This business is not BBB accredited.

Orange County SEO

Phone: (949) 494-0007 View Additional Phone Numbers 16400 Pacific Coast Hwy #218, Huntington Beach, CA 92649 http://ocseo.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers search engine optimization services. 


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Orange County SEO include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

11 Customer Reviews on Orange County SEO
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 11

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 2013 Business started: 08/03/2007 in CA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Tyler Collins, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tyler Collins, President
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Internet Marketing Services

Alternate Business Names
Swell Marketing LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16400 Pacific Coast Hwy #218

    Huntington Beach, CA 92649 (866) 592-5115 (949) 494-0007

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From the start we explained we were updating our website and looking to them as the “experts”. We provided access to our Google Analytics and was assigned a SEO Manager on 1/12/16. We contacted Sales to schedule a Boarding Call, which was not complete until 1/27. We explained our company and our website would be live 2/15. ***** advised when all reports would be received. On 2/17 ***** acknowledged our site and our SEO Manager had been replaced by 2 new Managers. 2/25 and we had a call with ***** and was told would receive an On Page Report by 3/9 which would provide us page by page recommendations to help improve our sites user experience and search engine compliance, to result in improved search engine visibility. The report, basic and generic, arrived 3/11 after several inquiries. 3/23 we inquired when we will receive our March SEO Campaign and requested a call with ***** to explain the report and how they are assisting us. The conversations with ***** made no sense and even they could not explain what they had been doing for us. Based on *****’s suggested we overhauled our website in April by adding photos, employee bios and user friendly layouts. By the end of May, we were fed up with the lack of communication, poor reports, and requested a full refund. ***** called to review our account and issues with their customer service and we asked why they were posting links to bogus websites–it all seemed like a scam. We advised WE would create ALL content and rename all photos on our site After sending another email, we were told we have another SEO Manager, set up a conference call with her, but she failed to call us. Later that day we receive several pages of content, asked to review and let her know where to post on our site. We responded asking why we received the write up, our site had content. We did everything ***** asked, but they responded stating we did not agree to the content changes which would affect their proper execution of the campaign.

Desired Settlement: We have been back and forth with ***** for the past few weeks/months and either they ignore us or say they are waiting for management. Although their emails and website state, “All of our SEO Packages come with a Guarantee of Top Search Engine Rankings & Increased Website Traffic, or You Get 100% of your Investment Back” they find excuses as to why they cannot refund our investment. To date, it has been eight months and we have wasted our money because there has been no increase in our website rankings. The entire process and their employees are a total scam. Although they say they work with many large companies, anyone can add a logo to their website because there is no way a companies like *********, R**** *********, or **** would work with a company like *****. We would like a full refund of $4,158.00 immediately.

9/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Here is the last email I sent to them explaingin why I would not be willing to pay anymore money to them to move forward with their services, and no-one bother to call or email back to solve the issue. They just ignored the problem: OCSEO has not deliver what they guarantee. Instead of a full refund I opted out for your option to "stop billing immediately as per your written guarantee and to continue the search engine optimization work, until guaranteed results are achieved as well as a provide an additional 3 (three) months of guaranteed SEO services even after the guaranteed results are achieved.” guarantee found on this page http://www.orange-county-seo.com/guaranteed-seo-services-refund-policy/ You team has been excellent doing the talk but have failed tremendously about delivering results. Even after you stop billing me when I opted out for you to apply your guarantee the difference from three months of your work have not been noticeable nor have results been delivered. I am very disappointed with your company. I can not believe Mr. Tyler Collins has the nerves to go public on YouTube selling his E-commerce SEO services with this video https://******************** which is the one video that made me believe in your company and encourage me to spend money on you guys with your platinum package. I feel exactly like OCSEO says it on your we page, http://www.orange-county-seo.com/guaranteed-seo-services-refund-policy/ "Think about it, would you hire us today without feeling secure about what we will be delivering to you? If you would, you might as well go place $3,000 on the roulette table at some casino. You want to hire a trustworthy company that offers affordable seo services and guarantees your placement results with a “100% satisfaction or your Money Back” policy." I placed $10,000 on the roulette table at OCSEO.com Casino believing your were true e-commerce experts an lost my bet. I can not continue wagering with your company

Desired Settlement: Full Refund of the moneys paid to them

9/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After they failed to abide by the contract regarding their performance, they refused to honor their refund or guarantee of services within the 6 month period. It took over a month to speak to someone and then they rapidly created some "report" to try to show that they met their goals when my account manager specifically said that they had not met their goals and would submit the request for a refund. They also continued to bill the account despite being told to cease all work. I did not rank high on google and actually lost ranking on google. Despite their promises of work, they did very little and had no grounds to deny the requested refund.

Desired Settlement: Honor the refund policy and refund the monies as stated by their guarantee. in the amount of $2,065. This includes 7 payments of $295 which one was an over billing.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

This is very simple with regards to Swell Marketing producing great results and achieving many position increases for many of the Keywords which is what the client hired our firm to do. We actually achieved better results than what we would normally expect to see from the Basic Package for a period of seven months. We do not fabricate results, we pull data directly from a sanitized browser using real time search metrics. Our publicly posted refund policy is here:   The client does not qualify for a refund.

