BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Advanced Reservation Systems Inc

Phone: (619) 571-7000 Fax: (858) 430-4875 View Additional Phone Numbers 2445 Truxtun Rd #205, San Diego, CA 92106 http://www.arestravelinc.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers marketing strategies and web based reservation technology for the travel industry on a world wide scale, as well as travel reservation services to the public.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advanced Reservation Systems Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Reservation Systems Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Advanced Reservation Systems Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 15, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1995 in CA Business incorporated: 12/29/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney General Seller of Travel Program
1515 K St #511, Sacramento CA 95814
http://ag.ca.gov/travel
Phone Number: (213) 897-8065
The number is 2106230.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alan Suchodolski, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alan Suchodolski, President
Number of Employees

60

Business Category

Hotels - Reservations

Alternate Business Names
aRes aRes Travel

Additional Locations

  • 2445 Truxtun Rd #205

    San Diego, CA 92106 (619) 238-0900 (858) 300-8600 (619) 571-7000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (619) 238-0900(Phone)
  • (858) 300-8600(Phone)
  • (858) 300-0506 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We made a hotel reservation under the name of *** ******* ****** through this business for five days starting on April 25, 2014. We made the payment in advance on March 27, 2014 ($939.44). When *** ****** arrived at the hotel, they did not accept the reservation with the confirmation papers which Ares Travel had sent us. He had to stay in another hotel.

We contacted both the hotel and the business. Assistant General Manager of the hotel wrote that the reservation was made under the name of *** *********** *** but it should be the guest's name, they held the room for five nights and he was unable to make a refund. But the business wrote that the reservation appeared as ****** ******* (it should be *** ******* *******. There was a confirmation number on the papers and the hotel did not accept this number too. After all, they told us contradictory things - we do not know which information is true - but Ares Travel did not issue any refund. It is really a bad experience to see that a business –referred us to by a reputable organization for hotel accommodation- offered no solution and had an attitude like this as taking no responsibility.

Desired Settlement: Refund in full of $939.44

Business Response:

aRes tried to contact the hotel but unfortunately they would not work with us on this Advance Purchase/Nonrefundable hotel reservation and we are being billed for the full reservation.    If the guest had contacted us the day this occurred (at check in) we could have assisted him right away. Unfortunately, we were not contacted until twelve days after the reservation had already occurred. As a good faith we are refunding the guest $80.00.  This should appear on his credit card in the next 3-5 business days.  We are sorry this happened and hope the guest will accept this sincere apology for any inconvenience it may have caused.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We expect and demand a full refund due to non-acceptance of our reservation with order verification papers that Ares Travel sent to us. Based on information received from the hotel, firstly; the reservation name was incorrect, secondly; the official hotel confirmation number was incorrect. Hotel staff suspected that it might be a fake reservation because their confirmation numbers had to be with 7-digits but this one was a 6-digit number. Hotel staff called the ***** ******* **** ****** ** ******* *** ****** to verify *** ******** name&confirmation# but they could not find any registry. Voice records of Call Center would be one of the proofs when we will decide to take legitimate action if needed. We were quite surprised when they stated “The only way we are able to refund you is if the hotel doesn't charge us” and they haven’t refunded in full although it appears this reservation was made totally incorrect. You can find the order verification document that Ares Travel provided to us and the bill of other hotel that *** ****** stayed at.

Regards,

***** *******


Business Response: aRes Travel tried to contact the hotel again but unfortunately they would not work with us on this Advance Purchase/Nonrefundable hotel reservation and we are being billed for the full reservation.    If the guest had contacted us the day this occurred (at check in) we could have assisted him right away. Unfortunately, we were not contacted until twelve days after the reservation had already occurred.  A refund of $80.00 was placed on the guest credit card but since aRes is being held responsible for payment of the full reservation we are not able to refund any additional funds to the guest. We are sorry this happened and hope the guest will accept this sincere apology for any inconvenience it may have caused.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This was happened because the business could not make a simple reservation correctly. We don't care aRes can compromise with the hotel or not. We made the payment to aRes. Naturally, aRes is responsible for full refund.

