack up and go, due to those 4 extra minutes, he states they are entitled to the $50 excess charge. I refused to agree to his settlement and am choosing to let the credit card company settle the issue. Either way, I have no control how long the bus decides to wait to leave, (possibly waiting an extra 4 minutes). The bus was late to begin with. The complex we were picked up from takes a couple minutes to maneuver around. All in all, the issue was handled with no respect, customer service, and was continually trying to add additional charges on top of the price we had originally agreed to. I urge you to take this up with this business as others have similar reviews on yelp.

Desired Settlement: refund the $50 you charged for a bogus "late" fee of 4 MINUTES or if that charge is for "excess" cleaning, you need to better understand your comprehension of "excess" for a self titled "Party Bus & Limo" company.

Business Response: 1. Reservation was scheduled for a 3:00 pm pick-up: Vehicle GPS report shows vehicle arrival time to be 3:00 pm at the designated pick-up location. When there are special instructions for a pick-up, those instructions are given to our office prior to dispatching. There were no special instructions provided by the client to our office, this appeared to be a basic pick-up and drop-off service. 2. Contract signed at pick-up location: The client was provided with the Terms & Conditions when the vehicle arrived, the Terms & Conditions were accepted by the client by signing. 3. $50 charge after a couple of days after the service: The $50 charge was for wait time as indicated on the Terms & Conditions, the charge should be $90 based on the Terms & Conditions not $50. This was explained to the client over the phone when the charge was questioned. The Terms & Conditions state that on pick-up and drop-off service there is a grace period of 10 minutes, after 10 minutes charges begin to accrue based on the size of the vehicle. The vehicle didn’t depart the pick-up location until 3:24 pm (vehicle GPS report), 14 minutes after the grace period not 4 minutes as stated by the client. 4. Customer Service representative requested that it be taken up with the credit card company: This comment is not guidance that would be provided by any of our staff members, it would be a comment suggested by a client after refusing to pay for a service. Our staff members have been questioned, no one recalls any such guidance provided to the client. 5. American Express has refunded the client $50, the client stated this over the phone to one of our staff members. The refund has been confirmed, our records indicate that $50 have been refunded to the client. Although we have the supporting documentation to reverse this action taken by American Express, we decided to allow that refund to remain in place. We only ask that the client search elsewhere for limousine service, we would like to avoid any future disputes as the client is not willing to pay for all services rendered.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

A. The bus did not arrive at 3:00 PM.  The bus arrived after 3PM as the group was waiting outside, the bus was down the street not at the correct address, I request to verify the accuracy of the "GPS" and time. B. The terms and conditions were only provided when the bus arrived not provided prior (i.e. when the reservation) was made to give ample time to review the terms and conditions. C. yes, the refund of $50 was provided from the credit card company after they stated, the limousine company did not provide the necessary information. D. The customer service of the limo company stated they had that documentation and take it up with the credit card company.  E. the customer service of the limo company also stated the $50 fee was for excessive clean up, so stories must have been mixed up. 


Regards,

***** **********

Business Response: Pursuant to the customers request, the $50 "excess cleanup" has been refunded.  We have changed our policy internally for the next time this happens that our drivers must get an "authorized signature from the client" and Photos must be taken as proof the next time customers "trash our vehicles." 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** **********

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service