Sincerely,

Swell Marketing, Inc. (See below)

Current Rankings vs. Baseline

 

Search Term

Search Engine

Rank

Last Rank

divorce attorney orange county

bing

3

n/a

orange county divorce attorney

bing

4

n/a

orange county divorce attorney

bing-local

4

n/a

irvine divorce attorney

bing

5

n/a

irvine divorce attorney

bing-local

5

18

orange county divorce lawyer

bing-local

6

13

irvine divorce lawyer

bing-local

8

14

irvine divorce attorney

google-places

9

8

irvine divorce lawyer

google-places

11

9

irvine divorce lawyer

yahoo-local

15

n/a

divorce lawyers orange county

bing-local

19

33

family attorney orange county

bing

25

n/a

family attorney orange county

bing-local

25

37

family law attorney orange county ca

bing-local

28

43

family law attorney orange county

bing

35

n/a

oc divorce attorney

yahoo

38

40

irvine divorce attorney

bing

39

n/a

oc divorce attorney

bing

43

n/a

oc divorce attorney

bing

44

n/a

irvine divorce attorney

yahoo

44

n/a

family law attorney orange county ca

bing

45

n/a

family attorney orange county

bing

46

n/a

family law attorney orange county

bing

48

n/a


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. The information provided  by the business is falsified as actual searches do not exhibit the results claimed by the business. If anything the business has done  more harm than help. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.unless a full refund us provided and the over charges are refunded there will be no resolution. 


***** ********


6/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
4/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has a written guarantee stating if they don't get top 3 ****** search engine rankings within 6 months, they will refund all monthly fees paid. I hired them and not only did 6 months pass, but 9 whole months passed. When I approached them to refund the money paid to them, they outrightly refused and even resorted to making up a story about me falsley accusing me of requesting an additional 3 months instead of the refund! *** ******* was the person I last corresponded with who made this outrageous allegation then requested if I wanted more SEO services from them (because the last 9 months weren't diastrous enough) I had to pay MORE MONEY. They are a completely unethical and deceptive company.

Desired Settlement: Honor their written guarantee and refund all monies paid to them since June 2015 - November 2015.

Business Response: This customer is not entitled to a refund due to the fact that the customer accepted 3 months of free SEO services instead. Also this customer has already filed a fraudulent dispute with their bank.  Our guarantee is publicly posted here for reference. http://www.swellmarketing.com/guaranteed-seo-services-refund-policy/    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This business blatantly LIED when it says I accepted 3 months of free SEO services. Complete and utter LIE as I have EMAILS showing I never did such a thing and requested my money back! IT is beyond belief they will lie and fabricate stories in order to not honor their guarantee. Unashamed liars - there's no better word to describe them. I have filed a fraudulent dispute with my bank yes because this business is exactly that - fraudulent.


Regards,
****** *****



3/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with this company for SEO services under the contract commitments they outlined. We are now at the end of the contract and they have not met their contractual obligations. I have left several messages asking for a refund or for them to complete their obligations based on the warranty listed on their website in accordance with our contract. I have received no further communications from this company.

Desired Settlement: I either wish for them to refund my money at an agreed upon amount. I would think 50% refund would be fair since they completed work but did not meet their committed contractual goals. Or for them to full fill their warranty obligation in an agreed upon tome frame. With this they will need to communicate their plan and how they are going to do things differently to get the outcome committed under contract.

Business Response: This client came to us and hired us to perform services for their marketing.  As the client clearly states in the complaint, we did work. Results are always going to vary based on several factors. In this case the client did not meet the terms of the agreement posted here, however our firm would have been more than happy to assist the client in continuing to increase their online visibility except for that fact that the client filed a dispute with the credit card company.  If the client were to decide to retain OCSEO again for marketing services we would continue to work hard and continue todeliver results. Please see our publicly visible refund policy here>>  http://www.ocseo.com/guaranteed-seo-services-refund-policy 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

THe statement that I filed a claim on my credit card is false, I have not filed. Also I did everything they asked and more per their contract. THey did not meet the claims of their agreement and have not offered a resolution per their Money back guarantee.

According to the SILVER Plan I selected they committed to the top pages and position ranking. See plans here... SEO Plans.
Under the Silver Plan, specifically Step 3 they committed to acheiving...Two key phrases in  Top 3 Listing,  3 Key phrase First page Guarantees and 10 Key phrases on top 2 pages guarantee.... they have not accomplished this action and are false advertising. Under the same section on the page link above is the money back gaurantee. This was the whole sales point they emphasized.

In addition they knew they did not hit their goal and never even sent me the final monthy report that was due by the end of last month. Below is tne key word/phrases they where targeting.....