Regards,

***** *******

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Legoland tickets for my son and his family. Four tickets (2 adult and 2 child) were purchased on 2/1/2013 in the total amount of $276.00. I gave these tickets to my son in July of 2013 as a birthday gift. My son has a baby at home and so unfortunately they were not able to use the tickets in the given time and the tickets expired. I printed the tickets out and gave it to them without any knowledge that the tickets do expire. I was under the assumption that these tickets don't expire. My son and his wife decided to use the tickets and go with their family on 2/22/2014 (since their baby is a bit older now and they can take her with them). Thank God my daughter in law checked the tickets the day before and realized that they have expired! She quickly called me and in return I called Ares Travel to see if there's anything they could do. I mean this isn't just a small $20 purchase, we're talking about almost $300! I called and was taken back at how rude a company can be. After waiting on hold for 20 minutes I was greeted by a customer service representative (I didn't get the chance to catch her name). I said my hello and asked her how she's doing and all she said was "how can I help you maam" already with an attitude even though all I did was greet her in a nice way. So I said "I have a request I am hoping you will be able to help me with" and she goes "we cannot help you with any requests you need to call the theme park itself". It was very obvious that she had my account pulled up already and knew that the tickets were expired. She basically shushed me and told me to go away without me even saying or asking anything yet. So I did say "well you don't know what my request is yet" and she quickly answered "ok ask me". So I explained to her how my daughter in law has a little one and they had some family issues last year and didn't get the chance to use the tickets. She quickly answered saying she can't do anything because they've expired. I asked to speak with a manager and after a couple of minutes on hold was greeted by "Michael" who again said there's nothing they can do. The tickets have expired and that's that. He basically told me that I will need to purchase new tickets and that I lost the $276 I paid for these tickets.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking is to be able to use my tickets sometime this month. My son and his family were planning on going tomorrow (2/22/14) which I don't think is possible anymore because we won't have an answer at that time. I don't need new tickets with 9 month expiration date on them. All I need is 4 tickets (2 adult and 2 kids) that they can use within a month. It is such a shame that due to the rudeness of a company and unwillingness to work with its customers, my $276 has gone down the drain! I have purchased from Ares Travel before and was hoping to continue using them. But the treatment that I received today was just horrible! This is definitely my last contact with them and I will make sure to let all my friends know as well. I understand the tickets have expired and that's the policy, but this is a special case and my request isn't too ridiculous. I would just appreciate some customer service and an opportunity to not let my $276 be flushed down the toilet. I would love to have those 4 tickets resent to me with an expiration of March 30, 2014. Thank you

Business Response: The guest booked the tickets online February 1, 2013 and agreed to the terms and conditions when booking.  The tickets purchased had an expiration date of 12/31/13.  The guest had 11 months to use the tickets or contact us to notify us of their inability to attend the park.  In most cases, when we are contacted before or even up to 30 days after the expiration date, we are able to work with the park in obtaining replacement tickets.  Our records indicate we were not contacted until February 21, 2014 which is more than 30 days after the tickets expired. Unfortunately we are not able to resolve the issue if we are not made aware of it in a timely manner. 

2/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on-line on Dec 10, 2013 for a total package deal of $1002.20 for hotel and tickets to Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and a safari starting on Dec 29, 2013. The price of the tickets was not itemized in the package information. I expected to pick up the tickets at the hotel as part of the vacation package - closer to the time of the vacation. Instead, I received the tickets in an email right away (again, not with any itemized pricing). I cancelled within 24 hours and the company stated it would not refund the price of the tickets AND that I would be charged a $25 cancellation fee. I initially received an email that stated I should expect a refund of $2253.20 (which is obviously a mistake and I would not request THIS amount, but I expected a FULL refund). I received a refund of $252.20 on Dec 18, 2013 (this is a $750 difference for the price of tickets that we won't be able to use). I would like the company to refund the entire amount of $1002.20 (the remaining $750), as I cancelled within plenty of time for them to be able to sell the tickets and book the hotel room.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the remaining $750 - for a full refund of $1002.20

Business Response: After researching Ms. ******'s complaint we have found that the tickets purchased for this package were indeed not used and therefore we were able to refund the tickets in full on January 3, 2014 in the amount of $725.00. We apologize for an inconvenience this may have caused.

9/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wed July 31, 2013 at 9 29P West coast time we purchased Disney tickets from aResTravel aka Merchant Advanced Reservations. We intended to purchase tickets for DisneyWorld and mistakenly booked tickets for Disneyland. Their web page is confusing and the order page does not clearly stat that the items offered are tickets for Disney's property in Anahiem rather than Disney's property in Orlando Florida. We purchased 7 3 day tickets, total coast with fees: $1,554.00. When we received the purchase verification we then noticed that the tickets were for the WRONG park. To correct I called customer service immediately but got no response. I then sent several emails to the customer support email address within minutes of the purchase. Received no response. The next morning 12PM eastern, 9AM west coast time I called again and spoke to a support representative. Support indicated that this has happened before, check with his manager and explained we would receive a credit, but would be charged a handling fee. I explained that we would not be in Anaheim and tickets would not be picked up. he explain a credit would be forth coming on my AMEX. I received a credit of 1,232.00 on my initial charge of 1,554.00. This company charged me $332 for this innocent mistake. Their site is poorly documented and clearly they are stealing money from the public. A reputable business would 1) issue a full refund 2) update their site so that consumers would not be confused when purchasing tickets to Disney Parks.

Desired Settlement: Please advise that they owe me $332 on this transaction.

Business Response:

Advanced Reservation Systems is sorry for any confusion that Mr. ********* had during the purchase of tickets and should see a refund to his credit card in the amount of $322.00 in the next 5-7 business days.  We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. ******* and hope our good will would retain him as a customer.

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was making a hotel reservation on a website and believed it to be through the actual hotel. I am a florida resident and should of received a discounted hotel rate for the florida hotel had i actually reserved through the hotel. However, it was through this 3rd party travel reservation service. I am not the best at doing these things online, so therefore i do fall prey to these types of sites. However, I do feel that they do not clearly show that they are a third party reservation system and not the hotel. I am very upset. When My daughter made the discovery the evening before our hotel arrival and called to talk to customer they were absolutely no help at all. They would not cancel, honor the Florida resident price I should have received or just helped us with a room upgrade for the room type I should have had, had I been through the actual hotel website. This website is should not be allowed to appear like you are booking through the actual hotel and claim to have these deals. It can be very confusing for people that are as computer savy.

Desired Settlement: I paid $ 209.00 plus taxes when I should have paid $105.00 plus taxes. I would have been happy with them helping to get me a simple room upgrade but they said we would have to pay more for that. I would like them to adjust my room credit card charge to what I should have paid with the Florida resident promo.

Business Response:

Advanced Reservation Systems takes pride in our customer service and always works to please all of our customers, both the hotel and the guest.  ARES does present ourselves as the company powering the booking and the travel agent of record. We are sorry for any confusion that Ms. ********* had in not identifying ARES as the travel agent. When Ms. ********* booked her reservation, ARES presented her with the best possible discounted rate we had available (Stay 3 or more nights Sunday thru Thursday and save 30%.)  To try and help Ms. ********* we did reach out to the hotel to see if the Florida resident rate would be available over her stay and if there was any possibility of adjusting to the Florida resident rate.  Though the hotel was unable to do so at this time, we have refunded the difference between the ARES rate ($209 the first two nights and $146.30 the third night) and the Florida resident rate ($178 per night.)  Ms. ********* should see a refund to her credit card in the amount of $33.75 in the next 5-7 business days.  We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Ms. ********* and hope our good will would retain her as a customer.

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to purchase online a set of tickets to visit some Parks and Attractions on this Houston TX area on March 12th 2013, therefore the Web Page described the tickets as CityPass.com, moreover once entered my contact and credit card information and completed the transaction, the Web page displayed a message that the ticket voucher and instructions to print the tickets will be sent to my email address (*********@hotmail.com) which never happened, moreover I printed the receipt of the transaction and take it with me to visit the Houston Downtown Aquarium and tried to get tickets with the receipt but the Aquarium folks said that they needed the tickets, thus next morning (3/13/13) I searched in Internet for the customer service phone number of CITYPASS.COM and called then to request a cancellation and a refund, and they instructed me to place the request for refund in their web page, and I did it and on Monday 3/18/13 received an email from CityPass with the information displayed below.====== Question Reference #******-******Summary: Return RequestProduct Level 1: CityPASSDate Created: 03/13/2013 09:05 AMLast Updated: 03/18/2013 10:47 AMStatus: Resolved Discussion Thread Response Via Email (***** *****)03/18/2013 10:47 AMHello ****** ******, Thank you for contacting City Pass. We are sorry to hear that you had problems exchanging your voucher; however the order number ********** is not a citypass.com order number. You may have purchased your City Pass through a third party affiliate. Please contact the company that you purchased through for your refund request.We are sorry to hear that you had problems exchanging your voucher; however the order number ********** is not a citypass.com order number. You may have purchased your City Pass through a third party affiliate. Please contact the company that you purchased through for your refund request.===Then I researched on my Credit Card Online for the actual Company (merchant) that did the Charge on the Credit Card ,

Desired Settlement: I found out the name of ARES HOTELS AND TICKET, which I search in internet and found the web page of aRes Travel Inc and called them to request a refund and they mentioned that they have policy of Non Cancellation and No Refund, which I didn't accept and called my Credit Card Customer Service to dispute the charge explaining the situation, and dispute process is on going.I'd greatly appreciate the support of BBB to resolve this case and get my refund of this charge $172.00.Thanks******

Business Response: Advanced Reservation Systems Inc. takes pride in our customer service and works to resolve issues so all of our clients, the hotel, the attraction and the guest are happy with the result. We are sorry Mr. ****** had difficulty with this ticket purchase.  His credit card has been refunded in full.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******

 

 Thanks BBB of San Diego for your great support and follow up.

