This business is not BBB accredited.

DreamHost

Phone: (714) 706-4182 417 Associated Rd, Brea, CA 92821 http://www.dreamhost.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers web hosting and cloud services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for DreamHost include:

  • Failure to respond to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on DreamHost
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 09/22/1997 in CA Business incorporated 10/03/2013 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Rick Borucki, Director of Online Marketing Mr. Brett Dunst, Vice President, Brand & Community
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Borucki, Director of Online Marketing
Customer Contact: Mr. Brett Dunst, Vice President, Brand & Community
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting

Alternate Business Names
DreamHost LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    417 Associated Rd

    Brea, CA 92821 (714) 706-4182

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dreamhost has long hosted a website for our NGO, ******** ***** ********. A request was sent in 2007 to make me the main contact. When we tried to move the hosting to another place they would not talk to me or return my emails. I had the original contact person send them yet another email asking that I be the contact. They have no phone number where you can talk to anyone, but after two days of turmoil I was able to get through on a live chat. He was directing me how to transfer the site. They claimed we owed them money. I was willing to pay, but accidently paid for something that was not required. The payment was $119.00. I was then asked to cancel the service and select a service that was $17.95. The balance owed to me is $100.45 and I have tried for 2 weeks to get them to refund my money. They are now saying the same as before...they are sending me emails and I don't reply. I have explained I am not getting the emails. As of today I have been told there is nothing else they can do to help me. That was on the live chat, the only way I seem to be able to contact them. All along this service has been terrible. I want to file a complaint and get a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a refund and to file a complaint about their services.

Business Response: The full refund was processed to the user's ****** account today, as requested.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

 

 I did receive the refund. Thank you for your help.

D. *******

 

Regards,

******* *******

8/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i've been a loyal customer for many years. twice in the last month, my hosted email has been completely deleted. at first, i thought it was my own error, but i've since ruled that out. dreamhost's systems have somehow destroyed my important correspondence. this time, i reported the problem promptly, and apparently dreamhost backed up my destroyed inbox two days later, before support attempted to restore the files. dreamhost promises 24 hour support. this action supposedly made it impossible to ever recover the files and messages. support refuses to escalate or examine the problem in detail and determine what has caused this.

Desired Settlement: i want the last three months' important messages and attachments restored. i also want to know precisely what happened, and for the problem to be repaired so it doesn't happen a third time. if Dreamhost refuses, i believe some other restitution is clearly in order, since they advertise unlimited storage and security.

Business Response:

While the loss of data is regrettable, DreamHost does not include or guarantee backups of customer data, and we encourage customers to maintain their own backups.

In this case it appears that our own internal backup service was not properly running on this customer's mail server, and as a result had not backed up all of their mail data.  Without log files to reference, we're unable to pinpoint the exact cause of the original problem.

We were able to recover some - but not all - of this customer's email, and did so when we were alerted to the problem.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

To reiterate: backups were not being done correctly, Dreamhost erased thousands of emails, then destroyed any existing backup AFTER their advertised response time elapsed, and many days before they actually responded. The company has offered no resolution.


Regards,

*. ***** ********



Business Response: We have restored all of the customers data to which we had access in our limited backups, and have provided an explanation of what happened.  We consider the matter closed.

8/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of Dreamhost for 10 years. My service is prepaid two years in advance with a 100% uptime guarantee. On July 21, 2016, Dreamhost began experiencing issues with an email cluster they refer to as homemail-sub5, where my email is hosted. This problem resulted in "Emergency Maintenance" and is publicly documented and not in dispute by Dreamhost. This intermittent outage continued until July 25, when it became a total and complete outage. I was completely unable to send or receive email. On August 1, 2016, Dreamhost stated that the issue had been resolved, twelve days after it began. During the outage, Dreamhost refused to provide any substantial update, only saying that it was working on the issue and asking for "patience." Despite repeated attempts to get an update, I was given only canned responses. I finally had to move all of my services to another provider (at additional cost to myself) so that I could restore service. After closing my account, I asked for a refund, which was refused. I asked additional times, all of which were refused. They are only willing to credit my account which I can only use if I transfer all of my services back to Dreamhost after spending an entire day moving them away during the excessive outage.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund.

Business Response:

During and after the email issue the customer referenced, constant updates were provided at http://www.dreamhoststatus.com/.  Those updates are still visible today.

With respect to account closure, we behaved in a manner consistent with our terms of service.  This user was past their 97 day money-back guarantee period and was ineligible for a refund.  An account credit was offered in the amount of the disputed amount.

5/31/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with this company for a hosting special. I used a different card to purchase additional domains and they kept the card info without my permission. I never authorized them to use this card for a renewal of the hosting plan. Therefore they created overdraft charges with using the wrong card. I called to alert them of this and to tell them I wanted to cancel. They refused to allow me to cancel stating I was two months into a service I didnt authorize them to renew on this particular card. They offered me an additional year of hosting in writing as a courtesy. This was done by *****, a senior manager. He never input the additional year, so they turned off my hosting and now my websites are gone. I am disgusted with the service of this company. Contacted them several times via chat and nobody has taken care of this issue. They keep trying to push me to the original deceitful *****. I warned them I would be filing this complaint and taking them to small claims for my damages.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for my overdraft charges and a return of the unauthorized charge to my account for renewal.

Business Response: It appears the user was granted a free year of service, as was promised by technical support manager ***** as an accomodation for overdraft fees incurred.  In looking at this account, I see that that accomodation was ultimately granted four days ago after the customer expressed interest.

This user signed up for service on 02-14-2014 and was charged a discounted $19.20 as a result of a promotion.  They were again charged $119.40 on 02-21-2015 for an additional year of service when their account came up for renewal.  Per our terms of service, hosting plans at DreamHost automatically renew at the end of their current term.

Additionally, emails are sent to customers as new charges are incurred, so this customer had been notified prior to any credit card charge.  A chronological archive of these emails and all others can be viewed from the user's account control panel: https://panel.dreamhost.com/index.cgi?tree=support.msg&current_step=Index&next_step=History

As of 5-25-2016, this account is still active with a $0 balance - and is considered to be "paid up" through 2017-02-13.  This account is essentially all set to receive three years for the price of two, as promised.

If this user would like to terminate their service at any time they may do so by visiting the "Manage Account" section of their control panel ( https://panel.dreamhost.com/index.cgi?tree=billing.accounts ) and clicking the "Close Account" link.

5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I renewed my security certificate with DreamHost, and this caused an issue with my website where it would no longer load. When I spoke with their support team, they recommended I restore my database. Upon doing so, all of my website was deleted. This included all content, and all records of online transactions. I had my IT contractor try and fix it, and after 2 hours he let me know that the site was gone, and whatever DreamHost had done to it really messed it up. This was all from following their instructions. They now claim that they don't guarantee backups and won't do more than credit me 1 month of hosting. I feel that because I followed their instructions, and it was their mistake(s) that caused my website and all of the content I had put up there for 2 years was deleted, and I've missed opportunities with potential customers for the last week, they should be more willing to make this right.

Desired Settlement: I paid an IT consultant $75/hour to fix the site, and he worked for 2 hours. I feel that they should credit me $150 in hosting for the cost I incurred attempting to fix the mistakes that they made (their security certificate corrupting my databases, their instructions to restore deleting my site, their further interventions on their end further corrupting my databases).

Business Response:

Per our terms of service, customers are encouraged to maintain backups of their own data. We do not guarantee the existence or contents of customer data in the limited backups that we provide, and make this visibly clear:

******************************************************

This customer was credited for a month of service and encouraged to begin creating backups either remotely or with a DreamHost-hosted service like DreamObjects: ******************************************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dreamhost continues to frame this as an issue with me not backing up the site, and is completely ignoring the fact that it was their direct actions (renewing the security certificate which disabled the site, then having me restore the site [and not mentioning the need to perform a backup prior to this] which deleted the site, and then continuing to try and "fix" the databases which made the site irrecoverable) that led to this issue. What is not at issue is whether the site was backed up or not; what is at issue is that their incompetence is was led to the site being down in the first place.

One month's hosting is not only insulting, due to the work I need to put in to rebuilding the site, it's also moot, as I have changed hosting services in the face of Dreamhost's continuing to deny any responsibility in the matter. As such, I am still requesting my original compensation, but in the form of a check mailed to me, as I will not be using Dreamhost's services in the future.


Regards,

***** *******



Business Response: We regret that this customer was unsatisfied with the level of service they received from us, however we have already made accommodations for this customer as explained in our last message and consider the case closed.

12/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service was advertised as unlimited storage, and bandwidth. A snapshot of their website can be found using the way back machine service online. My receipt also shows unlimited service, as does the confirmation on their own cancellation page.I was involuntarily moved to a different service with limited features and storage, far from what we signed up for. I brought it up to their attention in their live chat service (they offer no phone support) When I requested a connection to someone who could help me, I received multiple passive aggressive responses before I was blocked from using their support service. I can provide transcripts of chat sessions, along with screenshots.They were chosen because of their unlimited service claims, and hosting up-time guarantee. We use a third party company who tracks our services up time in real time, it's far from their claimed 99+ percent uptime.Contrary to their claims and inline with many other complaints found online, their control panel is completely un-intuitive and antiquated.Their paid email system has also been riddled with bugs and bounced emails back to our clients.

Desired Settlement: Because we brought this to their attention, we've been blocked from using their only support service. Due to their non existent support, in addition to the fact we feel we are not being provided a substantial amount of services they claimed to provide at sign up. We believe a 40% price reduction of their services is a fair resolution. We would also appreciate chat support services restored.

Business Response: Hello,


I think you have the wrong business. Our business is SkillSuccess.com (an online education business) - we are in no way connected to Dreamhost LLC.

12/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dreamhost states a policy of an account must be delinquent 60 days before it is suspended, however according to their own billing invoices for the account in question the account has in fact only been such for 30 days yet they have suspended it without warning as the period has not expired. Account Number: ******

Desired Settlement: Reinstatement of the affected account is the only option. After 9 years doing business with them it is disgusting that suddenly this would start with them. If they even want to keep my business it starts with immediate reinstatement of the account and an apology.

9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a VPS hosting account which is supposed to be the company's "premium" account for WordPress hosting. This account has unlimited everything. All day long I have been trying to set up this hosting account with the help of customer service through chat. They have been unable to get my account to work. The last guy told me the mysql database was a version from 4.5 years ago. WordPress updates every 120 days, so obviously this is NOT a WordPress hosting account. The first guy I talked to told me I'd be given a full refund. The second guy told me to search Dreamhost's wiki to find out how to do that. He wouldn't even walk me through it he was so rude. I found the article and it says I WON'T be given a full refund. They claim this is premium hosting. It is not. They are using a database system that's antiquated. No one could migrate their site over because the data will not import which is what I found out at 7:20 pm today, after six hours of trying to get it to work.

Desired Settlement: Full refund and cancellation of my account. Dreamhost should be up front about their antiquated system because it won't work with current WordPress websites or databases.

7/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried and tried to cancel this service and as long as they have my credit card number they keep charging it. I can not delete the card on line and no one will contact me about this issue.

Desired Settlement: I want my account to be credited and any balance owed and closed. I want someone from there accounts department to contact me at asap and explain why they have charged me for the last few years.

4/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am trying to transfer my website domain but am unable to. I cannot locate my log in credentials as they require. However, I am unable to discuss in any detail HOW I can prove my identity. I am trying to get another website up and running with another host but DreamHost, LLC will not allow me to move forward. I am held captive to very poor e-mail communication only and cannot make progress. I have another site constructed and ready to launch for my business but cannot start. Why can't someone from DreamHost, LLC help conduct me through the proper steps to resolve this.

Desired Settlement: I simply want to recapture my domain so I can do business with another host.

Consumer Response: Hello. The only address I can find on dreamhost.com is...........***** ** ****** ***** *** **** *** ****** ** *****. This company is nearly impossible to contact. They eventually respond but it takes a while and they wont let you comunicate via telephone. This company is extremely frustrating and is costing me money. I need to transfer my domain and they wont even allow me to prove my identity!

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have several sites hosted with another provider and a handful hosted with Dreamhost. I have had far, far too many issues with servers being down and getting hacked with Dreamhost. (more than 10) In the past 3 years, my sites have not gone more than a month at a time without some sort of outage. I have had 1 instance of my server being hacked with my other provider. That's not including an infected site that I had to transfer from Dreamhost because they refused to repair the damage from their server being hacked. In every instance of attack, Dreamhost has pushed the repairs resulting from the hackings onto me, the customer. They are rude, accusatory, and unprofessional. In my one instance with the same attack (SoakSoak) with the other provider, their response was, "Don't worry, lots of folks are in the same boat. We're already working to resolve it." No fight, no pushback. They took ownership of the issue and had already come up with a plan to resolve it. THAT is customer service. As things stand right now, I'm still getting pushback from Dreamhost to repair the damage done by the SoakSoak attack.

Desired Settlement: Dreamhost should step up and do the proper scanning & repair of their servers just as other providers do. This is their area of expertise. This is what the customer pays for, secure hosting. This is Dreamhost's responsibility. For them to push back on this responsibility on this fact is abominable.

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had problems with my service from the beginning. The hosting service does not work. I have contacted them many times, followed their instructions, and the service continues to not work. They have even moved me to a new server. However, that worked only for a few weeks before it started having problems again. I have optimized my websites per their instructions and have documented messages from them that I have indeed done what was necessary and that the problem is on their end. That is why they moved me to a new hosting server. Now that server does not work and they are telling me that it is on my end again. They are not researching the issue and fixing it on their end. They also refused to honor the money-back guarantee that is listed on their website. This was confirmed several times that they would not honor the guarantee. All of this is documented. They even have it documented in their own contact section (they track and store all communications). Everything is documented. Yet they refuse to fix the service or honor their guarantee.

Desired Settlement: I want the services delivered. I want to receive what I paid for. A credit for the hassle would be nice, but I am not holding my breath (they have demonstrated they don't care about their customers and they have an "F" rating with you). They should also have honored their warranty. These things seem to me to be simple good business, but perhaps expecting a company to deliver on what I pay for it too much to ask these days.

11/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I discontinued web hosting services with DreamHost in Feb 2013. The billed our debit card $119 in Aug 2013. I called and that reversed charges and said our auto payment status would be removed and we would never be billed again. We just received another charge for $119. This is abuse of a charge card and requires us to dedicate time fixing their error. We believe this is a plowed by the company because it undoubtedly collects funds never disputed. The company does not list a telephone number on their site as required by all card processing companies - customers must write an email to customer support. I don't think this is legal.

Desired Settlement: I would like their company referred to authorities for credit card fraud. I would like my $119 refunded.

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dreamhost's policy is to retro-actively charge for a "free" domain registration if a "hosting plan is ended early". If a hosting plan is not ended before the annual term, then another yearly charge is billed (over $110 in my case). However, they do NOT provide a mechanism on their website to end an annual hosting plan at precisely the end of the 12 month term -- that is, there is no way to end a hosting plan in a way that is NOT early. Using their on-line form for ending a hosting plan forces one down the path of "you are ending the plan earlier -- so, you must pay $11.95 for that "free" domain registration." Contacting their support folks using their on-line customer support chat facility to inform them I do not want another years worth of service resulted in Dreamhost cancelling my hosting plan "early" -- and a credit to my account of something like 11 cents -- plus I am now being build $11.95 charge for "hosting plan ended early". With 40,000+ customers, they sure by now understand that there is no mechanism provided to end a hosting plan in a way that is NOT early. I consider this policy of theirs deceptive, and question its legality.

Desired Settlement: First, I would like the charge for the "free" domain registration to be removed. Second, I would like them to add a way to cancel one's hosting plan at the completion of the contracted period, without incurring additional charges.

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Most recently, I had some issues with my Domain with the webhosting company called "*************". Because of the domain issues, the emails do not work, the control panel is not accessible and I cannot make any change or resolve this issue without a technical support from an agent who works for Dreamhost. Shockingly, DreamHost do not have a telephone contact, if you look at their website, there is no contact telephone. It is only available if someone subscribes a particular telephone support service. However, they do not have a contact phone in case of emergency or any urgent support is required, there is no customer service phones, neither there is any online Chat support or Email support. Only way a customer can reach out is a Page called form online, something like a feed back form, my experience about this form is that no body cares to look at what a customer is said and wrote through this form. What kind of a company in America is allowed to do business without a telephone or email or other mode (chat) live support?, why is dream host allowed to do business in the first place with such terrible practice, at the outset, Dreamhost should not have been given license to run a business without a proper customer reach out method in place, these online forms are pretty lame, lousy and useless, but yet I used, after 3-4 days, and after writing several emails, no body responded so far. My emails are not accessible, and I can't access the dreamhost server, with this kind of behavior of dreamhost, my work is crippled and I am not sure how many time sensitive correspondence, bills and other important emails are out there that I missed in the last several days?. I decided to file this complaint with BBB, and other consumer and fed agencies to investigate Dreamhost for failing to support customers, failing to institute even a basic customer support system. I am wondering what kind of business that is allowed to do business here in America, Pathetic Dreamhost

Desired Settlement: Advice and warning to Dreamhost: Contact me immediately, resolve the pending Domain/Icann and registrar issues. Failing which will lead to serious consequences including legal actions, but before that there will be editorials, blogs, reviews and federal investigation complaints will be filed in addition to this very BBB that is going to bring bad name to Dreamhost. Also, institute a live Chat/live Telephone/live email support system within 24-48 hours of this complaint. Respond to my email, call and bring a tech online to resolve my issues with Dreamhost domain/control panel and emails.

8/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dream host has a picture stolen form my web site and put is on a child sex tour site and ***** site. I have called then a dozen times and sent over 50 emails, they do not respond, they have no way to contact them direct. the our hosting sex tourism sites which from my knowledge are illegal. the copyrigh photo was taken with our my permission and the way is is placed makes it look like I am involved in illegal activities and involved in the sex trade.

Desired Settlement: Remove photos ASAP

6/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dreamhost padded an order and charged my account of $108.21 without my knowledge besides a monthly charge on my debit card of $8.95 from failed services from their end. And I wrote them many times to refund the money they charged me and until now they have not done refunding my money.

Desired Settlement: I have not used their account for almost a year now for its very poor performance and its very slow speed. But still they charged my debit card account monthly until I closed the account. To my surprise lately, they charged me of $108.21 without my knowledge. And I believe, it is a padded order from their end. Besides this charge, they also charged my debit card account monthly of $8.95 without any service from them even then my address noelcuta.com 3 months ago was already for sale.

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 23rd, 2014 I was in receipt of a DMCA takedown notice from DreamHost, sent in by *********** ********* of ********************.com. As the content Mr. ********* was claiming to be his was clearly written by me, I filed a Counter Notification, however, made a mistake with said notification. Since then, I have forwarded a CORRECT Counter Notification to "RLP" at DreamHost, and in one of his e-mails he did state that the notification would be "accepted." However, my content has not been restored. I have attached the correct Counter Claim to this e-mail and am demanding that my Counter Notification be accepted and my content be restored immediately.

Desired Settlement: Per my correct Counter Claim sent AGAIN on April 24th, 2014, I am seeking that my content be restored immediately. I am also seeking that the next 5 months of my hosting fees be waived due to the run-around I have received from this company.

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the last 3 months, staff members have experienced receiving an extra-ordinary amount of SPAM. This was reported to Dreamhost on several occasions and there is still no resolution. Prior to this we experienced email outages which greatly affected our business due to Dreamhost indicating they did not have adequate servers to support,but was in the process of purchasing additional servers. Fo the most part this issue has been resolved. The current issue that prompted this complaint is a few of our staff members have been experience a significant delay in accessing or receiving emails. There is an alert message of email can not connect to the server and recently certificate and identity invalid messages. This problem began on Monday, April 21 and still has yet to be addressed or resolved by Dreamhost. I personally have opened 4 support/trouble tickets and have requested to be informed of what the problem and solution is. Dreamhost does not have customer service phone number to reach them directly. The main problem is the lack of customer service and responsiveness they provide. I have asked for the CEO/owner to contact me as well as the billing department and this has yet to happen either. We pay for a service each month that is not being delivered by Dreamhost. I need for our problems to be acknowledged and resolved!

Desired Settlement: Acknowledge and FIX the problems that have been reported immediately!

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have an unauthorized charge on our credit card of $1.21. Even though this is a small amount of money, it is an unauthorized charged. We have never heard of Dream Host. We want the money refunded immediately.

Desired Settlement: Refund of charge put on our card.

3/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Instead of canceling the account Dreamhost is trying to charge for hosting which was signed up for 2 years ago. They make it difficult to close the account unless we make a payment and in the meantime they incur additional charges.Account #: *******

Desired Settlement: They should cancel the account, stop bothering me and not ask for money for a service that they do not provide.

12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on DreamHost
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart