This business is not BBB accredited.

John MacDonald Insurance Service Inc

Phone: (949) 788-1020 Fax: (949) 788-1030 View Additional Phone Numbers 5235 E Hunter Ave #200, Anaheim, CA 92807 http://www.jmacins.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers insurance services.  


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for John MacDonald Insurance Service Inc include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for John MacDonald Insurance Service Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on John MacDonald Insurance Service Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 11/20/2003 in CA Business incorporated 11/20/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division, 300 South Spring Street, Los Angeles CA 90013
http://www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: 800-927-4357
Fax Number: 213-897-5961
The number is OF15785.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John MacDonald
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John MacDonald
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Long Term Care Insurance Rating Bureaus Insurance Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5235 E Hunter Ave #200

    Anaheim, CA 92807 (949) 788-1020 (800) 346-7370

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May22nd,2015, i purchased insurance through john macdonald insurance because i was losing the insiramce i had. After working with ****, an employee at the insurance who seems very nice, we discussed options and he got me insurance through explorer. According to the ****, explorer takes first and last month as a down, yhr rest spreads through the year. According to ****, my monthly cost is 338 for two people with two cars but unfortunately it would be 720 for the first and last month, then 338 next month. After talking to my family, discussing paying 730 for first/last, and having adjust finances, we paid ****, and he sent documents as docusign after a couple minutes but took the money in advance. When attempting to open, it was very small and the pages would not open to the next to read. The part i could read were a couple of signature areas and so parts of the pages. I tried to sign it, contacted **** to to him i couldnt read it and i think i signed it all. Couple days later, i called again, no response. Concerened, i contacted explorer and they confirmed i had insurance. My next payment i called explorer to pay and i heard rhere pay system thank me for me previous 338 and present 338. I contacted customer service about was it not 730 and to my shock, the agency only paid 338 and pocketted 400 dollars for their fees! At no point was i told this. The agency told me that 730 was first and last month but when i called to talk to the agency and got a supervisor, the supervisor gives me attitude as to why i am complaining because i got the services i asked for and the 400 was a brokers fee. Both the supervisor and **** informed me that they are not obligated to state that verbally and that is was in the docusign papers i couldnt open and read and never received a copy. They flat out lied to me to to buy the insurance and collected before i even got to see the paperwork. To me, that is theft.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my 400 and i want to agency to be required to verbally state that charge a fee, how much, before they take any finances so no one else gets lied to and ripped off.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern, Mr. *** contacted my agency regarding a need for insurance. He was recently dropped from Mercury for too many claims and a DUI. We searched over 70 different carriers on the clients’ behalf to ensure he was being placed with a carrier that has no less than an A+ rating with the California department of insurance. We found a carrier that would accept Mr. ***, his driving record and subsequent claims. Mr. *** asked that the policy be bound and coverage be placed. It was explained to Mr. *** that we do not charge additional fees on an ongoing basis. When a policy is bound, we pay to have the policy searched, pre underwritten then underwritten by the carrier and the policy and coverage issued. This is to assure the client that the coverage is active and in place. Any fees that are incurred during this process are collected up front. This allows us to renew our clients’ coverage in the future without having to "re-charge" these fees. It creates a sizable savings for our clients. This do to the client being in our system. We pass on the savings to our clients. I have been serving clients in this industry for almost 30 years and have always done so with the clients’ best interest at heart. Even with his driving record, we were able to save Mr. *** close to $1,000. Per year! Mr. *** has never attempted to contact me regarding his policy nor his coverage or premiums. He may do so at any time as we maintain an open door policy. I feel it of utmost importance that every client has nothing but the best experience with John MacDonald Insurance Service, Inc. With this having been said, I have no problem with cancelling the policy and issuing a refund to Mr. ***. I do however have one concern that I feel should be addressed. If I cancel the policy, Mr. *** will lose his coverage and his license. The consequence involved is not a pleasant one. I would not want to see him left hanging in the wind. We live by the motto "The client is always right" So if Mr. *** would care to he may reach me at my office so we can make sure he is properly cared for. Sincerely, **** ********* President John MacDonald Insurance Service Inc. **** ** ****** **** *** ***** ******** *** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

**** *** 

Mr mcdonald.  I think you really have not reviewed my case at all.  To start, i do not or ever had a DUI as i have never drank alcohol in my life so that bothers me that you put that about someone who you have never reviewed properly. Second, my complaint was not the price you offered to be covered as i accepted the rate nor do i want to cancel my policy.  My complaint again is that your office and employer took a look some of deposit stating that it is the down payment of first mobth and last month the insurance requires. No where in the conversation did your employer say in that deposit is a 400 fee he is charging me for his services. Why would anyone pay that.  Second, i have emailed, left a message, and called and ask your employers and supervisors to let me speak with you mr mcdonald and they refused to give me contact info or relay my message to you.  Either you are ignoring my attempts or your employers are not giving you the info on purpose. So i say, where is the customer is always right in what i have wrote !! 
Thank you
**** *** 



3/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

FIRST OF ALL......I WANT TO SAY IF YOU CAN RUN AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY...RUN ...RUN ....RUN ...DON'T EVER DEAL WITH THEM FOREVER..OR THEY WILL REAP YOU OFF... NOT TO MENTIONED WORST THEN EVER CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER LET ME TELL YOU MY SITUATION:-- I HAVE MY SR-22 WITH THEM. ...AND WE AGREED ON MONTHLY INSTALLMENT. BUT WHEN IT REMAINS ONLY THE LAST TWO MONTH---THEY TOOK MONEY $460 FOR THE WHOLE YEAR..SO I CALLED THEM, AND ASKED I HAVE ONLY TWO MONTHLY PAYMENT LEFT, WHY YOUR TAKING FOR THE WHOLE YEAR.. .. THEY TOLD ME, RULES HAVE CHANGED AND WE TOOK OUT FOR THE WHOLE YEAR, AND ONCE TWO MONTHS WILL PASS--WE WILL REFUND THE REMAINING MONTH. WELL, AND IT'S BEEN ONE MONTH I HAVEN'T RECEIVED REST OF THE MONEY AND THE BEST PART---- THEY DONT EVEN INSURE YOUR SR-22..THEY ARE BROKER FOR SO MANY ****** INSURANCE COMPANIES .... SO EVERYTIME I CALL -- YOU WILL DEAL WITH DIFFERENT PERSONS, THEY WILL BOUNCE YOU AROUND FROM PHONE CALL TO PHONE CALLL. THEY WILL HANG UP ON YOU ..

LATELY, I AM DEALING WITH THEIR OFFICE MANAGER--******* ******** ,, AND SHE WILL TREAT YOU LIEK PIECE OF CARP AND ASK YOU TO CALL YOUR INSURANCE COMPANY AND ASKED FOR MONEY BUT WHEN YOU SIGNED UP FOR SR-22 THEY DONT TELL YOU ANYTHING ABOUT THIS..THEY WILL MAKE YOU BELIEVE THAT YOU HAVE YOUR SR-22 BUT IF YOU ASK FOR MONEY .. THEY WILL TELL YOU THAT "OH, YOUR INSURANCE WITH THIS AND THAT COPMANY -- CALL THEM AND ASK FOR MONEY"" I GUESS EVERY DUI LAWYER MUST BE GETTING LOTS OF KICK BACKS FROM THEM-- ALL OF THEM WILL TELL YOU -- GO WITH **** *********... AND GET YOUR SR-22 RUN FROM THEM.. THERE ARE DIME A DOZEN OTHER CHEAPER COMPANIES OUT THERE....

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE TO GET MY MONEY BACK