Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Garnett-Powers & Associates Insurance Services Inc

Phone: (949) 583-2925 Fax: (949) 583-2929 View Additional Phone Numbers 23361 Madero #240, Mission Viejo, CA 92691 http://www.garnett-powers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers health insurance services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Garnett-Powers & Associates Insurance Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Garnett-Powers & Associates Insurance Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Garnett-Powers & Associates Insurance Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 08/19/1999 in CA Business incorporated 02/26/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division, 300 South Spring Street, Los Angeles CA 90013
http://www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: 800-927-4357
Fax Number: 213-897-5961
The number is 0G11917.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Joan Garnett, Executive Vice President Mr. Tom Garnett, President Mr. Steve Johnson, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Joan Garnett, Executive Vice President
Principal: Mr. Tom Garnett, President
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Insurance - Health Hospitalization, Medical & Surgical Plans Insurance Companies

Alternate Business Names
Garnett-Powers & Associates

Additional Locations

  • 23361 Madero #240

    Mission Viejo, CA 92691 (949) 583-2925 (877) 559-9922

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, sir/madam,In fact, this may not considered a complaint. I just need to consult to you about something in buying health insurance in the United States .I'm a visiting scholar at **** university, beginning on October 1st, 2013 to September 30st the next year, living here with my 11 month old baby . Once reached the United States, I purchased health insurance for my baby and me in garnett-power company. I started to buy it about two months(from 10/1-11/31), and after the time is end, then on December 3, 2013 I bought the winter quarter again(12/1/2013-2/28/2014). But through counseling with others, I'v learned, the school does not limit my baby to purchase insurance in this company, and in fact , because my baby was born in U.S., so she can choose other insurance affordable. Then from December 6, 2013, I began to phone to my insurance company, wanting them to cancell my baby's insurance in this quarter, from the beginning of December 2013, or let me choose the other insurance plan in their company. But the replie is that once the money received , the policy will not be changed and can not retreat, all I can do, is only keep it and wait for the end of this quarter, then make further changes.I'm not so familiar with the insurance policy in America. Currently I know the information is :This insurance, the only one that visiting scholar could chosen which is recommended by the school, the premium is very expensive, especially for non-american families, and there is no other choice.In our country, there are 10 days period to go back after the purchase of the insurance, that is no reason for a refund. If you have another choice, or other situations cause you do not want to buy this coverage, the insurance company can be required for a full refund. I do not know whether this could/or not work in this country, but I think it is reasonable.My husband said that this company discriminate against foreigners, so deliberately made so unreasonable demands. I also think the purchase of goods have some time to make a replacement or get a refund, why it is not in insurance area? The interpretation of this insurance company is also make me feel angry, never said the money handed the other hand is the other side of the money, just someone like robber will do so, taking over other people's things, whether others like it or not, and never return back.I think in the United States, the country of freedom and democracy, it should be trading under more reasonable rules. I want my baby to live in a country that material and spiritual are highly developed, I also believe it is.Thank you for your attention.

Desired Settlement: If possible, I'd like to get the refund of my baby's insurance.or change it into my next premium, not my baby's, the rest(above) could be refund.or at least to cancell from Jan 1st,2014 to Feb 28st,2014

Business Response:

We are the brokers for **** University for the visiting scholar insurance plan. We do all the administrative work such as enrollments, terminations and collect premiums for this plan for the University. Our website address for this university is http://www.garnett-powers.com/****/vs. The insured ** ***, enrolled in this plan with her child with an effective date of 10/1/2013. On our website at http://www.garnett-powers.com/****/vs/medical.htm it clearly states that there is no refunds provided please see verbiage below:

 

Premium will only be refunded for ineligibility or entry into the Armed Forces and not for any other purpose.

 

This is also stated on the enrollment form which the insured completed under Terms and Conditions, please see attached enrollment form with highlighted area.

 

The insured ** *** was sent an invoice to pay for the winter quarter on Mon 11/11/2013 12:53 PM which stipulates the months premium is being paid for, copy for your records is attached. The insured paid the invoice on 12/3/2013. She emailed me on 12/9/13 after enrollment was process for winter quarter that she no longer wants to have insurance for her child as she is a US citizen. The university requires that all Visiting Scholars and dependents have coverage to participate in their Visiting Scholar plan. See verbiage below also on websitehttp://www.garnett-powers.com/****/vs  :

 

If you are an international Visiting Scholar with your own coverage, that coverage must also meet these standards that meet or exceed the J-1 Visa requirements, as well as provide this same coverage to your eligible dependents.

 

Both the university and I explained to ** *** that this is the policy and no refunds will be given but she can terminate her daughter after the quarter has ended on 2/28/14 but her child will be uninsured and not meeting requirements. We also received a phone call from the department of insurance in North Carolina and I spoke to the agent and explained what I explained to you and showed him the website and he agreed with the insured ** *** on the line as well that it is clearly stated about refunds and there is no case.

 

Please let me know if you need anything further from me to resolve this issue.

 

Sincerely,

****** *********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

** ***