Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wine Country Gift Baskets

Additional Locations

Phone: (714) 525-0325 Fax: (714) 525-0746 View Additional Phone Numbers 4225 N Palm St, Fullerton, CA 92835

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers gift baskets.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wine Country Gift Baskets meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wine Country Gift Baskets include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Wine Country Gift Baskets
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 2013 Business started: 05/01/1989 in CA Business incorporated 05/01/1989 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Patrick Ahrendt, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Ahrendt, Director of Marketing
Number of Employees


Business Category

Gift Baskets & Parcels Novelties - Retail Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Houdini Inc
Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • 4225 N Palm St

    Fullerton, CA 92835 (888) 394-0394 (714) 525-0325

  • PO Box 5530

    Fullerton, CA 92838


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/16/2015, I ordered a gift product from Wine Country Gift Baskets for $42.71, order #********. They charged my bank account instantly, then they ran the same charge again one day later, costing me an additional $42.71. I have zero patience and zero tolerance for banking errors. After several phone calls and "looking into it" this company has refused to refund the money. They can take it out instantly, therefore, they should have put it back instantly because they are tying up my money that I need for other things. It should have been fixed hours ago, but still, nobody there is doing anything.


Business Response: The initial activity on the credit card was an authorization; the card was not double-charged.  The authorization is then removed by the bank in a few days, depending on that bank's policies.

I apologize for any inconvenience.

******* *******
Director of Marketing

5/25/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $35 for Saturday delivery of a gift basket to my mother-in-law on behalf of my active duty husband for Mothers day. The package was not delivered by the end of the day Sunday. No one is answering on the business phone and there is no other means listed for contact of the business. The product that has not been delivered was $47.45. As of right now I have paid a total of $82.45. We have received nothing and I am unable to get in touch with anyone from the company. A UPS tracking number was given but it does not show any information.

Desired Settlement: I would really to be refunded the $35 that was paid for Saturday shipping since we did not receive this service. If the product is not delivered I would like the refund for it as well.

Business Response: I'm sorry.  It appears that the Saturday that was selected for the delivery of this web order was the Saturday after Mother's Day; this order was all set to ship out this Friday to deliver on 5/16 as was chosen on our website when the order was placed.  We contacted the customer and offered to deliver tomorrow and we would pay for shipping but they chose to cancel the order instead.  We were not available by phone on Sunday because we were closed when they called; we informed them of our current hours of operation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[The company did claim that I selected the wrong date. However I advised the man on the phone that when I logged in and pulled the receipt it showed that it was to be delivered on the Saturday before Mothers Day. The company insists that the problem was caused by me. They offered to deliver on the following Saturday. This does not help since it was a Mothers day gift with a Mothers day Message. I requested a full refund. I was told that they would cancel the order and refund the money. After talking to the man on the phone all dates were removed from the receipt online making it impossible to prove that the mistake was made by the company and not by me. I have not yet received the refund. I am hoping it will come through soon. I am very disappointed in the customer service and argumentative nature of the staff that I talked with. I was even more discussed when I pulled up their response on BBB and saw that they not only still argue fault but also feel as though they are fixing the problem with their accusations. I will accept the proposed action when I get my money back. However I will not recommend this company to anyone especially the military community.]


******* *****

Business Response: I'm sorry that the order didn't ship when you wanted.  As mentioned, it appears that a delivery date of 5/16 was chosen - I'm unsure when or how that was selected.

Your order has been canceled as you requested and you should see the credit with your bank.

5/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 1 2015, I placed an order with Wine Country Gift Baskets. Later in the day I cancelled the order due to personal reasons. My *** *** account was charged $57. I called the company the following Monday to see when my money would be credited back and the rep said it would be back in my account the next Business day. A week has gone by and my money still has not been returned to me. Talked to the manager who was very rude and told me there was nothing he could do, it was my problem not theirs. Very unprofessional business and sneaky deceptive tactics. Managers cannot do anything, left to fend for yourself Buyers beware with this business.

Desired Settlement: An Apology from the company and my money returned to me ASAP. Will never do business with this company again.

Business Response: The order was canceled and ****** was notified of the cancellation on May 1, 2015 when our customer requested. 

Unfortunately ****** authorizations can still show pending for several days after cancellation; this is PayPal's policy - not Wine Country Gift Baskets.  We contacted ****** to try to expedite this process so the authorization should have dropped off or will be dropping off very shortly.

Consumer Response: I called the business on May 8th and was told that I needed to contact Pay Pal. I contacted *** *** and had a conference call with the business. Was told by the business that there was nothing they could do. Order WAS NOT cancelled on the 1st. Business held on to my money for over 1 week with no refund.

Business Response: The order was never shipped; it was canceled as you requested.  I'm unsure of the exact timing between your call and our canceling the order and ****** removing the authorization but I assure you that we have done everything you have asked and have even contacted ****** to ask them to expedite their process, which is out of our control.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This seller held on to my money well over 1 week. They informed me that they do not charge until the item ships out. They are lying. Item was cancelled the same day, and my *** *** account was charged. Multiple calls to the business to rectify the situation, and all I hear are excuses. if item was not even close to being shipped out, why was my *** *** account charged>?


***** ****

Business Response:

As previously stated, the charge from ****** was actually an authorization, reserving funds for their order.  The order was canceled with us; ****** was notified of the cancellation and the authorization was removed from the account.  Each bank and credit card company has their own procedures about when an authorization is removed from an account.  We also contacted ****** on the customer's behalf to try to expedite the process.

3/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The website listing for a specific product, the "Callister Cellars Trio Gift Basket," states that the wines have won numerous awards. The web page listing these awards is here: (after clicking the "Awards" link). The awards listed link to irrelevant web pages and there is no record of these wines winning any of the awards as claimed. This appears to be blatant false advertising.

Desired Settlement: The business should either provide documentation and evidence that the statements regarding these awards are accurate (which does not appear to be the case), or the business should remove the false and misleading information from the website and then contact -- and offer to refund the money paid by -- previous purchasers of this product, who were misled into purchasing a product based on several false statements regarding its quality.

Business Response: I apologize for any confusion this may have caused. 

The Callister Cellars varietals and vintages listed in the awards section on our website received all 3 of those awards listed.  The links provided all link back to the main sites for those competitions in which the medals were awarded:

LA Country International Wine Competition
Grand Harvest Wine Competition
Dallas Morning New Wine Competition

Many of these wine competitions' websites will only list the most recent winners or possibly a prior year before that; our awards listed go back to 2012 and 2013 so they are no longer current on those sites.  Feel free to contact any of those organizations that awarded us those medals for more details and verification.

Of course those medals are awarded based on personal preferences and everyone has different tastes.  If you're not happy with your purchase, Wine Country Gift Baskets has a 100% satisfaction guarantee (  If your don't like Callister Cellars, let us know and we'll be happy to help!

******* *******
Director of Marketing
Wine Country Gift Baskets

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business has responded by revising its web page for the product for which I submitted my complaint.   The new version of the web page lists three awards rather than the six listed previously:  the business has deleted three awards that were previously listed, presumably because the wines had not won these awards.  Of the three remaining awards listed on the web page, two cannot be verified because the wine competition websites do not list awards for the years claimed by the business.  The third award claimed by the business appears to be partly accurate but partly inaccurate:  the business web page claims that the wine won a Silver Medal at the 2013 Dallas Morning News Wine Competition.  The Dallas Wine Competition website states that the wine won a Bronze Medal.  This is obviously a minor error, but it serves to further demonstrate the tendency of this business to mislead customers.   It is also worth noting that the business, in its reply to the original complaint, does not apologize for the three apparently falsely-claimed awards that were deleted from its web page and does not state that it modified its web page in response to the complaint.  

Attached to this message are screen shots of the web page as it appeared on February 28, when I submitted my complaint, and on March 19, after the business modified the page and responded to the complaint.   These pages show the removal of three awards previously claimed but subsequently deleted.


***** *******

Business Response:

Callister Cellars wines were awarded  medals from every competition that was listed on our website in December - these are again listed below.  The wine competition awards section of our website is dynamic; we remove older awards, add new ones, etc.  The 2013 Dallas Morning News Wine Competition medal was a bronze, not a silver, as you mentioned in your email.  As previously stated, many of the older awards are no longer listed on the homepages of those wine competitions' website - but I assure you that all of these awards are valid and we are proud to post them.

Callister Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon 2011

Silver Medal Winner 2013 LA County International Wine Competition

Bronze Medal Winner 2012 International Womens Wine Competition

Bronze Medal Winner 2012 Grand Harvest Wine Competition


Callister Cellars Chardonnay 2011

Gold Medal Winner 2012 Grand Harvest Wine Competition

Bronze Medal Winner 2013 Dallas Morning News Wine Competition

Bronze Medal Winner 2012 International Womens Wine Competition

Consumer Response:

The business's explanation is satisfactory, and I trust that they will correct the minor website error they acknowledged (stating bronze rather than silver for one award).   I appreciate the company's responsiveness and correction. 

10/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have repeatedly asked wine country gift baskets (Houdini) to stop sending me catalogs. I don't buy their products, I don't want their products, I don't want their stuff in my mailbox. I requested 45 days ago (approximately) via phone call to be physically removed from their mailing list, and I was assured that I would not receive any more catalogs. It's a waste of paper, it goes straight to recycling. I am a former customer from years ago, but since this company's products represent a horrible value, the photographs make the products look much bigger than they are, I told them specifially that I wanted nothing more do to with them, and politely just disappear. They did not. I take the disregard of my request as harassment. Also, I have repeatedly clicked on the unsubscribe link to my email, but they still kept sending me sales spam. I had to shut down the email as a result. DO NOT GIVE THEM MY CURRENT EMAIL! DO NOT LET THEM SEE IT, OR ELSE THEY WILL SPAM ME AGAIN!


Business Response: We will stop all communication. There Is no record of his previous call,but  we have flagged his account.
He may receive one or two more catalogs before they stop. Emails will stop immediately to the email 
address in our system.


Consumer Response:

I received another catalog in the mail today, I hope it is the last time I hear from this company.  Ever.

I wonder if they will take steps to honor people's request to stop the mail harassment through the continued sending of unwanted catalogs to former customers.  What steps, exactly, will they take to physically remove my home address from their system.

After today, if I get one more catalog or email of any kind, I will file another complaint with the Attorney General's office.  It has got to stop NOW.  No communications, nothing.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved, also considering my comments above.


******* ********