Regards,

******* *****


Keyword Research Report 

For:                  **** ******* **

Prepared by:   ***** ***** *** ******* *******             ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Our research on your keywords included exhaustive evaluation of the competitive sites you sent us and an analysis of the actual traffic, both organic and paid they are drawing by volume. 

We are recommending (based on volume and likelihood to convert) the following keywords for targeting:

******* ****** ****** ******** ***** ********* ***** ******** ***** *** ******** ***** *** ******* **** ******* ******** **** ********* ***** ******* **** *** ******* **** **** ********* ***** ******* **** *** ******** **** ****** ******* ******** **** *********** ******** **** ****** ******** **** **** *** ******* **** ******* ******** **** ********* ******** **** ******* *** ******** **** ******* ******* **** *** ******* **** ****** ******* *** *** ********* ***** ******** *** ********* *** ******** *** ******* ******* *** ******* **** *** ******* *** ******* *** ******* ***** ******* *** ******* ***** ******** *** ****** *** ******** *** ********* *** ******* *** ********* ******* *** ******* *** ******* *** **** ********* ***** ******** *** *** ******* **** *** *** ********* ***** ******* *** ******* *** ***** ******** *** ******* ********* ***** ******** *** *********** ******* *** *** *********** ******** *** **** ********* ******* *** *** ******* ******* *** **** *** ******** *** **** ******* *** ********* ***** *** ******* *********** ******** *** *********** ******** *** ****** ******* *********** ******** *** ******** *** ********* ***** *** ********* ******* ******** *** *** ********* ***** *** ********* ***** *** ******** *** ***** ********* ******** *** *** **** ******* *** **** *** ******** ** *** ******* ***** ** ******* *** ***** ******* **

 
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

 

In order to be successful in targeting these keywords, we will need to write high-quality SEO-optimized articles for your website, and add some additional navigation options on the top of the page (because ****** and the other engines rank based on content).

***** ****

3/2/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 6th, 2015, we entered into an agreement with OCSEO to provide SEO services for our primary ecommerce web site. Their written guarantee was that we would place in the top 10 on a organic ****** search after the completion of a 6 month contract. At the end of the contract, we were placing nowhere on the above search. After repeated phone calls and letters were ignored, we sent certified letters requesting either a reason that OCSEO believed that their warranty terms were not in force, or an immediate offer of settlement. To date, we have received no response from OCSEO.

Desired Settlement: We demand full refund of the $4,055 paid since (1) the promised result was not achieved and (2) we satisfied all the terms of their written warranty policy.

Business Response: While we went to great lengths to assist this client to boost his rankings, certain crucial recommendations included in the on-page report that we sent to the client at various times throughout the campaign were not followed. Our recommendations have to be taken in order to uphold and make a client eligible for a refund. One of the exact recommendations made to the client but the client ignored to take on was >>   


 "We highly recommend your website redirect gets updated where your site loads like this: www.************ This already has the best authority, the most links pointing to it, and would make your Homepage Ranking easier than using: https://************/CustomPages/Home.aspx" The clients website has a canonical error that hasn't been fixed. A fix like this is highly unlikely to be made at the CMS level which is the highest level access that our firm was given access to."

 Both ************/CustomPages/Home.aspx and www.************/CustomPages/Home.aspx are live.
 Which would split the clients traffic and ****** would see the whole site as duplicate content. Preventing it from out ranking the his competition. All of the work both on-site and off was best practice and we have logged literally 1000's of hours despite a true lack of cooperation getting high level on-site changes made.  Please refer to our refund policy to read about recommendations >>>> http://www.ocseo.com/guaranteed-seo-services-refund-policy

The client simply does not qualify for a refund pertaining to this accouunt.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In our first contact with OCSEO, they were informed of the nature of our hosting provider. In phone conversations with ***** ****, he advised that it should not be a problem. After filing our complaint with both the FTC and the BBB, we spoke with *** ******* on Feb 10th who advised that a "refund would be forthcoming". If necessary, I have audio recordings of the call. I can only hope that future prospective clients will do their due diligence and research the BBB and FTC complaints concerning OSCEO and realize that there is a pattern of deception.

Our Certified Letter dated Jan 13, 2016, was returned "Return to Sender" after 3 attempts to get OSCEO to sign for it. It that letter, we address each and every line item of the published 100% Guarantee that is posted on the OSCEO site.


Regards,
**** *****



8/11/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Orange County SEO has not improved my Google rankings as promised when signing up for their services. My website was already ranked on page 1 of **** when I signed up, and that is still the only one ranked even though they said they would focus on Google. They also have not updated any of my website content, which they said they would do over 60 days ago, even though I have contacted them several times. They were supposed to update 2 pages with new content and images to improve Google rankings. Every time I email or speak with someone on the phone, they say they'll "look into it" on why it hasn't been done, but they are still charging me every month even though they are are not rending any services or completing the work they said they would do.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for payments made Feb-June.

Business Response:

Having worked with dozens of professional photography studios and photographers with companies like ******* and ******** **********, we know a lot about what it takes to leverage digital media to grow a photography business.

