Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tarpy Heating & Air

Phone: (619) 285-9300 Fax: (619) 285-9319 1360 Hill St, El Cajon, CA 92020

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers heating and air conditioning services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tarpy Heating & Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tarpy Heating & Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tarpy Heating & Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 2007 Business started: 07/01/2007 in CA Business incorporated 10/18/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 900580.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Paul Tarpy, Owner Mrs. Jenee N Tarpy, CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Jenee N Tarpy, CEO
Principal: Mr. Paul Tarpy, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Contractor Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbers

Products & Services

Tarpy Heating & Air sells the following brand(s): Amana, Carrier, Goodman, Luxaire, Rheem, Trane, Williams

Hours of Operation
M: 7:30 AM - 6:00 AM
T: 7:30 AM - 6:00 AM
W: 7:30 AM - 6:00 AM
Th: 7:30 AM - 6:00 AM
F: 7:30 AM - 6:00 AM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Discover, Visa, MasterCard, GE Financing, HERO Financing
Alternate Business Names
Tarpy Plumbing Heating & Air
Industry Tips

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had the absolute worst customer service experience of my life with this company. In December of 2012, I bought a house and had Tarpy install central AC for me before I even moved in. When I arrived, everything was installed, but I did not use the AC until July 2013, as it was not hot until then. At that time, I turned the AC on during a week when it was in the upper 90s and it did not work. That's right folks, less than a year after install, there was no cool air coming out. I called the after hours repair number listed right on the furnace and left a message with a secretary who promised to forward my message to the office in the morning. Two days later, I had not heard from them and filled out a form online for them to contact me as well as contacted them by email at the account listed online. As well as leaving a message on their answering machine at the office. I STILL DID NOT RECEIVE A RESPONSE. The only way to get through to these people seems to be to call during business hours and hope that someone competent answers the phone. I was finally able to schedule for technician to come out a few days later. He was scheduled to come between 3-6 and he showed up at about 5:30pm. He declared the issue solved by recharging the coolant. Why, you may ask, was the coolant low less than 8 months after the installation of a brand new unit? Your guess is as good as mine. He declared the unit to be functional and left before I could figure otherwise. The next week, the temperatures were in the upper 90s again and so I turned the AC on. Imagine my pleasure when this did not work. Once again, I called the after hours number, emailed, sent an online form and called the office 3 times before I got a secretary. She said the same tech would return the next day. I told her that I had already missed an afternoon of work, and could not really afford to miss more. She happily obliged and said she would send him out in the morning 8-11, and would make sure that I was his first stop. The next morning, I waited at home until 10:45am before calling to find out where the tech was. He returned my call at 11:30 and asked if he could reschedule. I explained that I had now taken the entire morning off of work, in addition to the afternoon the week before so rescheduling was impossible. He agreed to come to my house ASAP, which translated into about 1:30pm. Upon his arrival, I noted that it was the same tech as the week prior, which I was slightly concerned about. He assured me that it was a fairly complex issue, where it's difficult to tell how much coolant to put in, so he must have added too much. He went to inspect the AC unit outside and made a half dozen calls to his supervisor before hauling out a coolant scavenger machine. The scavenger had a 3 prong, grounded plug and the tech did not bring an extension cord. Instead, he went ahead and used my 2- ***** extension cord. As you can probably imagine, this worked initially but after a minute or two the machine coughed, sparked and smoked before turning off. The tech seemed utterly flabbergasted and said this was the second scavenger that had crapped out on him in as many days. After yet another phone call to his supervisor, he let some gas out into the atmosphere and declared it fixed. He used a temperature probe to measure the air coming out of my vents and said that it was working. And it was, for another week or two, as long as it didn't get about about 90 outside. Last week, when the temperatures were in the upper 90s and 100s, I turned the AC on again. Once again, it is not working. I called the after hours number (I really should have learned). After I was cut off 3 times at 3am, I managed to speak with a secretary who told me someone would call me the next morning. Once again, there was no phone call returned. I called the next afternoon (Friday) and was promised that ******* would come to my house "after 3pm" on Monday (yesterday). Yesterday, I left work and came home at 2:30pm. I waited, and I waited, and I waited. At 5:30pm, I called to find out if ******* was coming. I was told to "just keep waiting, because the techs are always working late." At 6:30pm, I called again, to be told that ******* always calls 15 minutes prior to the appointment. (This would have been nice to know before leaving work early). At 7:00pm, I called and asked if ******* could be contacted to find out his ETA. She told me that it was impossible for them to contact the technicians from the after hours office. (WHAT?!) At 7:30pm, I called again to be told they would contact ******* and he would call me. At 8:00pm, I called to let them know that ******* had still not called. At 8:30pm, I called to let them know that ******* had still not called. At 9:00pm, I called and left a rather direct message that I was EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED with the customer service that I had received from their company and expected a call back by 2pm today or I would be contacting the BBB. I have still not heard from these people. The AC unit is supposed to be under warranty, has barely been used and HAS NEVER WORKED PROPERLY

Desired Settlement: Call me. Set an appointment that they will actually attend. Send a technician with a level on competence required to solve the problem. Get the AC unit working as it is intended to.

Business Response: Dear ********* ********, 

I am writing in response to your complaint on this unresolved issue. I agree that it has taken far too long to figure out the problem with the air conditioning. I truly and sincerely apologize and can understand your frustration. We pride ourselves in excellence and integrity, and it has always been our #1 goal to provide superb service to our clients with 100% satisfaction. We want to make things right and do our very best to resolve this issue. I understand you tried to get in contact with us on several different occasions and was unsuccessful. Unfortunately, there was miscommunication during after hours calls that is supposed to be logged from a call center that is not in house. We are looking into our call center customer service and is something we can improve and grow from. I understand that the office spoke with you moments ago and scheduled an appointment for tomorrow (Friday) arrival between 2 and 5pm. We hope that this appointment can bring you clarity on A/C fix and better build a personal relation. We are always improving and changing to better meet the needs and serve others. I look forward to the appointment scheduled for tomorrow and please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions.

Thank you,

***** ***** 

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new AC from Tarpy in Feb 2013. In May 2013 we noticed leak stains in the ceiling. I contracted Tarpy and talked to ******* (the receiptionist) multiple times. The cancelled/rescheduled the appointment twice before finally fixing it. I requested to have the supervisor come out to double check the repair. The supervisor (****?) did confirm that they installed the AC improperly but that it was now fixed. He said that he would have ******* contact me in a couple of weeks (once the ceiling was dry) to set something up with their contractor to paint my ceiling. At the time my husband was deployed on the *** ***** ****** and a couple of weeks later I was notified that I needed to go to Gulfport, MS for training. I didn't hear from ******* prior to my departure. I returned home from Mississippi on Sept 8, 2013 and we contacted Tarpy again to sent up an appointment for them to fix the water damage to the ceiling. ******* took our infromation and informed us that she would have the contractor call us. Today is September 13 and since we still did not hear from anybody, I contacted her back. Once I finally got in touch with her, she informed me that she can pass my information to the contractor but that it wasn't their responsibility to ensure he contacted me. I told her that since I did business with Tarpy and Tarpy personnel caused the damage to my home by failing to install the AC properly, it was Tarpy's responsibility to fix the damage. How they went about that was up to them but it is still their responsibility. She told me that I could contact the contractor myself, however I informed her again that it was her job to contact him and ensure an appointment was set up and the damage was repaired to my satisfaction. She claimed she understood however from her attitude on the phone and my earlier experience with her lack of a work ethic I have doubts to her doing her job.

Desired Settlement: I want the repair to happen before Sept 21st, when I have to go back to work. I would also like an apology from the company for their slow response and lack of customer service.

Business Response:

In response to Ms.******’s complaint. We are very apologetic that she feels she did not get outstanding service. She called and stated she had some water damage to her home from the system we installed. We sent a technician out to the home immediately to take care of the issue. We sent our operations manager out to assess the damage. We let her know we would be responsible for the drywall repair. We do subcontract a professional to do the repair. He is independent from Tarpy Heating and Air. The drywaller was given Ms. ******’s contact information. Ms. ****** followed up shortly after and stated that she did not get a phone call. Our office let her know that the drywaller would be sent the information again and asked to please follow up immediately. Our office did offer to give Ms. ****** the gentleman’s phone number to contact directly as well. She declined his contact information. She expressed that she required him to respond immediately and would like our office to do the follow up. Our office apologized and was more that happy to do so, and contacted him directly. We expressed that this issue needed to be taken care of and that our customer requested an appointment immediately. Our drywall contractor contacted her immediately at that time and scheduled a visit. He was told to address the issue and anything else Ms. ****** requested at our expense due to the inconvenience. When he left her residence the unit was in proper working order and the drywall damage was repaired. She expressed to him that she was extremely satisfied with the work.

Tarpy Heating and Air