Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Curves

Phone: (858) 259-5588 Fax: (858) 259-5548 10855 Sorrento Valley Rd #8, San Diego, CA 92121 http://www.sdcurves.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fitness club memberships and weight loss/management classes designed for women.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Curves include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Curves
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 17, 2011 Business started: 01/03/2006 in CA
Type of Entity

Franchisee

Business Management
Ms. Cheryle Dufek, Franchise Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cheryle Dufek, Franchise Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Health Clubs Weight Control Services Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10855 Sorrento Valley Rd #8

    San Diego, CA 92121

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract is a term of 12 months after the initial 12 months drops to month to month. I signed a contract for a 12 month term on 5/20/13 with first month of membership fee due at signing. A 12 month contract means you make 12 monthly payments. I made the first month payment on 5/20/13 with 11 payments due. I continued to make payments for June, July, Aug., Sept., Oct., Nov., and Dec 2013. In 2014 I made payments in Jan., Feb., March, and April. The payment in April 2014 was the final 12th payment of a 12 month contract. The auto draft payment taken on 4/17/14 paid the contract up to 5/20/14. I gave a 30 day written cancellation on 5/7/14. I was already paid up until 5/20/14 so I stated in the cancellation letter that I was giving Curves the authorization to auto draft $21.96 that would pay the overage for the 30 day cancel. Once Curves received my certified letter the owner ******* ***** called and left a voicemail message stating that since I signed the contract on 5/20/13 the final payment to complete the contract commitment was due on 5/20/14. My April 2014 payment took me to the contract end date of 5/20/14. My April payment was my 12th so technically I am now month to month. I sent in a 30 day written cancellation so my cancel date will be 6/7/14. I have already paid up until 5/20/14 with my April payment so I only owe a partial of $21.96 to take the billing up to 6/7/14. My problem with all this is that the franchise owner ******* ***** doesn't understand the contract she is having her customers sign. Her logic is forcing people to pay 13 payments instead of 12 payment for a 12 month contract. Cheryle accepted my 30 day written cancel but then proceeded to charge me a full month dues instead of the $21.96 she was authorized to.

Desired Settlement: The overage of $16.80 should be credited back to my debt card and the owner needs to understand the terms and conditions of the contracts she is providing to her customers.

Business Response:

****** ************* *******In response to the customer complaint on the billing it was my mistake and I will be sending the customer a check for the over charge of $16.80. It was my error and Iam very sorry.
 
Thank You
******* ***** 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Curves
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)