This business is not BBB accredited.

IKEA Costa Mesa

Additional Locations

Phone: (714) 751-7167 View Additional Phone Numbers 1475 S Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 http://www.ikea.com/us/en/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home furnishings.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for IKEA Costa Mesa include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for IKEA Costa Mesa include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on IKEA Costa Mesa
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 09/01/1999 in CA Business incorporated 09/01/1999 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct #D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
Fax Number: 916-921-7279
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 155882.

Bureau of Electronic & Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings & Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct #D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
Fax Number: 916-921-7279
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 3012.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jennifer Caraisco, Store Manager Ms. Deedee Lopez, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Caraisco, Store Manager
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Furniture - Retail Furniture - Wholesale

Alternate Business Names
IKEA California LLC Ikea Orange County Costa Mesa

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1475 S Coast Dr

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (714) 838-4000 (714) 751-7167

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2982 El Camino Real Blvd

    Tustin, CA 92782

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had the Hopen 8 drawer dresser delivered. While putting together the dresser I noticed a couple of pegs were already in a piece. Tried getting them out, they broke. Was contacted by customer service and was in communication with ***** **** on September 3, 2014 who assured the broken drawer and other defective unit would be picked up, and I would receive a replacement drawer front. Items (it was more than just the drawer was defective) were picked up on September 5, 2014 at 10:50 a.m. However, the delivery serivce only had one order which was for the opposite item to be picked up. I emailed ***** immediately, and received no response after waiting for 15 minutes. Spoke to delivery driver's supervisor (************* and was told there were two separate orders for two seperate pickups. She then advised the delivery driver and myself that they would just take both items instead of making two trips. However, the entire drawer unit (not just the drawer front) was returned. I was contacted by phone on September 7, 2014 by **** ******, IKEA occm after-sales, to inform me the reason I had not received my replacement drawer was because someone closed the case. He assured me I would receive the replacement drawer front in 3-5 business days. I emailed Ms. **** again, no response. On September 30, 2014 I emaied her again because I still did not receive my replacement. No response. I also called and left Mr. ****** 2 different times, on September 16 and September 25 with no returned phone call. On September 29, I tried calling Ms. **** with the number provided in the emails, and kept getting disconnected both going with the automated system or speaks with someone and having them transfer me to her extension. I finally had to call the number for the online and phone orders at ************. Countless unreturned emails and phone calls, and as of today 3 different case numbers and still nothing is resolved. Finally received the drawer from today, but not the ENTIRE drawer!

Desired Settlement: It has been over 6 weeks and nothing has been resolved. I paid over $200 plus delivery and my product was defective. I want an apology, and store credit for all of this trouble.

11/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased an Ikea kitchen including counter tops and installation. We were turned down for coverage at the store level and have asked for corporates customer service several times via mail and their web site to review our case and have not gotten a response. Our issue should be covered by the written terms of the warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like customer service to contact us and advise us of how to have our cabinets replaced.

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I remodeled my kitchen and purchased Ikea kitchen cabinets, countertop and appliances. The purchase was made on 6/6/2014. After the kitchen was installed i found that the Nutid glass ceramic cooktop was not working. I paid an electrician to uninstall the cooktop and went to the Ikea store to ask for an exchange since it was within 30days of purchase. I was told that the manufacture warranty covered the appliance and I should return it only if the technicians cannot fix the unit. Then the nightmare began. I called a whirlpool warranty support. They set an appointment and asked me to reinstall the cooktop else their technician would not check it. I again paid the electrician to install the cooktop. The technician came on 7/11/2014 told me that the control panel was defective and needs to be replaced and that it takes about 7 - 10 days. He then disappeared. After multiple voicemails i gave up and called the warranty support again. Now they said that they will look into replacing my bad unit and that someone from products department would call me within 3-5 days. That call never came. After multiple followups I finally get a call from 'products department' on 8/18/2014. This lady tells me that they have put in the request to exchange my unit and the whole process will be completed in 10 - 14 days. Nothing happened even after I left a couple of voice mails to this lady. I called the warranty support line again in first week of September and the agent assured me that she will research and get back to me within 24hours. Of course nothing happened. Finally on 9/6 I called American Express (my CC company) to dispute the charge, since it was 3 months since the purchase and I was unable to use the product. Today its 9/19 almost a 100 days since I purchased my kitchen and I have been unable to cook in my new remodeled kitchen. Since my family has been eating out for the past 3 month, it has added to an additional out of pocket expense

Desired Settlement: What I want is a working cooktop installed in my kitchen ASAP. The countertop in the kitchen has been custom cut for this cooktop. I would also like a $200 store credit, for the months of agony, inconvenience and out of pocket expense that has been incurred by me and my family. If this is resolved by 9/30/2014 I will withdraw my American Express dispute. I bought the appliance from Ikea for 2 reasons. First I trusted the Ikea brand and second they offered 5 year manufacturer warranty. I now realize that the warranty means little if no action is taken and my trust in Ikea quality & service has been shaken. Without the cooktop the kitchen cannot be used. I am more worried now since I have 5 other appliances that I bought along with the cooktop (fridge, over, microwave, dishwasher & exhaust) and this response time is unacceptab

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have chronic pain. A bad mattress exacerbates my pain. I had a mattress already that was uncomfortable. I went to Ikea with the intent to remedy the situation of an uncomfortable mattress. I was told if I don't love the mattress, within 90 days I could have it exchanged for another. The mattress I tried at the store, felt AMAZING. It instantly relieved my pain and was the perfect comfort and firmness for me. I got the home delivery. The mattress I received was NOTHING like the strore model. The mattress I received was bent a bit in the middle. This mattress I am sinking in. Their excuse was floor models feel different because they are worn in, but sinking would come with time!! mY mattress will not get more firm!!! I was told before purchasing that if my mattress is defected, if I call within 48 hours they will refund my entire purchase. I CALLED WITHIN 48 hours and I was just told that store models never feel the same and thats that. I was refused help. I did exactly what I was suppose to. I reported the defect within 48 hours, it wasn't JUST "not like the floor model" It was SOFTER, WAY softer, AND it was bent when I received it! it dips!!! My last horrible mattress was better than this one, I am sleeping on the floor even though I am pregnant and even though I just bout a $700 mattress!!!! I was told if there is something wrong with the mattress report it in 48 hours and they will come pick it up and refund me. The lady wouldnt even send someone to pick it up! She said I have to bring it back and she said that they will only give me store credit for another mattress. I am in poverty and my $700 will not be wasted. It is one thing if the mattress wasn't defected but this one is!!!! I was deceived! I was told if i call within 48 hours I will have my product returned and it wasn't. I will never go to Ikea again if this is not resolved. They are stealing my $700 and leaving me with a useless mattress. I expect them to follow through with their 48 hours promise.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund the entire order (bed, box spring, legs) so I can take my business elsewhere. I have purchased a bed basing off a floor model from sears and it was EXACTLY the same. What I received from ikea was defective and their excuses need to stop.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *****,

 

We received your complaint through the BBB regarding a mattress purchase you made in July.  Unfortunately, the complaint was not received in our location until today 8/14.  The mattress satisfaction policy  (as communicated throughout the store, website and on your receipt) states that you have 90 to exchange a mattress, with a receipt, if you are not happy with it.  Typically, you would get a store credit for a replacement within that time frame.  We do not refund mattresses within 48 hours unless the item is still in it's factory sealed packaging.  I have spoken to all the co-workers in our mattress department, and everyone is well versed on the policy.  Seeing as you already purchased another mattress from a different retailer, you do not need another mattress from IKEA.  In this case, we could make an exception to the policy as stated throughout the store, website and the receipt you kept when you made your purchase, and allow you to get a refund for your purchase.  However, you would need to bring the mattress back into the store, along with your receipt for a refund.

 

Should you have any questions, feel free to contact IKEA Costa Mesa at 888-888-4532 x.**** for the After Sales department. 

 

Thank You.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** *****

10/31/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2013 Delivery Issues