5/19/2016 Customer service handled my request quiet professionally but I would not recommend the service, what I found after 4 searches of individuals I I know intimately including myself was misinformation.. with the most egregious being the failure to disclose a serious criminal charge that is public info along with stating that an individual I know to have an extensive criminal record had none. at this point I could not count on the site to provide me with the service it promised. some people may use it for dates or check out babysitters which is why I felt compelled to write a review even after a pleasant experience with customer service.
This customer had a NEUTRAL experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by E. W. on 5/19/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Hi ****, Thank you for reaching out. We’re sorry to hear that you were unable to obtain criminal records on certain people. Instant Checkmate.com compiles reports from millions of public records including information provided by state and local governments. All of the information contained in our reports is part of what is referred to as the "public record." We strive to provide our members with extensive public record information in our standard reports (including names, aliases, phone numbers, location history, possible related persons, arrest records, sex offenders, licenses, social media accounts, and horoscopes). However, some jurisdictions do not release certain records to the public, so we are unable to provide records for people living in certain areas. We do apologize for any confusion you may have experienced regarding our services. Some customers are under the impression that when you purchase a membership with our company you are paying for records; unfortunately, this is not the case. The service that is provided is actually the compiling of all the public records data and the sorting of the data into an easy to read format. When a customer pays for a public records search, we do guarantee that we will search every database available to us, however, we cannot guarantee which records will or will not show up in the final report since we are not in control of the records themselves. We simply display records as they are provided to us. In addition, premium databases are also more expensive for us to access, so in an effort to keep our monthly membership costs down, we must charge a small, one-time access fee to compile premium reports for our customers. We get our information from local county courthouses and census bureaus. This information is then uploaded to the database that we pull from. There is a possibility that some information may not show on a given individual because some state and local laws restrict us from accessing certain records which may not be considered “public” in that jurisdiction. There also exists the possibility of false positives, and more than one individual with the same name and basic information may match up with many other records. For these reasons, the following disclaimer is also posted on every page of our website: DISCLAIMER: It is PROHIBITED by law to use our service or the information it provides to make decisions about consumer credit, employment, insurance, tenant screening, or for any other purpose subject to the Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15 USC 1681 et seq. Instant Checkmate does not provide consumer reports and is not a consumer reporting agency. The information available on our website may not be 100% accurate, complete, or up to date, so do not use this information as a substitute for your own due diligence, especially if you have concerns about a person’s criminal history. Instant Checkmate does not make any representation or warranty about the accuracy of the information available through our website or about the character or integrity of the person about whom you inquire. For more information, please review Instant Checkmate Terms of Use. We’re happy to hear our customer support team was able to help you out when you called. Please don’t hesitate to contact us again if you have any additional questions or concerns in the future. Our customer support representatives can be reached directly at 1-800-222-8985. Sincerely, Customer Support Instant Checkmate by on 5/20/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1/5/2016 TERRIBLE BUSINESS PRACTICES!! After a month of successfully collecting data I chose to extend my membership on line approx one week before expiration. I repeatedly received and error message indicating I should "try again later", so after several attempts I called Customer Care. I was told by **** in Customer Care that he needed to submit a "help ticket" to the IT department and I was given a "help ticket confirmation number. I was told I would be able to access my account within 24 hours. Still locked out, I called back two days later and spoke with ***** in Customer Care and she had no idea what a help ticket meant and told me that they could not extend my membership because it had expired. In addition, I would have to open a new account with a new email address and I would loose all of the work I had done thus far (I only have one email address). All this before she (accidentally?) disconnected the call. Being tenacious, I called back and was told that everything was fine on their end and it must be my bank blocking the payment to extend the account. After calling my bank to verify that they had NOT declined payment, I called Instant Checkmate back for the 4th time :( After being on the phone with Alexandra for over 30 minutes she confirmed that they could not extend my membership (what business does that?) and I would, in fact, have to start all of my research from scratch with a new email address. WHAT KIND OF BUSINESS WILL NOT EXTEND THEIR SERVICES TO A PAYING CUSTOMER? RIDICULOUS!! To add insult to injury, they submitted a charge for $22.80 to my bank card the same day that I was told they could not give me access to my account...FRAUD!!
This customer had a NEUTRAL experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by L. N. on 1/5/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful .
10/7/2015 I was not happy with Instant Checkmate I thought I was only going to be charged $1.00 I was charged additional $19.99
This customer had a NEUTRAL experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Sharon F. on 10/7/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Hi Sharon, Thank you for reaching out. We appreciate your feedback, and we apologize for any confusion you encountered regarding our membership plans and/or billing policies. In order to complete the enrollment process, each user is required to check a box to agree to Instant Checkmate’s Terms and Conditions. Instant Checkmate’s Terms of Use, like the Billing Details and Frequently Asked Questions also prominently displayed on the website, fully and conspicuously explain Instant Checkmate’s billing terms. Specifically, the Terms of Use describe: The use of this website is subject to the following terms of use: 1) Billing and Services a) Standard Membership Plans Instant Checkmate offers three standard Membership Plans. All Membership Plans are billed up front for the entire term selected. Standard Membership Plan with a 6-Month Term: For a standard 6-month Membership Plan, the debit or credit card or other payment account you provide will be billed $59.16 immediately upon purchase and $59.16 every 6 months thereafter, unless and until you cancel. Standard Membership Plan with a 3-Month Term: For a standard 3-month Membership Plan, the debit or credit card or other payment account you provide will be billed $44.58 immediately upon purchase and $44.58 every 3 months thereafter, unless and until you cancel. Standard Membership Plan with a 1-Month Term: For a standard 1-month Membership Plan, the debit or credit card or other payment account you provide will be billed $22.86 immediately upon purchase and $22.86 every month thereafter, unless and until you cancel. If your payment for a full term is declined due to insufficient funds, Instant Checkmate reserves the right to bill in monthly installments based on the monthly rates associated with the Membership Plan you selected. b) $1.00 Trial Membership If you select a trial Membership Plan (“Trial Membership Plan”), you will be able to try a Membership Plan and its accompanying services for five (5) days from the date of purchase for only $1.00. If you select a Trial Membership Plan, the debit or credit card or other payment account you provide will be billed $1.00 immediately upon enrollment, and you will have five (5) days from the time of enrollment to try out Instant Checkmate’s Services under the Membership Plan. If you do not cancel your Trial Membership Plan before the expiration of the 5-day trial period, on the 6th day after you enroll, you will automatically be enrolled in a monthly Membership Plan and the card you provided at the time of enrollment in the Trial Membership Plan will be charged $29.63 immediately and $29.63 approximately every thirty (30) days thereafter, unless and until you cancel. c) Nonstandard Membership Plans Instant Checkmate sometimes offers promotional membership offers or the opportunity to purchase a single report or several reports for an identified price with no further obligation. If you enroll in a nonstandard Membership Plan, Instant Checkmate expressly reserves the right to bill you at the identified price and based on the terms disclosed at the time of you enroll. d) Negative Option BY SIGNING UP FOR A MEMBERSHIP PLAN, YOU AUTHORIZE INSTANT CHECKMATE (AND ITS PARTNERS, AFFILIATES AND/OR AGENTS) TO CHARGE YOUR DEBIT OR CREDIT CARD OR OTHER PAYMENT ACCOUNT THE FEES ASSOCIATED WITH THE MEMBERSHIP PLAN’S TERM, AND YOU ACKNOWLEDGE AND AGREE THAT INSTANT CHECKMATE WILL NOT OBTAIN ADDITIONAL AUTHORIZATION FROM YOU FOR EACH RECURRING FEE CHARGED TO YOUR DEBIT OR CREDIT CARD OR OTHER PAYMENT ACCOUNT. IN ADDITION, YOU AGREE THAT INSTANT CHECKMATE SHALL NOT BE RESPONSIBLE OR LIABLE FOR ANY OVERDRAFT CHARGES OR FEES WHICH YOU MIGHT INCUR AS A RESULT OF YOUR MEMBERSHIP PLAN. YOU UNDERSTAND AND AGREE THAT IF YOU PURCHASE A MEMBERSHIP PLAN, THIS CONSUMER TRANSACTION INVOLVES A NEGATIVE OPTION, AND YOU MAY BE LIABLE FOR PAYMENT OF FUTURE GOODS AND SERVICES UNDER THESE TERMS IF YOU FAIL TO NOTIFY INSTANT CHECKMATE NOT TO SUPPLY THE GOODS OR SERVICES DESCRIBED e) Current Pricing and Price Modification For the most up-to-date pricing and Membership Plan descriptions, please go to http://www.instantcheckmate.com. We reserve the right to modify the prices charged for the Membership Plans, or to add or remove any Membership Plans, from the Site at any time without prior notice to you. Price quotes provided to you prior to any price modification shall be honored. f) Cancellation Policy You may cancel any Membership Plan at any time by going to http://www.instantcheckmate.com/cancel or by calling our customer support line at 1-800-222-8985 to speak with one of our Customer Service Representatives. We're open 24/7 (Holiday hours may vary). Any cancellation request will ensure you are not billed further. g) Refund Policy Our number one goal at Instant Checkmate is customer satisfaction. If you are ever not satisfied with our Membership Plan and/or Services, feel free to call one of our customer support staff at 1-800-222-8985, and we will work to resolve your issue. We're open 24 hours a day, seven days a week (Holiday hours may vary). Refunds are handled on a case-by-case basis with the ultimate goal of complete customer satisfaction. h) Taxes All orders are subject to applicable taxes in the states where the member resides. i) Discounts and Promotions Any applicable discounts or promotional prices will be noted at the time of purchase on the checkout page for your order. j) Billing Errors If you believe that you have been erroneously billed, please notify our Customer Service Department toll-free at 1-800-222-8985 immediately to notify us of such error. k) Reversals and Chargebacks Instant Checkmate considers charge backs and reversals as potential cases of fraudulent use of our Membership Plans and/or theft of Membership Plans and will be treated as such. Instant Checkmate reserves the right of filing a complaint with the appropriate local and federal authorities to investigate. Be advised that all activity and IP address information is being monitored and that this information may be used in a civil and/or criminal case(s) against a customer if there is fraudulent use and or theft of Membership Plans. Again, we sincerely apologize that you were not satisfied with our services. As a gesture of goodwill, we have issued you a full refund. This refund will be credited back to the card that was used to enroll in our services. Please allow 3 to 5 business days for the refund to reflect on the account. If you have any questions regarding the foregoing, please do not hesitate to contact Customer Support at 1-800-222-8985. Sincerely, Customer Support Instant Checkmate by on 10/12/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful and 1 person did not find this review helpful.