Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

West Coast Flooring Center

Phone: (760) 736-4222 Fax: (866) 201-4809 1617 Capalina Ave, San Marcos, CA 92069 http://www.westcoastflooring.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of floor coverings such as; carpet, hardwood, granite and fabrication, and stone and ceramic.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for West Coast Flooring Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on West Coast Flooring Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 09, 1995 Business started: 05/19/1994 in CA Business incorporated 01/27/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 837912.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Marc Venegoni, Customer Service Manager Mr. Edward Kruger, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc Venegoni, Customer Service Manager
Number of Employees

122

Business Category

Floor Coverings & Installation Marble - Natural Tile - Ceramic - Manufacturers & Distributors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Granite Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Alternate Business Names
E & C Flooring Inc
Additional Information

Claire, Edward and Sean Kruger are the officers of E and C Flooring Inc, DBA West Coast Flooring and West Coast Carpet and Tile Outlet. The report is also available on that company. According to information on Contractor's State Licensing Board and information provided by the company, they are no longer doing business as Value Rugs Inc.

Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1617 Capalina Ave

    San Marcos, CA 92069 (760) 736-4222

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Due to a backorder of the tile, installation did not begin until 4/6/15 (ordered 2/20/15).It took 6 days for the tile layers to finish laying the whole house.Throughout the 6 days we noticed poor workmanship on the tile.Every time we noticed a new problem, we would bring it up to **** at West Coast Flooring. The biggest problem has been the chips and scratches on the tile. We were told it was most likely a manufacturer's problem & the tiles came like that.(I'm not sure why you would lay them with such obvious scratches & chips if that were the case.)After a few ***** of going back and forth they finally sent a rep from the tile manufacturer out to take pictures to determine if it was a manufacturer's problem or installers scratched and chipped them.The tile company rep told me it would take a week to determine.Finally 2 ***** later, someone from West Coast Flooring called to set up a time to replace all the tiles.I do not know if it was ever determined who was at fault for all of the chipped & scratched tiles. According to WCF someone would be to our house on 6/1. The morning of 6/1 they called and cancelled.I spent the morning moving all the furniture and ****ing which tiles that needed replacing.I was not happy. After talking with ****, someone finally got to our house to start work but they did not have tile to replace the ones that were pulled up and no one from WCF dropped any tile off (like **** told me over the phone that they would do).The tile layer was able to remove 13 of the about 30+ broken tiles on 6/1/15.On 6/2/15 the same 2 tile layers show up. The tile layers still have no tile with them to replace the ones they pulled up.After talking with the 2 tile layers, they told me their boss (**** ******** Tile, who is contracted by WCF) informed them they could only replace the tiles they pulled up yesterday.They were not to pull up and replace any more. I sent the 2 tile workers away.Now I am left with a half tiled kitchen and no end in sight.

Desired Settlement: I want them to correctly finish the job they started in a timely manner.

Business Response: Hello ****,

My name is **** ******** and I am responding for West Coast flooring in regards to this complaint from ****** *****. I sent email back to the BBB through the link that was originally sent to me. I don't know why it was not received. This customer has also submitted a charge back request to the credit card company as well at this time. I met with the ***** prior to this complaint and we agreed that there would be approx 30 tiles replaced. At this point all of the tiles that had originally been discussed have been replaced but they now have more tiles that they are not happy with. On July 10th, ***** *****, one of our owners, **** ******** the head tile contractor and myself went to the home to meet with them to see their issues. ***** has been in contact with them since then and is trying to come to an agreed resolution. There has not been a solution that they agree with yet but we will continue to work with them towards that. I will send update once that has been reached. Please email me directly for any further needs or questions.


Thank you,

**** ******** - WCFC
Customer Service Manager / Sales
760-********
m********@westcoastflooring.com

6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: West Coast Flooring installed new carpet in two bedrooms. We then contracted with them to install new laminate flooring in the living room, dining area, hallway and both bathrooms. On the fourth day of the laminate installation, the installer informed us that they incorrectly measured and he was short enough material to complete the job. He said he would call us the next day. We waited a week before we called the store. They were going to have their customer service rep contact us. We had to call again before he came to see that the job was incomplete and said he would have the installer return. The installer returned the following week. I pointed out some missing transitions and he said they weren't necessary. He then installed laminate over ceramic tile in the bathroom. I said I thought they were supposed to remove the tile. He said he didn't have to and it would be better with it (the store charged us for the removal of ceramic tile). The carpet in the entry to one bathroom is pulling up because he refused to install transition. I took a picture of it and went to the store where I spoke with the customer service rep (****) who said he would call me the next day. He has never called.

Desired Settlement: If West Coast is not going to remove the bathroom tile, they owe us a refund of that cost. We want the transitions from hallway to bedroom and hallway to washroom installed as soon as possible.

Business Response: Please be advised that we went to ***** *****'s home on Friday 5/22/15 to complete the repairs. My assistant has tried calling a few times to follow up and make sure everything has been fixed to her satisfaction. She has not returned our calls. I am assuming that she is now ok with everything considering her non response. I apologize that Ms. ***** was not happy with the initial installation but want her to know that we stand behind our work and if anything else is needed to feel free to contact us.

Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


A young lady from the business telephoned me as we were preparing for take-off on an airplane enroute to North Carolina 05/28/15 for a family event.  I told her I couldn't talk and I would call when I could.  It was the only call I ever got.  We returned home last evening and I was going to call her today when I saw this message. ******* ****, owner of ********* Floor Covering, came to our home and spent 2 hours completing the job.  I am now ok with the floor, but we were charged for removal of linoleum in one bathroom and tile in the second bathroom which did not happen.  The original installer installed laminate directly over the linoleum and tile.  I don't feel I should be charged for this labor as it was not performed.

Regards,

****** *****



Business Response: I looked at Ms. *****s invoice and confirmed that the 2 items she is disputing did not get performed at the time of install. I apologize this was not addressed in the first complaint. I have requested a refund check in the amount of $107.60 be processed and mailed to Ms. *****. The check should be sent out by the end of next week. It will be mailed to the address we have on file for her.

Thank you,


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on West Coast Flooring Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)