Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers consumer product lines. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MerchSource LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MerchSource LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on MerchSource LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 04/23/2007 in CA Business incorporated 10/27/2011 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Carrie Blodgett, Customer Service Manager Mr. Mike Roberts, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carrie Blodgett, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Mike Roberts, Partner
Number of Employees

48

Business Category

Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Blue Hat Toy Company MP3 Customer Care
Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • 15 Cushing

    Irvine, CA 92618 (949) 900-0900 (949) 900-0905 (949) 916-5698 (800) 374-2744

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a portable entertainment projector from Kohl's. I didn't I tried to use it right away but when I tried it there was no image only sound. I followed the directions inside the box marked from the Black Series it states not to return to the store. I have been calling the company now for months with no one answering the calls even during the time frame indicated on the message. I called Kohl's and they are unable to assist me. I would like to be refunded for the defective merchandise and I won't ever buy any additional items from this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the full amount of $108.40 for the defective item.

Business Response:

I have called and emailed customer and have had no response.  Need information to be able to assist the customer.  She is way past warranty time but we will refund once customer contacts us during business hours.   Not sure what phone number she has called but she has never called our system.  

Thank You

****** *******

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  I have called the number listed on their website and it just rings out. I got a message from ****** today and I phoned back.

I was told to ship the item back with a copy of the receipt, said product, and a receipt for standard ground shipping and tracking which I can do as early as tomorrow HOWEVER I was told there was no guarantee that this would be refunded and conditional upon corporate approval. I don't want to be in a position where I end up with nothing. I also see that others have had to work very hard to ensure that they receive their shipping once their complaint was accepted so please keep this open.


Regards,

****** ****** *****



Business Response:

This customer has been offered the resolution to send in product and we will refund or exchange for different products since we no longer distribute the product she has.  She is also way past warranty period but we are willing to exchange or refund.    

 

Thank You

****** *******

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I have communicated with ****** ******* and already mailed the product back to them. I will select three items from their email and wait for them as well as a check for the shipping and handling charges on sending the item back.

Regards,

****** ****** *****

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a gift that was defective. I called the 800 customer service number and was told they would not replace the defective item. I then wrote a letter to the BBB. Later that day I received an email from the Customer Service Department of the MerchSource company asking me to call them. I did and the lady said they would replace the part and it should arrive in a couple of weeks. It has been about 5 weeks and I have not received anything from them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the defective part replaced.

Business Response:

The replacement key finder was requested and he was told 4-6 weeks   He should receive in the next week or so    It has been requested for our shipping dept to send out

 

 

Thank You

****** *******

Customer Service Manager

5/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son received an Emerson Hungry Bear Target Shooting Game for Christmas. It didn't work well, but he kept trying to get the foam ball gun to work. After a couple weeks, the gun fell apart. Due to unfortunate circumstances, I was not able to call about the product until today. I ask for the gun to be replaced, and I was told that they do not do that and I would have to buy another one at the store or on eBay. I told them that I didn't want to buy another one, I wanted the one I bought to work. I was transferred to another person, who told me that they do not offer warranties on their toys. I explained that the paper I was holding told me to call them if I have a problem, but she repeated her no warranty policy. I told her this wasn't listed anywhere in the paper and she said that was on purpose. She then told me that they did sometime offer replacements as a curtesy and then asked me if I bought it or if it was a gift. I explained that it was a gift, and she told me that if the did have a warranty it would only cover the personwhen purchased it. Then she went on to say that if they did have a warranty that it would be 90 days and I have passed that by a week. I continued to ask the to replace the gun, and she told me that they did sometmes make exceptions past the 90 days, but then continued to give me the run around. I told her that if she wasn't going to replace the gun then I would file a complaint. She then got very mad and said fine, now I am not going to help you. I am very upset that they are selling defective products with no warranties or language to that effect on their paperwork. I feel lied to and cheated by this company, and I think other should also know that they are not a reputable company.

Desired Settlement: This product is listed as selling for $20 - $25 in the stores. They can refund my son's money at this point so that he can buy a better toy.

Business Response:

Tried to contact customer to send out new product and she did not answer or have voicemail.  Will request a new product to be sent out or refund for MSRP without a receipt once we contact customer

 

Thank You

****** *******

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am home almost all the time, but I don't recall a time that I did not answer.  I do not have voice mail, unfortunately.  I am happy to give them my cell phone number to reach me.  It is *************
If they would just send us a new gun, I would greatly appreciate it.  That was all I was asking for when I originally called.
Thank you so my for helping me to resolve this problem!
**** ***************




Business Response:

we are contacting customer and having a new toy gun sent to her even though she is past the warranty time.     

