Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Jewelry Exchange

Phone: (714) 542-9000 View Additional Phone Numbers 15732 Tustin Village Way, Tustin, CA 92780 http://www.jewelryexchange.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers jewelry.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jewelry Exchange include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Jewelry Exchange
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 10/23/1981 in CA Business incorporated 10/23/1981 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chuck Yeagley
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chuck Yeagley
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Jewelry Buyers

Alternate Business Names
GoldenWest Diamond Corp The Jewelry Exchange The Jewelry Factory The Jewelry Source

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15732 Tustin Village Way

    Tustin, CA 92780 (714) 542-9000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a ring with the company. I did not like the setting the ring was in sent it back and chose a new setting with the jewelryexchange.com. called 3-4 times to make sure they received the ring as it was 3K and a lot of money for me. did not get a call back. Finally checked with US postal ho verified that the company received it. After several days of no return call I was worried and cancelled the ring. Was told I would pay a couple hundred dollars service fee etc. The refund I was told would be immediate and that I would get a 500 dollar gift card for my deposit as that could not be cash refunded along with a refund of 2625.999 and 141.57. My fiancé and I called the company over 10 times since December 16, 2015 and did not get resolution or the money refunded. We talked to several people and were told only **** (******** I think was the last name) handles refunds. I left several messages and did not get a call back. One rep answering the phone stated "Oh is you Ms. Apperson I heard you were a trouble maker" I was not happy with this because I just wanted my refund. The company advertises "Hassle free returns" This was one of the worst experiences of my life as far as getting a refund or customer service goes. On December 22, 2015 I was old the refund was processed and wait a few days. I called my bank because jewelry exchange said it was on their end that was holding up the refund. On January 2, my fiancé and I were put on hold and talked to 4 people and spent a half hour to be told "call back Monday" On January 4 my fiance was told by **** that the refund has went through. I called my bank, no refund. We spoke with a woman named ****** who also said the refund was processed. On January 5th I called **** again who said the refund will appear any moment on my bank statement and refund o my card. I called the bank again...no refund pending. On Jjan 6 still no refund called the jewelry exchange with my bank on the phone who said there should no

Desired Settlement: Refund ASAP, This is causing me great financial distress and is very frustrating. I'd like them to be more accountable and congruent in what they promise customers as far as refunds. **** was great when I ordered the ring, once I decided to upgrade it all went to pot. lack of return calls. Seems they ask **** to do to much maybe they should hire two people to process refunds if it takes weeks to get which is clearly not "Hassle Free" My son who has cystic fibrosis was in the hospital for part of this time and I surely didn't need this run around or lack of funds during this time

Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange takes serious any customer complaint.  Jewelry Exchange  did issue the customer a refund.  WE do apologize if the refund wasn't issued in the time frame the customer hoped.

Thank you

* *******

8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new wedding set on 12-6-14. It is a "halo" setting with a center stone and 12 smaller diamonds surrounding it. One of the small diamonds fell out and was replaced by the company on 12-29-14. The 1.32 carat center stone fell out and was lost on 3-14-15. After threatening to get a lawyer involved ****** ******* at the corporate office agreed to replace the center stone at no cost to me with a smaller 1.05 stone. He insisted that the work be done at the corporate office so that they could make SURE that the ring was completely intact before returning it back to me. I received the ring back from them on 4-8-15. I glanced down at my ring on 7-27-15 and there is ANOTHER smaller diamond from the "halo" missing. I contacted ****** ******* right away and he told me to take it in to the Redwood City location where it could be inspected and more than likely they would replace the stone. I told him that I was not satisfied with that response because after the year warranty is up, I will have to start paying everytime a stone falls out. I informed him at this point, I wanted a full refund for the ring claiming substandard merchandise. He said he's already gone above and beyond for me by replacing the center stone at no cost and wouldn't do anything else. This ring was a 30th anniversary gift from my husband. I wore my prior ring for 30 years and never had it inspected once. This ring has had 3 diamonds fall out in 7 months. I bought this ring in good faith and I am appalled they won't stand behind their merchandise. Yes, they will replace the missing smaller stone AGAIN but come January, I will be paying $75 everytime another pops out. Aren't companies supposed to stand behind their merchandise? I asked ****** ******* for the name of the head person and he told me that **** *********, who is the CEO is basically an "entity" and didn't deal with customers. Now I know why. Do I have any hope on returning this "lemon" of a ring?

Desired Settlement: I will not be satisfied with any other outcome other than a full refund for this ring.

Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange is very concerned with customer service.  Jewelry Exchange has a one year warranty on workmanship.  We invited this customer to bring her ring in for inspection. Jewelry Exchange has offered to repair or replace

the ring.

Thank you

*****

National Sales Manager

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The ring in question was "inspected" by the corporate office in Tustin, CA in March and I was promised it was in perfect condition.  I am NOT interested in ANOTHER repair.  My complaint is that the ring is defective as far as I am concerned and I am unwilling to have to start paying every time a diamond falls out after the 1 year warranty is up.  The only resolution acceptable to me is a full refund for this ring.
Regards,

******** *****



7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a diamond engagement ring from their website on 3/24/2015. My order included a diamond band and a .50 carat certified diamond. Very Good Symmetry, Sl1 grade and J color. I paid the entire balance on the order. There site stated that normal online orders take 1 to 2 business days to process. After 7 days I reached out to them to see what the delay was on the order. I was contacted by Mr. ***** ***** and told that the diamond listed was a mistake an offered an uncertified diamond in its place. He told me the certification had no bearing on the diamond. This in and of itself is absolutely unfactual as any jeweler will tell you. He then offered me a smaller diamond that was certified with far less in grade color and symmetry. I declined and told him I had found a comparable diamond advertised on his site and would take that as an acceptable replacement. He then informed that I would have to pay an additional $160.00. I told him I would not be paying anything additional as I did not make the mistake and wanted my order filled as promised. Upon checking my order this morning, it has been cancelled and the same diamond that I ordered (" the mistake" ) is back on the site at the same price as what I originally agreed. This company clearly advertises one thing and once secures payment, tries to replace with a lesser product

Desired Settlement: I want the original ring I ordered with the stone I ordered completed and sent to me within a week. This has already cost me a great deal of emotional distress

Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange is very concerned with good customer service.  We do understand that mistakes happen.   Stone shape description online was for a princess cut stone however ,photography image was a round cut. Jewelry Exchange offered to supply a different diamond for the customer.  Our customer was unhappy after discount that it would be a difference of $158.73 out of pocket expense for a new replacement stone and asked for a refund.  The order was voided and no payment was taken.  Should our customer desire the original .50 princess cut is still currently available.

Thank you

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is the clearest example of bait and switch advertising I have ever seen. Specifically since the diamond they claimed was a mistake appeared on their site again the day after the sale was voided.

Regards,

******* *****



4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an engagement ring on January 26th, 2015. The ring was meant to be temporary as we were going to work with Jewelry Exchange to find the exact ring that I wanted. Originally, we wanted to return the ring for a full refund because we weren't happy with the quality or customer service that we received. Unfortunately, they do not offer refunds. We returned that ring for a credit to be used for another ring. I worked with ******, head of the internet department, to help me find what I was looking for. He said that he had found a ring that matched my description of what I was looking for and sent me a picture. It looked great in the picture. We proceeded with that setting. Once I received the ring, I could immediately tell the poor quality, the diamonds looked dead and dull, and the prongs are not securely holding the diamonds into place. The main diamond is cloudy and dull. I wanted a second opinion from a jeweler, so I went to have it appraised by two different places. One jeweler wouldn't even appraise it because he couldn't believe the poor quality. He was very honest in his opinion stating that I should do everything that I can to return the ring and receive a refund. He said that I would only have problems with the diamonds falling out and the prongs snagging on everything. I am very dissatisfied with my purchase and have contacted the company for a full refund. They continually state that they do not offer refunds.

Desired Settlement: I desperately want a full refund of my purchase. I have had only problems with this company since the beginning. Completely unprofessional and very poor quality product. I feel like I was given the run-around and have been cheated into buying something that I cannot accept as a lifelong wedding ring.

Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange tries very hard to provide excellent customer service.  We will be happy to work with this customer within our policies for our on-line customer.  Our customer was very happy with the band and halo just had a concern with the way the diamond was set in the ring.  Jewelry Exchange will be happy to continue to work with the customer to find the perfect diamond. 

Thank you

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have had problems with the company since day 1.  My fiance went into The Jewelry Exchange in Eagan, MN on January 26, 2015 to purchase a ring. He and ****** (the employee) understood that the purchase would be temporary as there was a certain day he wanted to propose and he wanted me to pick out a ring that I liked.  ****** explained that the ring was RETURNABLE and there was no mention of not being able to receive our money back nor was there any mention of a measly 1 year warranty.  It is clear that ****** doesn't understand the difference between RETURN and EXCHANGE.  My fiance was duped into giving the company $4,800 not knowing that he wasn't ever going to see that money again.  I was told by **** in a recent phone call that all of this information is stated on the receipt, so that means you get the true information once you've already given them your money.

We went in to return the ring and were told that we could not get our money back, rather we had to purchase something else with that money.  I did find a setting on their website that I liked.  Because I have such a small finger, I made sure on multiple occasions that the setting that I chose would be able to be ordered in my size.  I was told repeatedly that it could.  Next was finding the diamond to fit into the setting.  I cannot tell you enough about how inexperienced the employees are about diamonds. I did hours upon hours of research online so I was knowledgeable about choosing a diamond.  I told ****** exactly what I was looking for and he continuously presented me with diamonds that were not even close to what I told him.  For example, I stated that I wanted something near colorless and he proceeded to show me diamonds that ranged from yellow to green. Yes, literally green! I drove an hour round trip to the store on 8 separate occasions and was presented with the most awful looking diamonds that were nowhere near what I was looking for.  So far, I had been trying to work with them for well over a month and not even getting close to finding a ring.  After a month, I requested to work with someone different because ****** was incapable of his job.  I began working with ******.  After all of this work, he informed me that the setting could NOT be ordered in my size.  I was furious because ****** lied to us once again.  At this point, I asked for our money back again because I was so frustrated with the lack of knowledge and simply being given the run-around from the employees.  I had already put in a call to ****** at their corporate office stating my disgust with working with the store. He said he would work with me to find the perfect ring and that there is no way to be refunded.
I worked with ****** from this point on and never returned to the store.  I sent ****** pictures of exactly what I was looking for and he thought he found something similar.  He sent me one stock photo of the ring, which looked to be okay, so I proceeded with that setting.  He also said he found a great diamond to put into the setting, of which he sent me a picture.  By this time, it was already April (I'm getting married in June so we are short on time already) so I told him to set it and send it.  I received the ring in the mail and immediately sent him an email stating that I received it.  I said that I was happy with the setting, but the diamond is awful. It is cloudy, dull and doesn't fit into the halo of the ring.  I stated that I was happy because of course it looked decent right out of the case, but after wearing it for a day of two, I immediately began to notice so many things wrong with the quality of the ring.  The diamonds look dull and dead, the prongs are not securely holding the diamonds in place making the ring scratchy and uncomfortable to wear.  The halo is also crooked and indented on one side.
I decided to get opinions from two other locations because I became very skeptical about the quality of the ring that I received.  Both jewelers told me that the ring is very poorly crafted and that I would only have problems with the diamonds falling out in the future and that the edges of the ring should not feel rough and scratchy.  I was told, and it is visibly evident, that the diamonds on the setting are of poor quality, which is why they don't shine and sparkle as they should.  One of the jewelers wouldn't even do an appraisal because he said there is no way that I should keep the ring because of the problems that I will encounter with it.  I compared my ring side by side with others in the jewelry store and IT DID NOT COMPARE. It looks cheap, dull, and poorly made.  Don't even get me started on the atrocious center diamond that has a cloud of inclusions.
I have attached both of my receipts to this email because there is a serious discrepancy in the price we paid versus what we were given in the exchange.  As you can see on the first pink receipt, my fiance paid $4,768.02 total.  On the second yellow receipt, the full amount was not used in the exchange so the total (with tax) was $4,567.34.  I was given a $40 gift card, yet there is $200.68 missing from the original purchase.  I was given no explanation as to why our money is missing.  Another instance of unethical business practice.  I would like an explanation of this.
I cannot begin to express my extreme disappointment in working with this company.  From the beginning, I have felt cheated and received completely unprofessional service.  I witnessed other employees in their store talking badly about me, employees eating potato chips while talking to me, and finishing their cigarette out the front door before coming in and helping me.  It was just disgusting service from the beginning.  They have our money, so what does it mean to them? Absolutely nothing. The Jewelry Exchange can't stand behind the quality of their product (only a 1 year warranty), nor do they care to help you any further once they've received your payment.  What I want to be understood is that I'm looking for a wedding ring, something to last a lifetime.  I'm not here purchasing a gallon of milk! I am so frustrated, fed up, and do NOT want to continue working with the company.  It has been nearly 4 months since we started the horrible journey to find a ring and I simply ask to be refunded so I can find someone of professionalism to find a ring for me before I get married.  I want to stop this nonsense and move on.  I feel completely cheated out of our hard earned money and again ask for a refund because I know it can be done. I think I've stated enough reasons as to why I do NOT want to work with your company any further.

Regards,

****** ******



Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange is willing to do our best to help our customer find a diamond that she will be happy with. 

 It was our understanding 4-6-15 that the halo setting and band she was very happy with, per her email to our internet department.

If our customer is unhappy with both the diamond and setting then within our store policy we will be happy to work with her.

Thank you

***** 

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The jewelry exchange ignored our concerns about the integrity of their sales tactics and did not respond or follow-up as promised. We purchased an engagement ring from the Jewelry exchange. In the store the saleswoman never showed us the diamond she sold to us and it was certainly not the grade it was purported to be. When we picked up the ring we were not only disappointed and felt cheated due to the poor quality of the diamond, the ring itself had a large kink in the metal and the diamond was not set as we requested. We were instructed to call the California office and spoke to a customer service personnel who reassured us he would help to resolve our issues. On the contrary, we have been completely ignored following a number of emails and telephone calls. They clearly do not seem interested in resolving our issues, following through with customer service or taking responsibility for dishonest and scummy sales. I would advise customers go elsewhere if you want satisfaction on any level.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund for the jewelry we purchased that was never shown to us and did not match what we saw and were expecting to receive, both online and in-store.

Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange will be happy to do another exchange for this customer, either in store or online. Jewelry Exchange has a no refund policy in store.  Our online customer has a 15 day refund on first purchase.

We do not give cash refunds on exchanges or any money back on gift cards.  Jewelry Exchange will do our best to help this customer within our policies.

Thanks

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have not heard from anyone despite numerous calls and requests for customer service.  This business needs to have a refund policy as their sales practices are dishonest and misrepresent the products they are selling. They're purchasing policies are unclear and clearly designed to avoid giving refunds for poorly made merchandise.  They have no legitimate guarantee and poor all of their money into advertising at the expense of quality or honest business practices.  

For example "If the main item appraises for less than double the purchase price, the Jewelry Exchange reserves the right, at the option of the Jewelry Exchange, to either issue a full refund for the item (upon return of the undamaged item) and the cost of the appraisal or to issue a store credit for the difference between the purchase price and half of the appraised value."

Regards,

**** ****



1/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WENT AND HAD RING FIXED TWO STONES REPLACED AND TO HAVE THE RING RE ROUNDED TOOK THE RING HOME NOTICED THERE WAS A HUMP ON THE RING TOOK IT BACK TO THE STORE AND GOT A COMPLETE RUN AROUND FOUND THAT THE RING IS ALSO CRACKED AFTER THE RING WAS ROUNDED ASKED TO HAVE IT FIXED AND THE COMPANY TOLD ME THERE WOULD BE A CHARGE. ALSO THE RING WAS NOT CRACKED WHEN I TOOK IT IN TO HAVE THE STONES REPLACED.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) TO HAVE THE RING FIXED AND TO REPAIR WHAT THEY DID WHEN IT WAS RE ROUNDED.AT THERE EXPENSE.

Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange is very concerned with customer service.  *** ******** was given the opportunity to have not only the diamond(s) replaced but also have the shank on the ring repaired.  *** ******** decided not to have the shank

repaired.  *** ******** may bring the ring to the store we will be happy to round out the shank however;  any other work needing to be done would require a new shank at Mr. ******* expense.  We will be happy to work with him as a

repeat customer with whatever discount we could allow.

Thanks

*****

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,
**** * ********



Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange has reviewed the job envelope that the customer signed with work that needed to be done. The original job envelope is noted that the shank was damaged and needed work the item is worn, broken and

diamonds chipped.   Jewelry Exchange offered to replace the shank our customer only wanted to have the diamond(s) replaced and clean polish. Jewelry Exchange will be happy to quote our customer a price to repair the shank on the  ring

at a discounted price as a repeat customer.

Thanks

*****

1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2/25/13 Bought At Jewelry Exchange at **** ** ***** ****** ******** ** **********. My then fiancé and I purchased an 18K white gold wedding ring with 4 rows of princess cut diamonds and large 2.61 carrot diamond on top. Upon inspection after it was presented to me in March, we noticed the main stone was crooked (paid $300 to have mounted). Due to scheduling, location of JE and deaths in family brought ring in in June 2013. JE said it would compromise ring and smaller stones to fix it . End of June, ring dropped 3 feet on rug while I was drying it and one prong holding 2.61 carrot diamond moved way away from stone. This is a huge prong that never should have moved per Jareds, Gordons and local jewelers. Brought to JE. They had inside jeweler bend back. I was concerned re stability of stone. JE assured me stone was secure. Within a month, the entire 2.61 carrot diamond AND prongs fell off ring. There was absolutely no sautering holding the large diamond inside the ring! I took back on 8/9/13. JE manager ***** looked at ring, ADVISED THAT ALL SMALLER STONES WERE OK, and that they would send to corporate in CA to have fixed. JE sent away for 3+ weeks. 8/21/13, after JE sent to CA, I received call from ****** saying that allegedly 4 smaller stones were broken. I was surprised as the Manager had already inspected it prior to being sent to corporate and THERE WERE NO BROKEN STONES. JE fixed, retipped large diamond and replaced smaller stones the allege were broken (even though there were not broken before ring sent from Phoenix. Also had to redip with rodium as yellow gold showing. By March 2014, the large center stone was loose and flopping around in the setting. I had Kay Jewelers look at it, they were astonished that the prongs had been replaced a mere 6 mos earlier and said this was NOT normal. 5/3/14. Took to JE (an hour away), JE said it was normal for large stone to flop around but because I was unhappy, they retipped center stone again in-house in Phx.

Desired Settlement: Replacement with stable ring. JE's work on the ring due to incorrect setting stone compromised ring. Diamonds are the hardest surface on earth. When problems continued every 3 months thru 12/14, took to other jewelers for opinions prior to taking back to JE. Setting totally unstable. Not reliable. Nothing holding smaller diamonds in. One smaller stone fell out again. All other smaller diamonds raised above gold level (no channel). Fall out just by sticking hand in pocket. No broken smaller stones per Jareds and Forever Diamonds. Now JE returned to CA corporate and is claiming there are more smaller broken stones and that I am breaking them. Want to charge me $2200 as out of warranty. AGAIN, NOT BROKEN UNTIL RECEIVED BY corporate office in CA per Jarods and Forever Diamonds. JE is a scam.

Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange takes customer service issues serious.  Jewelry Exchange has contacted this customer and offered to have the vendor redesign the ring per the customer request the vendor does charge to rebuild/ redesign  the ring.  The ring was inspected at the Phoenix location prior to begin sent to our corporate office and notations made of broken stones and center stone loose, the customer would have signed off on the work order before the ring was sent to corporate office. Jewelry Exchange has a I year warranty that covers workmanship not wear and tear.  We have offered to repair the ring by replacing 1 diamond that is missing.  We have left a message for the customer to contact Jewelry Exchange.

Thanks *****     

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Jewelry Exchange is selling industrial grade diamonds.. calling them ungraded diamonds. They are the worse grade diamonds I have ever seen. I wanted a full refund on labor as well as the cost of the earrings and I was denied a refund on the labor cost even though they will be making money off the scrap gold. I would never do business with this business ever again. I spoke to **** the internet manager and his manager *******. Neither wanted to make this right.. I say that's really poor customer service.Thanks so much. ********* *************, Alaska

Desired Settlement: I just want the money for the earrings and the labor cost which is a total of $719.00Thank you so much for all your help.

Business Response: Oct 13th we received a call from Mrs ********* W. stating she was going to send back her earrings for a refund, our internet customer service manager **** explained to the customer that we do not refund labor or shipping but would be glad to refund her for the products purchased. The customer was not stratified with this answer so she asked called back on the 15th and spoke with our processing manager Brendan who also explained out terms and conditions.

On Oct 15th The Jewelry Exchange received a message via Facebook from our customer ********* W.
Message below:

I purchased diamond earrings on Oct. 6, 2014 and not knowing a lot about diamonds I purchased ungraded diamonds... what a mistake. They're industrial grade diamonds. Anything SI12 or SI13 grade are considered industrial grade diamonds. And of course mine were not graded at all so mine were the worse diamonds I have ever seen in my life. The internet manager **** and his supervisor ******* would not refund the labor charges for an upgrade that I approved for 14k screw backs. I was so disappointed with the quality of the diamonds. I would never buy from The Jewelry Exchange ever again. I did file a report with the BBB in California. Happy shopping at the jewelry exchange and beware of UNGRADED diamonds. Please do you homework.. I didn't do enough. ;-( I probably won't get some of my money back. What a shame they have poor customer service employees.


At this point we responded letting Mrs ********* W.  know that we do not sell industrial grade diamonds and the diamond studs she purchased were the best value for what she was spending. We also informed the customer that we have a 15 day return policy but do not refund any labor or shipping charges per our terms and conditions that have to be agreed to prior to making a purchase. 


On 10-16-2014 Mrs. ********* W. was refunded in the amount of $634.00 which was the total of her order minus any labor or shipping charges.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 To whom it may concern;
I did receive partial payment of $634.00 , they have said that they
will not refund the labor cost of $85.00 because I agreed per the
internet that I will not get labor cost because that is their policy.
They refunded per pay pal.
Thanks so much for all your help.  I would really like to get the
labor cost in addition to the cost of the earring cost.  They said I
that when I purchased their product

Regards,

********* ********

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 26, 2013, my bride and I purchased a diamond engagement ring. The ring needed to be sized so we were requested to return the following day to receive our ring. Almost immediately, we noticed the prongs holding the diamond were sharp and catching on clothing. My bride unfortunately was unable to bring it in at that time (because she and I are living in NY), but we did bring it back in for repair on April 22, 2014. It was kept overnight for repairs, so we picked it up on the following day, April 23. Subsequently, we discovered that the diamonds in the channels are loose and we’ve been in constant fear that they may fall off. Last night, after washing her hands in mild soap and water, the entire head and diamond came off! We shipped it back to them, and they returned it repaired but the prongs holding the diamond are not properly adjusted.

Desired Settlement: I just want a quality ring for my bride. I can't trust them to fix it properly so they need to compensate us for getting it properly repaired. They have had it 3 times and have failed 3 times.

Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange takes serious an unhappy customer.  Jewelry Exchange has repaired the ring per customer request and the ring has been shipped back to the customer.

Jewelry Exchange does not do reimbursement for work done from other jewelers.  We have issued a store credit to the customer in the amount of $200.00 to off set the cost of shipping. 

Thank you

*****

Manager

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a damaged item by The Jewlery Exchange Inc. located in Greenwood Village, CO. and I'm not happy with how they are addressing my complaint. I purchased a Bridal Set minus a center stone from The Jewelry Exchange Inc. retail store located at 8000 E. Belleview Ave. Greenwood Village, CO 80111 in May of 20013. At the time I placed a deposit on the Bridal Set of my choice and I was told that upon making the final payment for my fianc�©es Bridal Set that a jeweler would be present to size the Bridal Set for me; there was no jeweler available when the final payment was made and I was not told exactly when he/she would return. Consequently, I was forced to have the center stone of the Bridal Set (the only piece not purchased from the Jewelry Exchange) mounted at another reputable local jeweler, at which time it was observed that one of the stones in the Bridal Set was chipped/broken. I am now up against a deadline that does not afford me the time to wait two weeks or more for my claim of being sold a damaged stone to be addressed and resolved. The Jewelry Exchange has both the qualified personnel and the necessary materials at the original point of sale (8000 E. Belleview Ave. Greenwood Village, CO 80111) to handle the claim in its entirety, yet they insist on forcing me to follow a procedure that not only makes me feel very uncomfortable but could in fact force me to push the date of my wedding back. I am not comfortable in the least with having a Bridal Set worth several thousands of dollars shipped to (Los Angeles, CA. (Tustin, CA) 15732 Tustin Village Way, Tustin, CA 92780), especially since the center stone is both a family heirloom and a very high quality stone that the Jewelry Exchange Inc. has no intimate knowledge of or technical data attesting to the quality of center stone or for that matter the stones that they sold me themselves.

Desired Settlement: I want The Jewlery Exchange Inc. to allow me to make an appointment so that I can have the matter resolved at the intial point of sale while I am present.

Business Response:

Jewelry Exchange takes serious customer service.  Jewelry Exchange will be happy to do whatever we can to make this customer happy.  I researched the customer history and our records  indicate

 

that this customer put on layaway the item on April 17, 2013 and picked up his item on April 19, 2013.  

 

My customer history shows no other information. 

 

Our Denver location was without a jeweler for a short time due to a medical issue.  The location now has a jeweler on site.

 

Our warranty covers workmanship for up to 1 year from date of purchased. ( It is voided it the item has been worked on by another jeweler.)

 

The customer can bring the item into the location and speak to the store manager.

 

Thanks *****

11/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Jewelry Exchange
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart