Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers insurance services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Western Mutual Insurance Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Western Mutual Insurance Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 03/07/1942 in CA Business incorporated 03/07/1942 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Joe Crail III, CEO Mr. Joe Crail IV, Senior Vice President Mr. John Shen, Assistant Vice President of Sales
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Catherine Crail
Number of Employees


Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Homeowners Insurance Agents

Alternate Business Names
Western Mutual Insurance Company

Additional Locations

  • 2172 Dupont Dr #220

    Irvine, CA 92612 (800) 927-2142 (949) 724-9402

  • PO Box 19626

    Irvine, CA 92623


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2016 Delivery Issues
10/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a claim with my homeowners insurance - a valid claim that has been denied after speculation, accusations and pure manipulation from Western Mutual Insurance Company. I had a water leak INSIDE the walls of my home. The water leak has cause damage to walls, damage to interior of shower and carpeting. Mold has also been found and ignored, my tenants have had to move out in order to prevent a health risk. Western Mutual claim adjuster **** *********** and supervisor ***** have manipulated the results in order to DENY my claim. This company is a rip off to consumers and needs to be stopped.

Desired Settlement: I seek justice, I seek integrity from an insurance company, I seek repairs to my home that has been insured for this purpose. I seek public notice of fraudulent activities being conducted by Western Mutual Insurance at Irvine.

Business Response:

We are very sorry that our customer is upset by the denial of her claim.  However, her allegation that we have manipulated the results of the investigation to deny the claim is untrue.  Three separate companies inspected her rental property and all independently determined that the damage was caused by constant or repeated seepage from within a plumbing system.   All opined that the leak in the shower valve that caused the damage has been occurring for at least 3 months, every time the shower was used.

When we spoke to the customer to discuss the findings after the inspections, she advised us that one of her relatives rents the home and she admitted that she had not observed the condition of the bathroom for some time. We informed her that based on our review of the photos and the reports that there was no coverage for this loss. We attempted to explain the reasons for the denial of the claim to her, however she ended the call.

Despite the fact that coverage did not exist for this loss, we paid Water, Smoke & Mold Restoration $908.39 for the emergency services they performed.

Again, we are sorry that we could not find coverage for this loss despite three separate inspections.  However, we must apply the policy language fairly and there is no coverage for constant or repeated seepage or leakage of water or steam over a period of time from within a plumbing system.

4/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company works exclusively with ****** ************ on most of their insurance claims. As results, it appears they help each other to cut corners and being dishonest for legitimate claims. I really believe the claim adjuster gets paid to refer this ************ company over and over. They send me back to my house 44 days after water damaged my entire 1st floor. They refused to pay for "Mortgage Protection" because according to them, I was short only by one day to be eligible. They clearly planned that in advance. They rushed to take us back home to avoid the payment. The house after 2 months is not still complete and ****** ************ performed very sloppy job and still dragging their feed. Western Mutual set me up with the aids of their "Preferred" ************ company not to pay for many eligible claims. If not resolved, I'll take them to court to pay for their wrong doing.

Desired Settlement: Need them to reimburse us for "Mortgage Protection" without playing and further game and for the food cost and all additional cost of living that was refused by their claim adjuster.

Business Response: While ****** ************ is one of our preferred vendors, it is not accurate that we work “exclusively” with them. The customer alleges that we rushed the repairs to avoid paying the Mortgage Protection coverage, which does not begin until the home has been uninhabitable due to a covered loss for more than 45 days. We note that the customer signed a Completion and Satisfaction Notice on 1/27/2016, approximately six weeks after the loss occurred, stating that the repairs were satisfactory. There was no effort to avoid paying Mortgage Protection, rather, it is always our goal to assist our insureds in getting back into their homes as soon as reasonably possible. To date, we have paid over $63,000 for this claim. After the Notice was signed, the customer began making a variety of accusations against the contractor. We have requested a reinspection so that we can investigate the customer’s concerns about the water damage repairs done in his home. The customer was unable to meet on the initially scheduled date of 3/11/2016, and has not responded to our request to advise us of a future date when he is available. We are unable to proceed with investigation of the alleged improper repairs unless and until the customer allows us to reinspect the property. The Mortgage Protection coverage does not apply because the customer’s home was habitable within 45 days. As far as food cost and “all additional cost of living that was refused,” we are confused by this statement. The food he is referring to was left in the refrigerator by the customer, and eventually went bad; this is not covered by insurance. Further, we paid over $16,000 for the 44 days that the customer was unable to occupy the home while repairs were being completed, which would seem more than sufficient to cover any reasonable additional living expenses the customer incurred. We will be happy to review any additional information the customer chooses to provide, but we need him to allow us to reinspect his property if he wants us to consider any additional funds for the repairs.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below: I have been so frustrated with the fact that Western Mutual(WM) discounting days that we stayed out of our house to get their "preferred" contracting company (****** ************) to restore ALL issues (not partial) caused during the water damage back to normal. As they have been notified in my previous communications, ****** ************ has NOT completed their task since Western Mutual keep them busy with new claims. Western Mutual is solely responsible for not getting our house back on time and you still counting 44 days!!! We are asking WM to fully reimburse us for as minimum of 45 days+ since they rushed us back to the house that was uninhabitable. They have intentionally kept us out of our house up to 44 nights to avoid reimbursing for the mortgage payments and I can easily prove that in the court of law. I have taken several pictures showing major unresolved issues. As an example, they left live wires that were previously connected to the doorbell uncapped behind the wall and patch and paint! And several more issues up to this date. They still have not sent an electrician to fix the electrical disconnection to the doorbell. By the way, WM claimed that we were satisfied with the condition of the house upon our arrival is completely baseless! ******’s crews were working up until 7:30 pm on 1/29/16. I was told just last week by *** (employee of ****** ************) that he advised Pat that the place is still so filthy dusty, but Pat insisted that they need to leave the job site ASAP!!! WM surely covered up by hand to hand with Baily ************ to show that the house was ready less than 45 days. They were supposed to mop and polish the floor (based on Signal Restoration Services) in which they failed to do prior to their departure. Furthermore, we never had a meaningful opportunity to fully inspect our property before crew left the premises! So, the Completion and Satisfaction Notice that was forced to us to sign is NULL since the job site remains incomplete as of today 3/29/16. In regards to food and additional cost of living while our home was uninhabitable, all receipts have been submitted for the second time to WM on Feb. 21, 2016. Every purchased item besides food is legitimate item and it was necessary for us to be able to continue living while we lived at the hotel. If you ever looked at item # 129, page 19 of Signal Restoration Services report calls for removal and reset of refrigerator. This was done and power remained disconnected for the entire day! Additionally I have taken picture of our refrigerator showing power was unplugged and the freezer in the garage was completely blocked by items that were moved from inside to the garage area while their contractors worked on the job site. There was absolutely no way for us to rescue food! Per WM letter dated February 24, 2016, clearly Pat Taylor expressed a false statement with the refrigerator was not unplugged! PICTURES DON’T LIE BUT PAT TAYLOR WHICH WAS BARLEY AT THE JOB SITE DID! WM is welcome to inspect the property at ANYTIME. They have my phone number, e-mail and the property address. They claimed that we weren’t available to inspect the property. The reason for that particular meeting was for the personal property rather than property inspection in which we decided to let it go to have no additional headache! WM never ever bothered to return my calls and avoid talking to me directly ever since we moved back. As a matter of fact, ever since this person advised BBB someone will contact me – nothing has happened. One lie after another to keep their records clear with the BBB. Again, the accident was too huge and unexpected to comprehend for us while our home was submerged with water. WM doesn't practice a meaningful opportunity with their policy holders (like us) fully to read and understand their micro footprints with terms and conditions before even we have a chance to hire our own contractor nor discover additional issues that where lingering by their “Preferred” contractor!!! Additionally, their Yelp reviews say it all! As a result of that, we can settle the issue in one of these two ways: 1) To sue WM and/or ****** ************ for all the money due to us which is not limited to the additional cost of living, unpaid mortgage payments, time and tremendous stress they left behind with my family, attorney and court fees, report your unfair practice for hiring a "Preferred" ************ company that cut the corners and try to work a deal with them under the table to earn their business. I wonder, how many of the last 10 claims were handled by ****** ************? Additionally, report WM practice to Dept. of Insurance, report ****** ************ to Dept. of Contractors, leave negative reviews all over websites and continue with our ongoing complaint with BBB. This is for the principal reasons and if had had tried to speak and understand victim like us, we wouldn't take it to this level. 2) Try to open the communication lines and listen to our demands by fully reimbursing us for the above damages. As a piece of advice to WM, save money by communicating with us. It will cost them substantially more time and money in the court! THE CHOICE IS theirs! Regards, Mehdi Moghaddam

Business Response:

We are sorry that the customer finds our continuing offers to reinspect his property and address any remaining concerns to be an unsatisfactory resolution to his complaint.  We note that the items the customer mentioned, such as a non-functioning doorbell, do not render the home uninhabitable.  Further, we were advised by the contractor that in addition to not being paid the insured’s deductible, they also completed additional non-claim related items at the customer’s request for which they were not paid.  These items included installing a new garbage disposal, having the master bathroom toilet snaked, and performing additional painting and other work throughout the customer’s home.

As we have previously advised, if the customer remains unsatisfied with the contractor’s work and/or believes additional monies are owed, we will be happy to review and consider these items.  However, we can only do so if the customer allows us to reinspect the property.  The customer advises that we can inspect “at any time” and that we have his address and contact information.  That is correct, and we have directed two letters - in addition to our original response to the BBB complaint - asking the customer to contact us to set an appointment so that we can be certain someone will be at the property to let us in and to show us the items of concern, but he has not responded to our requests.  We remain willing to work with the customer to address his remaining concerns, but we need him to cooperate with our requests to reinspect his property.

12/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is in regards to my homeowners insurance. I tried to open a claim earlier in the year and through their loopholes I was denied.i did not agree nor I was giving a thorough explanation.i have been with this insurance company for over 8 years and never had a claim.To further add insult they are now not renewing my homeowners insurance. This is borderline insurance fraud and would not recommend this to nobody. I looking for a refund for being lied to for all the years that I paid this company.Thank you ******

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for all the years that I did business with this company. They lied and misled me throughout the years to think I was coverd.

Business Response:

Homeowners insurance is intended to cover sudden and accidental losses, not loss that develops over time due to faulty construction, wear and tear, long term water seepage, or losses caused by domestic animals.  When Mr. ******* reported the claim to us, he indicated that he had had problems with the home since it was built, which was in 2000.  While we advised Mr. ******* that there may be coverage issues based on his initial description of his loss, we did send out an Independent Adjuster and a Contractor to evaluate the losses at the home.  They reported the following to us:


1) Several kitchen ceramic tiles along the back splash have fallen off the mortar. The cause of this loss is from long term water damage due to repeated seepage of water leaking through a window above this area and/or repeated seepage of water getting leaking through hairline cracks in the grout eventually causing the tiles to lose their bond with the mortar. This damage has been ongoing for several years.

2) The windows seal gaskets and frames that are facing the south are deteriorating due to faulty construction of the windows and/or improper installation. Rainwater has leaked through several of these windows and caused long term damage to the drywall and sills of the interior. These damages have occurred over many years.

3) There is a previous drywall patch on the ceiling of the family room from an old plumbing leak that has been repaired.

4) At the time of our inspection, all of the carpet and pad downstairs, some of the stairway and the entire upstairs hallway had been removed by the insured. We observed a large amount of fungus was growing at the baseboard areas in these rooms. The insured admitted that their two dogs had been repeatedly urinating on the carpet for several years. There was still a very strong urine smell at the time of our inspection. We found urine stains on the remaining carpet in several rooms and on the exposed upstairs hallway sub-floor.

5) The upstairs hall bathroom is very soft around the toilet and near the tub/shower, which is an indication of wet rot and dry rot. The vinyl flooring is also discolored. The cause of this is due to long term repeated seepage of water around the toilet wax ring and also from repeated over spray from the tub/shower around the shower curtain. The water has repeatedly seeped down to the ceiling of the garage causing long term damage to the drywall. Our inspection found a previous attempt to patch this area of damage in the garage.

6) The fence exhibits evidence of long term wear and tear along with evidence of several previous repairs.


Thus, the primary cause of the damage is due to repeated and continuous exposure to moisture over time, improper installation, wear, tear, deterioration and wet/dry rot to the dwelling as a direct result of poor maintenance, neglect and damage from domestic pets.   This type of damage is not both sudden and accidental, and is not covered under the homeowners policy; as a result, the claim was properly denied.  While there were actually multiple separate losses claimed, we opened only one claim file as a courtesy to Mr. *******.


Later, the policy was nonrenewed due to the evidence of wet and/or dry rot and the long term, unmitigated water damage.  We were concerned that the lack of maintenance could eventually result in a covered loss.


We are very sorry that Mr. ******* was unhappy with our denial of his claim and the nonrenewal of his property.  We are a preferred insurer and we employ strict underwriting guidelines.  Mr. *******’s policy will expire on 12/9/2015, but if he obtains coverage elsewhere prior to that date, we will be happy to refund any unearned premium.


CC 11/13/2015

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First of all these people never talked to Mr. *******.They talked to Mrs. *******.From the beginning of trying to open up a claim,we were given the run around. We were reporting water damage from an "accidental toilet overflow ".When the adjuster came to our house he spoke to my wife in a very unprofessional  manner.He did take any of our concerns  seriously, instead the adjuster along with residence mutual tried to pass the blame to the builder of the house. We were told that there would be someone calling us to take a statement because the adjuster was so much of a hurry to not do his Job right and take a statement himself.We were also told that we would get copy of the report, to witch this day we have not received.

Again builder and age of this house is one thing but the accidental part should be covered. Also we have been with this company for over five years thinking we were covered,never opened a claim. Now residence mutual will not renew our premium. That's  the insurance company saying " well since there is a reasonable   cause for a claim we just won't acknowledge the claim and not renew it either". Residence should refund most of our premium for the years we have been with them since they won't honor our claim. One minute they are covering us the next it's blame the builder and you are on your own. This is as close as you can get to insurance fraud as you can get.


****** *******

Business Response: We apologize for incorrectly referring to Mr. ******* when the claim was reported and handled by Mrs. *******. We are unsure why Mr. ******* is now stating that their original claim was for an "accidental toilet overflow."  When Mrs. ******* called in the claim, it was summarized by the person who took her call as "Since after home was built there have been issues to home, south wall inside and outside, tile bath fall, tile on bathtub, windows have damage."  Mrs. ******* did not mention any toilet overflow, although she did point out long-term damage to the bathroom floor when the Independent Adjuster was there.  We sent an Independent Adjuster to inspect the property because we do not have a local adjuster living near their residence in Galt.  The Independent Adjuster noted that there was a failed toilet wax ring which has caused long term damage, but there was no mention of any "accidental toilet overflow."  Again, we are sorry that Mr. ******* is unhappy with the denial of his claim and the nonrenewal of his policy, but we are unable to reconsider our decision on the claim absent documentation of the newly alleged "accidental toilet overflow."  If Mr. ******* has any documentation to support his allegation that there was an "accidental toilet overflow," he is welcome to submit it to the Claims Department for review.

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Western Mutual Insurance Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart