Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Exit Light Co Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (760) 598-3948 Fax: (760) 598-3941 View Additional Phone Numbers 1497 Poinsettia Ave #154, Vista, CA 92081

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers lighting products, design and installation services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Exit Light Co Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Exit Light Co Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 20, 2001 Business started: 04/01/2000 in CA Business incorporated 08/30/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 792430.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Jeannette Carrico, CEO Mr. Paul Carrico, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jeannette Carrico, CEO
Principal: Mr. Paul Carrico, Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Lighting Equipment - Emergency Signs Lighting Fixtures - Retail Electricians Lighting Consultants

Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1497 Poinsettia Ave #154

    Vista, CA 92081 (619) 521-1275 (760) 510-8283 (760) 598-3948

  • 3525 Del Mar Heights Rd #304

    San Diego, CA 92130


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Dec 2015 seven exit lights were ordered from this company. During the on line ordering process it did not seem that the order was confirmed. Contacted the company they tried to ascertain if the order was in the system. The rep said it was not and he inserted a new order. Subsequently the company shipped two orders and billed me for two orders. Contacted the company right away and they agreed to send return shipping labels for the extras. They did not follow thru. Tried unsuccessfully resolving several more times. In April was told they had no record of us contacting them but would do a one time return with me paying the return shipping and a 25% restocking fee. Contacted **** at ***** bank to see if they could help; they said return the merchandise and then they would. I returned 6 of the lights in early May. On May 18 recontacted ***** who advised me that while the 118 days for disputing charges was past, they would contact the company on my behalf. She got a lady named ******** on the line and we had a 3 way call. ******** was provided with the details, the RMA info and the exact amount I was due. She agreed to refund that and send me a confirmation email at my gmail account after she 'resolved the issues with accounting.' Still had not heard anything as of 6/6/16 so I called back and after some hassle was connected to ********. Reminded her of our call on 5/18 and her commitment to follow up but that I hadn't heard anything or had anything credited to my account. She then apologized that no one had gotten back to me and indicated she would "go see" accounting right now to get this resolved and then call me back to confirm it was done. She then asked for my phone number which I provided. She did not call me back on 6/6 but sent me an email that evening saying she would call me in the morning. As of 6/13 I still had heard nothing. Sent an email to her asking for an update. No response. I just want the credit I feel is due me.

Desired Settlement: I ordered 7 lights, the company sent 14. I returned 6 (kept one as a spare because they only fit 6 in a box and I was trying to help the situation and accommodate the company's error). 7 lights was $366. In addition I had to pay $25.06 in shipping due to their error in entering an extra order. I received a credit on my **** of $199.36. I feel I am due an additional cash credit of $139.41 ((366/7*6)+25.06-199.36). Their representative (******** ******) promised 2 times to credit me the $139.41; once on the phone with ***** bank and once when I called to follow up. They have repeatedly failed to follow upon on commitments including resolving the whole thing in Dec by sending return shipping labels and not calling me when they promised to. My desired outcome is the credit of $139.41 that I am due. I'm frustrated that a company does business this poorly. The easy thing for me to do would be to suck it up and eat the $139.41 but it is now as much about the principle as the money.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

I wanted to advise you that my issue with the Exit Light Company has been resolved.  The company reached out to me right after you forwarded the complaint.  They acted professionally, graciously accepted responsibility for the problem, apologized for having dropped the ball in responding to me earlier, and very generously credited me not only what they owed me but insisted on refunding the entire amount of the order due to their poor performance in responding to the issue earlier.  

As a result I am totally satisfied and no longer require your services in resolving this issue.  Thank you for providing the pathway that seemed to cut through any bureaucracy on their end resulting in both this outcome and a reexamination on their part of how they handle customer complaints.  I am confident the next person will receive a more attentive response should anyone else experience an order issue with them.  

Thank you for your attention in this matter. 


***** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Exit Light Co Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)