Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers environmental testing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Patriot Environmental Laboratory Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Patriot Environmental Laboratory Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 03/02/2000 in CA Business incorporated 03/02/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Dept of Public Health
7575 Metropolitan Dr #104- North District, 7575 Metropolitan Dr #211 - South District, San Diego CA 92108
Phone Number: (800) 824-0613 - north district
Fax Number: (619) 278-3725 - north district
The number is 2540.

Department of Environmental Health
P.O. Box 129261, San Diego CA 92112
Phone Number: 858-505-6700
The number is CAL000372790.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James Thornburgh, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Talia Afoa, Sr. Marketing & Sales Associate
Principal: Mr. James Thornburgh, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Laboratories - Testing

Additional Locations

  • 1041 S Placentia Ave

    Fullerton, CA 92831 (888) 743-0998


    2186 Paragon Dr

    San Jose, CA 95131 (855) 346-8900


    5830-B Hannum Ave

    Culver City, CA 90230 (855) 507-8900

  • 6640 Lusk Blvd #A100

    San Diego, CA 92121 (855) 787-4522


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My English is not very good, so my son is transcribing this. Patriot Labs services were called out by Serve Pro without my authorization. The technician from Patriot Labs then called me over to the water damaged house to sign some forms. The services were not explained to me and the technician told me that forms needed to be signed to continue the work being done to the house. Since he knew that I could not understand the contract and what work it was. The company then charged 635.00$ to check a water damaged house for asbestos and lead, and not mold of course. The invoice from the insurance company also stated that they were payed according to the Summary of Loss. Now they are sending bills to me demanding payment for their service. Profiteering of this nature of ESL citizens is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: Sort it out with the insurance company, or nullify the charges.

Business Response:

This client’s insurance has reached the policy limit and signed a WOA, she’s upset because now she has to pay out of pocket.


She wants to blame it on someone.  There’s nothing that we did wrong here.  She did authorize our work. 

6/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had received a check from my insurance company for $495 for mold testing, however due to this company's refusal to contact me or send a bill, I had no clue where to send said check. When I finally got in contact with this company Deborah the account manager stated they had been asking for payment thru my insurance and I was not entitled to a copy of said bill?? First of all, I am the HOMEOWNER - and despite my asking for a bill was not allowed one until I was finally sent a certified letter with demand for payment. When I contacted them to ask why they couldn't do this prior, they informed me I did not previously have a right to the bill.

Desired Settlement: I feel since significant time has elapsed from time I requested bill, they should be forced to get the check direct from my insurance company. Had they not taken such a hard stance of not contacting me vs my insurance agent - they would've received payment long ago. I have spent countless money shipping them the check via certified mail, only to find the agent cancelled the check due to length it was outstanding due to their incompetence. Their inadequate service and communication has cost me

Business Response: We, Patriot Environmental Laboratory, were called out by Servpro of Laguna
Beach/Dana Point to complete the post mold clearance for Ms. ***** *****'s property on
December 11,2013. We were informed by Ms. *****'s insurance company, American Security
Insurance, that payment was sent directly to her for our services- which is American Security
Insurance policy to send payments directly to their insured. This had been done on
December 24, 2013.

We sent out the invoice as well as a formal letter on February 19, 2014. We explained to
her in detail how to send payment to us as well as informed her that payment had already been
sent to her for our services. The letter also advised Ms. ***** of American Security Insurance
payment policy. In addition we also offered to send her the invoice via email but she claimed she
did not have one. From the initial contact with Ms. *****, she was very vulgar and rude. So at
that point we sent letters/invoices via U.S. mail instead.

She had called our office and had spoken with other employees from our Laboratory
Department, and had used offensive and inappropriate language. On April 1, 2014 we still had
not heard from Ms. ***** regarding the check American Security sent her for our services. At
that point we had called her and left a voice message trying to confirm if she had received our
invoice and when we could expect payment. We had also sent a certified letter to make sure she
did in fact receive the invoice since she claimed she never had one. She had called once again on
April 8, 2014 and stated that she never received payment from her insurance company. We left a
voice message for her adjuster **** *****-***** that day to make sure if the check had not been

On April 14, 2014 we did speak with adjuster Ms. *****-***** and she did confirm that
payment was reissued directly to Ms. *****. The initial check had been cancelled because it was
issued in December 2013. We had received a check from Ms. ***** on April21 , 2014(which
was the one that was issued in December 2013) but at that point the check had been cancelled.
So at this point Ms. ***** has the payment for our services and refuses to send the payment to

We did receive a signed certified letter receipt confirming she did in fact receive our
invoice. Her adjuster- **** *****-***** confirmed that payment was sent to Ms. ***** *****.
As of today we have not received a pe1my from her. We have closed out her invoice without
payment due to her derogatory remarks and continuous use of profane language to our staff.
Please contact our office if you need further information.

Thank you,

******* *******
Accounts Receivable-Insurance Claims

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Patriot Environmental Laboratory Services Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)