We performed all work, on time and provided regular updates along the way to the client. We never, at any time, promised anything that was not delivered. The content was written multiple times by our writing staff, however, we have a firm policy to not publish anything prior to receiving approval and confirmation from the client. Due to a breakdown in communication along the way, we decided to refund the client a portion of fees paid directly back to her credit card provider.

We continue ready to work with the client if she should change her mind and be more willing to participate in the process. We work as partners with our clients and at times require additional feedback in the best interest of the clients business. All supporting documentation will be provided to the BBB upon request.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have not seen any credit on my account for any amount to resolve this issue.  Please let me know the date and credit amount so that I can check with my bank statement.

Regards,

******** ********



Business Response:

Hello ******,

 

Thank you for all of your help in getting these issues resolved!  Per your telephone conversation with *** today, We are working with ** *********** in order to resolve their issues with our firm.

 

After further review here is what happened:   The consumer (******** ******** from ** ***********) filed a dispute with her bank.  We were originally notified of a "chargeback". This led us to assume that a "refund" had taken  place.  After further review it turns out that our company actually "won" the dispute,  therefore no money was actually ever paid to the consumer. 

 

In good faith we have chosen to voluntarily refund the consumer directly the full amount that she attempted to charge back. We have called and spoken with the consumer and have mailed a check to the consumer today in the amount of $590.00.

 

Thank you,

******** ******

Controller

 

Swell Marketing, Inc.

16400 Pacific Coast Hwy., Suite 218

Huntington Beach, CA  92649

************ ****** **** ************ *** ***************************

 

7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a 6 month Platinum Plan contract with OCSEO (a division of ***** ********* - check out this company on the BBB website) in August 2013. Their platinum plan is advertised on their website as a comprehensive SEO package that is guaranteed to drive traffic to your website. They also boast a money back guarantee if your not satisfied after 6 months. They did literally nothing for my website. They performed minimal on-site seo. My site has so many errors on it. Errors include wrong header and meta tags, header and meta tags that are way to long, over 25 W3C errors and many other problems. In fact I suspect there my may have been some black-hat seo performed on my site. They were given access from the beginning to the dashboard of my website. They were also suppose provide backlinks. The list of services that they were to perform is long and comprehensive. They just took my money and let the website sit and stagnate. Every month I would receive a seo report. After about the third month I started to suspect that they were a bogus outfit. Then in November I received my seo report, as usual, via email. A few minutes later I mistakenly received a second seo report. It had a cover sheet for another business but the report inside was IDENTICAL to mine! I emailed them with a complaint and received an almost immediate return email, which was very unusual as they never responded to my emails. In the return email they came up with some lame excuse about how Google changed their parameters. I tried calling several times after and only got the message machine. They never returned my calls. Prior to signing on with OCSEO I did an average of 8-14 orders per month. After 6 months of service I was down to two orders per month. My 6 months ended January 31, 2014. At the end of the 6 months I complained to them via email and requested my money back. That's when they finally called me. They set-up a meeting with me at their office and they said they wanted a chance to prove they could do the job. They had a new plan for my account. I am now down to 0 orders per month. After 4 more months I once again requested my money back. They sent me an email that said the boss man wanted to talk to me to try and resolve this issue. The boss man sent me an email with a scheduled date and time for the call. Ha! Like I was ever going to receive that phone call. Of course it never materialized and now I sit with ZERO business. This company should be investigated by the consumers affairs bureau.

Desired Settlement: I would like OCSEO to refund my Platinum Plan purchase. Plain and Simple!

Business Response: *** ***** from *** **** *** came to us and asked us to provide search engine optimization for his e-commerce website ******************  - He was placed on our platinum level of service which is normally priced at $1295.00 per month.  We extended a discount to Mr. ***** of approx. 60% - although we did NOT consider the discount while performing services, in other words, we provided full level platinum seo services along with writing, press release authorship and publication and many many other services to attempt to help Mr. ***** with his online business.  We have literally hundreds of clients and the same practices and services have and continue to worked very well.  Unfortunately Mr.***** is trying to compete with with some very large names in the business he is in. (selling big and tall clothing for men) We begin seeing that it was going to take much more than the usual standard protocols if his online business would ever be successful.  At each point in the relationship, whenever we would reach out to Mr. ***** and offer a rational approach and attempt to talk to him about what we wanted to do for him at no additional charge simply because we truly and honestly wanted him to succeed, we would have to endure verbal abuse and false accusations about our company and our companies intentions.  At one point Mr. ***** accepted our invitation to come in for a group meeting with a few of our technicians.  Mr. ***** would repeatedly apologize for the irrational accusations, claiming that he had been over medicated for a medical condition and simply wasn't in his right mind.

Bot*** line.  We worked very hard for Mr. *****.  We provided many additional services at no additional charge.  We have all of this documented and we keep very thorough records from a project management perspective that will prove we went above and beyond for him regardless of his attitude. I will make all of this available to the BBB upon request. I will include all of the project data along with the publications in addition to all email correspondence from Mr. *****.   His claims are false.  To say that we took his money and sat on our buts... wow. As far as the on-page errors, we are only in  position to help Mr. ***** with those probems when we have full access to his cms.  Unfortunately Mr. ***** would change his passwords so often that this became a real issue.  However in Mr. ***** defense, he would grant us access again and again upon request.  This being said we can not continuously repair the same problems over and over again.  We would ask that nobody else go in to the site and make changes as we can only stand behind OUR work and not 3rd parties. On multiple occasions we would consult with some of our industries top experts to formulate strategies.  Unfortunately the prognosis for his particular business is very poor.  That doesn't mean that we didn't try very hard.

Please let me know exactly what documentation the BBB would like to have access to so that we may resolve this this matter.  We are also looking into a defamation of character suit against Mr. ***** and it is likely that we will have to pursue this due to that fact that he is  basically calling our company a fraud.  Orange County SEO serves hundreds of clients, and helps many businesses in the community.  We have learned the hard way that there will always be a very small percentage of people who will either out of anger or ignorance file complaints and make false accusations.  We are fortunate that although this does happen, it is rare.  But we are willing to provide the required information and proof of work in this particular case due to the fact that Mr. ***** is simply lying.  We can not guarantee that every business will succeed, however we will always do everything within our control to give them their best chance.  We have done this in the case of ******************
 
Thank you
 
Orange County SEO Operations

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Based on the complaints of many other businesses with regards to OCSEO services it's plain to see what their intentions are.  I have a record of all correspondence, or should I say lack there of on their part, that I have had with this company.  I will make my phone records available so it can be seen how many times I called OCSEO and so all can see how many times they called me. (ask them to produce their phone records)  I can produce all emails to and from the company. (trust me, it won't take long to read the emails from OCSEO)  The only person that I had any level of correspondence with is ******** who is their PR writer. (She is an independent contractor and does not work directly for them.)  We corresponded regarding various pr themes.  (In fact, in a couple of my emails to her I complain about the lack of response from OCSEO.)  You will also see in my emails to OCSEO that there was no level of abuse, except maybe some sarcasm, in two emails, that were written in response to their lack of work on my companies behalf.  One of these two emails was sent after the initial 6 months was up and the second was sent after another 4 months went by.

I can also provide the BBB access to my website so you can see that OCSEO was given access on two separate occasions.  The first time was at the start of their initial "campaign" in August of 2013 and it lasted for the entire 6 month term.  The second time I set them up for access was after we had the initial meeting at their office on 2/6/2014 at 2pm regarding their failure to produce any results during the first 6 months.  The second access period was for the next 4 months.  The site was never accessed once during that 4 month period.  At the meeting they said they had an idea for a blogspot that would work to produce the results I wanted.  They said they wanted additional time to "show me what they could do".  You will also be able see that during the entire time period that OCSEO was my "SEO" company  nobody else had access to the site.  The records are clear.  They are available.

By the way, no where in their website material does it say that they may not be able to produce results based on what your product or service is.  There is no disclaimer.  Just read their "About Us" and their "Why Us" pages.  They make it clear that their methods work.....for any business!

Also, at both of the meeting's that were held at their office only *** G. and *** Y. were there.  At the first meeting in February I was told that *** Y. was new.  They said that there was a problem with their initial SEO manager, *****, and he had to be let go, so *** was just getting up to speed on all the accounts.  They said that from the time that ***** was let go and until the time that they hired *** there was a couple month lag time.  There were no additional technicians present in our meeting room.  There was no verbal abuse and the medical condition that I had is called Trigeminal Neuralgia.  I have since underwent gamma-ray surgery to relieve the condition.  I can't believe that they would use a extremely serious, debilitating condition like Trigeminal Neuralgia in a attempt to bolster their side.  It is a very painful facial condition that I had to use very strong anti-convulsant medicine to counter.  The medication in no way changed my personality or the way I related to people.  The medication was used only during an "episode" and the only side effect that I had while taking the medicine was drowsiness.  The only reason I made them aware of my condition was to let them know why it was so important to get my site on track.  In my main job I have to sell and be in peoples homes.  It was becoming a scary ordeal when an "episode" would come on during a sales job.  Look up Trigeminal Neuralgia and see what a serious condition this is.  This is a ridiculous claim and it's awful that they would try to use something like this in their retort. 

I never asked them to refund to me any more that I initially paid.  I was offered a discounted rate per their "Friends and Family Plan".  I didn't ask for it, it was offered to me.  $3,000.00 was my payment to them and it was paid in full.  (In fact I have *** G's email to me stating that he was working on getting me a refund.)

I will allow the BBB full access to all my site records so you can see what really transpired.  But all you have to do to really see what this company is about is to check into their owners other businesses and the BBB files on those businesses.  The records are clear and, by the way, bring on the defamation suit.  It looks to me like there are a lot of people who will be able to back up my story with their own version of this.


Regards,

*** *****



 

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid up front $4000 to have a website built back in August 2013 and was told by ****** that the website would take one month to make when I met up with him to hand him a check that was cashed by them in the mount of $4000.00. So after ***** ******* assuring me that I would have a great website he then put me in the hands of *** ******* who pretty much gave me the run around for the feat of the time promising me twice that the website would be ready within weeks end. Almost three and a half months later and no website and no communication from them and their website orangecountyseo.com no longer works. I have been ripped off and would appreciate a refund. ***** ******* is the one who assured me I would have a wonderful website but no.****** ****** *** ***** ******* *** *** **** ***** ********* ********** ***** *** ******* ****** ******* ***

Desired Settlement: $4000.00 Plus lost revenue from not having promised website.

Business Response:

The website was completed to client’s specifications and delivered to the client.   During this process, however, the client did stop responding to emails or phone calls for several (4) months. The website was built on the Magento platform and has been fully tested and products have been uploaded. At one point in February of 2014 after repeated attempts to contact the client, Mr. ****** did answer his phone. We discussed the project and he asked for a few minor revisions which were completed. We asked Mr. ****** why he filed a BBB complaint at that time he actually apologized and said he was simply frustrated and that he would contact the BBB and retract the complaint. We have documentation of this conversation, and we still have not heard from Mr. ****** since that day in early 2014.

To this day the website is ready still ready to be launched – we are just awaiting contact from the client. This project was completed as promised, and our records of communication show lack of cooperation on the part of the client. All supporting documentation will be provided to the BBB upon request.

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 2nd, 2013, our company contracted and paid Orange County SEO to develop and market (via SEO) a background check website for us. The fee for developing and completing the website was $5900, with 50% due up front with final payment due when website was live and completed and APPROVED by us. We also paid $5970 up front for 6 months of SEO Platinum services with ***** ******** as our "SEO expert". We were promised a whole team on our project with guaranteed completion in 45 days. The project was a website where customers could get their driving records online, it included a frontend and a backend administration, and the team also agreed to create a Spanish language version of the website.We provided a very specific project requirements package which they agreed provided all details necessary to build the website. We signed a contract which specifically provided a 100% satisfaction guarantee. We paid a total of $10,395 to OCSEO. Work was suppose to be completed by 5/17/2013.Delays started almost immediately. We did not receive basic wire frames for the website until about 3 weeks in. We were passed around to 4 different project managers during this project. The logo design itself took over 2 weeks.We held numerous conference calls with OCSEO over a 7 month period. They missed numerous conference calls, multiple deadlines, and in late September provided us with a website they said was finished but was entirely unacceptable. The coding is broken, and the website just does not work. In late September CEO ***** ******* reached out to us via e-mail offering to make any final changes we asked for, we sent them an e-mail documenting changes we needed, emailed and called multiple times but they have not responded to any of our inquiries.We want them to live by their 100% satisfaction guarantee and refund our money.We will provide ANY documentation needed to back up our claims.

Desired Settlement: This project took 4 TIMES as long as was promised, and the Spanish version of the website was not delivered. The contract has been breached, we are nowhere near 100% satisfied as per the contract, and we want our money back. In return, the company will keep our coding and we will start with another developer from scratch. We have no more use for OCSEO and the product they delivered to us does not meet what the contract entailed. We have no use for their 6 months of marketing services.

Business Response:

This very advanced web development project was on time 100% with the exception of times when the client delayed the process, due to his uncertainty in which direction he wanted to go with his business model.  Client indicated he would provide clear, concise instructions, however, what he provided was actually a data file (xml file) from a third party. An xml file is basically an website file that is unusable for any development purposes.

As you can see from the client’s statement, wire frames for this project were completed within 3 weeks of beginning the project. Throughout this relationship the client, several times, would go weeks without returning phone calls, delaying the project beyond our control. Our company suffered the loss by taking on this project because of the massive delays on the client’s side.

We pride ourselves on professionalism and excellent customer service. We offered several times to assist the client with their own internal challenges, simply to try and help. The project was completed as per the client’s original specifications, and delivered to the client. It does not appear that the client ever proceeded with their background check website project, even though we have proof of delivery and it was used on their domain for many months after we parted ways.  We honored every part of the agreement.  All supporting documentation will be provided to the BBB upon request.

7/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have researched and spoken with many different SEO companies in order to help me launch my business and after careful consideration I decided to hire OCSEO not only because they spoke in a language that was understandable, they also had a six (6) month guarantee; in bold writing it states: We are a performance driven company that delivers guaranteed results, or we refund your money. We want to earn your business, and have a long term relationship. We know this won’t happen if we don’t deliver something amazing. 100% Money Back Guarantee, if contract expectations are not met. Unfortunately, I did not check with the BBB prior to hiring them. As you are aware, there are multiple complaints with this company for exactly what I’m about to delineate. After research and analysis by OCSEO, I was told what key words would work best for my brand and was told that I need to add 4 pages of written content to the site. I hired OCSEO to write that content and add the content to my site. After month 4 I noticed that I was still not ranking any better than day one, now with month 6 approaching, still no change in the rankings, I decided to use their 6 month guarantee. Before my month 6 charge, I emailed the account manager and said that after they charge my credit card again, please go ahead and cancel my account and refund my money. I was told that my account did not comply with their guarantee because, as he writes…..”This account doesn’t qualify for the guarantee due to the interactions between you and my team. You did not take our best practice recommendations for creating new content per the account reps instructions or offer to hire us to do it. This action or lack thereof on your part hindered our ability to get your results on schedule” Which I did and made all changes suggested My response to his email was as follows in the attached document.

