Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers term life insurance and other types of life insurance products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AIG Direct Insurance Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AIG Direct Insurance Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 13
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on AIG Direct Insurance Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1995 Business started: 04/01/1995 in CA Business incorporated 04/14/1995 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division, 300 South Spring Street, Los Angeles CA 90013
http://www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: 800-927-4357
Fax Number: 213-897-5961
The number is 0B57619.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald J Harris, President Ms. Laura S Huffman, Executive Vice President Ms. Nona Graves, Consumer Affairs Analyst Mr. Nicholas Terry, Compliance Coordinator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald J Harris, President
Principal: Ms. Laura S Huffman, Executive Vice President
Number of Employees

265

Business Category

Insurance - Life Insurance Services

Alternate Business Names
AIG Direct

Additional Locations

  • 9640 Granite Ridge Dr #200

    San Diego, CA 92123 (800) 914-8376 (888) 517-9797 (858) 309-3000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company is spamming me, using an unethical third party marketing firm - **** ******** ***** ********* **** *****1. I never subscribed and will not click any link in an unsolicited e-mail. (This same firm is used by countless other companies.) It is impossible to block the e-mails, because multiple addresses and domains are utilized to prevent the recipient from doing just that.

Desired Settlement: I want the spamming to stop. Ideally, I would like the marketing firm to be sanctioned, but I don't know who they are.

Business Response: VIA FACSIMILE (************

February 10,2015


Better Business Bureau of San Diego
Attn: ***** *****
4747 Viewridge Ave. Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123

Re: San Diego BBB Case Number ********
Complainant: **** *******

Dear ***** *****

We acknowledge receipt of your January 27, electronic communication
to the Company, whtch was referred to the Consumer Affairs
Department that same day for review and response.

In her correspondence to you Ms. ******* requested the Company
cease any email solicitation to personal email and requested for the
marketing firm to be sanctioned.

The Company's response to her concerns would include specific
personally identifiable information. Due to Privacy Laws and
Regulations, the Company will not provide this "Nonpublic Personal
Information" to your office. As such, we are responding directly to ****
******* with specific: detail and explanation addressing her concerns

If I can be of further assistance, please contact me at (800)929-6252,
extension #### by fax 615-749-2840 or at the address provided below
Sincerely,


***** *****
Consumer Affairs Analyst

2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an email that states "Get a $250,000 coverage for less than $14 a month!". I filled out their form and received a call from Vince, an insurance salesman for Ohio. I stated that I wanted the advertised coverage for less than $14 a month and he stated that was impossible. They falsely advertise this insurance in order to sell you something else with absolutely no intention of honoring their claim.

Desired Settlement: I would like AIG Direct to stop their false advertising and bait and switch tactics. I would also like them to delete any information I provided as a result of this advertisement and I would like them, or any of their representative, to never contact me, by any means, again.

Business Response:

This responds to your correspondence dated December 24, 2014, which
was received in the Consumer Affairs Department on December 26,
2014.

In his complaint to your agency Mr. **** states in part "I would like AIG
Direct to stop their false advertising and bait and switch tactics ..."

The Company's response to Mr. ****'s concerns would include specific
policy related data and personally identifiable information. Due to
Privacy Laws and Regulations, the Company will not provide this
"Nonpublic Personal Information" to your office. As such, we are
responding directly to ***** **** with specific details and explanation
addressing his concerns.

I appreciate the opportunity to provide this response. If J can be of
further assistance, please contact me at 615· 7 49·2271.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from AIG basically says nothing and does not offer to correct anything their company has done to deceive customers.
While reviewing AIG's response, I noticed that the link contained in the company's offer had been taken down from the web. This indicates to me that AIG is attempting to cover-up their bait and switch advertising.
Regards,

***** ****



Business Response: Via First Class Mail

February 9, 2015

***** *****
The Better Business Bureau of San Diego
4747 Viewbridge Avenue
Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123

Re: Your File: ********
Complainant: ***** ****
NAIC: ***** -******** ******* ****
********* *******


Dear Ms. *****:

This responds to your correspondence dated january 23, 2015 which
was received in the Consumer Affairs Department on January 26, 2015.

In his most recent complaint to your agency Mr. **** states in part
"While reviewing AIG's response, I noticed that the link contained in the
company's offer had been taken down from the web. This indicates to me
that AJG is attempting to cover-up their bait and switch advertising... ".


The Company's response to Mr. ****'s concerns would include specific
policy related data and personally identifiable information. Due to
Privacy Laws and Regulations, the Company will not provide this
"Nonpublic Personal Information" to your office. As such, we are
responding directly to ***** **** with specific details and explanation
addressing his concerns.

I appreciate the opportunity to provide this response. If I can be of
further assistance, please contact me at 615-749-2271.

Respectfully,


****** *. ******, Compliance Analyst
Compliance - 530S
******.******@aig.com

12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The AIG called many time to my cell phone then hangup. I called back to ask why they are calling me, and they said it was a wrong number, and put me on the Do-Not-Call list. I thought that would be the end of it. few hours later, they called me again. I call back and ask WHY....They said they don't know. What kind of company would that be for doing business to sell product or service that they don't even know if they have the right customer??? Or is this just a spam call just like any other telemarketers' practices??? How could BBB accredit this kind of company as an A+ rating company???

Desired Settlement: Make sure they would not bug the wrong people in the future!!!

Business Response:

VIA FACSIMILE (8*** ********

December 8, 2014

******* ***** San Diego Better Business Bureau

Re: ******** ******
Consumer Complaint Number- ********

Dear Ms. *****:

This is in response to your correspondence received In the
Consumer Affairs Department on November 20, 2014.

Mr. ****** alleges that he received many calls to his cellular
telephone from the American International Group. Mr. ******
further alleges he advised the representative that It was the wrong
number for the Individual the representative was calling for and
asked the representative to place him on the Do Not Call list;
however he received another call a few hours later.

A properly detailed response to the consumer's concern would
include specific policy related data and personally identifiable
information. Due to privacy concerns, the Company will not
provide the "Nonpublic Personal Information" to your office. As
such, we are responding directly to, Anderson ****** with specific details
and an explanation addressing his concerns.

The Compeny appreciates the opportunity to provide this
response. If I can be of further assistance, please let me know.

Sincerely, 

****** ******

Consumer Affairs Analyst

Mail Code ****

10/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AIG Directed uses known spammers from the #1 spam site, enom.com, to redirect users to their sites, so they must be the ones paying the spammers. I do not conduct business with spammers, as a policy. But I will hunt them down.

Desired Settlement: Stop spamming

Business Response: October 7, 2014

***** K. ******
PO Box ***
*****, AK *****

RE: AIG Direct

Dear Mr. ******:

This is in response to correspondence received from the Boner Business Bureau of San
Diego regarding a complaint that you filed.

You state that AIG Direct is using a spam website to redirect customers to their website.
You are requesting that AIG Direct remove your Information from their spam listing.

As part of the Investigation, AIG Direct was contacted for additional Information. A
representative for AIG Direct Indicated that you.r information does not appear In their
database; therefore, at this time, we are unable to definitively conclude the source of your
email Included In the email advertisements is from AIG Direct. As a precaution, the email
address you provided of b******@********.net has been added to the internal "Do Not
Contact'" list. This will remove your email from any future marketing initiatives by AIG
Direct or other AIG Companies.

In order to confirm the origin of the email, the Company can review the actual email to
determine the sender. Please provide a copy of the emails you received to us, In order for the
Company to review this matter further. You may forward a copy of the emails to compliance_consaffairs@aglife.com

The privacy concerns and contact preferences of our customers remain our utmost priority.
We apologize for any inconvenience this matter may have caused.

If you have any questions, please contact me at l-800-528-2011, extension *****, or by fax
at 217-541-7900.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Consumer Affairs Analyst

8/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AIG Direct has been bombarding us with multiple unsolicited spam emails many times a day. The latest is from *****@****.governstar.com. We confirmed that the emails reference the company's Sand Diego address.

Desired Settlement: Cease your spam emails as they are causing us distress.

Business Response: July 29, 2014

Better Business Bureau of San Diego
ATTN: ******* *****
4747 Vlewridge Ave Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123

Consumer Case Number: ********
Consumer: **** ********

Dear Ms. *****:

We acknowledge receipt of your July 10, 2014 electronic communication for review and response.

Mr. ******** states that he has received numerous unsolicited e-mails from AIG Direct/Matrix Direct.

A proper detailed response to his concerns would include specific policy related data and personal identifiable information. Due to Privacy Laws and Regulations, the company will not provide this " Nonpublic Personal Information" to your office. 

As such, we are responding directly to Mr. **** ******** with specific details and explanation addressing his concerns. 

If you have any questions, please contact me at 1-800-528-2011, extension *****

Sincerely,

Ms. **** ** ******, ACS
Consumer Affairs Analyst

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Business has NOT contacted me directly to resolve this. I do NOT have any account information for them as I do not have insurance with them nor have I ever done any business with them. They have been soliciting me relentlessly. They need to take ********@aol.com off their spam list. They quote "Privacy Laws and Regulations" as a lame excuse for why they will not provide their response to the BBB which does not apply in this case since I do not have an account with them nor did I ever have an account with them. The BBB had to send two requests to this business to get them to cease and desist the email harassment.


If business still fails to cooperate and continues to lie to us and the BBB I will have no other choice but to get the Federal Trade Commission involved.

And my name is ***** ******** ... not **** ********. They need to get their facts straight. 

Regards,

***** ********



Business Response: August 13,2014

Better Business Bureau of San Diego
ATTN: ******* *****
4747 Vlewridge Ave Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123

Consumer Case Number: * *******
Consumer: ***** ********

Dear Ms. *****:

We acknowledge receipt of your July 30, 2014 electronic communication for review and response.

Mr. ******** expresses dissatisfaction because the Company would not release the information In our July 29, 2014 letter to your department. He also Indicated In our July 29, 2014 letter to your department we listed his name as **** ******** instead of ***** ********.

As stated In our July 29, 2014 letter, a proper detailed response to his concerns would Include specific policy related data and personally Identifiable Information. Due to Privacy Laws and Regulations, the Company will not provide this "Nonpublic Personal Information" to your office. As such, we are responding directly to Mr. ***** ******** With specific details end explanation addressing his concerns.

If you have any questions, please contact me at 1·800·528·2011, extension *****.

Ms. **** *. ******, ACS
Consumer Affairs Analyst

Business Response: August 13,2014

Better Business Bureau of San Olago
ATTN: ******* *****
4747 Vlewridge Ave Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123

Consumer Case Number: * *******
Consumer: ***** ********

Dear Ms. *****:

We acknowledge receipt of your July 30, 2014 electronic communication for review and response.

Mr. ******** expresses dissatisfaction because the Company would not release the information In our July 29, 2014 letter to your department. He also Indicated In our July 29, 2014 letter to your department we listed his name as **** ******** instead of ***** ********.

As stated In our July 29, 2014 letter, a proper detailed response to his concerns would Include specific policy related data and personally Identifiable Information. Due to Privacy Laws and Regulations, the Company will not provide this "Nonpublic Personal Information" to your office. As such, we are responding directly to Mr. ***** ******** With specific details end explanation addressing his concerns.

If you have any questions, please contact me at 1·800·528·2011, extension *****.

Ms. **** ** ******, ACS
Consumer Affairs Analyst

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Company responds "As stated In our July 29, 2014 letter, a proper detailed response to his concerns would Include specific policy related data and personally Identifiable Information. " Why would I have a policy with this company????????? That is why I reported the high pressure sales tactics via spam? Why would I provide the company that is spamming me with more information? All the information that is required was provided to the BBB in the complaint including my email address. They can not fall back on the Privacy Act as far as responses to the BBB as it does not apply in this complaint. I do NOT have an AIG account. They would like me to have an AIG account but based on their high pressure tactics via spamming and their evasiveness in providing a public response to the BBB I would never ever have an AIG account!

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: August 21,2014

Better Business Bureau of San Diego
ATTN: ******* *****
4747 Viewridge Ave Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123

Consumer Case Number: ********
Consumer: ***** ********

Dear Ms. *****:

This letter Is In response to your August 15, 2014 e-mail correspondence received In the Consumer Affairs Department on August 18, 2014 regarding Mr. ********' previous concerns pertaining to the numerous unsolicited e-mails he received from AIG Direct/Matrix Direct.

Enclosed are copies of the letters dated July 29, 2014 and August 13, 2014 the Company sent to Mr. ******** addressing his concerns.

If you have any additional questions, I can be reached at 1/800-528- 2011, extension ***** or by fax at 1/217-541-7900.

Sincerely,

Ms. **** ** ******, ACS
Consumer Affairs Analyst
Enclosures
Cc: AIG Direct/Matrix Direct

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

AIG still will not provide for the public record what actions they have taken. The letters they provided will not be part of the online BBB public record. Have they taken action to take my email address off their spam mail? They need to state that for the public record. They don't need to disclose my email address or other information. 

Regards,

***** ********

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please stop the Harassment. I have been contacted numerous times where the call has been answered and the business has hung up. Caller ID indicated the origin of the call. I do not wish to conduct any business with their establishment nor do I ever plan to.

Business Response: August 14, 2014

Better Business Bureau of San Diego
Attn: ******* *****
4747 Viewridge Ave. Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123

RE: *** ********-**** ******

Dear Ms. *****:

This is in response to your August 8, 2014 correspondence to the Company regarding a complaint filed by **** ******.

In his correspondence to you. Mr. ****** expressed his concern regarding the continuous attempts from Matrix Direct to contact him, only to have Matrix Direct hang up on him.

A proper detailed response to his concerns would include specific policy related data and personally identifiable information. Due to Privacy Laws and Regulations, the Company will not provide this "Nonpublic Personal Information" to your office. AB such. we are responding directly to **** ****** with specific details and explanation addressing his concerns.

If you have any questions. please contact me at 1-800-528-2011 extension *****, or by fax at ************.

Sincerely,
***** *******
Consumer Affairs Analyst

7/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It appears that the AIG Company constantly sends out spam email advertising by an apparent 3rd party sender. Solicitation links goes directly to AIG so it would make one think that it must be for AIG. The CAN-SPAM Act is subject to penalties of up to $16,000 for such violations.

Desired Settlement: Quit hiding behind the "not in our database" excuse, as they appear to be using a 3rd party to send the spam adverting. I would like AIG to correct problem, email an apology. Send $500 for violation of CAN-SPAM act to postal address. Following is header information from typical email for AIG's investigation if they wish. 

Business Response: RE:  Complaint Number: *******

Dear Ms. *****:

We acknowledge receipt of your March 12, 2014 electronic communication to AIG. Direct. which was 
referred to American General Life Insurance Company for review and response.

In his correspondence to you, Mr. ***** indicated that he continuously receives spam email from A!G.  



A proper detailed response to his concerns would include personally identifiable information. Due to 
Privacy Laws and Regulations, the Company will not provide this "Nonpublic Personal Information" to 
your office. As such, we are responding directly to Mr. ***** with specific details and rm 
explanation addressing his concerns.

If you have any questions, please contact me at 1-800-528-2011, extenstion*****, or by fax at 
217-541-7900.

 
Sincerely

***** *******
Consumer Affairs Analyst

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. (The company would not allow the complaint to be handled through the Better Business Bureau. The response I received by postal mail was very similar, if not identical to the responses posted in response to other alleged Spam complaints on the BBB San Diego web site. Therefore, my opinion would be that this method of none response through the BBB might be to prevent the BBB from lowering the business' BBB ratings, which it appears has not taken into consideration the numerous other independent and separate complaints of this type to SD BBB. I am willing to forward my email example to the BBB, complete with header and link information, for further investigation and resolution by the SD BBB and the business respondent. The SD BBB may forward the example to the business.)

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: This is in response to your electronic communication to AIG Direct, which was
referred to American General Life Insurance Company for review and response.

Mr. ***** indicates that the Company's letter dated March 26, 2014 does not
resolve his oomphtint. He also indicates that he is willing to forward his email
example to your office and that you may forward the email to our Company.

Please note that the Company or AIG Direct does not have any record of receiving
examples of the electronic correspondence from Mr. ***** or your office. Once the
Company has received the electronic correspondence from Mr. *****, we will be
able to do further research.

lfyou have any questions, please contact me at 1-800-528-2011, extension *****,
or by fax at 217-541-7900.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Consumer Affairs Analyst

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 [There was no BBB address given to forward a copy of the email.  

I attaching the email to this reply]

 Regards,

***** ***** 



Business Response: We acknowledge receipt of your Sune 2, 2014 electronic communication to AIO
Direct, which was referred to American General Life Insurance Company for review
and response.

Mr. ***** provided a copy of the emails that he was receiving from AIG Direct.
The Company conducted an investigation to get the opt in to the vendor's
distribution.

A proper detailed response to his concerns would include personally identifiable
information. Due to Privacy Laws and Regulations, the Company will not provide
this "Nonpublic Personal Infonnation" to your office. As such, we are responding
directly to Mr. ***** with specific details and an explanation addressing his
concerns.

If you have any questions, please contact me at 1·800-528-20 11 , extension *****,
or by fax at 217-541-7900.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Consumer Affairs Analyst

11/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am getting approximately 15 SPAM emails a day from this company clearly in viol;ation of SPAM laws. I have repeatedly tried to unsubscribe from their SPAM lists to no avail. I have never signed up for this junk and never authorized them to use or distribute my email address.

Desired Settlement: Get me off every single one of their SPAM lists immediately.

Business Response: This letter is in response to your October 2, 2013 correspondence regarding a complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of San Diego California by Mr. **** ******.

Mr. ****** alleges he is receiving approximately 15 SPAM emails a day from AIG Direct even though he has tried several times to unsubscribe to the mailings. He further alleges he never signed up for the advertisement emails and never authorized them to use or distribute his email address. Mr. ***** requests that AIG Direct remove him fro every SPAM listing.

As part of my review, I contacted AIG Direct for additional information. A representative for AIG Direct indicated that Mr. ******'s information does not exist in their database; therefore, at this time, we are unable to definitively conclude the source of Mr. ******'s email used in the email advertisements from AIG Direct. As a precaution, the email address Mr. ****** provided of ******************* has been added to the internal "Do not Contact" list. This will remove his email address from any future marketing initiatives by AIG Direct or any other AIG Companies.

In order to confirm the origin of the opt in to receive advertisements, the Company can review the actual email to determine the sender. If Mr. ****** would be willing to provide a copy of the emails he received from AIG Direct, the Company can review this matter further. 

If I can be of further assistance, please contact me at (800) 528-2011, extension *****, or via email or fax number listed at the top of this correspondence.

Sincerely,

***** ******
Consumer Affairs Analyst

10/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business is spamming. It sends emails out via a spoofed site with bogus return email address. It's offering AIG insurance, so I've contacted the main AIG corporate headquarters, and filed complaints with the State of California Insurance Division and the US Federal Trade Commission anti-spam website.

Desired Settlement: Stop contacting me. Stop SPAMMING! Better yet...go out of business!

Business Response: This is in response to your October 9, 2013 correspondence regarding a complaint filed by *. ******.

Mr. ****** alleges that he is receiving "spam" emails from a website with an invalid email address. The emails are offering protection through AIG. Mr. ****** requests that the Company remove him from every spam listing.

As part of the investigation, Matrix Direct was contacted for additional information. A representative for Matrix Direct indicated that Mr. ******' information does not list in their database; therefore, at this time, we are unable to definitively conclude the source of Mr. ******' email included in the email advertisement from Matrix Direct. As a precaution, the email address Mr. ****** provided *******@*********.com has been added to the internal "Do Not Contact" list. This will remove his email address from any future marketing initiatives by AIG Direct or any other AIG Companies.

In order to confirm the origin of the email, the Company can review the actual email to determine the sender. If Mr. ****** would be willing to provide a copy of the emails he received to us, the Company can review this matter further.

The privacy concerns and contact preferences of our customers remain our utmost priority. We apologize to Mr. ****** for any inconvenience this matter has caused.

If you have any questions, please contact me at ###-###-####, extension *****, or by fax at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Consumer Affairs Analyst

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

* ******

7/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was trying to purchase Life Insurance from AIG. They quoted me some very good prices and terms. They then proceeded to get a credit card from me for the Insurance on the phone. Luckily, I said no and insisted on seeing the written quote first. When the quote came through via email, it was for Accidental Death Insurance not Life Insurance. They would have knowingly charged me the premium for the wrong type of policy. That is Fraud.****** ********

Desired Settlement: Sell me real Life Insurance for the same rates which they already quoted me.

Business Response:

July 3, 2013
Better Business Bureau of San Diego
Attn: **** *****
4747 Viewridge Ave., Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123

RE: ID Number: *******
Complainant: ****** ********
Dear Mr. *****:

This is in response to your June 19, 2013 correspondence addressed to Matrix Direct
regarding a complaint filed by ****** ********. Matrix Direct referred this matter
to American General Life Insurance Company for review and response.

Mr. ******** states that he was purchasing life insurance coverage from American
Intemational Group. He alleges that the agency attempted to obtain credit card
information; however, he requested to have the premium quotes sent to him. Mr.
******** states that he received the premium quotes via email; however, the
insurance coverage was for accidental death and not life insurance.

As pmt of the investigation, Matrix Direct was contacted for additional information
including recorded telephone calls. I have reviewed the June 18, 2013 telephone
call between Mr. ******** and. the Matrix Direct Representative. Mr. ********
submitted a request for a premium qoute for insurance coverage. During the June
18th call, the representative explained that the insurance canier requires the applicant
to have a bank account or a credit card. Mr. ******** stated that he had a credit
card; however, no account information was requested or provided. The Matrix
Direct Representative asked Mr. ******* some general questions in order to
determine the type of insurance coverage he would qualify for. Based on the
information that Mr. ******** provided, the representative indicated that he would
qualify for insurance coverage up to $500,000. The representative also provided
Mr. ******** with a premiw.n quote for $150,000 per his request. Mr. ********
requested that the representative send him the premiun) quotes and information
regarding the policy before he continued with the application process. The
representative agreed to send the information regarding the type of policy he
qualified for and the premium quotes.

Mr. *****; in my review; no fraudulent activity occurred during the June 18th
telephone call. The Matrix Direct Representative did not attempt to obtain Mr.
********'s credit card information. Mr. ******** asked the representative to
provide the insurance quotes in writing. The representative provided the
information as requested.


If you have any questions, please contact me at ###-###-####, extension *****,
or by fax at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Consumer Affairs Analyst

6/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I receive spam email from these people everyday, sometimes twice a day. There is no way to unsubscribe and I have never or would I ever have a relationship with this business. I thought with spam ads that they had to provide for an "unsubscribe". I want them to stop spamming me. The link in the email connects to their website. I don't think any business does this justified an A+.

Desired Settlement: I want them to stop spamming me. It is a simple thing for them to do.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your May 30, 2013 correspondence received in the
Consumer Affairs Department on May 31, 2013.
Ms. ******* indicated that she has been unable to successfully unsubscribe
from AIG Direct email solicitations, and she continues to receive unwanted
email marketing from the Company. She requested the immediate removal of
her information from AIG Direct email marketing.
In order to comply with Ms. *********, we have added her name, email address,
physical address. and telephone number to our Do Not Email, Do Not Mall and
Do Not Call lists. This will serve to remove her information from future
marketing initiatives by the Company.
In an effort to appropriately research the unsubscribe issue she described in
her complaint, we will need to review an example of one of the emails she has
received. She m.ay submit this information directly to the Company or to the
Better Business Bureau of San Diego. ·
We consider privacy our utmost concern, and we are committed to maintaining
the security and privacy of all personal information and sensitive data
entrusted to us.
Please find attached our response to Ms. *******. We hope the information
provided will allay any privacy concerns she may have regarding this matter.
If you should have further questions, please feel free to contact me directly if I
may be of assistance.
Sincerely,
***** *******
Consumer Affairs Analyst

This letter is in response to your Better Business Bureau of San Diego Complaint
submitted on May 16, 2013 regarding email solicitations you. have received by AIG Life
& Retirement Company, AIG Direct. You indicated in your complaint that you have
been unable to successfully unsubscribe from AIG Direct email solicitations, and you
continue to receive unwanted email marketing from the Company. You requested the
immediate removal of your information from AIG Direct email marketing.
AIG Direct is committed to honoring the contact preference choices of our current and
poten·tial customers. In order to comply with your request, we have added your name,
email address, physical address, and telephone number to our Do Not Email. Do Not
Mail and Do Not Callli.sts. This will serve to remove your information from future
marketing initiatives by the Company.
In an effort to appropriately research the unsubscribe issue you described in your
complaint, we will need to review an example of one of the em ails you have received. If
you feel more comfortable providing this information directly to the Better Business
Bureau of San Diego, please feel free to do so.
On behalf of AIG Direct, we sincerely apologize for any undue concern or inconvenience
this matter may have caused you. We consider your priva_cy our utmost concern, and
we are committed to mainta_ining the security and privacy of all personal infonnanon
and sensitive data entrusted to us. ·
We hoPe the information provided will allay any privacy concerns you may have
regard-i•Jg this matter. However, if you should have further questions, please feel free
to conta_ct me directly if I may be of assistance.
I trust this information is satisfactory. Should you have any additional questions, I can
be contacted at (800) 528·2011, extension ***** or fax (217} 541-7900.
Sincerely,
. . dlvrd~~oJ'
***** *******
Consumer Affa_iJ:l$ Analyst

6/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been receiving spam emails from Matrix Direct Inc advertising AIG Direct insurance. I have no idea how they got my email address but I can only assume illegally, since I did not authorize anyone to allow 3rd party solicitations. The address on the email was inspanned.****************@*************************.*******.infoWhich to me looks like a random generated address which has little direct connection to Matrix Direct (on purpose?)The whole thing smells of fraud or, at the least, questionable business practices. They need to stop sending unsolicited emails to ANYONE.

Desired Settlement: Direct Matrix should stop sending unsolicited email to ANYONE.

Business Response:

This is in response to your May 29, 2013 correspondence adckessed to Matt·ix Direct
regarding a coniplaint received by ****** ******. Matrix Di1·ect has refmTed tlus
matter to the A1t1ed.can General Life Insru·ance Company for review a11.d :response.
Mr. ****** states that he is receiving e1nails from Matrix Direct. He states that he is
not sure how Matrix Direct received his email address and that he did not authorize
third party solicitations. Mr. ****** is requesting that Matrix Direct cease the
unsolicited enm.iis.
Enclosed for your review is a copy of the Companyj s letter to Mr. ****** regardi.ng
his concerns. The .1ut~e 6, 2013 letter explains that the Company has add~d his ·
name, email address, physical addres8 an.d telephone uumbe1· to the Do Not Call, Do
Not Email a:nd Do Not Mail lists. Mr. ****** should. no longer receive
correspondence fwm the Company.
lf you have any questions, please contact nle at 1-800-528-2011, extension *****,
or by fax at 217-541-7900.
***** *******
Consumer Affairs Analyst
Enclosure

Dear Mr. ******:

This letter is in response to your Better Business Bureau of San Diego Complaint
subm_itted on May 14, 2013 regarding email solicitations you have received by AIG
Life & Rciirement Company, AIG Direct. You indicated in yorn: complaint that you
are unaware of how your infon:nation was obtained, and you requested the
i1ntnediate removal of your information from AIG Direct email marketing_
AlG Direct is comnritted to honoring the contact preference choices of our current
and potential customers. In order to comply with youJ request, we have added your
name, email address, physical address, and telephone number to our Do Not Email,
Do Not Mail and Do Not Call lists. This will serve to remove your infon:na:tion
ftom future marketing initiatives by the Colnpany.
In an effort to appropriately research and pinpoint the consent to receive these
messages, we will need to review an example of m1 email from. AlG Direct that you
have received_ lf you feel more comfortable providing this infonuation directly to
the Better Business Bttreau of San Diego, please feel free to do so.
On behalf of AIG Direct, we sincerely apologize foJ- any undue concern or
inconvenience this matter may have caused you. We consider yottr privacy our
utmost concem., and we are committed to maintaining the security and privacy of all
personal information and sensitive data entrusted to us.
We hope the information provided here will allay any privacy concerns you may
have regarding this matter. However, if you should have further questions, please
feel free to contact me directly if I ma.y be of assistance.
Sincerely,

***** *******

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misrepresentation in solicitation. After submitting information to AIG direct, Matrix Direct contacts you and misrepresents that American General Life Insurance Company has the best rates. Immediately you are pressed to set up the medical exam. When I asked what the variables the medical exam would test, if genetic testing was done, if I would obtain a copy of the test results and who the information would be shared with, I was told by the representative "****** *****" (probably an alias) that he would no longer help me. This was a fraudulent sales attempt to collect personal data on myself by what I thought was a reputable company.

Desired Settlement: A letter from the company that my personal records have been deleted from their databases and reimbursement for my time in the amount of $250.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *****:
This is in reference to your May 24, 2013 con-espondence addressed to Matrix
Direct regarding a complaint fi.led by ***** *******. Matrix Direct has ,cferred
Mr. *******'s cQlice:ros to the American General Life Insurance Company for
review and response. _,.
Mr. ******* 5tates that he submitted infonnation to AIG Direct (Mao:ix Diroct)
regarding insurance coverage. Be feels that the Matrix Direct Representative
pressured him into setting up a medical exam.. Mr. ******* also states that when he
inquixed about the medical exam and who the info11nation would be shared with, the
Matrix Direct Representative informed him that he could no longer assist Mr.
*******. He is requesting a lettex fro111 the Company statiug that his personal
infonuation has been destroyed. He is also seeking reimbursement i.n the amount of
$250.00 for the tinJ.e he has spent on this matter.
Enclosed for yow: review is a copy of ow; June 6, 2013 letter to Mr. ********
addressing his .concerns. The June 6th letter explains that the Company contacted
Matrix Ditect for additional infonnation, including recorded telephone calls. The
May 1 Ou' call between Mr. ******** and the ~rv:Iatrix Direct Representative was
reviewed. During the M~y 1Oth call the repre~entative provided a tentative premium
quote for a 10 year temlpolicy with a $1,00~,000 face amotttlt; however, the
representative explained that an application would need to be completed. Mr.
******** proceeded to inquire about the medical exam and the representative
auswered Mr. ********** qnestions to the be,st oflJ.i.s ability. Unfortunately, the May
lOth call becl!J.ue unproductive and the Matri~ Direct Representative was no longer
able to assist Jvlr. *******.
The May 1Oth letter also states tl1at Amerioatl: General Life Insurance Company is
~o1~itt~d to_ protecting om cus~omers' and~~te~1t~~ ,.c11;s~omers' :information and
hmlt:ing 1ts disclosure::. We rest1'1ct access toP,t.he·ndonnat1on we:collect to ·