 

Thank You

****** *******

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have received a positive response from the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and this resolution is more than satisfactory to me.  I have received a replacement game instead of just one piece that was broken, and I found their response was very swift from the last response that I gave you.  I am more than satisfied, and my son loves the game now that it actually works.  I would like to thank the business very much for helping me make my son happy!  I do consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *******

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a waterfall device that was defective on purchase. We returned it to the company with the return shipping invoice and the company agreed to replace the product and refund the return shipping. We have receved the replacement but never the return shipping that was promised. I have contacted the company's customer service at least four times regarding this refund and each time they say they will take care of it, but still have not.

Desired Settlement: Refund my $7.55 return shipping as promised. In addition, given the amount of effort I've had to extend to get the company to pay this refund, an additional company gift certificate for $25 or more would be appropriate.

Business Response:

The refund was requested last week and take approximately 2 weeks to receive.  Customer should receive the refund one day this week.

 

Thank You

****** *******

Customer Service Manager

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a desktop fan manufactured by The Black series which is owned by MerchSource LLC. The fan did not work, so I called them and Shawn told me if I shipped the fan to **** ******* ************ ** ***** they would send a replacement. When I received the replacement this one still isnt working, so I called again requesting a Refund of shipping fees and purchase price and Shawn told me they cant give refunds. I requested to speak with someone who can provide refunds and he told me someone would call within 24-48 hours. ****** called me and told me that if I had my receipts and amounts I paid she could issue a refund. Unfortunately I was unable to answer the phone at the time. So I called her back three times explain I have my receipts and amounts and still has not called back as to what to do. Product_Or_Service: The Black Series Rotating Desktop Fan

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want to return this product and I want them to refund my purchase price, my original shipping fees to ship the original defective product to them, and my shipping fees to ship this defective product to them. All in all I expect this to cost me about $40.73. My purchase was $17.12, I shipped to them originally for $11.61, and I expect this second set of shipping fees to cost me about $12.00.

Business Response: refund was sent on 4/18/14

Thanks,
*****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.  They have done this, I received a check for the amount requested as well as a Pre-Paid FedEx Label with which to ship the product back.  Thank You BBB for your help in this matter.

Regards,

*** ****** ******

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sons received a RC car called a "tumbler" for Christmas from their Grandma. One red, one blue. They were broken when we pulled them out of the box. We tried to return them to the kiosk in the mall but it was gone after Christmas. So I contacted the manufacturer. I was told to ship them back and then within two weeks I would receive a replacement and a reimbursement for my shipping cost. I sent them back. I got a confirmation from the USPS. From the date they received them I waited 2 weeks. Nothing. I called back and was told that because of Christmas it was going to take 6 to 8 weeks. I called again on the 19th of March because I still had not received anything. I was told the 8 weeks wasn't up until the 22nd and I should have them by then but they didn't have a tracking number or any other information to give me. The 22nd came and went with nothing. I called on the 25th of March and was told it was escalated and I should have my check for shipping within 2 to 3 more weeks and then they don't know when the cars are coming. I told them that was unacceptable and told them they needed to find out. The manager said she would call me back within 24 hours. I still haven't heard from her. I called back today and they said they have no idea when the replacement cars are coming and I should get reimbursed for my shipping within the next 6 to 12 weeks. They have stolen my sons' Christmas presents, they have continually lied to me, not followed through with reimbursement, they have not provided a quality product, they have not followed through with the service that was promised and paid for because they have not returned the items promised and reimbursed me. I've had to spend hours on the phone with them and I am getting no where. Product_Or_Service: Thunder Tumbler (2 of them)

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

Business Response: sent replacement  4/10/13

Thanks,
*****

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thunder Tumbler did not work. Was given information on exchange process. Was told that the complany does not give refunds for defective product. I called the customer service. Spoke with agent *********, on January 13, 2014. I told her of the situation that I purchased the Thunder Tumbler as a present. The item was defective. She gave me the procedures of exchanging the item and told me that it would take 6 -10 weeks before I received an new toy. I asked her about a refund. She told me that I would have to take it back to the store to receive a refund. I told her that I no longer had the receipt and was not interested in a store credit. I then asked her about their refund policy. I was told that the company does not give refunds only exchanges. I can only get a refund from the store that I purchased the item from. I purchased the item over 30 days ago, as a birthday present for my Godson. His birthday is in January, not 6 -10 weeks from today.

Desired Settlement: Since Blue Hat Toy Company has their name on the box of the toy, they should be held responsible defects, exchanges, and refunds. If an exchange policy does not fit the need of the consumer, then a refund should be given by the company...not the store that product was purchased from. I would like to receive my $13.78 (12.99 + 6% tax) back for this DEFECTIVE toy. I would be happy to return the DEFECTIVE toy to them at their expense.

Business Response:  refund was sent on 4/18/14

Thanks,
*****

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service