Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Village Hat Shop

Find a Location

Phone: (619) 906-4440 Fax: (619) 683-5535 View Additional Phone Numbers 3821 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92103 http://villagehatshop.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hat and hat accessories for retail.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Village Hat Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

15 Customer Reviews on Village Hat Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 12
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 15

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 31, 2000 Business started: 11/05/1981 in CA Business started locally: 11/05/1981 Business incorporated 11/05/1981 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tina Belinsky, Owner Mr. Fred Belinsky, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tina Belinsky, Owner
Number of Employees

48

Business Category

Hats - Retail

Products & Services

Village Hat Shop sells the following brand(s): Bailey of Hollywood, Borsalino, Brixton, City Sport Caps, Columbia Sportwear, Head'n Home, Jaxon Hats, Kangol, Scala, Stetson, Sur La Tete, Tilley Endurables, Torrey Hats

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, All Major Credit Cards, PayPal
Refund and Exchange Policy
If you are unhappy with your VillageHatShop.com order, we are happy to accept a return or exchange within 30 days of its receipt of a new and unworn hat this does not include the shipping cost. Also customers are responsible for paying the shipping to return the item to our facility. International customers are responsible for all shipping charges in regards to an exchange or return. If there is an issue such as a defect or damaged item please contact us at 1-888-VHS-HATS before sending any item back. As a courtesy to shoppers during Christmas, we extend our return policy during the months of December and January.
Alternate Business Names
Bel-Born Management Corporation Berets.com

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3443 India St

    San Diego, CA 92103 (619) 906-4440

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3821 4th Ave

    San Diego, CA 92103 (619) 683-5533 (888) 847-4287

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    420-A Shoreline Village Dr

    Long Beach, CA 90802 (562) 624-1141

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    853 W Harbor Dr #B

    San Diego, CA 92101

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    123 K St

    Sacramento, CA 95814

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    123 K St

    Sacramento, CA 95814

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi placed an order for this Briar hat Order # ******** and upon receiving it was disappointed that it did not fit. I carefully followed the measuring guidelines and watched the video on the villagehatshop.com website and it was determined that my size was a large. I called the customer service number listed and spoke to the agent as well as the manager who were both very quick to dismiss the fact that their guidelines were not true to size. If they are not true to size why would you place them there so that people can be mislead into what their hat size is? The manager told me they are not "magicians" and can't know for sure if hats will fit. Hmmm.... this is not very reassuring! I told her I should not be responsible for sending the hat back as this was not an error on my part. She said the policy is that customer pay for returning shipping, but in this case there is a problem with their measuring guideline that is misleading people to believe they are ordering their hat size when in fact they are not as it is not accurate. They offered to send me the next size up but of course if it did not fit I would be responsible for shipping that one back too. I declined. I had such a terrible experience dealing with the manager who clearly lacked customer service skills that at this point wanted to reimbursed back for my hat and never use this company again in the future. They are not accommodating as I was only following their guidelines. Measuring a head is not difficult but she made it sound like I did something wrong as was very unwilling to work with me and pay for return shipping.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that my $85 I paid for this hat be refunded but most importantly I am requesting that they provide me with a return shipping label or reimbursement to have this item shipped back to them as the error of providing customers with measuring guidelines that are not accurate falls on them. It is unfair practice to place such videos and measuring guidelines on their site leading customers to believe they are getting the right size then tell the customer sorry were aren not magicians. What kind of customer service is that? I'm not a magician either, I had no choice but to trust your guidelines. I would like to return this hat and have Village Hat Shop pay or my shipping as it was their error. Thank you

Business Response: I spoke to the customer yesterday regarding this issue.  The first statement she made was that the hat was beautiful but it did not fit.

We paid to ship the hat to her, and I explained our policy that is written at the bottom of every page of our website that she was responsible to ship the hat back to us for refund or exchange.  It is the contract agreed to when you purchase 
online to adhere to the policies of the seller.  Only the largest Online retailers, and there are very few, offer shipping both ways.  Many do not have free shipping at all.
If she elected to exchange the hat for a larger size, I would pay the shipping cost to ship the exchange hat back to her as well as include a set of hat sizers (an $8 value) in case the new hat was slightly large.
She declined. She kept repeating that she measured her husbands head according to our video, and used the sizing chart as her guide.  The sizing chart is the industry standard sizing chart, but everyone knows that there can 
be variations on fit in apparel. That is why on each product page of every hat we sell, if there is a size variation, we write about it in red letters.  The hat she purchased runs true to size.
Not all size 10 shoes will fit you, even though you wear a size 10 shoe.  She did not disagree with this point.  I also offered to help her determine the correct hat size over the phone.  
She declined the offer I made to send her an article how to determine your hat size from an adjustable ball cap.  I think everyone knows that there is a risk when you purchase apparel online.  I personally send back clothes and
shoes that are technically my size, but do not fit.  
There is no possible way fit can be guaranteed when you order online.  
We promise to pay for shipping twice, and the customer must pay to ship the hat back if a return is necessary.
As reflected in our excellent BBB rating, virtually all customers understand and agree.
We are happy to refund the hat for the full purchase price when the hat (returned in new and unworn condition) is processed in our returns department.  
Thank you,
Tina
Villagehatshop.com

Consumer Response:

  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


So let me reiterate, Tina, The Village Hat Shop manager,  is misleading people who are unaware that the "sizing guidelines" which are posted on her website should technically not be followed because they are misguiding average customers who have no choice but to trust that the website would post accurate information.  If the sizing guidelines should not be used by customers, they should be removed off her website, as not to mislead customers to believe they are measuring for an accurate size, when in reality they are not. 

Yes, she  bragged and lectured me for 10 minutes about some sizing article she wrote and offered to send me a copy which I politely declined.  I don't care to read her article, when she clearly seems to know nothing about sizing.  What I do care about is her doing the right thing and admitting that her sizing chart should not be posted on her website along with an instructional video on sizing, if customers purchasing hats should not follow the guidelines they have posted.    

She also offered to send me an $8 sizing guide so I could remeasure my husband's head and then she would pay to ship me another hat, but I would be responsible to ship the original hat back to her and here is the catch, if the second hat doesn't fit then I would be responsible for once again shipping it back to her.  Now, call me crazy but instead of shipping me your $8 hat sizer and then shipping a second hat out to me, wouldn't it make more sense to just pay the $8 it would take to send the original hat back to her?  After the messy confrontation we encountered over the phone, why would I ever want to purchase another hat from her knowing that I would need to pay to ship it back again if there were a problem?  She was very difficult to deal with and I would never purchase anything from this site again.  

The whole thing has become a mess.  She says I signed a contract?  What contract is she referring to?  I signed no contract, all I did was purchase a hat from her online store.  Also, she repeated continuously to me on the phone how this hat measures, "true to size".  She sells over thousands of hats on her website, but she knew that this particular hat, measured exactly,  "true to size", well let me tell you something Tina, it doesn't!  So, like I explained to her I measured my husbands head not once, but three times and according to her guidelines he fit a large.  Well the large didn't fit!

As a customer of her online store, I am telling you that this hat does not measure, "true to size".  If you claim it does, then clearly there must be a defect on this hat.    If according to Tina this hat measures "true to size", then it obviously there must be a defect.  Let me remind her what her refund/return policy is, "If there is an issue such as a defect or damaged item please contact us at 1-888-VHS-HATS before sending any item back.  

She is making a big deal over $8.  That is all I was requesting for her was to honor and do what was RIGHTt.  When I told her that she should do what was right, she became very offended and rudely responded to me in an authoritative voice as if I were her child, "You are upset because you didn't get your way, you can contact who you want but you won't win."  That is what I call excellent customer service coming directly from the manager.  Shame on her for not doing what was right from the beginning.  

Regards,

***** ********


Business Response:

What I said was misinterpreted.  I am sorry the customer is unhappy because they are not getting their way.

There is no guarantee that apparel purchased online will fit.  We do out best to give guidelines.

My decision stands.

Send the hat back for a refund.

****

Villagehatshop.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am requesting the $8 owed to me by the seller be refunded back as it was their misleading sizing guide and video provided on their website which was inaccurate, and lead me to order the hat in the wrong size.  As a consumer you trust that the seller would post accurate information.  I accurately measured my husband's head three times and ordered as per their sizing instructions.  It was not disclosed on their website that the guidelines could possibly be inaccurate so as a consumer, I had no choice but to believe I would receive the correct size.  I do not feel this is a matter as the manager foolishly states, "getting my way" this is a matter of morals and principles and shame on the manager who doesn't recognize she should do what is right for the customer instead of making false accusations.  At the end of the day it's only $8, but it's the principle of doing what is right.  

Regards,

***** ********

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a Tilly hat from Village Hat Shop and received the wrong item twice. I had to pay $10 each time to return to them via USPS. During my second exchange, my order was cancelled for no reason. I am out $20 for return shipping and still have no hat. I called the customer service number, the employee was rude, hard to understand, and did not help at all. Eventually, when I asked for free expedited shipping for a new hat, she hung up the phone on me. Terrible serivce. Will never use this company again.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $20 of return shipping that I paid USPS for exchanging a hat that I never received.

Business Response:

BBB,

Thank you for the opportunity to reply.

Mr ****** purchased a Tilley LTM2 Airflo size 7-3/4 Natural 400825 on 7-14-14 order #********.  He registered a return and stated the following.  "The hat has too large of a brim.  I would love to exchange for a LTM6  Airflow in Natural or Olive Green.  I need a size 7-3/4." 

In response to his inquiry to return I wrote:

"Thank you for your order.

I am sorry the hat did not fit.

Yes you may return the hat for exchange or refund.

Please register your return at this link and follow the instructions:

http://www.villagehatshop.com/returns

You are responsible to ship the hat back to us and we will pay for your exchange ground shipping.

We also offer a quick exchange option if you need the hat right away, and that is offered when you register your return.

If you elect the standard exchange procedure it can take 2-1/2 to 3 weeks to receive an exchange or refund from the date you ship the hat back to us." 

By the way, the brim lengths of every hat on our website are detailed on the product page of each hat.  (Approx. 3 3/4" crown Approx. 3 3/4" brim)  Customers are responsible to pay to ship merchandise back for exchange and we will pay to ship the exchange hat.  This is stated very clearly on our website on every single page in the return exchange section. http://www.villagehatshop.com/returns This is a common procedure with most websites.  I just purchased towels from Overstock.com, and had to pay return shipping.

We exchanged the hat as he asked.  We sent him the CORRECT hat that he ordered both times.  If we make an error we pay for shipping. Then Mr. ****** wanted to exchange the 2nd hat we sent to him.  Our system does not allow to register a 2nd return, and we were contacted via email.  Mr. ****** wrote:

"I need to return for a larger size hat. I need a 7 7/8 in Khaki and Olive. Will be shipping back today."
And then he wrote:

"I tried using the return form, but it only says my order was completed and won't let me schedule it for return. This is the second time I have returned it for exchange. How don't get re-payment for shipping? " (sic)

I responded:

"We do not pay to ship hats back to us, that is your responsibility.
We will refund you for a new and unworn hat when your return is processed.
If this is the 2nd time, you will have to put your instructions inside the box. If you need help, determining what hat or your size, call us."

Mr. ****** understood the conditions of the purchase and exchange and he was also encouraged to call us for hat selection and sizing assistance.


Mr. ****** did not follow my email instructions to receive a 3rd hat, to include his instructions for the exchange in the return box.  When the returns department opened his 2nd return they found no instructions for an exchange and they therefore refunded him in full for the full price of the hat.


We accommodated all of Mr. *******s instructions that we were aware of.  He also received free shipping on his initial order and we paid to ship the 1st exchange hat back to him.


This is what we can do in good faith.  We will pay to ground ship another Tilley hat of his choice, and extend a 10% discount on the cost of the hat.

If he decides to accept this offer I would like to speak with him either by email or telephone to determine the exact hat and size Mr. ****** wants.


Thank you for your time,

**** ********

President

Villagehatshop.com

 

5/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a hat and it never arrived and i called to get a answer they were really rude called me a liar saying I sent them a exchange i never even received my item and someone from there company hacked into my account and stole my identity used my email to file a false claim then i was told to never do business again with them

Desired Settlement: A Refund and a personal apoligy

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

The customer ordered the hat on the 21st of April, according to the tracking information the hat was received on the 24th of April.  We are happy to show the tracking information if requested. On the 25th of April we received a return request to exchange the hat for another size, that was submitted by the customer on our return register.

We never received the returned hat as of today.

Here is what customer wrote in our return register on our website:

"ordered wrong size please send me a x large please im in the process of returning the original order can you go ahead and send me a x large please"

Yesterday on May 5th customer called to say he never received the hat, send him his hat, and send an X-large size instead, the very same thing he asked for in his private return register.  How can that be when he registered the return?  We spoke to him, and we never called him a liar, but it seems that there is something that is not quite right here.  If you notice in his email to the BBB he uses the same spelling and punctuation errors as he did in his return request to us.  I told him that we were going to refund his order, but that we were not interested in doing business with him going forward.  Our company refunded his credit card for the full price of the hat, and we will never get the hat back.  Purchasing online requires trust from both the buyer and the seller.  When that trust is broken both the buyer and the seller have the right to cease doing business with each other.

It is surprising that the customer made a BBB complaint when we are the injured party who suffered a loss.  Yes, we are a business, but we are a small business comprised of a few people doing our best, not a conglomerate, where losses matter.

Thank you,

****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

******* *******


Excuse me don't have this business contact m e again they are so rude they failed to mention they were very rude to me  and also the supervisor whoever told me they refused to refund my money

so shes the liar not me and if they threaten me again ill file a criminal lawsuit against them .

i will never do business with these people ever I never received my item purchase I clearly stated that I would like to receive a x large hat if they decided to send me my hate

my account and email was hacked into because i never sent anything

and I will only accept a new hat x large and a refund for all the mental stress etc if not i will tell everyone online etc how they screw people

thank you

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Customer has been refunded in full. including the shipping costs.   I am not writing customer as per his request.

Despite our efforts to satisfy the  customer,  he is not happy.

I cannot apologize given the circumstances of the transaction. 

It appears as if we are in agreement because neither one of us wants continue doing business with each other.

As far as we are concerned, this matter is closed.

As you can see from our records we have virtually no complaints against us, proving our integrity in business for 34 years.

Unfortunately we cannot please all of the people all of the time.

For this I am truly sorry.

****

www.villagehatshop.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *******

 

Jesus Loves me on May 9th i accepted him as my saviour  he died shed his blood ws buried rose again

Going to church will not get us to heaven, neither will baptism, the bible says you must admit your a sinner

and you must realize that Hell is real and you stop trusting in yourself to save you and you simply trusting Jesus only

if interested more please contact  me Let me say i was rude also and im sorry have a blessed day

 

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

15 Customer Reviews on Village Hat Shop
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart