This business is not BBB accredited.

West Coast Flooring Center

Phone: (760) 736-4222 Fax: (866) 201-4809 1617 Capalina Ave, San Marcos, CA 92069 http://www.westcoastflooring.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of floor coverings such as; carpet, hardwood, granite and fabrication, and stone and ceramic.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • The business is in the process of responding to previously closed complaints.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on West Coast Flooring Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 09, 1995 Business started: 05/19/1994 in CA Business incorporated 01/27/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 837912.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Marc Venegoni, Customer Service Manager Mr. Edward Kruger, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc Venegoni, Customer Service Manager
Number of Employees

122

Business Category

Floor Coverings & Installation Marble - Natural Tile - Ceramic - Manufacturers & Distributors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Granite Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Alternate Business Names
E & C Flooring Inc
Additional Information

Claire, Edward and Sean Kruger are the officers of E and C Flooring Inc, DBA West Coast Flooring and West Coast Carpet and Tile Outlet. The report is also available on that company. According to information on Contractor's State Licensing Board and information provided by the company, they are no longer doing business as Value Rugs Inc.

Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1617 Capalina Ave

    San Marcos, CA 92069 (760) 736-4222

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: West Coast Flooring installed new carpet in two bedrooms. We then contracted with them to install new laminate flooring in the living room, dining area, hallway and both bathrooms. On the fourth day of the laminate installation, the installer informed us that they incorrectly measured and he was short enough material to complete the job. He said he would call us the next day. We waited a week before we called the store. They were going to have their customer service rep contact us. We had to call again before he came to see that the job was incomplete and said he would have the installer return. The installer returned the following week. I pointed out some missing transitions and he said they weren't necessary. He then installed laminate over ceramic tile in the bathroom. I said I thought they were supposed to remove the tile. He said he didn't have to and it would be better with it (the store charged us for the removal of ceramic tile). The carpet in the entry to one bathroom is pulling up because he refused to install transition. I took a picture of it and went to the store where I spoke with the customer service rep (****) who said he would call me the next day. He has never called.

Desired Settlement: If West Coast is not going to remove the bathroom tile, they owe us a refund of that cost. We want the transitions from hallway to bedroom and hallway to washroom installed as soon as possible.

Business Response: Please be advised that we went to ***** *****'s home on Friday 5/22/15 to complete the repairs. My assistant has tried calling a few times to follow up and make sure everything has been fixed to her satisfaction. She has not returned our calls. I am assuming that she is now ok with everything considering her non response. I apologize that Ms. ***** was not happy with the initial installation but want her to know that we stand behind our work and if anything else is needed to feel free to contact us.

Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


A young lady from the business telephoned me as we were preparing for take-off on an airplane enroute to North Carolina 05/28/15 for a family event.  I told her I couldn't talk and I would call when I could.  It was the only call I ever got.  We returned home last evening and I was going to call her today when I saw this message. ******* ****, owner of ********* Floor Covering, came to our home and spent 2 hours completing the job.  I am now ok with the floor, but we were charged for removal of linoleum in one bathroom and tile in the second bathroom which did not happen.  The original installer installed laminate directly over the linoleum and tile.  I don't feel I should be charged for this labor as it was not performed.

Regards,

****** *****



Business Response: I looked at Ms. *****s invoice and confirmed that the 2 items she is disputing did not get performed at the time of install. I apologize this was not addressed in the first complaint. I have requested a refund check in the amount of $107.60 be processed and mailed to Ms. *****. The check should be sent out by the end of next week. It will be mailed to the address we have on file for her.

Thank you,

2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased wood floor material from West Coast Flooring Center late last year. During installation, a few stair nosing pieces were found with defect (paint was peeled off when tapes were removed). After sending the defect pieces back to the store, the store keeps sending us replacement stair nosing with different color. After a few times of back and forth, *****, the sales person told us twice that that's all the store is going to do. They are not going to spend more effort to get us proper replacement.The entire purchase was around $7000 dollars. Now that all the other pieces have been installed (by a separate contractor), we cannot accept a few pieces with different color.Please help pushing the store to get us the appropriate replacement.Thanks,*****

Desired Settlement: We need to have replacement stair nosing with correct color that would match (or blend) with the existing floor and stairs.

Business Response: Mr. ****** complaint has been completed with West Coast Flooring. The installer was out to his home this past weekend and completed the job. He also stated that Mr. **** has paid him in full which by industry standard is considered acceptance of the material and labor. We would like to also note that West Coast did try to get several nosings from the distributor that would best match his flooring. We would like to apologize to Mr. **** for the amount of time it took to get one to his satisfaction and will be happy to help him in the future with any issues or complaints.

Thank you,


**** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. The latest material provided by the business was close in color to blend in the existing floor material and I accepted the resolution.

Regards,

***** ****

 

12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1)failed to start as per contract 2) failed to complete on time.3)attempting to charge for extras not on the contract.4)damages to personal property5) failed to complete the work6) failed to supply all the materials 7) unreasonable in resolving the issues 8) unlicensed salesperson

Desired Settlement: would like the charges for extra work not agreed to in writing as by law removed .Would like to reimbursed for damages done to personal property paid for.Would like to be reimbursed for them not completing project,and abandonment delaying the work by more than 6 weeks and causing us to live in a hotel and put all in storage.

Business Response: To Whom It May concern,

Since this complaint was filed by the consumer, we have had multiple communications with him through emails and phone calls.We have had our installers out to take care of all the installation issues and we have to come to an agreed settlement by both parties. Mr. ************* last request is that he receive lien releases from all parties involved. We have completed those and will be meeting with customer this week to give him release paperwork and collect final balance. Mr. *********** has agreed to remove his complaint with the BBB once this final transaction has been completed.

8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased 33 boxes of porcelain tiles (6 tiles per box) from West Coast Flooring and had them installed flooring for my home on 06-18-2012, and paid a total amount of $2826.48. When the tiles were delivered by their contractors, I inspected all 33 boxes to make sure none of the tiles were broken. When I found one box which all 6 tiles were broken, I showed them to the contractors, and contacted ***** *****, who has been assisting me and also happens to be a store manager at West Cost Flooring. Mr. ***** told me that I could bring in the tiles to receive the refund; therefore, I took the tiles back on the following Monday of 06-25-2012. I was hoping that he would issue me the refund on that day, but he said that he had to return the tiles to the manufacturer, and then he was able to give me the refund; he told me it would take approimately 7 to 10 business days. After calling them numerous times and e-mailing Mr. ***** regarding the refund of the 6 broken tiles he has been promising me since June 25th, he told me a week ago (7/23) that he himself worked on issuing me that refund on the Friday of the previous week (7/20); however, I still do not see the refund on my online American Express statement. He even told me yesterday (7/30) over the phone that he would send me the proof which shows the refund was made, but I haven't seen it yet.I realize it is only $42.93, and I am even embarrassed for constantly asking them for the refund, but regardless what the amount is, I believe I have a right to receive that money back. West Coast did not hesitate, not even 1 day, when they charged $2826.48 on my American Express account, so there is no excuse for taking this long for a small refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my refund of $42.93.

Business Response: A refund was processed for ******** *** this morning for $42.50 and returned to her American Express card that was used to make the purchase. She can expect to see it on her account within the next few days. I apologize about the delays in processing the refund for her. It is not our intent to ever delay any type of refund for customers.

Thank you,

**** ********
Customer Service