BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Dreamhost LLC

417 Associated Rd, Brea, CA 92821 http://www.dreamhost.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers web hosting services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Dreamhost LLC include:

  • 19 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 19 complaints filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dreamhost LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: Business started: 09/22/1997 in CA Business incorporated: 10/03/2013 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Owner/Manager
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    417 Associated Rd

    Brea, CA 92821

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I discontinued web hosting services with DreamHost in Feb 2013. The billed our debit card $119 in Aug 2013. I called and that reversed charges and said our auto payment status would be removed and we would never be billed again. We just received another charge for $119. This is abuse of a charge card and requires us to dedicate time fixing their error. We believe this is a plowed by the company because it undoubtedly collects funds never disputed. The company does not list a telephone number on their site as required by all card processing companies - customers must write an email to customer support. I don't think this is legal.

Desired Settlement: I would like their company referred to authorities for credit card fraud. I would like my $119 refunded.

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dreamhost's policy is to retro-actively charge for a "free" domain registration if a "hosting plan is ended early". If a hosting plan is not ended before the annual term, then another yearly charge is billed (over $110 in my case). However, they do NOT provide a mechanism on their website to end an annual hosting plan at precisely the end of the 12 month term -- that is, there is no way to end a hosting plan in a way that is NOT early. Using their on-line form for ending a hosting plan forces one down the path of "you are ending the plan earlier -- so, you must pay $11.95 for that "free" domain registration." Contacting their support folks using their on-line customer support chat facility to inform them I do not want another years worth of service resulted in Dreamhost cancelling my hosting plan "early" -- and a credit to my account of something like 11 cents -- plus I am now being build $11.95 charge for "hosting plan ended early". With 40,000+ customers, they sure by now understand that there is no mechanism provided to end a hosting plan in a way that is NOT early. I consider this policy of theirs deceptive, and question its legality.

Desired Settlement: First, I would like the charge for the "free" domain registration to be removed. Second, I would like them to add a way to cancel one's hosting plan at the completion of the contracted period, without incurring additional charges.

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Most recently, I had some issues with my Domain with the webhosting company called "*************". Because of the domain issues, the emails do not work, the control panel is not accessible and I cannot make any change or resolve this issue without a technical support from an agent who works for Dreamhost. Shockingly, DreamHost do not have a telephone contact, if you look at their website, there is no contact telephone. It is only available if someone subscribes a particular telephone support service. However, they do not have a contact phone in case of emergency or any urgent support is required, there is no customer service phones, neither there is any online Chat support or Email support. Only way a customer can reach out is a Page called form online, something like a feed back form, my experience about this form is that no body cares to look at what a customer is said and wrote through this form. What kind of a company in America is allowed to do business without a telephone or email or other mode (chat) live support?, why is dream host allowed to do business in the first place with such terrible practice, at the outset, Dreamhost should not have been given license to run a business without a proper customer reach out method in place, these online forms are pretty lame, lousy and useless, but yet I used, after 3-4 days, and after writing several emails, no body responded so far. My emails are not accessible, and I can't access the dreamhost server, with this kind of behavior of dreamhost, my work is crippled and I am not sure how many time sensitive correspondence, bills and other important emails are out there that I missed in the last several days?. I decided to file this complaint with BBB, and other consumer and fed agencies to investigate Dreamhost for failing to support customers, failing to institute even a basic customer support system. I am wondering what kind of business that is allowed to do business here in America, Pathetic Dreamhost

Desired Settlement: Advice and warning to Dreamhost: Contact me immediately, resolve the pending Domain/Icann and registrar issues. Failing which will lead to serious consequences including legal actions, but before that there will be editorials, blogs, reviews and federal investigation complaints will be filed in addition to this very BBB that is going to bring bad name to Dreamhost. Also, institute a live Chat/live Telephone/live email support system within 24-48 hours of this complaint. Respond to my email, call and bring a tech online to resolve my issues with Dreamhost domain/control panel and emails.

8/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dream host has a picture stolen form my web site and put is on a child sex tour site and ***** site. I have called then a dozen times and sent over 50 emails, they do not respond, they have no way to contact them direct. the our hosting sex tourism sites which from my knowledge are illegal. the copyrigh photo was taken with our my permission and the way is is placed makes it look like I am involved in illegal activities and involved in the sex trade.

Desired Settlement: Remove photos ASAP

6/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dreamhost padded an order and charged my account of $108.21 without my knowledge besides a monthly charge on my debit card of $8.95 from failed services from their end. And I wrote them many times to refund the money they charged me and until now they have not done refunding my money.

Desired Settlement: I have not used their account for almost a year now for its very poor performance and its very slow speed. But still they charged my debit card account monthly until I closed the account. To my surprise lately, they charged me of $108.21 without my knowledge. And I believe, it is a padded order from their end. Besides this charge, they also charged my debit card account monthly of $8.95 without any service from them even then my address noelcuta.com 3 months ago was already for sale.

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 23rd, 2014 I was in receipt of a DMCA takedown notice from DreamHost, sent in by *********** ********* of ********************.com. As the content Mr. ********* was claiming to be his was clearly written by me, I filed a Counter Notification, however, made a mistake with said notification. Since then, I have forwarded a CORRECT Counter Notification to "RLP" at DreamHost, and in one of his e-mails he did state that the notification would be "accepted." However, my content has not been restored. I have attached the correct Counter Claim to this e-mail and am demanding that my Counter Notification be accepted and my content be restored immediately.

Desired Settlement: Per my correct Counter Claim sent AGAIN on April 24th, 2014, I am seeking that my content be restored immediately. I am also seeking that the next 5 months of my hosting fees be waived due to the run-around I have received from this company.

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the last 3 months, staff members have experienced receiving an extra-ordinary amount of SPAM. This was reported to Dreamhost on several occasions and there is still no resolution. Prior to this we experienced email outages which greatly affected our business due to Dreamhost indicating they did not have adequate servers to support,but was in the process of purchasing additional servers. Fo the most part this issue has been resolved. The current issue that prompted this complaint is a few of our staff members have been experience a significant delay in accessing or receiving emails. There is an alert message of email can not connect to the server and recently certificate and identity invalid messages. This problem began on Monday, April 21 and still has yet to be addressed or resolved by Dreamhost. I personally have opened 4 support/trouble tickets and have requested to be informed of what the problem and solution is. Dreamhost does not have customer service phone number to reach them directly. The main problem is the lack of customer service and responsiveness they provide. I have asked for the CEO/owner to contact me as well as the billing department and this has yet to happen either. We pay for a service each month that is not being delivered by Dreamhost. I need for our problems to be acknowledged and resolved!

Desired Settlement: Acknowledge and FIX the problems that have been reported immediately!

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have an unauthorized charge on our credit card of $1.21. Even though this is a small amount of money, it is an unauthorized charged. We have never heard of Dream Host. We want the money refunded immediately.

Desired Settlement: Refund of charge put on our card.

3/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Instead of canceling the account Dreamhost is trying to charge for hosting which was signed up for 2 years ago. They make it difficult to close the account unless we make a payment and in the meantime they incur additional charges.Account #: *******

Desired Settlement: They should cancel the account, stop bothering me and not ask for money for a service that they do not provide.

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues