Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sharp HealthCare

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 827-4277 Fax: (858) 636-2145 View Additional Phone Numbers 8695 Spectrum Ctr Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123 http://www.sharp.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers healthcare services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sharp HealthCare meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sharp HealthCare include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Sharp HealthCare
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1994 Business started: 12/04/1946 in CA Business incorporated 12/04/1946 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Medical Board of California
1434 Howe Avenue #92, Sacramento CA 95825-3236
http://www.mbc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 633-2322
Fax Number: (916) 263-2387
The number is 24476.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Todd Miller, Senior Vice President of Marketing Mr. Peter Conrad Esq., Corporate Counsel Ms. Jenna Haynes, Legal Secretary
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jenna Haynes, Legal Secretary
Principal: Mr. Todd Miller, Senior Vice President of Marketing
Number of Employees

14,000

Business Category

Hospitals Rehabilitation Services Senior Citizens Service Organization Physicians - Specialists Health & Medical - General Insurance Companies

Alternate Business Names
Sharp Cabrillo Hospital Sharp Cabrillo Hospital Patient Accounts Sharp Cabrillo Skilled Nursing Center Sharp Chula Vista Medical Center Sharp Community Medical Group Sharp Coronado Hospital & Health Care Center Sharp Grossmont Hospital Sharp Home Care Sharp Hospice Care Sharp Mary Birch Hospital for Women Sharp Memorial Hospital Sharp Memorial Outpatient Pavilion Sharp Mesa Vista Hospital Sharp Mission Park Medical Centers Sharp Mission Park Medical Group Sharp Rees-Stealy Med Group Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Centers Sharp Reese Stealy Medical Group Sharp Villa Coronado Snf Sharp Vista Pacifica Hospital
Industry Tips
Cancer Treatment Scams

Additional Locations

  • 233 Prospect Pl

    Coronado, CA 92118

  • 3405 Kenyon St # 101

    San Diego, CA 92110

  • 8080 Dagget St #210

    San Diego, CA 92124

  • 8695 Spectrum Ctr Blvd

    San Diego, CA 92123 (619) 221-9560 (858) 499-2410 (858) 499-4000 (800) 827-4277

  • 8933 Activity Rd

    San Diego, CA 92126

  • 9765 Clairemont Mesa Blvd

    San Diego, CA 92124

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son's pediatrician sent a request to the Sharp speech therapist for speech therapy. I was contacted by them to set up an appointment and was told that I was only going to be responsible for a $15 copay and that they had talked to my insurance and that the service was covered. I agreed to the appointment telling them that the only reason I would go is because there was only a $15 copay and nothing else I cannot afford more than that. After countless calls and no answer I am being billed for $388. I have been talking to the billing department since September 2014 and have not been able to resolve this issue. The customer service is terrible because I am told I will get a call back with and answer on my situation and never do.

Desired Settlement: I am not able to pay the $388 being billed so I would like that charge to be removed.

Business Response:

Per your request I have reviewed the complaint that was referred to you, the Better
Business Bureau. I have researched to see where we could improve in our process of
following up with our patients.

I have listened to every call that the patient's mother made to Customer Service, as
well as those calls we made to her and the insurance company ..

Please see below for a list of calls.

06.20.2014 site Representative CAY JO called **** ****s 800.67 6.2583 spoke with Til a
Reference#************ ** speech therapy was quoted at $50.00 COPA Y, No deductible and
service covered at 100%. Visits are based on Medical Necessity and Pre Certification is not
required. **** ****s representatives do not check on OX codes however procedure code
92521, 92522,92523 and 92507 are all valid and billable.

09. 11 .2014 patient mother called spoke to * **** to inform that onsite advised her only a $ 15.00
copay would apply to the visit. However she is getting a bill for $388.00, CSR explained that per
the insurance Explanation Of Benefits the service was not a covered benefit and directed
patient mother to the site that first assisted her.

09.22.2014 Site Rep called PFS Customer Service and asked that we call patient mother for claim
review
09.23.2014 CSR ***** ** called Insurance **** ****s and was directed to a different number,
CSR called mother and left message that she is working on account and to please allow time for
her to contac t insurance.

09.23.2014 Patient mother returned call to Customer Service Representative (*******) LUNJE5
took the call and advised patient mother ***** ** is working on the account

09.23.2014 ***** ** placed call to patient mother to advise she is working on account and will
call insurance on 09.24.2014

10.03.2014 Patient mother called, ROBTE2 took call and call dropped

10.03.2014 Patient mother called again ***** took call and advised patient mother she would
let ***** ** know to call her back with an update.

10.03.2014 ******* called **** ****s 800.444.2726 spoke with ***** and explained per call on
06.24.2014 REF#***** ******* ** benefits for Speech Therapy were verified and no
precertification was required, ***** advised she would send the claim back for reconsideration,
she explained to ***** ** to allow 14 days for response and provided REF#*** **** ********

10.06.2014 Patient mother called spoke with ****** advised CSR that her insurance denied the
claim and explained to CSR that she is waiting on a call from ***** **, CSR explained to
patient mother to a llow more time for insurance to reprocess the c laim

10.07.2014 ******* called patient mother to advise that she spoke with insurance and they
are reprocessing the c laim to allow time.

10.10.2014 Patient mother called advising she is waiting on a call back from ***** ** CSR
HILMO explained time frame and advise to allow time

11.06.2014 Patient mother called to inquire on status of c laim ***** explained to mother that as
of 10.28.2014 SRS received a letter from **** ****s advising the claim was received and
reviewed. CSR advised she would delay dunning level and asked to check status of claim with
insurance in two weeks.

12.18.2014 Patient mother called to follow up on claim *** *** took information and advised
patient mother he would relay message to *****

01 .07.2015 Patient mother called to make credit card payment on the balance of $388.00

01 .1 2.2015 ** ***** called patient mother to review account and see how she can assist her.
Pt mother advised of everything that has happened during her calls ***** advised patient
mother that she will research account and get back to her in two business days. *****
reviewed account and submitted coding request to make sure that DX code used was
appropriate and also submitted refund request in the amount of $164.93.

01.14.2015 TL ***** called **** ****s at 800.444.2726 spoke with ******* who advised claim
was sent to home plan on 10.03.2014 for reprocessing, 10.06.2014 home plan advised claim was
sent to technical team for review, 10.09.2014 final decision was made advising claim was
processed correctly as developmental delay is not a covered benefit.

At this time, we have decided to refund *** ****** ******* $388.00. Though the denial for
services was appropriate per the insurance, we do not feel we provided the very best customer
service we could have.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me.

