BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Jewelry Exchange

Additional Locations

Phone: (714) 542-9000 View Additional Phone Numbers 15732 Tustin Village Way, Tustin, CA 92780 http://www.jewelryexchange.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers jewelry.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jewelry Exchange include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jewelry Exchange
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 10/23/1981 in CA Business started locally: 10/23/1981 Business incorporated: 10/23/1981 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chuck Yeagley
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chuck Yeagley
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Jewelry Buyers

Alternate Business Names
Golden West Diamond Corp GoldenWest Diamond Corp The Jewelry Exchange The Jewelry Factory The Jewelry Source

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1286 Oddstad Dr

    Redwood City, CA 94063

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1301 Broadway

    Burlingame, CA 94010

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15732 Tustin Village Way

    Tustin, CA 92780 (714) 542-9000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    501 E St Charles Rd

    Villa Park, IL 60181

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (201) 302-9349(Phone)
  • (201) 302-9393(Phone)
  • (415) 579-0494(Phone)
  • (415) 579-4700(Phone)
  • (708) 530-9489(Phone)
  • (708) 530-9490(Phone)
  • (714) 542-9200(Phone)
  • (714) 557-4200(Phone)
  • (800) 441-0715(Phone)
  • (888) 539-3574(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Jewelry Exchange is selling industrial grade diamonds.. calling them ungraded diamonds. They are the worse grade diamonds I have ever seen. I wanted a full refund on labor as well as the cost of the earrings and I was denied a refund on the labor cost even though they will be making money off the scrap gold. I would never do business with this business ever again. I spoke to **** the internet manager and his manager *******. Neither wanted to make this right.. I say that's really poor customer service.Thanks so much. ********* *************, Alaska

Desired Settlement: I just want the money for the earrings and the labor cost which is a total of $719.00Thank you so much for all your help.

Business Response: Oct 13th we received a call from Mrs ********* W. stating she was going to send back her earrings for a refund, our internet customer service manager **** explained to the customer that we do not refund labor or shipping but would be glad to refund her for the products purchased. The customer was not stratified with this answer so she asked called back on the 15th and spoke with our processing manager Brendan who also explained out terms and conditions.

On Oct 15th The Jewelry Exchange received a message via Facebook from our customer ********* W.
Message below:

I purchased diamond earrings on Oct. 6, 2014 and not knowing a lot about diamonds I purchased ungraded diamonds... what a mistake. They're industrial grade diamonds. Anything SI12 or SI13 grade are considered industrial grade diamonds. And of course mine were not graded at all so mine were the worse diamonds I have ever seen in my life. The internet manager **** and his supervisor ******* would not refund the labor charges for an upgrade that I approved for 14k screw backs. I was so disappointed with the quality of the diamonds. I would never buy from The Jewelry Exchange ever again. I did file a report with the BBB in California. Happy shopping at the jewelry exchange and beware of UNGRADED diamonds. Please do you homework.. I didn't do enough. ;-( I probably won't get some of my money back. What a shame they have poor customer service employees.


At this point we responded letting Mrs ********* W.  know that we do not sell industrial grade diamonds and the diamond studs she purchased were the best value for what she was spending. We also informed the customer that we have a 15 day return policy but do not refund any labor or shipping charges per our terms and conditions that have to be agreed to prior to making a purchase. 


On 10-16-2014 Mrs. ********* W. was refunded in the amount of $634.00 which was the total of her order minus any labor or shipping charges.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 To whom it may concern;
I did receive partial payment of $634.00 , they have said that they
will not refund the labor cost of $85.00 because I agreed per the
internet that I will not get labor cost because that is their policy.
They refunded per pay pal.
Thanks so much for all your help.  I would really like to get the
labor cost in addition to the cost of the earring cost.  They said I
that when I purchased their product

Regards,

********* ********

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 26, 2013, my bride and I purchased a diamond engagement ring. The ring needed to be sized so we were requested to return the following day to receive our ring. Almost immediately, we noticed the prongs holding the diamond were sharp and catching on clothing. My bride unfortunately was unable to bring it in at that time (because she and I are living in NY), but we did bring it back in for repair on April 22, 2014. It was kept overnight for repairs, so we picked it up on the following day, April 23. Subsequently, we discovered that the diamonds in the channels are loose and we’ve been in constant fear that they may fall off. Last night, after washing her hands in mild soap and water, the entire head and diamond came off! We shipped it back to them, and they returned it repaired but the prongs holding the diamond are not properly adjusted.

Desired Settlement: I just want a quality ring for my bride. I can't trust them to fix it properly so they need to compensate us for getting it properly repaired. They have had it 3 times and have failed 3 times.

Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange takes serious an unhappy customer.  Jewelry Exchange has repaired the ring per customer request and the ring has been shipped back to the customer.

Jewelry Exchange does not do reimbursement for work done from other jewelers.  We have issued a store credit to the customer in the amount of $200.00 to off set the cost of shipping. 

Thank you

*****

Manager

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a damaged item by The Jewlery Exchange Inc. located in Greenwood Village, CO. and I'm not happy with how they are addressing my complaint. I purchased a Bridal Set minus a center stone from The Jewelry Exchange Inc. retail store located at 8000 E. Belleview Ave. Greenwood Village, CO 80111 in May of 20013. At the time I placed a deposit on the Bridal Set of my choice and I was told that upon making the final payment for my fianc�©es Bridal Set that a jeweler would be present to size the Bridal Set for me; there was no jeweler available when the final payment was made and I was not told exactly when he/she would return. Consequently, I was forced to have the center stone of the Bridal Set (the only piece not purchased from the Jewelry Exchange) mounted at another reputable local jeweler, at which time it was observed that one of the stones in the Bridal Set was chipped/broken. I am now up against a deadline that does not afford me the time to wait two weeks or more for my claim of being sold a damaged stone to be addressed and resolved. The Jewelry Exchange has both the qualified personnel and the necessary materials at the original point of sale (8000 E. Belleview Ave. Greenwood Village, CO 80111) to handle the claim in its entirety, yet they insist on forcing me to follow a procedure that not only makes me feel very uncomfortable but could in fact force me to push the date of my wedding back. I am not comfortable in the least with having a Bridal Set worth several thousands of dollars shipped to (Los Angeles, CA. (Tustin, CA) 15732 Tustin Village Way, Tustin, CA 92780), especially since the center stone is both a family heirloom and a very high quality stone that the Jewelry Exchange Inc. has no intimate knowledge of or technical data attesting to the quality of center stone or for that matter the stones that they sold me themselves.

Desired Settlement: I want The Jewlery Exchange Inc. to allow me to make an appointment so that I can have the matter resolved at the intial point of sale while I am present.

Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange takes serious customer service.  Jewelry Exchange will be happy to do whatever we can to make this customer happy.  I researched the customer history and our records  indicate

 

that this customer put on layaway the item on April 17, 2013 and picked up his item on April 19, 2013.  

 

My customer history shows no other information. 

 

Our Denver location was without a jeweler for a short time due to a medical issue.  The location now has a jeweler on site.

 

Our warranty covers workmanship for up to 1 year from date of purchased. ( It is voided it the item has been worked on by another jeweler.)

 

The customer can bring the item into the location and speak to the store manager.

 

Thanks *****

11/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/21/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues