Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cleveland Golf

Phone: (714) 889-1300 Fax: (714) 889-5890 View Additional Phone Numbers 5601 Skylab Rd, Huntington Beach, CA 92647 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers golf clubs and accessories.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cleveland Golf meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cleveland Golf
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 10/29/1982 in CA Business incorporated 10/29/1982 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Bill Bird, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Stephen Gingrich, Vice President of Human Resources / Global Legal Enforcement
Number of Employees


Business Category

Golf Equipment & Supplies - Retail Golf Carts

Alternate Business Names
Roger Cleveland Golf Company Inc Srixon Xxio

Additional Locations

  • 5601 Skylab Rd

    Huntington Beach, CA 92647 (714) 889-1300 (800) 999-6263


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Srixon driver from thr company earlier this year. I got fitted at an event by a company fitter and ordered the driver. It was fantastic and I could not wait. I was told the driver would arrive within a week. It took over two weeks to get the driver in. The driver that came in felt completely different than the one I was fit for. I reached out to the company to see if someone could tinker it for me or help me get fit for one on site. They didn't respond for a week. I reached out again and said I need an answer or a refund. They said they could do a refund. I sent the driver back in August. On September 3 I got an e-mail that the driver had arrived and the refund should be processed within 7 days. Fast forward to now, the refund has not been processed, no one has reached out to me, and the club it was bought through now says they will not fully refund me. It has been the worst customer service I have ever experienced and habe neither the driver or a refund for a month and a half.

Desired Settlement: I just want my refund I was promised in a timely manner for the bad product and major inconvenience to my personal cash flows.

Business Response:

In response to complaint number: ********

Roger Cleveland Golf Company Inc., Regional Sales Manager and Sales Rep (The Company) held a Demo Day on May 29, 2015 at one of our customers / accounts a private golf club in North Carolina.  Mr. ************ was a guest of a member of the private club and participated in a club fitting and ordered a custom driver from the private club.  Custom orders are assembled from scratch and not as easily available as standard spec products.  Mr. ************ did receive his custom club on June 16, 2015.   On July 23, 2015 Mr. ************ contacted The Company customer service department and stated to The Company c/s representative that he didn’t like the driver and wanted to be refitted, Mr. ************ then stated he was on the road and requested c/s representative to email him the c/s rep’s contact information for additional follow up at a later date, c/s rep emailed contact information.  On July 25, 2015 Mr. ************ emailed c/s rep stating “Is there any way I can just return the driver?  I really don’t want to risk not getting fit on location for a club” July 27, 2015 c/s rep emailed Mr. ************ stating “I don’t believe we can return the driver. I have emailed our Regional Sales Manager and the Sales Rep from private club to see what our options are”. On August 4, 2015 The Company Sales Rep emailed Mr. ************ with specific detail how to proceed in getting a refund from private club.  The Company Sales Rep agreed to help Mr. ************ facilitate returning his driver to the private club.  Mr. ************ mailed his driver to Company Sales Rep in late August and after opening the driver it was visibly described as “Normal scratching on face / sole, but also multiple scratches on top of crown, very visible at address”.   On September 3, 2015 Mr. ************ was informed the country club will be credited for the driver.  It’s my understanding the hosts account was credited for the driver.  Mr. ************ was informed that the private club would be the one issuing the refund to the host’s account and The Company has no way of directly refunding him / Mr. ************ directly.                                                                  


******* ********                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Vice President of Human Resources /                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Global Legal Enforcement                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Cleveland Golf / Srixon                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          5601 Skylab Road                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Huntington Beach, CA 92647                                                                                                                                                                                                               

4/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased some golf clubs from Cleveland Golf's mobile website thinking the price on their iron set was really good. I have paid with my credit card and received emails indicating all the orders had been confirmed. After several days they emailed me saying that they will honor only one item from the order because they made error on advertised price. As a consumer I had a high expectation for Cleveland Golf for they are one of the leading golf club manufacturer and they came really short on following through what they advertise on their website.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor all my orders as they did with one of the items.

Business Response: BBB Complaint # ******** - Recap of Events
• We experienced a pricing error on our CG Black Iron (5-PW) set beginning in December 2014.
• The issue was limited to the retail shop Mobile site, and did not occur on the retail shop Desktop site.
• The issue error was only observed if a consumer was accessing our online retail shop via mobile phone.
• The error was that our CG Black Iron (5-PW) set, which has a retail price of $599.99, was incorrectly being reset to $99.99, and the issue was happening randomly and without warning, and would sometimes occur during non-business hours.
• During diagnosis of the reason for the error, the customer service and online teams were checking both the Mobile and Desktop sites regularly to proactively address the error when/if it occurred.
• A corporate decision was made, following the Consumer interaction recapped below, to remove the item from the online retail Mobile site until the issue was resolved.
Regarding this specific Consumer complaint:
• The Consumer lists three orders in the complaint – all were placed 12/13/14:
o Order ******** - this was for golf balls and a glove, and was not an issue in terms of pricing.
o Order ******** – Qty 1 - ** ***** **** ****** set
o Order ******** – Qty 2 - ** ***** **** ****** set
• While not mentioned in the complaint, the Consumer also placed these orders for the same product on 12/31/14:
o Order ******** – Qty 2 - ** ***** **** ****** set
o Order ******** – Qty 2 - ** ***** **** ****** set
o Order ******** – Qty 2 - ** ***** **** *****) set
• When the customer service team became aware of the error, upon returning to regular business hours on 1/5 after the holiday (we were closed 12/31 through 1/4), the site was updated to the correct price.
• Customer Service also called the Consumer on 1/5 and left a voice mail message to contact us regarding his orders.
• We did not receive a call back for two days, so we initiated email communication. The details of this correspondence are outlined as follows:
Email to Consumer on 1/7/15, 5:08pm
I would like to inform you that we have shipped your order ********, for a set of ** ***** **** *** ***** ****f set. Although there was a price error on your order of $99.99 for the set, we honored the price for your first order. However we did not honor the price for the following orders, ********, ********, ********, ******** and have canceled the orders and refunded your credit card. Thank you for your support.
Email from Consumer on 1/7/15, 8:40pm
I don't understand your cancelling my orders while you are honoring my first order. It is your not my mistake to put A wrong price on the website. I believe I have every right to request you to ship the rest of my orders as they were confirmed orders made with valid payment.
Email from Consumer on 1/13/15, 11:38am
Since you are not replying to mr previous email nor complying with my request I am now taking this issue to Better Business Bureau's attention by reporting Cleceland Golf for putting false advertisement on company website.
Email to Consumer on 1/13/15, 12:46pm
Please see the link below regarding errors on our website:
Errors on Our Site
Prices and availability of products are subject to change without notice. Errors will be corrected where and when discovered. Cleveland Golf/****** reserves the right to revoke any stated offer, cancel orders, and to correct any errors, inaccuracies or omissions in any stated offer or price, including after an order has been submitted and whether or not the order has been confirmed and your payment processed.
If your payment has already been processed for the purchase when your order is cancelled, Cleveland Golf/****** will issue a credit to the payment method used in the amount of the charge. Individual bank policies will dictate when this amount is credited to your account.
We technically did not have to honor your first order according to our policy, but we did. We hope you enjoy your clubs.
• In summary, the Consumer placed 5 orders, totaling 9 sets of ** ***** ***** ******. We honored the erroneous price for 1 of the 9 sets ordered, and issued credit for the rest.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Cleveland Golf
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart