This business is not BBB accredited.

Orange County SEO

Phone: (949) 494-0007 View Additional Phone Numbers 16400 Pacific Coast Hwy #218, Huntington Beach, CA 92649 http://www.orange-county-seo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers search engine optimization services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Orange County SEO include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Orange County SEO
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 2013 Business started: 10/03/2012 in CA Business incorporated 07/09/2013 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tyler Collins, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tyler Collins, President
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Internet Marketing Services

Alternate Business Names
Swell Marketing LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16400 Pacific Coast Hwy #218

    Huntington Beach, CA 92649 (866) 592-5115 (949) 494-0007

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have researched and spoken with many different SEO companies in order to help me launch my business and after careful consideration I decided to hire OCSEO not only because they spoke in a language that was understandable, they also had a six (6) month guarantee; in bold writing it states: We are a performance driven company that delivers guaranteed results, or we refund your money. We want to earn your business, and have a long term relationship. We know this won’t happen if we don’t deliver something amazing. 100% Money Back Guarantee, if contract expectations are not met. Unfortunately, I did not check with the BBB prior to hiring them. As you are aware, there are multiple complaints with this company for exactly what I’m about to delineate. After research and analysis by OCSEO, I was told what key words would work best for my brand and was told that I need to add 4 pages of written content to the site. I hired OCSEO to write that content and add the content to my site. After month 4 I noticed that I was still not ranking any better than day one, now with month 6 approaching, still no change in the rankings, I decided to use their 6 month guarantee. Before my month 6 charge, I emailed the account manager and said that after they charge my credit card again, please go ahead and cancel my account and refund my money. I was told that my account did not comply with their guarantee because, as he writes…..”This account doesn’t qualify for the guarantee due to the interactions between you and my team. You did not take our best practice recommendations for creating new content per the account reps instructions or offer to hire us to do it. This action or lack thereof on your part hindered our ability to get your results on schedule” Which I did and made all changes suggested My response to his email was as follows in the attached document.

Desired Settlement: Refund of 5 months payment for none performance of guarantee results as their refund policy states

8/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Orange County SEO has not improved my Google rankings as promised when signing up for their services. My website was already ranked on page 1 of Bing when I signed up, and that is still the only one ranked even though they said they would focus on Google. They also have not updated any of my website content, which they said they would do over 60 days ago, even though I have contacted them several times. They were supposed to update 2 pages with new content and images to improve Google rankings. Every time I email or speak with someone on the phone, they say they'll "look into it" on why it hasn't been done, but they are still charging me every month even though they are are not rending any services or completing the work they said they would do.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for payments made Feb-June.

8/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: According to their website, 100% money back guarantee when customer not satisfied. So I called. They are the internet marketing company who help to put website to Google search engine. There were two websites that they were working on. www.plussizehouse.com (silver package, around $500/month) and www.wholesalefashionstream.com (platinum packages, around $1300/month). They guarantee me that I will see the result in two or three month. Now its six month, nothing happened. Every month, they send me the monthly report however, was for other companies. I called them and complained several times regarding this matter. And they kept saying person who sent the report made a mistake. And this happened twice more. Look like, they don't even know who we were. On mid June I called them to stop everything they do because I don't see any results. I ask for the money back for last 5 month. And started to ignore me. And now, they charged unauthorized amount to my credit card again. so I contacted them via email. And no replies over 2 weeks. So finally I called bank to charge back. So finally they contact me today with this "You are a crook in my" They should not run their business. And their is a guy name Tom. He is saying that we are dishonest because we charge back on them after all the efforts and work done for the website. BUT where is the work? I never paid them for the work they do. I pay them for the result!. If it was just the work, I will never pay them.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. It was guaranteed in their website.

Business Response: Again these statements are false.  We performed all work purchased and the results are actually good on the site that could be good.  plussizehouse.com  /  the second site wholesalefashionstream.com apparently the client had hosted on the same server but did not disclose these facts to us. This prevents the success of site two until the site is moved to a different server,  which we recommended to the client to allow us to do.  At that time the client accused us of not performing and requested all of his money back for services already rendered.  The client does not qualify for any refund as clearly stated here on our website - please read our refund policy. http://www.ocseo.com/guaranteed-seo-services-refund-policy  We did offer to repair his problem and continue services for no additional cost for a limited period yet he refused.

 
Thank you 

7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a 6 month Platinum Plan contract with OCSEO (a division of ***** ********* - check out this company on the BBB website) in August 2013. Their platinum plan is advertised on their website as a comprehensive SEO package that is guaranteed to drive traffic to your website. They also boast a money back guarantee if your not satisfied after 6 months. They did literally nothing for my website. They performed minimal on-site seo. My site has so many errors on it. Errors include wrong header and meta tags, header and meta tags that are way to long, over 25 W3C errors and many other p***lems. In fact I suspect there my may have been some black-hat seo performed on my site. They were given access from the beginning to the dashboard of my website. They were also suppose provide backlinks. The list of services that they were to perform is long and comprehensive. They just took my money and let the website sit and stagnate. Every month I would receive a seo report. After about the third month I started to suspect that they were a bogus outfit. Then in November I received my seo report, as usual, via email. A few minutes later I mistakenly received a second seo report. It had a cover sheet for another business but the report inside was IDENTICAL to mine! I emailed them with a complaint and received an almost immediate return email, which was very unusual as they never responded to my emails. In the return email they came up with some lame excuse about how Google changed their parameters. I tried calling several times after and only got the message machine. They never returned my calls. Prior to signing on with OCSEO I did an average of 8-14 orders per month. After 6 months of service I was down to two orders per month. My 6 months ended January 31, 2014. At the end of the 6 months I complained to them via email and requested my money back. That's when they finally called me. They set-up a meeting with me at their office and they said they wanted a chance to prove they could do the job. They had a new plan for my account. I am now down to 0 orders per month. After 4 more months I once again requested my money back. They sent me an email that said the boss man wanted to talk to me to try and resolve this issue. The boss man sent me an email with a scheduled date and time for the call. Ha! Like I was ever going to receive that phone call. Of course it never materialized and now I sit with ZERO business. This company should be investigated by the consumers affairs bureau.

Desired Settlement: I would like OCSEO to refund my Platinum Plan purchase. Plain and Simple!

Business Response: *** ***** from *** **** *** came to us and asked us to provide search engine optimization for his e-commerce website ******************  - He was placed on our platinum level of service which is normally priced at $1295.00 per month.  We extended a discount to Mr. ***** of approx. 60% - although we did NOT consider the discount while performing services, in other words, we provided full level platinum seo services along with writing, press release authorship and publication and many many other services to attempt to help Mr. ***** with his online business.  We have literally hundreds of clients and the same practices and services have and continue to worked very well.  Unfortunately Mr.***** is trying to compete with with some very large names in the business he is in. (selling big and tall clothing for men) We begin seeing that it was going to take much more than the usual standard protocols if his online business would ever be successful.  At each point in the relationship, whenever we would reach out to Mr. ***** and offer a rational approach and attempt to talk to him about what we wanted to do for him at no additional charge simply because we truly and honestly wanted him to succeed, we would have to endure verbal abuse and false accusations about our company and our companies intentions.  At one point Mr. ***** accepted our invitation to come in for a group meeting with a few of our technicians.  Mr. ***** would repeatedly apologize for the irrational accusations, claiming that he had been over medicated for a medical condition and simply wasn't in his right mind.

Bot*** line.  We worked very hard for Mr. *****.  We provided many additional services at no additional charge.  We have all of this documented and we keep very thorough records from a project management perspective that will prove we went above and beyond for him regardless of his attitude. I will make all of this available to the BBB upon request. I will include all of the project data along with the publications in addition to all email correspondence from Mr. *****.   His claims are false.  To say that we took his money and sat on our buts... wow. As far as the on-page errors, we are only in  position to help Mr. ***** with those probems when we have full access to his cms.  Unfortunately Mr. ***** would change his passwords so often that this became a real issue.  However in Mr. ***** defense, he would grant us access again and again upon request.  This being said we can not continuously repair the same problems over and over again.  We would ask that nobody else go in to the site and make changes as we can only stand behind OUR work and not 3rd parties. On multiple occasions we would consult with some of our industries top experts to formulate strategies.  Unfortunately the prognosis for his particular business is very poor.  That doesn't mean that we didn't try very hard.