employees, representatives and agents who have been properly trained to handle
nonpublic personal information.
:M:r. *****, in my review of the May lOth call there was no fraudulent sales attempt
from the MatrL"'{ Direct Representative. Mr. *******'s request for reimbursement of
$250.00 for the time he $pent on this matter.is unwarranted.
If you have any questions, please contact me at 1~800-528-2011, **************,
or by fax at 217~541-7900.
Sincerely,
11;Juo___ a~
****** *******
Cousmner Affairs Analyst
Enclosure
~
RE: Matrix Direct
Dear Mr. *******:
This is in response to a lette1· dated May 24, 2013 from the Better Business :Bureau
of San Diego regarding your concerns with Matrix Direct: Matrix Direct referred
your concerns to the American General Life lnsurance Company for review and
response.
Mr. ********, you state that you submitted information to AJG Direct (Matrix
Direct) regarding :i11Surauce coverage. You feel that the: Matrix Direct
Representative pressured you into setting up a medical exam. You state that when
you inquired about the medical exam and who the infonnation would be shared
with, the Matrix Direct Representative info:oued you that they could i1o longer assist
you. You a1-e 1·equesting a letter from the Company stating that your personal·
infottnation has been destroyed and reimbursement in the amount of $250.00 for the
time you have spent regarding this matter.
As part of the investigation, Mau:1"'i: Direct was contacted for additional infonuation
including recorded telephone calls. l have listened to the May 10, 2013 telephone
call between you and the Matrix Direct Representative. Based on the infonnation
that you provided, the representative quoted you a tentativl;) premium rate for a 10
year term life insurance policy with a face atl}Ount of $1,000,000; however, the
representative explained that an application W:ould need to be completed. You
proceeded to inquire about the medical exam:, The representative answered your
questions to the best ofh.is ability; however, the telephone call became unproductive
. and the representative vvas no longer able to assist. you.
An1erican General Life In$urance Company if; conuuitted to protecting our
customers' and potential customers' iofonna~ion and limiting its disclosure. We
restrict access to th~;~ irlfonnation we collect to employees, representatives and agents
who have been properly trained to handle no~public personal information.
Mr. *******, in my review of the May 1Oth ~1 there was no. fraudulent sales
. attempt from tl1e Matrix Direct Representati~re~ Your.request forreimbursernent m
the amount of $250.00 is unwarranted. .. · . ·
. . -· .. . :. . .. -~- ·' . ·, .·.. . ....
·-· {iJ.m(;!ricim General Lik lr;sm·til:'~·(;! Company} A'Member oftte A1nerican Imematioili!l Group
·.
If you have any questions, please contact me at 1-800-528~20 II, e..'ttension *****,
or by fax at 217-541-7900. ·
Sincerely,
n~a~
***** *******
Consumer Affair~ Analyst

6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: -------- Begin forwarded message --------Subject: RE: Important Information about your Term Life Insurance ApplicationDate: 5/4/13 9:13:16 AMFrom: "***** ******" To: ***.******@matrixdirect.com Dear *** - I had a scheduled examination for today @ 8:00 a.m. which was confirmed yesterday afternoon. It's now 9:00 a.m. on Saturday and I didn't receive a call that the examiner was going to be late, etc. I took time off from work to get this examination completed and I'm also concerned about the timing issue we discussed. In addtion, my original appointment was scheduled for April 27th @ 7:00 am which was rescheduled by the company due to the fact that it was overbooked and subsequently it was rescheduled for today. I tried several times to connect with a representative this morning at Matrix Direct to no avail. Quite honestly I am very disappointed about this situation and poor customer service experience. Sincerely yours, ***** ****** 6*********** *****, Thank you again for contacting us for your life insurance protection needs. I hope you have scheduled your medical exam. Please remember that the examiner will bring your application to you for your review and signature. If you have any questions, please call me directly at (800) 303-9947 from 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. , Pacific time, Monday through Friday. The medical examiner will bring your application at the time of your medical exam. If you don't currently have an exam scheduled, please call me now. The United States Life Insurance Company in the City of New York cannot begin to underwrite your application until an exam is completed. If you've already completed your exam and turned in your life insurance application packet to the medical examiner, please disregard this notice. You should be hearing from me regarding a status update on your application. Thank you! Regards, *** ******

Desired Settlement: Call me to discuss.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *****:
This is in response to a complaint teceived by Matrix Direct on May 8,
2013, referred to the American Gene1·al Life Insurance Company on the
same day. The purpose of this conespondence is to address the
concerns on ***** ****** regatding the above referenced policy.
Mr. ****** explains that his examination was originally scheduled for
April 27, 2013; however, the Company re·scheduled the examination for
May 4, 2013 at 8:00am. Mr. ****** further explained that he took off
work for the medical exam and the examiner did not call or provide
notice of a delay in the medical exam scheduled for 8:00 am on May 4,
2013.
Records reflect that on Aptil17, 2013, Mr. ****** verbally completed an
application for term insurance and also scheduled his medical exam for
April 27, 2013 with Clinical Reference Laboratory. Due to unforeseen
circumstances, the medical exam with Clinical Referenced Laboratory
was re-scheduled fo1· May 4, 2013@ 8:00am.
Mr. ****** explains that the medical examiner arrived late for the
examination and he did not immediately receive a telephone call
explaining the delayed arrival. Mr. ****** should be assured that is it
Company's intent that the examiners arrive at each medical examination
at the appointed scheduled time. The Company's finds that the examiner
did contacted Mr. ****** and the exa1nination was re-scheduled and
completed on May 4, 2013. On behalf of the Company, I apologize that
the examiner was late arriving to Mr. ******** examination and that he
did not immediately 1·eceive a telephone call with an updated arrival
time.
On May 4, 2013, ***** ****** completed his medical examination with
Clinical Reference Laboratory. Mr. ****** also signed the application
for term insurance a11d his applicatimi was submitted to our
underwriting department for review and consideration.
After review of the tem insurance application, the Company was unable
to offer Mr. ****** term insm·ance covel·age. On May 16, 2013,
correspondence was sent to Mr. ****** advising him of the Company's
decision.
On behalf of the American General Life Insurance Company, I apologize
for the inconvenience that Mr. ****** may have experienced. If you or
Mr. ****** should have any additional questions or concerns, please feel
free to contact me at 800"247-8837 extension, *******.
******* *** ** *****
Analyst, Consumer Affairs
Compliance Department
American General Life Insurance

4/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AIG Direct floods my email with promotions. I have repeatedly clicked the "Unsubscribe" button and yet I receive multiple spam emails a day. Today I received three, at 12:22 pm, 12:23 pm, and 12:25 pm. I do not want these unsolicited emails.

Desired Settlement: Remove my email forever and never contact me again

Business Response:

Aprn 18, 2013
Mr. ******* ********
*** ***** ******* ** ***** ***** **** ***** ** *****
RE: Email Suppression Request
BBB of San Diego- Complaint ID # *******
Dear Mr. ********:
This letter is in response to your BBB Complaint submitted on April 12,
2013 regarding email solicitations you have received by AIG Life &
Retirement Company, AIG Direct. You indicated in your complaint that
although you clicked the unsubscribe button, you continue to receive
unwanted emails from AIG Direct.
AIG Life & Retirement Companies are committed to honoring our potential
and current customer's contact preferences. Per your l"equest, your
information has been added to the company Do Not Email, Do Not Mail and
Do Not Call lists. Please allow 10 business days for this to become effective.
This will setve to remove your contact data from future marketing messages
initiated by the company. This election will remain effective unless you tell
us to change it.
We trust the information provided here will prove responsive to your
request and concerns. Please feel free to contact me directly if I may be of
assistance.
Sincerely,

***** ******** *****, CIPP /US, ALMII ACS
Compliance Associate
AIG Life & Retirement

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ********

3/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I PURCHASED TWO LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES FROM ONE OF MATRIX DIRECT AGENTS AND WITHIN A HOUR OF BUYING THE POLICIES I CHANGED MY MIND .I GOOGLED THE INSURANCE COMPANY THE THE POLICIES WERE WRITTEN ON AND DISCOVERED THAT THESE POLICIES WERE NOT THE KIND OF POLICIES I NEEDED .SO I FIRST TRYED calling the agent at the number he providing in case i had any problems or concerns about the policies,but i didnt get an answer when i called .so i emailed the agent but i received a email back saying my email was not received.that raised some alarm bells in my head so i resent the emaIL .THIS TIME THE EMAIL CAME BACK SCRAMBLED . SO I CALLED MATRIX AGAIN GOT ANOTHER AGENT ON THE PHONE EXPLAINED TO THIS AGENT THAT I WANTED TO CANCEL THE POLICIES AFTER GOING BACK AND FORTH WITH HIM TRYING TO CHANGE MYMIND I FINALLY CONVINCED HIM THAT I DIDNT WANT THE POLICIES HE SAID OK THE POLICIES WOULD BE CANCELED.I THOUGHT THAT WAS THE END OF IT THEN THE ORIGINAL AGENT CALLS ME BACK SAYING I HAVE TO CALL AMERICAN GENERAL AFTER THE OTHER AGENT HAD ALREADY TOLD ME THE POLICIES WERE CANCELED .AFTER HANGING UP AND TALKING WITH A FRIEND WHO IS IN INSURANCE SALES I WAS INFORMED THAT WITHIN MY GRACE PERIOD ALL I HAD TO DO WAS CALL THE AGENT AND INFORM HIM THAT I DIDNT WANT THE POLICIES AND TELL HIM NOT TO DEBIT MY ACCOUNT BUT WOULDNT YOU KNOW IT I CALLED HIM BACK AND HE WAS NOT ANSWERING HIS PHONE AGAIN PLEASE IF YOU COULD TELL ME HOW TO STOP THIS COMPANY FROM DEBITING MY ACCOUNT I WOULD REALLY APPRECIATE IT. I HAVE ALREADY NOTIFIED MY BANK AND WAS TOLD TO CONTACT THE AGENT, AND THAT SHOULD BE THE END OF IT ,BUT AFTER ALL THE DRAMA I HAVE BEEN THROUGH WITH THIS AGENT I AM NOT SO SURE.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE FOR MATRIX DIRECT OR THEIR INSURANCE AGENCY AMERICAN GENERAL NOT TO DEBIT MY ACCOUNT AND NOT TO CONTACT ME FURTHER, AND TO CANCEL THE POLICY AS REQUESTED.

Business Response:

This is in response to your March 5, 2013 correspondence regarding a complaint filed by *** ****** on
the above referenced policies.
Ms. ****** states that she purchased accident coverage for her and ******* ******_ She explains that
she spoke with another Matrix Direct Representative the same day who informed her that the policies
would be cancelled. Ms. ****** also explains that this Matrix Direct Representative who sold her the
policies contacted her later that day and instructed her to contact American General Life Insurance- .
Company to cancel the policies. Ms. ****** is requesting cancellation of both policies and no premiums
drafted from her bank account.
Policy ********** was issued as an Accident Care Direct Plus plan insuring the life of *** *******
effective March 4, 2013. Premiums in the amount of $177.00 were to be electronically debited from Ms.
******'s bank account on an annual basis.
Policy ********** was issued as an Accident Care Direct Plus plan insuring the life of ******* ******
effective March 4, 2013. Premiums in the amount of $177.00 were to be electronically debited from Mr.
******'s bank account on an annual basis.
As part of the investigation additional information including recorded telephone calls were obtained from
Matrix Direct. On March 4, 2013, Ms. ****** and Mr. ****** did provide verbal authorization to issue
the accident coverage and debit the electronic debits from their bank account. Ms. ****** contacted
Matrix Direct the same day and spoke with another representative, she requested to cancel both policies.
The Matrix Direct Representative informed Ms. ****** that American General Life Insurance Company
would be notified of her cancellation request. The representative who sold the accident coverage
contacted Ms. ****** regarding her cancellation request and instructed her to contact American General
Life Insurance Company.
Our records indicate that on March 5, 2013 Matrix Direct notified American General Life Insurance
Company of Ms. ******'s request to cancel policies ********** and **********. Both policies were
cancelled and on March 6, 2013 a letter was sent to Ms. ****** and Mr. ****** confirming the
cancellation and that no coverage is in effect. In addition, our records indicate that no premiums have
been received for both policies.
Mr. Jones, the Company and our producers strive to provide exceptional service to our customers. On
behalf of the Company, l apologize for the miscommunication between Matrix Direct and Ms. ******.
If you have any questions, please contact me at 1-800-528-2011, extension *****, or by fax at 217-541-
7900.

***** *******
Consumer Affairs Analyst

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** ****** 

1/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had requested a life insurance quote and later requested via email that I not be contacted because I no longer required a quote. I then sent a second email requesting not to be contacted and a Mr. ******* ******** from this company has repeatedly emailed and called my cell phone since then.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to stop calling and emailing me.

Business Response:

This is in response to your January 15, 2013 letter regarding a complaint filed by ***** ******** against Matrix
Direct. Matrix Direct has referred Mr. ********'s concerns to American General Life Insurance Company for
review and response.
Mr. ******** states that he contacted Matrix Direct. and requested quotes for life insurance. When Mr. ********
discovered that most policies will not cover a contractor working in Afghanistan, he informed the Matrix Direct
Representative that he was no longer interested in a life insurance quote_ Mr. ******** indicates that he continued
to receive emails and telephone calls from the Matrix Direct Representative. Mr. ******** is requesting the Matrix Direct stop contacting him.
As part of the investigation, additional information,including recorded telephone calls was obtained from Matrix
Direct. Matrix Direct indicates that on January 9, 2013, Mr. ******** sent an email to the representative stating that
he no longer required a quote for life insurance. In review of the recorded telephone calls provided, the Matrix
Direct Representative did try to contact him on January 9th, 10th, 11th and 15th via the telephone; however, the
representative was not able to speak directly with Mr. ********. The calls were directed to Mr. ********'s
voicemail, the representative did not leave any messages. On January 14,2013, Mr. ******** sent the Matrix
Direct Representative a second email stating that he was not interested in life insurance quotes and requested that the
representative stop contacting him.
Mr. *****, I apologize that Matrix Direct continued to contact Mr. ******** after he requested no further contact. A
representative from Matrix Direct indicated that Mr. ******** has bee:u placed on their Do Not Call and Do Not
Email list.
If you have any questions, please contact me at 1-800-528-2011, extension *****, or by fax at 217-541-7900.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Consumer Affairs Analyst

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

In reference to complaint ID *******, the problem has been resolved. I canceled my cell phone number that the company was calling and they no longer email me. This complaint can be marked resolved.

***** ********

12/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Novermber 13,2012 I spoke with ******** ***** about enrolling myself and my husband in life insurance, that day I enrolled only to find out the next day that my husbands hours had been cut at work, I immediately emailed her and told her I would like to hold the policy until The first of 2013 and that we would discuss pciking it back up then, I explained that I could not financially afford this now, she emailed me back and told me that would be no problem and that we would talk after the first of the year, I have all the emails confirming my cancellation. On November 27 my bank account was severely overdrafted due to two charges of 54$ from AG Direct insurance and also both included a 30$ overdraft charge because the money was not their for that amount since it was not expected, also a small check I had wrote bounced because this had put my account in the negative. I contacted ******** frantic begging for help because I had no money left and my account negative would surely grow if the money wasnt returned asap, she appologized and admitted it was all their fault but that they would probably have to mail a check, I begged and pleaded to push the issue because I was in no financial standng to wait weeks for my money and that I had to get my account back in the positive because I had another check out that would be coming in soon which would put my account furthur into the hole and another 30$ fee on top of that, she said they will try but I see no reason why if they can try to deduct money that they were not authorized to they should make it right ASAP. Please help me I am in a mess and feel like I have been robbed of what little money I had left.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back for the policy that I had cancelled and the fees that I have incurred because they withdrew my account unauthorized and caused other payments to bounce that would have never bounced because of this.They Charged me 54.69 two times and that lead to 2 separate 30$ return fees and another check bounced because that money was taken which includes another 30$. So $90 in fees and 109.38$ in policy deductions

Business Response:

This letter is In response to your November 27, 3012 correspondence addressed to
Matrix Direct referred to the Consumer Affairs Department on December 3, 2012
regarding ***** ********* concerns pertaining to the above policies .
.Ms. ******* states that she contacted Matrix Direct the day after agreeing to purchase
policies ********** and ********** and was Informed that they would cancel the
policies. However, she later found out that the policies were not cancelled and the
Company drafted her bank account for the initial premium payments. Ms. ******* is
requesting that the policies be cancelled and the premiums payments refunded. She
also indicated that she incLirred overdraft charges.
Policies ********** and ********** were issued as AccidentCare Direct policies
with a benefit amount of $500,000 each, effective November 15, 2012. Premiums were
being paid monthly by the automatic bank draft arrangement in the amount of $54.69
each. Company records reflect that both policies have been cancelled and are no longer
providing any benefits. A refund check in the amount of$ 54.69. was mailed to Mr.
******* on November 27, 2012 and a refund check in the amount of $54.69 was mailed
to Ms. ******* on November 28, 2012. Enclosed are copies of the refund checks.
As part of my investigation, I contacted Matrix Direct regarding this matter. Their notes
indicated that Ms. ******* contacted their office on November 14, 2012 requesting the
cancellation of policies ********** and **********,

However, Company records reflect that Matrix Direct did not contact our Company until
November 26, 2012 to request that the bank draft arrangement be discontinued and the
policies cancelled. Also, the draft date for both policies was the 25th of each month,
therefore, the Company had already drafted the insureds bank account by the time we
received the request to discontinue the bank draft arrangement and to cancel the
policies.
On behalf of the Company, I do apologize for any inconvenience this matter may have
caused the Deatleys'. If they will provide me with a copy of their bank statement that
reflects the overdraft charges, we will review the bank statement for possible
reimbursement.
If you have any additional questions, I can be reached at 1/800~********, extension
*****.

Sincerely,

Ms. **** ** ******, ACS