 

********************* Team Lead CCD

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******

12/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been under treatment for cancer and other health problems with this group, insured thrugh my job, back in July 2014, I had a horrible rush and itching, I needed to make an appointment, they send me an e-mail saying that I was assigned to another doctor, I went there, it was no good, she did not do anything for me, instead I was informed that they belong to another group, and needed to change all my doctors, I call Sharp Rees-Stealy, and was told that they have seen the e-mail, and it was a mistake, I had no intentions of changing my doctors, I ended up in the ER, having to pay $100 co-payment and nothing was done again, then I demanded they return me to my original medical group and doctors, so they send me a bill for $539.00, that I do not have to pay because the mistake was theirs, apparently they have two different medical groups, and I keep calling them, but all I hear is that the group is not the insurance, that it is a different entity, they know it was there mistake, but refused to fix it. I still do not understand their group insurance setup, but they do not explained to anyone how they conduct business, I do not have to pay them, I only pay the c0-payments when I see my doctors.

Desired Settlement: That they cancelled this debt, fix their mistake, and tell all insure people, how their group and insurance business work.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *******,

Thank you for your letter to the Better Business Bureau (BBB) regarding your concern at Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS). The
concern was forwarded to the Quality Department for review and investigation. We are very sorry to hear that our services
did not meet your expectations.

SRS has an extensive Quality Management Program, which includes the evaluation of all issues of concern brought to our
attention and a thorough evaluation of your grievance was conducted by the SRS Quality Management Department based on
your dissatisfaction with SRS billing issues.

Your concern was reviewed with Sharp Health Plan. In the Summary of Benefits, which I have enclosed, you are responsible
for a $100.00 Emergency Services copay. If you are admitted to the hospital then the copay is waived.

In addition, I reviewed your concern indicating you received a bill that did not have to be paid. In speaking with your
insurance company, Sharp Health Plan, and the SRS Patient Financial Services Dept., you do not have any current charges.
The document you received is called an Explanation of Benefits and provides you with billing information. The charges have
been paid by your insurance plan.

In your statement to the Better Business Bureau, you indicated changing physicians. Within SRS, you have the right to
change your Primary Care Physician if you are dissatisfied.

If any further assistance is needed, please contact Sharp Health Plan, Customer Services Dept. at 800 359-2002.

Sincerely,

***** ****, L VN
Care Coordinator
Quality Management
Sharp Rees-Stealy

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *******

10/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife(***** ***) and I for annual checkup and they sent it to sharp lab. The lab service is a new service at the hospital. The lab at sharp hospital billed us the wrong code, and we kept receiving bills. We took initiative by contacting the sharp lab, the doctor office, and our insurance regarding these matter. We called our insurances 4 times and they said the lab billed the wrong code. We called the lab again, and the doctor office but nobody are doing anything. At the end we called the doctor office, we received the contact of the person in charge of our case. We talked to her on the phone and email regarding this issue but she refused to respond back and we are stuck with the bills. After months going back and forth with them, our bills got sent to the collector agents. The doctor at the office we visited for the annual checkup told us we are not the only people who are having the same issue. We have bill reports saved up as evidences, and also recorded the conversations between the doctor, the person in charge of the lab billings, and our insurance as well.

Desired Settlement: remove the incorrect billings and charges on my wife and I. Make sure it doesn't affect my wife credit score and my credit score.

Consumer Response: The consumer indicated to the BBB that this complaint has been resolved.

10/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 10/2014 I admitted to Sharp hospital for a bump above my eyelid. Doctor diagnosis was Sty. After injecting powerful antibiotic, I was released with Patient education paper regarding Sty. My eye situation not only didn't get better but it got worse. After so many unnecessary doctors visits,finally I was able to see an Ophthalmologist on August 13th. There he told me none of other treatments would have helped my eye and since it was getting worse with infections, eye redness and extreme pressure he end up doing a surgery to open up and drain eyelid. I was misdiagnost by sharp hospital. I thought by going to hospital , I will get treated but send home. When my sister brought my concern regarding misdiagnose by sharp hospital to Patient Relations specialist (Ms.Jodi Gross) after waiting a month for answer , Ms Jodi wrote me an email to explain according to review by medical committee, care was given to me was correct. REALLY...........

Business Response: We have conducted an internal investigation of the complaints brought to your attention by Consumer ID #********.  I have reviewed the records related to her visit to the Sharp Memorial Hospital Emergency Department and the following is a summary of our investigation.
 
We understand that times of medical care are stressful and it is important that the medical team takes the time to communicate with the patient and family and ensure they understand the plan of care. The patient’s chart was reviewed and her concerns were discussed with the Hospital Grievance Committee.  Physicians on staff at Sharp Memorial Hospital are private practitioners, not agents of the hospital, and are a self-governing body; therefore, the patient’s concerns regarding the medical care were also forwarded to the medical staff committee that addresses grievances against physicians.   We are not able to provide specific details of the committee’s review as those records and proceedings are confidential under California law; however, please be assured that her concerns are taken seriously. 

After thorough consideration, the hospital care was determined to be appropriate; therefore the patient’s request for reimbursement and waiver of the bill for this visit has been denied.  We understand that this is not the outcome that she was hoping for and we are sorry that her experience was anything short of excellent.
 
Patient satisfaction is a high priority at Sharp Memorial Hospital and we appreciate the opportunity to evaluate and improve our systems and processes.  Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any additional questions or concerns. 

Regards, 

**** *****, MPH, MSW                               
Patient Relations Specialist

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  

 In very simple words , I believe Sharp hospital has commited fraud by misdiagnosing and mistreating me while at their care and charging me and my insurance for their profit not honest medical care , I am extremely disappointed and dissatisfied by them. 

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: Dear Ms.*****,
 
This letter is in response to the appeal brought to your attention by Consumer ID #********.  The complaint has been carefully reviewed by the Sharp Memorial Hospital Executive team and our Patient Grievance Subcommittee.  After thorough investigation, the care was deemed to be appropriate.  Therefore, Sharp Memorial Hospital’s position remains the same.

10/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is in regards to account #********** for my wife, ******* ******, and a charge for time spent in a Sharp Memorial observation room on November 1, 2013 during a blood transfusion. My wife was provided a blood transfusion at Sharp Memorial Hospital in the South Tower - the observation rooms over two days - October 31th and November 1st, 2013. Arrangements for the blood transfusion had been made between my wife's doctor at the Sarcoma Oncology Center in Santa Monica, and Dr. ***** ******** at Sharp Rees-Stealy. We were told by the Sarcoma Oncology Center doctor that the blood transfusion would be for 3 units of blood due to my wife's very low hemoglobin count - 6.0. When we arrived at Sharp Memorial on October 31th, the nurse said the order was for 2 units of blood. I told the nurse that we were told 3 units of blood, but she refused to follow up with Dr. ******** since it was "too late" (about 7 pm). The following morning my wife again asked the nurse if she could check the order to see if it should be 3 units, but the nurse did not check. At about 2:00 pm, my wife asked the nurse again, and this time she did follow up with Dr. ********, who confirmed that 3 units should be provided. My wife had just finished the second unit around this time too. The third unit did not start until 8 pm. The nurse told us part of the delay was due to a mistake upon the part of the tech who ordered the blood. She said the order neglected to specify that the blood needed to be irradiated. Therefore, the 5 1/2 hour delay between completion of the second unit and start of the third is due to two Sharp mistakes: failure to act upon our initial request on October 31st to consult with the prescribing doctor regarding the order, and an error in the order for the third unit (failure to specify irradiation). We should not be responsible for the charges related to use of the observation room since these are due to Sharp errors. On Sharp's invoice this is charge #********* for November 1th, which is currently 23 hours. This should be reduced to 17 1/2 hours. My wife has provided authorization for my access to her medical and billing records at Sharp. I can provide a copy of the authorization form. I previously filed this complaint with Sharp on January 12th, 2014, but have not received a written response.

Desired Settlement: Time reduced for observation room charge from 23.0 hours to 17.5 hours. I wish to have a written response to this complaint from Sharp. Note that this charge was paid by my health insurer, Aetna, so I wish the refund to be paid to Aetna at Aetna's rate of compensation, which is lower than the amounts given. These amounts are from Sharp's invoice.

Business Response:

Dear *** *****,

Thank you for forwarding the concerns brought to your attention by *** ******* ****** on February 15, 2014.  A follow-up letter was sent to *** ****** on April 28, 2014, and his concerns will be reviewed with our Hospital Grievance Committee for a determination of his request.  Should you have additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at 858.939.3388.

Thank you,

**** *****

 

 

**** *****, MPH, MSW

Patient Relations Specialist

Sharp Metropolitan Medical Campus

7901 Frost Street

San Diego, California 92123

Phone – 858.939.3388

Fax – 858.939.4485

Consumer Response: This is a follow-up to a prior complaint I made against Sharp Healthcare - complaint ID *******. As part of the resolution of that complaint Sharp said it would make an adjustment to the bill for observation room time. Sharp said: "Our billing department has been informed and they will work with Aetna to reimburse and/or rebill as appropriate." It has been over two months and Sharp has failed to make any adjustments to their claim. About a week and half ago I tried contact the Sharp representative who made this statement, but have received no response.
 
I wish for Sharp to make the billing adjustment as promised.

Business Response: I am writing in follow-up to Complaint #*******.  This morning I was able to connect with the Manager of Patient Access Services.  The patients bill will be modified today and sent to Aetna for reprocessing.  We apologize for the delay in the process.  Please let me know if you have any questions or need any additional information.
Thank you,
**** *****
 
**** *****, MPH, MSW
Patient Relations Specialist
Sharp Metropolitan Medical Campus
7901 Frost Street
San Diego, California 92123

7/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 04/14/2014 I went to Sharp Urgent Care on 3rd Ave in Chula Vista, CA. I was experiencing pain on my left adomin and my blood pressure was high. This is a chonic problem due to previous surgeries that I have had. I was previously treated at Kaiser and Sharp for these issues. After my last surgery in September 2013, I was told by Kaiser that I had a lot of adhesions in that left area that is causing the pain but surgery in that area would be too dangerous so I will have to learn to deal with it with medications and pain management. My insurance with Kaiser ended in February and on 4/14/2014 I woke to pain and found that my blood pressure was real high. I went to Sharp Urgent care to be seen. I brought my Kaiser medical paper work to show what medications that I am currently taking. At this time I was out of multiple medications which included pain pills and blood pressure pills. I was told that I would have to leave a 175.00 deposit and pay the difference after treatment from urgent care physician. The MD told me that it was better for me to go to the Emergency Room because it will be less expensive. I first agreed. The MD left the office to let the front office know that he will not be treating me and he was also going to contact the emergency room to let them know I was coming. When the MD came back in the room I told him that I would rather just been seen by him and I will pay the 600-800 fee that I was quoted by the front office. He again told me that he just wants to save me money and I could save money by going to the ER. He even told me that legally they cannot charge me to be seen unlike urgent care. He told that the ER will bill me at a later time. I took his advice and went to the ER. I explain my issues with the ER doctor and he told me that he could do a CT scan to see what is going on in my abdimon area but those scans can cause cancer and also you cannot see scar tissue in the scan. He told me that I know my own body and if I feel like I just need my medications refilled that he will just do that and refer me to my primary care doctor. I told him that I do not want to be exposed to cancer because I already have enough health issues. He gave me a prescription for pain pills and blood pressure pills. They said I had to pay a 200.00 deposit and released me. On 4/28/2014. I received a bill from the ER for 2340.25. They did apply the 200.00 that I had already paid but I was shocked to see that the bill was over 800.00 because I was told by the Urgent care doctor that I was going to save money by ER. I spoke a patient advocate that told me that there was nothing that she could do because she only represents the Sharps Hospital not Sharp Urgent care. I spoke to ********* ***** who is a patient advocate for Sharps urgent care. I told her that I was misled into thinking I was saving money by going to the ER. She told me the reason that he sent me to the ER was because he felt like I may have had a cyst in my ovary. I let her know that that could not have been the reason because I had told him that my ovary had already been removed. I explained to her again what was told to me. She told me that there was nothing that she could do for me but she definatly was not going to help me with the bill. I asked about the deposit of 175.00 that they took from me without rendering any services. She told me that I did have a 175.00 credit but if I wanted my money back I would have to request it. At this time I realized that I was just ripped off by Sharp and they have no intention of trying to resolve the issue

Desired Settlement: I will like to pay the amount that I would have to pay if the MD would have just seen me at urgent care which is between 600-800.00. I will also like my 175.00 either refunded to me or applied to my balance.

Business Response:  Dear Ms. *****,

This letter is in response to your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau on May 12, 2014. Sharp Rees Stealy has reviewed your medical record with the doctor, and the physician you spoke with at Sharp Rees Stealy about your medical condition. The doctors’ specialty is emergency medicine and is very aware of the costs of care in the emergency room.

The doctor explained to you that you would be better served going to the ER because the urgent care could not provide the full work up you required to safely treat the symptoms you presented at the urgent care and therefore, directed you to the emergency room. A credit of $175.00 that you initially paid to Sharp Rees Stealy will be credited back to your credit card.

