Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jaffe Bros Inc

Phone: (760) 749-1133 Fax: (760) 749-1282 View Additional Phone Numbers 28560 Lilac Rd, Valley Center, CA 92082 http://www.organicfruitsandnuts.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers wholesale distribution of organic foods and products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jaffe Bros Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jaffe Bros Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jaffe Bros Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 11, 2001 Business started: 10/01/1986 in CA Business incorporated 10/01/1986 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lawrence Jaffe, CEO Mr. Don Robey, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lawrence Jaffe, CEO
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Health & Diet Food Products - Wholesale & Manufacturing Fruits & Vegetables - Wholesale

Alternate Business Names
OrganicFruitsandNuts.com

Additional Locations

  • 28560 Lilac Rd

    Valley Center, CA 92082 (877) 975-2333 (760) 749-1133

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered in shell walnuts from this business and after cracking the walnuts i realized that i was throwing oway more then half the nuts due to mold being on the walnuts. I contacted the business and had the nuts shipped back but they refused to refund me for the nuts and the shipping of the bad product. This is a nightmare of a business to deal with.

Desired Settlement: I need full refund I paid for the product and shipping

Business Response:

March 27, 2015
The following is a response to the complaint registered by ******* **** on March 25, 2015                     (Other names used by this person are ***** **** and **** ****)
None of the Walnuts returned by this customer showed any signs of containing mold, but our return policy is extremely liberal so we refunded the customer for the goods returned. Shipping was not refunded because we determined that the goods were not defective and only in the case of defective goods do we refund shipping costs as UPS services and charges are separate from ours and we do not accept the penalty of a customer’s discretionary decision to return goods.  However, a credit of $70.53 was given to this customer for goods returned and we paid $45.59 for the UPS Call Tag that we issued to have goods picked up and returned to Jaffe Bros... We originally shipped this customer 40 LBS of In-Shell Walnuts and then accepted her request to return the majority of what she received. We paid for a 40 LB return UPS Call Tag on her word that she would be returning just under that amount, but what we received was about 10 LBS and she did not send back any samples of moldy or defective Walnuts. In fact, upon inspection, the Walnuts that we opened and examined from this customer's return were the usual fine quality that we have come to expect from the Ferrari Walnut Farms in Linden California, a third generation Organic Grower of the highest integrity. Of the thirty or so Walnuts that we opened for examination, we found not one example of mold or any defect at all. 
In a phone conversation this customer explained to us that other companies she deals with, including ******, refund her purchases much more readily to which we responded that we were willing to refund whatever she returned, no questions asked.  And we can understand the return being a pound or two short due to her sampling, but at 30 LBS short we sense a level of deliberate dishonesty. Also, if she had sent back any defective Walnuts we could have seen what she was describing and also have had them tested to verify that they were from the same crop as the others we had sent from ******* *****, but, as mentioned before, she neglected to send any samples of defective product at all so we have no way of verifying if she in fact had received any moldy or defective Walnuts from Jaffe Bros.
As far as her allegation of our operation being a scam, we haven't had to resort to dishonest methods to run a profitable enterprise these past 67 years, but until this customer sends us the 30 missing pounds of Walnuts and some examples of moldy Walnuts we're afraid that we will have to apply the term "scam" to her efforts to defraud us and slander/libel our impeccable reputation which we wouldn't dream of tarnishing for any lack of customer service on which we pride ourselves. 
Sincerely,
******** *****
Jaffe Bros., Inc.
******* ****:
I ordered some in shell walnuts from this company and after opening some of the walnuts I realized that over half of the walnuts had mold on them. I contacted the company and shipped that nuts back but they refused to refund me for the full product. They lack customer service and try and argue with you that the product is good. I would never order from this business again what a joke, be aware of this scam of an operation. 
Review By: ***** **** (******************) - Zip Code: *****
Submitted: 03/25/2015

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The product I ordered from this business is in she'll walnuts and in order to determine that nuts were bad one must consume some of the product. Regardless how much is consumed my family and I have determined that we were throwing away a lot of the product that we paid money for. i am the consumer and to me anything that has mold is extremely defective (even dengerous) to your health. I have pictures of batches of nuts that we threw away that were black and have white fuzz on them (which I am happy to provide)! I have a shipping receipt from ups showing I shipped around 20 pound of product when I talked with the business they told me they got a little over 14 pounds back now thy claim it was10. It is clear they are just trying to find a reson to refuse the refund. The only acceptable resolution to this would be full refund!!! It is not about the money but more about the fact that the product was defective even dengerous to my health and instead of pulling the product off their shell they are selling this to more customers who can potentially get sick. 

Regards,

***** ****



Business Response:

Apparently this customer has redirected her initial focus of receiving moldy /defective goods, bad customer service,  and being “scammed” regarding a refund, toward a health and safety issue. We are prepared to address additional issues such as Health & Safety or even  gender bias, religious discrimination, racism or any other hot-button topic that this customer feels can enable her to receive free merchandise, but anything beyond the scope of the initial claim is distracting and we would prefer waiting until the first case is closed before moving forward to broader subjects...  The customer mentions that her claim is not about the money which is compatible with our intentions since our *policy is to issue a refund only upon the return of the defective goods in question. It is apparent that the customer is not returning any further goods so we have no plans to consider any further refund. I therefore respectfully request that this cased be closed.
Sincerely,
******** *****
Jaffe Bros., Inc.
*Please see our SHIPPING, CLAIMS, and POLICY INFORMATION under the SHIPPING link at the bottom of our website, organicfruitsandnuts.com,  or on page 26 of our catalog.