11/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a 1st time user of ARes for a trip to Legoland, CA. I had hoped to have a positive experience so that I could continue to use this system for a variety of travel needs. However, based on my current conversation, Im no longer sure that is possible. The reservation process assumed the ages of my children which resulted in me paying for a pass for my 9 month old to attend Legoland (standard is free under 3 years of age). When I contacted ****** (in Customer Service), he indicated that he would need to speak to a supervisor to understand what should be done. He called me back and put me in contact with his supervisor, **** ***. **** indicated that due to the time that had passed since the trip (2.5 weeks), he was unable to refund the money.I dont feel that charging your customers for products that they dont need and cant use is an appropriate way to handle this situation. I understand that the original problem was a simple miscommunication between ARes and me, and I feel it is up to ARes to correct the problem. I also dont feel that 2.5 weeks from returning from vacation is a long delay in follow up.In addition, when comparing the prices charged at the locations along with the price charged for your package, I was overcharged by almost 10%. I feel this is inappropriate as you advertise your vacation packages as offered at a reduced price.Sincerely,**** ********** *****CC: Better Business Bureau

Desired Settlement: I would like my extra charge for Legoland refunded.

Business Response:

Advanced Reservation Systems has researched this issue and discovered the child ticket in question that was mistakenly purchased for a child under the age of 3 was not used.  After cancelling the ticket with LEGOLAND, we have refunded Mrs. ******* credit card on file for the price of the child ticket in the amount of $73.00.  Mrs. ***** should see the refund on her credit card in the next 3-5 business days.  We are sorry Mrs. ***** had a difficult experience with this reservation and hope she will accept this sincere apology for any inconvenience it may have caused.

10/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A $25.00 cancellation fee is charged when the cancelation policy states 6pm day of arrival. The $25.00 is mentioned when you continue reading cancellation terms at end of policy but why would you when you have already seen cancelation policy is 6pm day of arrival. This is very deceptive and wrong. If you book directly with the hotel then there is no cancellation charge.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $25.00 back on my credit card.

Business Response: Advanced Reservation Systems Inc. takes pride in our customer service and works to resolve issues so all of our clients, the hotel, the attraction and the guest are happy with the result.  We are sorry Ms. ******* had difficulty with this hotel reservation and have refunded the $25.00 cancellation fee.  She should see this settled on her credit card in the next 3-5 business days. Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******* 

8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family and I booked a reservation for two nights. We stayed one night. The next evening the power goes out at the hotel. The desk clerk informs me that the power could be back on in 3 to 4 hours. It is late in the evening 8:30 p.m. and the hallways are dark in the hotel. The room was in almost total darkness and getting very hot, that particular day the temp was over 100 degrees. My husband and I decided we could not stay in this hot dark room with our 2 small children with the hopes that the power may or may not return. Children were afriad and I was concerned for our safety. We packed up and informed the desk clerk we were checking out. He assured me that we would receive a refund. We left in total darkness. I never received a refund. I called and left messages for the general manager and never received a return call from the hotel. I emailed the general manager of the hotel and asked for a refund, she answered back very rudely. Stated That a refund should come from Advanced Reservation Systems inc. I call them and am told I could get a refund as soon as they verify what happened with the hotel manager. I was put on hold, the rep comes back on the line and tells me a message was left for the hotel manager to call them to verify that the power went out on the day in question. The rep went on to say that I would be notified of the results. I waited 2 days and still no call back. I called back Advanced Reservation Systems inc. and was given the run around and was told the hotel owed me the refund. My credit card statement indicates differently.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the second night that I could not stay. I paid for a service with my MasterCard and did not receive what I paid for. I have been treated very unfairly.

Business Response: Advanced Reservation Systems, Inc. (ARES) has refunded **** ******** in the amount of $95.84 to the Mastercard which is the amount she was charged for the second night of the reservation.  We take pride in our customer service and work to resolve issues so all of our clients, the hotel and the guest, are happy with the result.  We are sorry **** ******** had a difficult experience with this hotel reservation and hope she will accept this sincere apology for any inconvenience if may have caused.