Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Backyard X-Scapes

Phone: (858) 643-9030 Fax: (858) 643-9060 View Additional Phone Numbers 10835 Sorrento Valley Rd, San Diego, CA 92121

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers outdoor furnishings for sale. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Backyard X-Scapes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Backyard X-Scapes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Backyard X-Scapes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2003 Business started: 07/12/2002 in CA Business incorporated 07/12/2002 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Steve Raketich, Vice President Mr. James Kocher, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. James Kocher, President
Principal: Mr. Steve Raketich, Vice President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Fountains - Garden, Display Furniture - Outdoor Landscaping Equipment & Supplies Bamboo & Bamboo Products

Alternate Business Names
Backyard X-Scapes Inc
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 10835 Sorrento Valley Rd

    San Diego, CA 92121 (866) 222-1422 (858) 643-9030


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Needed a privacy fence for new home. Neighbor's mature pine trees had too many roots to easily install posts. Research led to Backyard X-Scapes who advertised "Bamboo Fencing Installation" provides instruction on "Installation on Existing Chain Link Fence". I received permission from the neighbor to install fence on their chain-link and approval from my city planner and acquired a building permit for the fence. In June, 2014, I ordered 22 sections of 1 inch round, 6 feet high and 8 feet long bamboo fence from Backyard X-Scapes via ********* at a cost of $1767.78 arriving in two shipments. Fence was installed in accordance with instructions. Building inspector verified proper installation and closed the permit. In April, 2015, strong winds blew fence over bending/ breaking 11 posts of the chain-link fence. I contacted Backyard X-Scapes and requested to return the fence because it failed. Mr ***** ********, Vice President of Backyard X-Scapes returned my email asking me to call him. I want to correspond via email but he refused. I called and was told they had never had a problem like mine and that I was supposed to install the bamboo fence on a fence that was the same height. I told him that information was not in their printed instructions and that most chain-link fences are 3 to 4 feet high. He suggested it was installed wrong or that the existing posts were bad. After pointing out I had a Building Inspector review and approve, he suggested the inspector was inept. I reminded him these were professionals who have done this for years. He said he would check local (**) fence companies to review solutions and call the following week. No call came and more calls and emails, I reach Mr. ******** who told me there was nothing he would do to resolve the problem. I would like to return the fence because it did not perform as advertised. I relied on their written directions that I could install the fence on an existing fence assuming they previously tested their product.

Desired Settlement: Total refund or sufficient refund of $1,000.00 to install bracing fence.

Business Response: Backyard X-Scapes Inc. has resolved this matter to the customers 100% satisfaction. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The negotiated agreement was not fully met by Backyard X-Scapes. We are still working on a final agreement and I hope to have a settlement soon.


***** ******