In addition, the hospital billing was reviewed and the total charges for services at the emergency room were $3,387.00. You were given a self- pay discount of 25% which brought the balance to $2,340.25. It is noted in your account that you are currently not employed and that the hospital sent you a financial packet to complete as you may be eligible for further discounts. To date, the financial packet has not been returned.

At this time the balance of $2,340.25 is outstanding and should be paid to Sharp Chula Vista Hospital unless additional financial information is received. Please contact me if you have additional questions regarding your account.

We thank you for choosing Sharp HealthCare to provide your health care needs.

Sincerely,

Vice President, Managed Care Operations

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As, like the other representatives I talked to, no one seems to listen and the Dr is not telling the truth.  First of all I own a business and make over 400,000.00 a year.  I don't qualify for any assistance.  I already told the reps at Sharps this information.  Secondly instead of you just taking the word of the Dr. it would have been nice if you would have contacted me and asked for my side.  The Dr. not only referred me to the ER, he also referred me to a clinic on 3rd ave that he said would save me money.  I told him that I was only confortable with Sharp or Kaiser.  I still don't believe that I should be responsible for this entire bill because I was mislead.  I was told that he said that he sent me to the ER because he thought that maybe my ovary had ruptured.  If he would have listened to me, he would have known that I had them removed in September.  This is not about the money, it is about the principle.  I don't think I should have to pay for the scam that your doctor and your organization did to me.


Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

July 1, 2014

******* *****
1304 Santa Ynez Ave.  Apt 249
Chula Vista, CA 91913-1492

Dear Ms. *****, 

Thank you for your letter to the Better Business Bureau (BBB) regarding your concern at Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS). The concern was forwarded to the Quality Department for review and investigation. We are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations.
   
SRS has an extensive Quality Management Program, which includes the evaluation of all issues of concern brought to our attention and a thorough evaluation of your grievance was conducted by the SRS Quality Management Department based on your dissatisfaction with SRS billing issues. 

Your statement of the problem as noted in the BBB concern: 1.) you don’t qualify for any assistance, 2.) someone from SRS did not speak to you, and  you do not believe you are responsible for the entire bill because you were misled and that your ovary was removed in September so it could not have been a ruptured ovary. 

In reviewing your complaint, first we are sorry that you do not quality for any assistance. Our billing department was able to obtain a 25% discount for you and any other discount would need to be discussed with the hospital. Secondly, several of the SRS employees have spoken to you about your compliance. 

The medical record documentation from your visit to Urgent Care (UC) states you complained of intermittent left lower quadrant pain that you had for 2 years and worsened over the past several days.  It also states you reported that you had already undergone a GYN surgery but it was unsuccessful due to adhesions. In addition, you requested medication for pain relief. 

Given the diagnoses possibilities, the UC physician was concerned due to your stated surgical history, that a work up in UC would not properly assess your complaints. The physician also took into consideration that you did not have insurance and gave you an option and recommendation of further care at the Emergency Dept. (ED).  He stated you agreed to go to the ED. Ibuprofen was prescribed for pain relief.  The UC physician further stated he would not tell a patient that going to an ED would be less expensive.

At the ED, you requested only pain medication and refused imaging that could have been used to assist in a diagnosis. You were prescribed narcotic and non-narcotic prescriptions and advised by the ED physician to follow up with your Primary Care Provider and to return the ED for worsening symptoms. 

Your credit card was refunded the $175.00 UC deposit and a 25% discount was applied to the bill.  Your request to assist further with the ED bill is being denied. 

If any further assistance is needed, I can be reached at 619.446.1886, for any questions.
Sincerely,


***** ****, LVN
Care Coordinator
Quality Management
Sharp Rees-Stealy  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I am still not satisfied with your responds so this time I have attached proof that your Sharp personal has their facts wrong.  I have had multiple surgeries that have removed my uterus and ovaries and I do have a lot of scar tissue.  I did say that I believe that the scar tissue is the problem and I had been being treated for that and blood pressure issues due to the pain.   As the doctor at urgent care should have known is that you cannot see scar tissue with any type of scan.  I was told this from the ER doctor. The ER doctor told me that it would be a waste of my money to do that scan because it would not show the internal scar tissue. The ER doctor told me that the scan would not show the scar tissue  and asked me what would I like to do.  I told him that although I do take multiple medications that I would only need the medication for the pain and my blood pressure because my blood pressure goes up when I am in pain. I told him I will follow up with my primary when I get insurance what was going to be with Sharp but I decided to back to Kaiser. I wan not only given Ibruprofen and pain pills, I was also given blood pressure pills.  The doctor at urgent care could have did the same thing without charging as much.  I would have been fine with just the blood pressure pills and Iburprofen until I seen my regular doctor.  They gave me percet that is a pain pill that is terrible.  But I know he was just trying to stop the pain .  Attached you will find my prescription for blood pressure pills that will prove to you that they either don't remember what happed or they are lying.

Regards,

******* *****

9/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb 27 , 2013 , Dr ******* , at sharp Rees- Stealy medical group, requsted an ultra sound due to the severe pain I had to my pelvic. Therefore, on the same date, I called the clinic to find out what this procedure cost and I was asked for the CPT code for the ultra sound procedure (CPT code #*****) . I was told by more than one agent that the maximum total I would pay for this procedure is $261.45 . On March 4, 2013 , the ultra sound was done. Three weeks later , I was mailed a statement in the amount of $517.94 . I called the billing dept. to discuss the higher amount and was told that I needed to pay it . This was not the only time I was over charged ,in addition ,I had previously paid $123 dollars for the laboratory test that I was told it was at no charge to me on the first visit .

Desired Settlement: I would like to pay the initial amount I was told to pay $261 only.

Business Response:

May 1, 2013
Kyle *****
BBB of San Diego
5050 Murphy Canyon, Ste. 110
San Diego, CA 92123
Fax: 858.496.2141
ID #*******
Dear Mr. *****,
Rees-Stealy
Medical Group
IV ED oe
We appreciate the oppm1unity to review and respond about the concems of member, ID# *******. We
are sorry to hear that the services she received did not meet her expectations. It is our goal at Sharp ReesStealy
(SRS) to provide outstanding customer service.
Please refer to the enclosed response that was sent to the member.
I have attached a copy of the letter that I will be mailing to ID#: ******* explaining the Quality Review
process.
Please review the following attachments:
• Attachment A: letter to ID#: *******
If any fmther assistance is needed, I can be reached at ************, for any questions.
Thank you,
~~
***** ****, L VN
Care Coordinator
SRS Quality Management
Sharp Rees-Stealy
May 1, 2013
****** ********
***** ******** **** *** ****** ** **********
Dear Ms. ********,
Rees-Stealy
Medical Group
Thank you for your letter to the Better Business Bureau regarding your concern at Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS).
The concern was forwarded to the Quality Depm1ment for review and investigation. We are very sorry to
hear that our services did not meet your expectations.
Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS) has an extensive Quality Management Program, which includes the evaluation of
all issues of concern brought to our attention. We are dedicated to providing high quality medical care and
patient satisfaction.
Due to the need to protect your patient confidentiality, (as this letter may be posted on the Better Business
Bureau website), I will not be using specific names of procedures.
On 2/27/13 you saw Dr. ** *., Primary Care Physician (PCP), to establish care at SRS and to be examined
for pain. The physician examined you and collected specimens for the lab to evaluate. You wrote in your
complaint, "I had previously paid $123 dollars for the laboratory test that I was told it was at no charge to
me on the first visit." Lab tests are not free, there are fees applied for each lab test performed. If someone
stated to you that there would be no charges for the lab testing on your first visit, then I would need the
name ofthat SRS employee to discuss this with and obtain clarification.
The PCP also ordered an ultrasound with an order for another type of ultrasound if indicated. On 3/4/13 you
had both of the ultrasounds. The importance of the physician ordering the second type of ultrasound "as
indicated", would allow the Radiologist to perfonn additional ultrasound views that may be necessmy to
detennine the diagnosis. It would not be known prior to the scan if additional views may be necessmy, it
could only be determined during the exam. You had both ultrasounds. The codes for each have been
checked and are correct. The fee for the additional scan was $299 subtracting $42.91 that SRS adjusted off.
On 4/19/13, your husband called Patient Financial Services (PFS) to discuss the disputed bill. When you
inquired as to the price of the ultrasound, you stated in your complaint that you were told the procedure
would not be more than $261.45. It would be impossible to know the final price prior to the scan, if any
additional ultrasound views may be necessmy. Again, that would only be detennined as the procedure was
being perfonned. The PFS Representative asked if your husband could recall who you or he had spoken to
previously that may have provided that infonnation, but unfm1unately he did not recall. The PFS
Representative did advise him to speak with the SRS Liaison, as the PFS staff does not discuss the
description of a procedure. He declined and continued to dispute the bill adding that he will file a complaint
with the insurance company.
ATIACHMENT( ___ A~ ___.~
To receive a copy of the Invoice for the second pm1 of the ultrasound as well as a copy of the Financial
Comments ofthe 4/19/13 conversation, please contact me.
We apologize for any distress this may have caused to you. You also may file a grievance with your
insurance company to review the billing.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention as communication is an essential component of medical care,
and through communication, we can improve the services provided to our patients. Additionally, all patient
concerns are cumulatively tracked regardless of the outcome. This is a component of the overall Quality
Assurance monitoring program which evaluates medical care provided to our patients.
If any further assistance is needed, I can be reached at ************, for any questions.
Sincerely,
***** ****, L VN
Care Coordinator
Quality Management
Sharp Rees-Stealy

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ********

 

 In my complain , I forgot to mention to you that the ultrasound procedure performed to me was not complete cause did not provide the exact sizes of the left ovary or the cyst. Instead, it provided the combined size of both . Therefor,dr ******** suggested that in the next ultrasound  ,make sure to ask the person doing the procedure to give the size of each for it to be usefull. Now,let me go back to the company response ,no it dose not resolve my complain . To resolve it, they need to overwrite  the invoice and make it as I was initially advised $261.

Thnk you for your time

Business Response:

We appreciate the opportunity to review and respond about the concerns of member, ID# *******. We
are sorry to hear that the services she received did not meet her expectations. It is our goal at Sharp ReesStealy
(SRS) to provide outstanding customer service.
Please refer to the second enclosed response that was sent to the member.
I have attached a copy of the letter that I will be mailing to ID#: ******* to let her know the report of the
test in question was specific regarding each measurement and how she may obtain a copy of the report.
Please review the following attachments:
• Attachment A: letter to ID#: *******
If any further assistance is needed, I can be reached at ************, for any questions.
Thank you,
***** ****, L VN
Care Coordinator
SRS Quality Management
Sharp Rees-Stealy

Thank you for your letter to the Better Business Bureau regarding your concern at Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS).
The concern was forwarded to the Quality Depmiment for review and investigation. We are very sorry to
hear that our services did not meet your expectations.
Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS) has an extensive Quality Management Program, which includes the evaluation of
all issues of concern brought to our attention. We are dedicated to providing high quality medical care and
patient satisfaction.
Due to the need to protect your patient confidentiality, (as this letter may be posted on the Better Business
Bureau website), I will not be using specific names of procedures.
In the second complaint you submitted, you stated that you forgot to mention the ultrasound was not
complete and the exact sizes of measurements were not provided, but rather a combined size of both. The
ultrasound repmi is specific to identify each size independently, not combined as you have suggested.
To receive a copy of the ultrasound report, please contact me or the HIM (Medical Records Dept.).
We apologize for any distress this may have caused to you. You also may file a grievance with your
insurance company to review the billing. There will no change in the invoice.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention as communication is an essential component of medical care,
and through communication, we can improve the services provided to our patients. Additionally, all patient
concerns are cumulatively tracked regardless of the outcome. This is a component of the overall Quality
Assurance monitoring program which evaluates medical care provided to our patients.
If any further assistance is needed, I can be reached at ************, for any questions.
Sincerely,
***** ****, L VN
Care Coordinator
Quality Management
Sharp Rees-Stealy

4/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It has to do with the billing from the hospital. Yes we have our share of the bill is 2,400 dollars. Which is very high we have very good insurance. Our insurance they way over charging for services I got.Right now my husband is only working a 32 hour week. In the last two month we have made a lot on small payments.We didn't get a bill untill Febuary. Since then we have paid over275.00 dollar's in two months.They call all the time. They tell us that the payments are not good enough for the. It has to be over 200 dollar a month, and since we can not make that payment. They tell us that they are going to get us a loan from ****** ***** Bank. How can they get a loan in my name. Plus they say if don't go along with their bank loan they will sent to collection.We are pay what we can afford.

Desired Settlement: I would like they from say they are going to get a loan for us, and if we don't do the loan the will sent to collection's. Also the payment we are making are not good enough for them.

Business Response:

April 3, 2013
Mr. **** *****
BBB of San Diego
4747 Viewridge Ave. Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123
Re: BBB ID # ******* ******
Dear Mr. *****:
RECEIVED 0 8
I am in receipt of your letter to ***** ******, Esq. for Sharp HealthCare. Mr. ****** has requested 1
respond on his behalf to your correspondence.
Sharp HealthCare is able to confirm that Mr. and Mrs. ****** misunderstood the several attempts to
offer payment arrangements in regards to a recent visit to Sharp HealthCare.
Sharp HealthCare has agreed to a 30-day delay in collection activity to allow the ******s the time to
offer Sharp HealthCare a mutually satisfactory repayment plan. The ******s are to contact Sharp
HealthCare by May 3, 2013.
Should you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact me at ***** ********. I would be
happy to speak with you.

Sincerely,

******* *****
Sharp HealthCare
Manager, PFS Private Pay
Encl: BBB letter of 3/20/13
CC: Mr. & Mrs. ******
P. ***** ******, Esq., Sharp HealthCare
******** *********, Vice President, Patient Financial Services

3/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Sharp Rees-Stealy downtown for eye exam twice on 12-10-12 and 12-20-12, which means check-in twice and check-out twice. Every time, the receptionist said I only need to pay the $15 copay so I paid it. On 12-15-12, I received a billing statement for $45 fee for invoice #********. I called the customer service and talked to Eileen on 12-19-12 at 9:20AM, and she said everything is fine and the amount is adjusted. However, I received another billing statement on 01-19-13 and said $45 is still remain due. I wrote a complaint to the billing department because so many times I was told everything was okay and there was no balance. In addition, the other optometry I went before never charge me anything besides the copay. The customer service representative wrote back, who didn't even give me the name, in only 3 sentences and said that he or she was "advised" that it was my responsibility and wanted me to just contact or appeal to VSP, the insurance company for any other issue. Surprisingly, not only that Sharp kept on kicking me away from getting a reasonable answer of why I kept on getting the incorrect information, Sharp also added another $15 on 01-24-13 for invoice #********. I never went to Sharp on 01-24-13 and they never give me any explanation of the bill; they just charge whatever they want and there is no need for them to explain anything at all. It is totally okay for them to make mistakes and all I need to do is just pay up. Sharp expressed very poor customer service and it doesn't meet any patients' expectations. Sharp shows that they don't care and they want to make everything more complicated with incorrect information so the patients will just give up and pay whatever Sharp wants.

Desired Settlement: Sharp needs to adjust the balance to $0, as what they told me so many times in person when I checked-in and out and on the phone when I talked to the representative. In addition, they need to apologize for the incorrect information provided, the email with no explanation and just want to add more fees, and the time I wasted on this matter since last year. I am not sure how they got any award but I am going to write to each and every of them to complaint about Sharp's poor services and mistake.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. **,

Thank you for your letter to the Better Business Bureau regarding your concern at Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS).
The concern was forwarded to the Quality Department for review and investigation. We are very sorry to
hear that our services did not meet your expectations.
Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS) has an extensive Quality Management Program, which includes the evaluation of
all issues of concern brought to our attention. We are dedicated to providing high quality medical care and
patient satisfaction.
A thorough evaluation of your grievance has been conducted by the SRS Quality Management Department
based on your dissatisfaction with SRS billing and collection issues.
On 12110/12 you were seen for an office visit exam with Dr. ************ and you paid $15.00 as a copay.
On 12/20112 you were seen again by Dr. ************, but you did not pay any copay.
The contact lens fitting fee is $60.00, but our auto payment program automatically applied your $15.00
copay towards the contact lens fitting fee, therefore causing it to appear that you owed $45.00. The auto
payment program should not have applied a copay to the contact lens fitting fee.
On 12115/12 a billing statement for $ 45.00, (invoice *******), was generated, but it was incorrect. It
should have been for the whole contact lens fitting fee of $60.00. Again, it stated $45.00 because of auto
payment misreading the $15.00 copay. The VSP plan does not cover contact lens fitting fees. This is
something that you may want to contact the VSP plan to discuss. On 2/4113, the Patient Financial
Services Dept. (PFS), removed the $15.00 from the contact lens fitting fee (mistakenly taken by the auto
payment program) and restored it to the copay.
On 12119/12 you spoke to ******, Customer Service Representative (CSR), regarding your bill and she
sent an email to the Business Service Representative (BSR) asking that your bill of $45.00 be billed to
VSP. Immediately the BSR informed her that VSP does not cover the contact lens fitting fee.
Unfortunately, ****** did not contact you to let you know that, but she now understands that VSP does
not cover the contact lens fitting fee.
On ******* you stated that Sharp added on another $15.00 and that you were not seen on 1/24113. The
1/24/13 is a posting date from VSP explaining how much they pay and how much is the patient
responsibility, not an office visit.

On 1/24113 you submitted a mySharp™ message requesting the billing statement to be fixed and an
apology for the error in two days. On ******* the SRS PFS Dept. responded to you: " Thank you for
contacting us through mySharp. In regards to your $45.00 invoice inquiry; we sent the review to the
Downtown site directly and they advised us that according to your VSP benefits, the contact lens fee is
not covered and is a patient responsibility. If you dispute this please contact VSP to review and to
appeal."
An eye exam and refraction is $300.00. The VSP payment was $74.50 and the contractual adjustment
was $210.50. Subtracting $74.50 and $210.50 from $300.00 is $15.00.
The amount you owe for services is the contact lens fitting fee of $60.00 as this is not covered by VSP.
We apologize for any distress this may have caused to you.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention as communication is an essential component of medical care,
and through communication, we can improve the services provided to our patients. Additionally, all patient
concerns are cumulatively tracked regardless of the outcome. This is a component of the overall Quality
Assurance monitoring program which evaiuates medical care provided to our patients.
If any further assistance is needed, I can be reached at ************, for any questions.
Sincerely,

***** ****, L VN
Care Coordinator
Quality Management
Sharp Rees-Stealy

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Sharp’s response was just repeating what I said on my complaint but I failed to see any compensation for the time and effort I spend on contacting them due to their mistakes and poor customer service.

I did my part of following up:

1. I was there 2 days with check-in and out 4 times, but I was told there was no balance.

2. I called and waited in line for a long time and the representative said everything was fine.

Here are Sharp’s mistakes and poor customer services:

1. I wrote a complaint and Sharp responded in only 3 sentences.  There was no apology, no explanation, no name, and just simply pushed me to the VSP.

2. After my complaint, Sharp added another $15 without any explanation at that time.  From my point of view, it was just to show that they have the power to punish my complaint.  If I didn’t complaint to BBB, I would never receive any explanation.

3. Based on the response, instead of solving the issues, ***** **** also wants to push them away.  She said the billing statement was wrong, the auto payment program was wrong, and the CSR was wrong for not contacting me.  However, it does not matter because I have to deal with their mistakes.

I spend so much time dealing with this bureaucracy and the response I got was just repeating what I wrote on my complaint.  I don’t see anything about compensation or solution because Sharp thinks it is okay for them to make mistakes and Sharp thinks it is okay for me to spend time and effort deal with their mistakes.  This is why I do not accept the response made by the business to resolve this complaint.

Regards,

**** **

Business Response:

Dear Mr. **,
Rees-Stealy
Medical Group
Thank you for your second letter to the Better Business Bureau regarding your concern at Sharp Rees-Stealy
(SRS). The concern was forwarded to the Quality Depmiment for review and investigation. We are very
sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations.
Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS) has an extensive Quality Management Program, which includes the evaluation of
all issues of concern brought to our attention. We are dedicated to providing high quality medical care and
patient satisfaction.
As you know from our letter responding to your original complaint on 2/5/13, a thorough evaluation of your
grievance was conducted by the SRS Quality Management Depmiment based on your dissatisfaction with
SRS billing and collection issues.
Again in review:
On 12/1 0/12 you were seen for an office visit exam with Dr. ***** ******* and you paid $15.00 as a co pay.
On 12/20/12 you were seen again by Dr. ************, but you did not pay any copay.
The contact lens fitting fee is $60.00, but our auto payment program automatically applied your $15.00
copay towards the contact lens fitting fee, therefore causing it to appear that you owed $45.00. The auto
payment program should not have applied a copay to the contact lens fitting fee.
On 12115/12 a billing statement for$ 45.00, (invoice *******), was generated, but it was incorrect. It
should have been for the whole contact lens fitting fee of $60.00. Again, it stated $45.00 because of auto
payment misreading the $15.00 copay. The VSP plan does not cover contact lens fitting fees. This is
something that you may want to contact the VSP plan to discuss. On 2/4/13, the Patient Financial
Services Dept. (PFS), removed the $15.00 from the contact lens fitting fee (mistakenly taken by the auto
payment program) and restored it to the copay.
On 12119112 you spoke to ******, Customer Service Representative (CSR), regarding your bill and she
sent an email to the Business Service Representative (BSR) asking that your bill of $45.00 be billed to
VSP. Immediately the BSR informed her that VSP does not cover the contact lens fitting fee.
Unfortunately, ****** did not contact you to let you know that, but she now understands that VSP does
not cover the contact lens fitting fee.

On 1/24/13 you stated that Sharp added on another $15.00 and that you were not seen on 1124/13. The
1/24113 is a posting date from VSP explaining how much they pay and how much is the patient
responsibility, not an office visit.
On 1/24/13 you submitted a mySharp™ message requesting the billing statement to be fixed and an
apology for the error in two days. On 1125113 the SRS PFS Dept. responded to you: "Thank you for
contacting us through mySharp." In regards to your $45.00 invoice inquiry; we sent the review to the
Downtown site directly and they advised us that according to your VSP benefits, the contact lens fee is
not covered and is a patient responsibility. If you dispute this please contact VSP to review and to
appeal."
An eye exam and refraction is $300.00. The VSP payment was $74.50 and the contractual adjustment
was $210.50. Subtracting $74.50 and $210.50 from $300.00 is $15.00.
The amount you owe for services is the contact lens fitting fee of $60.00 as this is not covered by VSP.
We encouraged you to call VSP to discuss the contact lens fitting fee.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention as communication is an essential component of medical care,
and through communication, we can improve the services provided to our patients. Additionally, all patient
concerns are cumulatively tracked regardless of the outcome. This is a component of the overall Quality
Assurance monitoring program which evaluates medical care provided to our patients.
If any further assistance is needed, I can be reached at ************, for any questions.

Sincerely,

***** ****, LVN
Care Coordinator
Quality Management
Sharp Rees-Stealy

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response I receive from Sharp on 02/20/13 is almost identical to the response they sent on 02/05/13, and this just proves that Sharp does not care about their patient. 

The first response I received from Sharp on 02/05/12 was just repeating what I said on my original BBB complaint.  The second response I receive from Sharp on 02/20/13 was even worse because Sharp just simply copy the first letter and sent it again.  This proves that Sharp does not care about the mistakes they made and there is no word about compensation.

I have attached 2 documents:

1. 12/15/12 billing statement: it shows that the $15 copay was paid on 12/11/12.

2. 02/26/13 payment confirmation: Sharp mailed me another billing statement and asked me to pay the balance.  This file shows that in order to avoid to be transfer to the collection agency, I was forced to pay the $60 balance as they requested.

Regards,

**** **

2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I need to file a complaint against Ms. ******** *************, Clinical Psychologist, at Sharp Mesa Vista, part of Sharp Healthcare. That complaint will be with the State of California and with any other states and professional bodies to which this clinician belongs. Despite several requests for identifying information in relation to state licensing and professional bodies, both the clinician and Sharp's senior management have ignored such repeated, written requests which followed formal complaints with Sharp Healthcare / Sharp Mesa Vista Hospital.

Desired Settlement: I request to be supplied, as per the above, with this clinician's license information as a practitioner in the State of California and any other states in which licenses are held. I request a list of any professional bodies to which this practitioner belongs, any membership identifiers including membership status, and postal or website addresses sufficient for complaints to be registered. The senior manager of Sharp Mesa ***** is: Ms. ***** ********, Senior Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, Sharp Mesa ***** Hospital, **** ***** **** ******, San Diego, CA *****

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ********,

The Better Business Bureau of San Diego has forwarded your complaint to us. You have
requested the postal or website address of the professional body where complaints may
be registered. Below is the website for the California Department of Consumer Affairs
for the Board of Psychology.
www.psychboard.ca.gov/consumers/filecomplaint.shtml
We are not aware of any other states in which licenses are held by the practitioner you
have referenced nor are we aware of any other professional bodies to which the
practitioner belongs.
We have made a number of attempts to resolve this matter to your satisfaction and are
sorry if we have been unable to do so. We are committed to excellence in all that we do
and are saddened when we don't meet or exceed the expectations of those we serve.

Sincerely,

***** ********
Chief Executive Officer

2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Without notice, Sharp-Rees Steely gave my wife's OB-GYN appointment to someone else. It is very difficult to get an OB-GYN appointment with Sharp because (and they don't deny this) they're so understaffed in that area of health care. She had an appointment today (12/31/12) at the Sharp Carmel Valley offices. But when she showed up, on time, they'd already given that appointment to someone else. Now, the next appointment she isn't until February 11th. This is outrageously poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a comprehensive inquiry by the BBB into Sharp, ESPECIALLY INTO WOMEN'S HEALTH ISSUES. This is hardly the first instance of a missed appointment and shabby treatment of my family by Sharp. When my wife was pregnant with our second child we showed up on time to the ultrasound appointment at the Sharp Mira Mesa facility. But when we got there they said that the appointment was for a different facility in another part of town. There are many other examples.

Business Response:

Thank you for your letter to the Better Business Bureau regarding your concern at Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS).
The concern was forwarded to the Quality Department for review and investigation. We are very sorry to
hear that our services did not meet your expectations.
Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS) has an extensive Quality Management Program, which includes the evaluation of
all issues of concern brought to our attention. We are dedicated to providing high quality medical care and
patient satisfaction.
A thorough evaluation of your grievance has been conducted by the SRS Quality Management Department
based on your dissatisfaction regarding ***** ******** appointments.
In reviewing the patient's history of appointments, she was scheduled on 12/11/13 at 8:00am in which the
patient cancelled at 8:08am and rescheduled it for 12/20/12 at 2:10pm. The 12/20/12 appointment was
then cancelled on 12/18/12 by the husband, who requested to reschedule the appointment at the Sorrento
Mesa office to be closer to home. The appointment was made for 12/31/12 at 10:10 am with Dr. *****,
however, the person you spoke with on the phone cancelled the 12/20 appointment, but didn't complete
the task of entering the new appointment into the schedule.
We have identified the problem and spoken with the employee. We are very sorry for the inconvenience
and distress this caused.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention as communication is an essential component of medical care,
and through communication, we can improve the services provided to our patients. Additionally, all patient
concerns are cumulatively tracked regardless of the outcome. This is a component of the overall Quality
Assurance monitoring program which evaluates medical care provided to our patients.
If any further assistance is needed, I can be reached at ************, for any questions.

***** ****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The letter admits that Sharp made the mistake complained of in my letter when it states, "The appointment was made for 12/31/12 at 10:10 am with Dr. *****, however the person you spoke with on the phone cancelled the 12/20 appointment, but didn't complete the task of entering the new appointment into the schedule." 

The letter  does not fully and accurately explain the preceding history.  The 8:00 am  at 12/11/13 appointment was cancelled not just by the patient, but by mutual decision of the nurse practitioner (the person with whom the patient was to see) and the patient.  The patient had showed up, in person,  at the appointed time, and so the re-scheduling was made in person and only after discussion with the nurse practitioner.  The patient agreed to this decision based on the nurse practitioner's advise.  This decision was based on medical factors not under the patient's control and which could have not been accurately predicted when that appointment was originally made, months earlier.   The letter, however, omits these facts.  This omission is significant because the letter, as it stands, tends to lead the reader to conclude that this cancellation was purely made by the patient and so leads the reader to infer that Sharp was accommodating a change initiated by the patient.  But the complete facts are otherwise. 

The re-schedule for 12/20/12 was then changed more than 48 hours before the appointed time because of additional factors not under the patient's control.  And, it should be noted, there was no problem with Sharp in accepting that change.  The only problem was, as the letter admits, Sharp did not complete its calendering of the new appointment.  Now, the patient has another MONTH to wait for the next available appointment !! 

Admittedly, mistakes will happen, and the best way to learn from mistakes is to acknowledge and take full responsibility for them.  Here, however, the omissions noted above make it appear that Sharp is attempting to place at least some blame on the patient rather than fully acknowledge its mistake. 

Regards,

****** ********

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ********,

Thank you for your second letter to the Better Business Bureau regarding your concern at Sharp ReesStealy.
We apologize that our letter came across that we were not taking responsibility for the scheduling error. We
have spoken to the Supervisor, Provider and Call Center regarding the issues that you and your wife
encountered and are using this as an opportunity to improve our services.
We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused to you and your wife.
If any fmiher assistance is needed, I can be reached at ************, for any questions.
Sincerely,
***** ****, L VN
Care Coordinator
Quality Management
Sharp Rees-Stealy

1/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the week of Nov 24, 2012, I got a bill from Sharp Rees Stealy, and that was the first time
I discovered that I had to pay $41.38 for requesting medical records from Sharp
Rees Stealy. When I turned in my request, nobody in Sharp Rees Stealy told me I
had to pay a fee and how much I had to pay for requesting medical records.
Someone even called me to ask me if they could mail the records to my home
address, and they still didnt tell me the truth that they would charge me.When
I got the bill, I called immediately to ask why they didnt at the time of my
request let me know I had to pay this fee. At least, I would know if I could
afford it or not. And I asked to talk to their manager; they said the manager
was not there, and that the manager would call me back. After a while, I didnt
get a call from their manager, and I called them again. They said that their
manager didnt have to call me; I just need to pay because I now have the bill
and I should know how much to pay. They also mentioned that I had turned in the
requesting form which mentioned that I have to pay the fee, and that they would
mail me back the form to show me. Its been almost 3 weeks, and I havent gotten
any mail from Sharp Rees Stealy about my signed requesting form.

Desired Settlement: No Charge to be incurred.

Business Response:

Thank you for your letter to the Better Business Bureau regarding your concern at Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS).
It was forwarded to the Quality Department for review and investigation. We are very sorry to hear that our
services did not meet your expectations.
Sharp Rees-Stealy (SRS) has an extensive Quality Management Program, which includes the evaluation of
all issues of concern brought to our attention. We are dedicated to providing high quality medical care and
patient satisfaction.
A thorough evaluation of your grievance has been conducted by the SRS Quality Management Department
based on your dissatisfaction. You stated that a bill was sent to you for the request of your Medical Records.
I spoke to the SRS Central Region Supervisor, Mr. ***** ******, for the Health Information Management
(HIM) Dept. He explained that when records are requested by a member, HIM contacts our vendor,
Healthport, in Atlanta, GA. Healthport is responsible for billing the member. If a member has requested
their medical records for their own use, there is a fee. Although, when the request is for Continuity of Care
as in this case, then there is no fee. The SRS HIM Dept. failed to inform Healthport that this was for
Continuity of Care and therefore the member is not to be charged.
We, at SRS, apologize for this error and the inconvenience this caused. Mr. ****** called Healthport and
was told that the bill was not paid, but if you have recently submitted a payment for the records, then you
may contact Mr. ****** at ************. He will obtain the reimbursement for you.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention as communication is an essential component of medical care,
and through communication, we can improve the services provided to our patients. Additionally, all patient
concerns are cumulatively tracked regardless of the outcome. This is a component of the overall Quality
Assurance monitoring program which evaluates medical care provided to our patients.
If any further assistance is needed, I can be reached at ************, for any questions.

***** ****
Care Coordinator

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** **