Please let me know exactly what documentation the BBB would like to have access to so that we may resolve this this matter.  We are also looking into a defamation of character suit against Mr. ***** and it is likely that we will have to pursue this due to that fact that he is  basically calling our company a fraud.  Orange County SEO serves hundreds of clients, and helps many businesses in the community.  We have learned the hard way that there will always be a very small percentage of people who will either out of anger or ignorance file complaints and make false accusations.  We are fortunate that although this does happen, it is rare.  But we are willing to provide the required information and proof of work in this particular case due to the fact that Mr. ***** is simply lying.  We can not guarantee that every business will succeed, however we will always do everything within our control to give them their best chance.  We have done this in the case of ******************
 
Thank you
 
Orange County SEO Operations

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Based on the complaints of many other businesses with regards to OCSEO services it's plain to see what their intentions are.  I have a record of all correspondence, or should I say lack there of on their part, that I have had with this company.  I will make my phone records available so it can be seen how many times I called OCSEO and so all can see how many times they called me. (ask them to produce their phone records)  I can produce all emails to and from the company. (trust me, it won't take long to read the emails from OCSEO)  The only person that I had any level of correspondence with is ******** who is their PR writer. (She is an independent contractor and does not work directly for them.)  We corresponded regarding various pr themes.  (In fact, in a couple of my emails to her I complain about the lack of response from OCSEO.)  You will also see in my emails to OCSEO that there was no level of abuse, except maybe some sarcasm, in two emails, that were written in response to their lack of work on my companies behalf.  One of these two emails was sent after the initial 6 months was up and the second was sent after another 4 months went by.

I can also provide the BBB access to my website so you can see that OCSEO was given access on two separate occasions.  The first time was at the start of their initial "campaign" in August of 2013 and it lasted for the entire 6 month term.  The second time I set them up for access was after we had the initial meeting at their office on 2/6/2014 at 2pm regarding their failure to produce any results during the first 6 months.  The second access period was for the next 4 months.  The site was never accessed once during that 4 month period.  At the meeting they said they had an idea for a blogspot that would work to produce the results I wanted.  They said they wanted additional time to "show me what they could do".  You will also be able see that during the entire time period that OCSEO was my "SEO" company  nobody else had access to the site.  The records are clear.  They are available.

By the way, no where in their website material does it say that they may not be able to produce results based on what your product or service is.  There is no disclaimer.  Just read their "About Us" and their "Why Us" pages.  They make it clear that their methods work.....for any business!

Also, at both of the meeting's that were held at their office only *** G. and *** Y. were there.  At the first meeting in February I was told that *** Y. was new.  They said that there was a problem with their initial SEO manager, *****, and he had to be let go, so *** was just getting up to speed on all the accounts.  They said that from the time that ***** was let go and until the time that they hired *** there was a couple month lag time.  There were no additional technicians present in our meeting room.  There was no verbal abuse and the medical condition that I had is called Trigeminal Neuralgia.  I have since underwent gamma-ray surgery to relieve the condition.  I can't believe that they would use a extremely serious, debilitating condition like Trigeminal Neuralgia in a attempt to bolster their side.  It is a very painful facial condition that I had to use very strong anti-convulsant medicine to counter.  The medication in no way changed my personality or the way I related to people.  The medication was used only during an "episode" and the only side effect that I had while taking the medicine was drowsiness.  The only reason I made them aware of my condition was to let them know why it was so important to get my site on track.  In my main job I have to sell and be in peoples homes.  It was becoming a scary ordeal when an "episode" would come on during a sales job.  Look up Trigeminal Neuralgia and see what a serious condition this is.  This is a ridiculous claim and it's awful that they would try to use something like this in their retort. 

I never asked them to refund to me any more that I initially paid.  I was offered a discounted rate per their "Friends and Family Plan".  I didn't ask for it, it was offered to me.  $3,000.00 was my payment to them and it was paid in full.  (In fact I have *** G's email to me stating that he was working on getting me a refund.)

I will allow the BBB full access to all my site records so you can see what really transpired.  But all you have to do to really see what this company is about is to check into their owners other businesses and the BBB files on those businesses.  The records are clear and, by the way, bring on the defamation suit.  It looks to me like there are a lot of people who will be able to back up my story with their own version of this.


Regards,

*** *****



 

6/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I started with this company they did say they could get my 10 keywords to page one of google or my money back. That was my only goal. They did not accomplish this after 6 months and I contacted them for my money back. They did not give me my money back and said they needed more time and that they maybe could do it with more time. I did want my money back but did agree to give them more time, because they were not being cooperative to give my money back then. I do want my money back and they are saying they are not going to give it back. They did not accomplish my goal and I am not satisfied. I want a refund. They are not going to honor their money back guarantee.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund. They do have a money back guarantee if not satisfied and I am not satisified. They did not do what was said they would do, get my 10 keywords of my choice to page 1 of Google.

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid up front $4000 to have a website built back in August 2013 and was told by ****** that the website would take one month to make when I met up with him to hand him a check that was cashed by them in the mount of $4000.00. So after ***** ******* assuring me that I would have a great website he then put me in the hands of *** ******* who pretty much gave me the run around for the feat of the time promising me twice that the website would be ready within weeks end. Almost three and a half months later and no website and no communication from them and their website orangecountyseo.com no longer works. I have been ripped off and would appreciate a refund. ***** ******* is the one who assured me I would have a wonderful website but no.ORANGE COUNTY SEO TYLER COLLINS RIP OFF SCAM SWELL MARKETING HUNTINGTON BEACH TOM GAITHER ROSCOE BRISTER III

Desired Settlement: $4000.00 Plus lost revenue from not having promised website.

2/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Orange County SEO is the company that I chose to market my website starting back in May of 2013. I was promised many things with this company including a 100% money back guarantee, which they display on their website. I have had so many problems with this company. In fact, I have never been lied to so much from a company than this one. After 3 months of doing business with this company, I couldn't help but to notice that things were not going the way they were supposed to be going, and all the promises I was told wasn't being fulfilled, so I called the company and spoke with the Vice President, ****** *******, and he assured me that the problem would be solved and that I would soon be getting overwhelmed with 30 plus calls a month. Well, 6 months later, I found out that was far from true! I may have gotten 3-4 calls in the whole 6 moths period. I decided to call ******- the Vice President of the company to let him know how dissastified I was, so he told me to hang in there and things will get better rather quickley. Again, he was being dishonest. I told him to discontinue my service and give me a full refund back, and he said couldn't, but rather would push harder to get the job done right, so I decided to continue on and give this company a chance. Several weeks after this, I noticed that I still wasn't getting calls and my rankings were not good online. I decided to give ****** another call to let him know how I felt about the poor performance. He then told me that they removed me off the campaign, meaning that they were no longer doing the SEO for my website. I asked him, why not? And his response was, that I wanted them to discontinue their service which was a lie, and I have the email to prove just that. I originally gave this company $1,700 upfront for 6 months of service, and I feel like I've been robbed! I spoke with him today about my current rankings online which is even worse than the rankings several months ago, and he replied bitterly, "I am very busy today and can't talk right now.

Desired Settlement: I would like the full refund back of $1,700 for this company not fulfilling their promises.

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 2nd, 2013, our company contracted and paid Orange County SEO to develop and market (via SEO) a background check website for us. The fee for developing and completing the website was $5900, with 50% due up front with final payment due when website was live and completed and APPROVED by us. We also paid $5970 up front for 6 months of SEO Platinum services with Chris Forester as our "SEO expert". We were promised a whole team on our project with guaranteed completion in 45 days. The project was a website where customers could get their driving records online, it included a frontend and a backend administration, and the team also agreed to create a Spanish language version of the website.We provided a very specific project requirements package which they agreed provided all details necessary to build the website. We signed a contract which specifically provided a 100% satisfaction guarantee. We paid a total of $10,395 to OCSEO. Work was suppose to be completed by 5/17/2013.Delays started almost immediately. We did not receive basic wire frames for the website until about 3 weeks in. We were passed around to 4 different project managers during this project. The logo design itself took over 2 weeks.We held numerous conference calls with OCSEO over a 7 month period. They missed numerous conference calls, multiple deadlines, and in late September provided us with a website they said was finished but was entirely unacceptable. The coding is broken, and the website just does not work. In late September CEO ***** ******* reached out to us via e-mail offering to make any final changes we asked for, we sent them an e-mail documenting changes we needed, emailed and called multiple times but they have not responded to any of our inquiries.We want them to live by their 100% satisfaction guarantee and refund our money.We will provide ANY documentation needed to back up our claims.

Desired Settlement: This project took 4 TIMES as long as was promised, and the Spanish version of the website was not delivered. The contract has been breached, we are nowhere near 100% satisfied as per the contract, and we want our money back. In return, the company will keep our coding and we will start with another developer from scratch. We have no more use for OCSEO and the product they delivered to us does not meet what the contract entailed. We have no use for their 6 months of marketing services.

8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service