Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Rick's Rent-A-Boat?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Rick's Rent-A-Boat

Phone: (619) 789-9686   http://www.sandiegocajetskirental.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers jet ski rentals.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rick's Rent-A-Boat include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rick's Rent-A-Boat
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 25, 2012 Business started: 07/31/2010 in CA Business started locally: 07/31/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Rick Basha, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Basha, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Jet Ski/Personal Watercraft Boat - Excursion Tourists Attractions Boat Renting & Leasing Sightseeing Tours

Service Area
Serving San Diego County.
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Living Social coupon for Jet ski-rental for $99. I tried to use the voucher but no one returned my calls or my texts or my emails! I continued to call and text over period of one year. After NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS he finally called me one morning and I finally made a reservation for 4:30 PM on a Sunday afternoon. I told **** that I live in North of Orange County and I have more than two hours drive. And I asked him if he is going to cancel my reservation please let me know as soon as possible. I continued to call him to make sure that he will keep my reservation because I was aware of other customer complains that he does not keep promises. I sent him text several times and he confirmed my reservation twice. On the Sunday morning I called him three times to make sure if everything is okay and he didn't answer my phone. I sent few text and he finally said that my reservation is confirmed. I called him again before leaving Orange County for San Diego at 2 pm on that Sunday. He did not answer my call. So I drove all the way down to San Diego and he called me 10 min before the appointment to say that he has a problem and he is going to be late. So after more than two hours drive, we arrived at the location few minutes early at around 4:25 PM. My girlfriend and I waited over two and half hours for him to show up. I sent him more than 20 text and called him many times. He did not answer his phone or text. His only text was that “I'll call you right back.” And of course he didn't call me back. We waited until around 7 PM. And by then it was very dark so we went back all the way to Orange County. I called and text him the day after but he just ignored all my calls and text. I want an immediate refund because he accepted my reservation and he cancelled it and now I can't get my money back from living social because it's expired now. And he told me that he will except it even after it expires but there is no way that I can use the Jet Ski or trust him again to make another reservation

Desired Settlement: immediate refund

Business Response: My customer has every right to be upset. I felt terrible about this as I did tell him I would honor his voucher even though it expired. I meant what I said but did not anticipate the water pump freezing up on my tow vehicle as I was leaving my storag yard with skis in tow.  I informed customer I should be able to fix and again did not foresee auto part store selling me wrong pump causing a return trip and having to go to another parts store. I feel terrible I e wasnt  able to meet him.  I was unaware customer had been trying to reach us in the past. I will not make excuses but do offer an honest explanation. My sincere apologies to my customer plus one and will happily still honor voucher and  refund face value .


Respectfully
****

11/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased three (3) vouchers from San Diego Dealfind.com. Two (2) $300 Voucher's [#*********/ #*********] for Rick's Rent A Boat - 3 hr. Jet Ski rental for two [paid $99 each] April 2012and One (1) $100 voucher for a 60min. Jet Ski Rental for two [paid $49] May2012.Location: 550 Marina Parkway Chula Vista, CA 91910.I tried to use these vouchers over the summer while my college boys were back in town.No one returned my calls or my emails! I was unable to secure any reservations after NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS. I even drove to the location to see if it existed and heard from a neighboring company about his unfortunate boat fire. However, there were NO signs posted, NO message on his v/m or website explaining why he was unable to return calls or honor vouchers for the summer. However, I thought I would try again while my college boys would be home over Thanksgiving.Now, this week November 6-7, 2012, I have emailed TWICE. And, I am UNABLE to leave a v/m because his v/m is FULL! Is this a valid business? Is he still accepting customers at the Chula Vista Marina location?CAN MY BOYS AND I RENT JeT SKI's over the Thanksgiving weekend? This month?If so, we need to make reservations asap - so we can make weekend plans, please!IF NOT, I would appreciate a refund so I can make arrangements to go Jet Skiing over Thanksgiving at another location and have the money to afford to do so!My credit card was charged and I paid for these services back in April and May2012.Please reply /advise as soon as possible.Thank you very much for your assistance in this matter.Sincerely,**** ************ **

Desired Settlement: An immediate refund - or - a guarantee rental reservation over Thanksgiving weekend Friday or Saturday between 10a - 2pm for two - 3 hour jet ski rentals and one - 1 hour jet ski rental at the Chula Vista Marina location.

Business Response: I have contacted this customer with my apologies and have reserved what was requested.  I have also taken care of voice mail and will continue to stay on top of it so as this never happens again. It is however extremely busy in the summer months and on occasion more difficult to reach us. We do strive however to return all calls and provide all our customers with excellent customer service.   My customers, all my customers are extremely important to me and I want them all to be completely satisfied or more than satisfied.   Thank you

Respectfully,

**** *****
Owner

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.  The owner contacted me last week and was very apologetic for the situation. He was very pleasant to speak with and agreed to the resolution requested. I was very pleased with our conversation! My family and I look forward to renting his jet ski's over Thanksgiving holiday!  

[Thank you BBB for your mediation/assistance.] 

Very respectfully,

** ************ **