Desired Settlement: Refund of 5 months payment for none performance of guarantee results as their refund policy states

Business Response:

This client came to us by referral from other similar brands in the surf, clothing, and sports industry, because we serve many large brands like ****** * ****, and this client decided to give us a try. We advised the client that they were choosing our lowest level of service, and we recommended a more appropriate level of commitment, however they decided to proceed with the understanding that it would simply take longer to see results, and that’s fine with us as we’ll work with any marketing budget and make it work. We performed all services as promised and had many consulting calls with the client along the way to advise the client of things that the client needed to do in order to allow the hard work that our team was doing to produce results. The client was sent regular reports outlining all of the work being done behind the scenes.  The bottom line is that the client severely limited our abilities by not allowing us to make necessary changes to the content of their site. We have a very successful track record servicing hundreds of clients with stellar results.  The client does, however, have to allow us to make additional recommendations at times, in which case the cooperation of the client is required. Our recommendations fell on deaf ears repeatedly.  The client refused to add product descriptions that would be sufficient for their website to be properly recognized by the search engines. We went above and beyond for this client with repeated attempts to secure cooperation from the client, but were met with consistent resistance. Our firm stands by our word and would still to this day be willing to continue working with the client when and if they become willing to take our professional advice as the overwhelming majority of our successful clients do.  All supporting documentation will be provided to the BBB upon request.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10566139, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is the exact same letter I received from the owner of the company after I complained to him a few times. We made the changes to the website that was suggested to us by the account rep (btw; had 3 of them in 6 months time) and was considered satisfactory as per the last account rep. I find it rather sad that because we were using their lowest priced marketing package that we weren't seeing results after 6 months and that we would have to upgrade the a higher cost programs to see results....So sorry that they blame the customer instead of blaming themselves for very poor results that were supposedly guaranteed, but this is what you would expect from a company that already has an F grade with the BBB even before I filed this complaint. Live and learn, don't use F graded companies.
*******

Regards,

******* *****



Business Response:

After thoroughly reviewing all correspondence regarding this client again, our company stands by our decision. The client is not entitled to a refund. Please refer to our previous response in this matter for supporting details.  Thank you.

7/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I started with this company they did say they could get my 10 keywords to page one of google or my money back. That was my only goal. They did not accomplish this after 6 months and I contacted them for my money back. They did not give me my money back and said they needed more time and that they maybe could do it with more time. I did want my money back but did agree to give them more time, because they were not being cooperative to give my money back then. I do want my money back and they are saying they are not going to give it back. They did not accomplish my goal and I am not satisfied. I want a refund. They are not going to honor their money back guarantee.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund. They do have a money back guarantee if not satisfied and I am not satisified. They did not do what was said they would do, get my 10 keywords of my choice to page 1 of Google.

Business Response:

This complaint is very unfair and quite untrue. We service many large skincare companies (*********** for example) and are very familiar with this industry. This is a simple case of the client not willing to communicate with our team of SEO professionals. From the beginning, Ms. ****** was literally unavailable.  When a new client decides to work with us and hire us to perform SEO services, one of the first vital components to the marketing campaign is to have either an in office meeting with our team or have an on boarding call.   The on-boarding call is when our team asks very important questions about the client’s business goals, products, and anything else that will be helpful to understand. The client in this case was not willing to have a boarding-call strategy session with our team. The client was unavailable by phone and email.  This particular client’s preferred method of communication to us was her submitting a brief message about every 3 months through a one way website form to which we cannot reply, although when she did, we’d always immediately reach out with no success. We did everything off-site that we could possibly do for the client. The client also was never available or willing to provide our team with logins or the required back end access to her website, severely limiting our abilities to perform. Website optimization requires access to the site. This all being said, our team was still able through off-site efforts, to increase her websites ranking dramatically. The skin care market is very competitive, and you are going up against some very large brands. We stand by, willing to contribute to the client’s success.  We just needed her to be willing to participate in the process.

A refund would not apply in this case because we went above and beyond for this client.  We invested far more into this client’s campaign than she ever paid our firm, which included providing multiple free months of service, and she voided our guarantee policy. It is not fair for her to have us work so hard for her for several months and simply decide that she wants her money back. That just doesn’t make sense.

If Ms. ****** would like to cooperate with our team, then we will still help her reach her goals, we just need to know what those goals are. All supporting documentation will be provided to the BBB upon request


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I was not happy with there service and they did not abide by there money back guarantee. Now they decide to respond, more then a year later?




Business Response:

After thoroughly reviewing all correspondence regarding this client again, our company stands by our decision. The client is not entitled to a refund. Please refer to our previous response in this matter for supporting details.  Thank you.

7/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Orange County SEO is the company that I chose to market my website starting back in May of 2013. I was promised many things with this company including a 100% money back guarantee, which they display on their website. I have had so many problems with this company. In fact, I have never been lied to so much from a company than this one. After 3 months of doing business with this company, I couldn't help but to notice that things were not going the way they were supposed to be going, and all the promises I was told wasn't being fulfilled, so I called the company and spoke with the Vice President, ****** *******, and he assured me that the problem would be solved and that I would soon be getting overwhelmed with 30 plus calls a month. Well, 6 months later, I found out that was far from true! I may have gotten 3-4 calls in the whole 6 moths period. I decided to call ******- the Vice President of the company to let him know how dissastified I was, so he told me to hang in there and things will get better rather quickley. Again, he was being dishonest. I told him to discontinue my service and give me a full refund back, and he said couldn't, but rather would push harder to get the job done right, so I decided to continue on and give this company a chance. Several weeks after this, I noticed that I still wasn't getting calls and my rankings were not good online. I decided to give ****** another call to let him know how I felt about the poor performance. He then told me that they removed me off the campaign, meaning that they were no longer doing the SEO for my website. I asked him, why not? And his response was, that I wanted them to discontinue their service which was a lie, and I have the email to prove just that. I originally gave this company $1,700 upfront for 6 months of service, and I feel like I've been robbed! I spoke with him today about my current rankings online which is even worse than the rankings several months ago, and he replied bitterly, "I am very busy today and can't talk right now.

Desired Settlement: I would like the full refund back of $1,700 for this company not fulfilling their promises.

Business Response:

****** ***** came to us in May of 2013 and asked us if we could help him to grow his painting business. Our team worked very closely with Mr. ***** and on multiple occasions requested admin access to his site so that our team could make the necessary standard changes to his website content.

On multiple occasions, our team was unfortunately provided with incorrect logins, which ultimately prevented us from being able to make the on-site changes in a timely fashion. Our team, after multiple requests, was finally (after months) granted access to the site and made the on-site changes.

Our entire firm was, however throughout the entire campaign, performing great work on off-site promotion for Mr. Hooks’ website. His ranking did increase, despite our limited access to the client’s site for nearly 3 of the 6 months that we were working with Mr. *****. If our firm would have had access to the client’s site the entire time, there is no doubt in our minds that he would have easily achieved his desired results.  We offered to continue services at no charge for an additional 3 months to help the client as much as possible simply because we felt bad for him. Instead Mr. ***** filed a small claims case against our firm which ended up in mediation, at which time the mediator even acknowledged that our firm did everything that we possible could have. As a measure of good faith and in order to help all parties move on, we voluntarily gave Mr. ***** $900.00 and he thanked us and even said that he was going to take down any negative reviews including the BBB complaint. Apparently he decided not to do the right thing.

Our firm has helped over 800 businesses achieve their goals over the past several years. So I suppose it’s only natural that we would have a few complaints. It would be nice however if there was a way to screen these types that are unreasonable, and dishonest up front. It would surely save us all a lot of time and money. All supporting documentation will be provided to the BBB upon request.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

8/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: According to their website, 100% money back guarantee when customer not satisfied. So I called. They are the internet marketing company who help to put website to Google search engine. There were two websites that they were working on. www.plussizehouse.com (silver package, around $500/month) and www.wholesalefashionstream.com (platinum packages, around $1300/month). They guarantee me that I will see the result in two or three month. Now its six month, nothing happened. Every month, they send me the monthly report however, was for other companies. I called them and complained several times regarding this matter. And they kept saying person who sent the report made a mistake. And this happened twice more. Look like, they don't even know who we were. On mid June I called them to stop everything they do because I don't see any results. I ask for the money back for last 5 month. And started to ignore me. And now, they charged unauthorized amount to my credit card again. so I contacted them via email. And no replies over 2 weeks. So finally I called bank to charge back. So finally they contact me today with this "You are a crook in my" They should not run their business. And their is a guy name Tom. He is saying that we are dishonest because we charge back on them after all the efforts and work done for the website. BUT where is the work? I never paid them for the work they do. I pay them for the result!. If it was just the work, I will never pay them.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. It was guaranteed in their website.

Business Response: Again these statements are false.  We performed all work purchased and the results are actually good on the site that could be good.  plussizehouse.com  /  the second site wholesalefashionstream.com apparently the client had hosted on the same server but did not disclose these facts to us. This prevents the success of site two until the site is moved to a different server,  which we recommended to the client to allow us to do.  At that time the client accused us of not performing and requested all of his money back for services already rendered.  The client does not qualify for any refund as clearly stated here on our website - please read our refund policy. http://www.ocseo.com/guaranteed-seo-services-refund-policy  We did offer to repair his problem and continue services for no additional cost for a limited period yet he refused.

 
Thank you 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

11 Customer Reviews on Orange County SEO
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart