This business is not BBB accredited.

La Jolla Cove Suites

Phone: (858) 459-2621 Fax: (858) 551-3405 View Additional Phone Numbers 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, CA 92037 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lajollacove.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hotel and resort accommodation services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for La Jolla Cove Suites include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on La Jolla Cove Suites
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 16, 1996 Business started: 05/05/1959 in CA Business incorporated 05/05/1959 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Joanna Capps, Assistant GM Ms. Krista Baroudi, CEO Ms. Windy Gill, Guest Service Manager Ms. Jeannie Padilla, Director of Revenue Mr. Gus Salles, Office Manager Ms. Susan Stevens, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Joanna Capps, Assistant GM
Customer Contact: Ms. Susan Stevens, General Manager
Number of Employees

49

Business Category

Hotels Vacation Time Share Wedding Supplies & Services

Alternate Business Names
La Jolla Cove Motel and Hotel Apartments

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1155 Coast Blvd

    La Jolla, CA 92037 (888) 525-6552 (858) 551-3411 (858) 551-3415 (858) 459-2621

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $ 250.00 ( £ 175.11) unbeknown to me by La JollaCove Suites after my stay there (8th-12th March 2016) . When I tried to contact them to know the reasons why this was done, they did not reply. After several emails, they replied it was a smoking fee because some ashes were found on my sheets. This is not possible, since I am not a smoker and I had no guests whatsoever. No additional explanations were given. I contacted Booking.com and they replied with: " We have reached out to La Jolla Cove Suites, and unfortunately, they are not willing to refund this charge for smoking. While they claim that they have proof that someone smoked in the room, they are not willing to share that with us. They have also stated that they would share that information with your credit card company if you choose to dispute these charges in that way We are sorry that we are not able to help you further with this matter, please feel free to contact us with any additional questions. Kind regards" I went to my English bank and unfortunately they cannot open a dispute with an American business and tell me to contact BBB. As said before, I was the only one staying in my room, with no visitors or guests and I have not smoked and left ashes in my room. I have not been contacted by the Hotel either prior to the charge or after it with some evidence or explanations. I am not keen to be charged for something I am not responsible for.

Desired Settlement: I would like La Jolla Cove Suite to admit their mistake and to refund me $ 250.00

Business Response: I have processed the refund. It should hit your bank account soon. Sorry again for the misunderstanding.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *******

11/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ********* and I booked a deluxe suite at The La Cove Suites and I cannot remember a worse experience with a upscale hotel. We stayed in room 140 which was a one bedroom suite with a kitchenette and a balcony on Thursday August 27th, 2015. Neither the website or the registration desk said anything about not having air conditioning, in fact, the hotel clerk told us there was. By the time we checked in and entered our room, we were incredibly disappointed. It was about 85 degrees in the room and all the windows and doors were wide open, the bedroom windows were so old they were almost impossible to open or close, had no locks and the screens were frayed and bent. The room was beyond safe or secure, if we closed the windows and the sliding glass door then we would have suffocated from the heat, but leaving everything open would be an invitation for theft. We travel 75% of the year on business and usually try new hotels to choose for our conferences and for appropriate lodging for our attendees. Which is why we chose to try The La Cove Suites. When we finished our dinner at ******'s, we attempted to get back in our room at approximately 1am. The key would not work and the doors mechanism flashed red non stop. The lobby gave us new keys, which also did not work. Security was sent up with a master key and that also didn't work. I explained to the lady at the desk that I absolutely needed to get in our room as my medication was in there as well as about $4,000 worth of conference equipment and laptops. She said we would need to stay in another room as they were unable to solve the situation. The security officer, ****, offered to scale the wall and or climb through the window through the adjoining guest room after trying the emergency access door, which was painted shut and hadn't been opened in years. That is such a blatant fire emergency hazard. See below for continuation...

Desired Settlement: Imagine if we had a child trapped in there. We would've had to call the fire department and the police in order to get access to a battering ram to open the door! I told the lady at the front desk that I was about to call the police and I needed my medication desperately. She again offered us another room and said she didn't care if I called the police for help. Then someone called the senior security officer and amazingly, we were able to get in at 3am. No apology was given to us from any management or even the front desk clerk. Only **** the security officer who tried helping us for 2 hours was caring and concerned. The room was suffocatingly hot and it was an absolutely nightmarish experience. I want the hotel to refund and or make this up to us. I am prepared to use social media and any ways necessary to put the word out about La Cove Suites and their idea of "hospitality".

Business Response:

We will refund their money. **** *****, our Rooms Division Manager will refund

the funds on their credit card.

 

***** *******

******* ******* | La Jolla Cove Suites

**** ***** ********* | ** ****** ********** *****

p: ************ | f: ************

e: ************************ |  *******************

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I checked into the hotel in 2/18 with my wife, daughter, and granddaughter. When we arrived we were leaving a room and witnessed security striking a customer. Security proceeded to yell at us to get him help. We had no idea what was going on. It was unprofessiomal. Later around midnight my entire family was awoken by a screaming young woman banging on her hotel door next to our room. My daughter spoke to security who told us it was being taken care of. The screaming continued. We called down stairs and once again assured it was being taken care of. Finally at 2 am I went down stairs to the office and was told they we taking care of it. Numerous calls were going to the office about this screaming girl. We were never apologized too. We were never offered anything. We drove a day to get there. We decided to give it one more night. The next morning we were work up at 8 am by the cleaning crew cutting bushes. Check out was 10am. It was ridiculous for them to be out that early. The staff is rude and unhelpful. They did not care that we were awake our whole first night with a baby. Nothing was done to make out stay better. We planned to stay 3 nights and left after two. My bank statement shows them billing me for 3 nights. When I check out I was never given a final bill of my charges but was told it was for 2 nights. I complained to them many time spoke to Mr ***** and NO one returned my call.

Desired Settlement: I had a documented horrible stay at this hotel and I want a refund for my stay or a discount. It is not proper that they can treat people poorly and allow their stay to be poor. It's unacceptable I was charged for a stay that was unsatisfactory.

Business Response: I apologize for the delay in responding to your correspondence, I mistakenly thought I had taken care of this matter already. I have looked into the documentation of your stay and did find the noise complaint you referred to. We certainly apologize that your stay was disturbed in any way & that our staff failed to address the matter to your satisfaction. We have refunded your credit card for the entire stay due to your dissatisfaction and our delay in responding to your complaint. We truly regret that you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel and thank you for your patience concerning our response.

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked a room through Orbitz, and prepaid for 1 night. I checked I and was told they were going to charge me to park my car. I told them it was advertised free parking, and I would park somewhere else before paying them. 15 minutes after going to my room, the security guard and owner/manager shows up at my door. They tried to force themselves in my room, but I wouldn't let them. They told me I had to leave and we're calling the police, so I told them that was fine, and I'd be glad to leave. I didn't like the way they'd treated me or hidden the costs, and I was glad to go somewhere else. When I got my bags and started towards the door, the security guard (who was 300lbs, and I'm 150lbs), assaulted me and tackled me to the ground. He started choking me until I stuck my thumb into his eyeball and he let go of me. I again tried to grab my things and leave, but was pushed back into my room by him and the other security guard that had arrived, as well as some janitor workers. I called 911 to get help, and they sent the police. The police allowed me to leave peacefully, I didn't press charges for my injuries, but this is unacceptable! Nobody should be treated this way! The room was also advertised as "La Jolla Cove Suite", however the room I got was the size of a very small bedroom (10'x10') and was very dirty and not at all a 3* hotel as advertised. I will see tomorrow if they refunded me the charges for the room, otherwise I'll have to contact my bank for fraudulent unauthorized charges to my credit card. This place is a joke, and needs to be shut down before they have a lawsuit filed against them! I have video and sound recording of it all on my cell phone for evidence too!

Desired Settlement: There's no reason why I should not receive a full refund for the charge on my credit card. I didn't stay here and wasn't even given an opportunity to stay there, so I need a full refund immediately!

Business Response: The guest did purchase through Orbitz an advance purchase/non refundable room for one night. It did not include parking. The guest had been extremely hostile at the front desk about the parking, but agreed to park off the property. The manager then saw the guest park on the property and bring a dog to his room. The manager went to the room w/security to address the pet issue as he was in a non-pet friendly room. The guest became irate and got into an altercation with the security guard. We called the police and they arrived shortly thereafter and asked the guest to leave. The charges were not refunded to the guest.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on La Jolla Cove Suites
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)