Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers floor coverings and carpet cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J W Floor Covering Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J W Floor Covering Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on J W Floor Covering Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 07, 1995 Business started: 09/17/1986 in CA Business incorporated 09/17/1986 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 657251.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Tiffany, Chief Operating Officer Mr. John Wallace, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Tiffany, Chief Operating Officer
Principal: Mr. John Wallace, President
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

Floor Coverings & Installation Carpet & Rug Cleaners

Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11085 Commercial Pkwy #B

    Castroville, CA 95012

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    25634 Nickel Pl

    Hayward, CA 94545

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3321 Industrial Dr

    Santa Rosa, CA 95403

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4480 Riviera Ridge Ave

    Las Vegas, NV 89115 (702) 643-0776

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    890 Service St

    San Jose, CA 95112

  • 9881 Carroll Centre Rd

    San Diego, CA 92126 (858) 530-2901 (858) 536-8565

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9914 Kent St #1

    Elk Grove, CA 95624

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    42024 Avenida Alvarado

    Temecula, CA 92590

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    42024 Avenida Alvarado

    Temecula, CA 92590

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    42024 Avenida Alvarado

    Temecula, CA 92590

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been waiting for weeks to have this company come and finish my floor. They started a project and never finished. They messed up the initial install of the carpet and came back and fixed that issue, then started the laminate and never came back to finish. I have called several times and on at least 5 different occasions told I was going to be called back by a manger and not once was I called back. They have not shown up for three appointments that they set. Two of them they even confirmed the appointment and still did not show up. I have missed work waiting for them to show up and they never came.

Desired Settlement: Finish the Job and get a discount or refund. I want to be compensated for the three full days that I sat around waiting for them when they never showed up.

Business Response: I have confirmation from my facility in Santa Rosa that this job has been completed to the customer's satisfaction. Please let me know if you need any further assistance. Thank you, *********** ******* COO JW Floor Covering Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Yes the job is done. No not happy with the outcome of missing three days of work waiting around for an appointment that was confirmed and no one shows up. Totally unprofessional and I work on comission so I missed out on the opportunity to make money. I sell an average of 1.5 cars a day and would make $300 on those days. So I was out at least $900. This was the worst experience I have ever had with a business and I do not see myself going through this again. 

Regards,

*********** ******



Business Response: We have provided the customer with a $500 settlement due to the scheduling and material issues they experienced. Unfortunately, we had a catastrophic data failure on one of our servers at the time your job was being completed, which resulted in the delays. We apologize for the inconvenience, and hope you will consider The Home Depot and JW Floor Covering in the future. Thank you, *********** ******* COO JW Floor Covering

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

 

After working with Home Depot to come to an agreed compensation I was told by Home Depot I would receive $500 back. I have not yet received it but trust that JW will make it right.

Regards,

*********** ******

1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started with JW in April 2013 when I had flood damage at my home it is now December 2014 and I am still dealing with JW they have lied to me and billed for things that were not done they let my insurance time frame for a supplemental lapse which was in April 2014 since then they have not completed all repair to my satifaction they ruined my granite countertops and cabinets this company needs to stop practicing construction repairs of any kind. They have fallen short of all expectations/aggreements/skills and have since sent me to collections as of September. I have spoken to ***, ******, ***** and they have all promised to fix repairs but have not and have continued to lie.

Desired Settlement: I am done dealing with them I think they have not been honest about there employees skills as contractors and I am left with a ruined kitchen.

Business Response: I have reviewed your complaint, and found the following: We performed a water damage and mold remediation project at your home. Your kitchen cabinets and granite countertop were removed in order to get to the mold in the wall cavities, which had collected because of the moisture. Once the mold remediation was completed, we rebuilt the lower cabinets, and reset the granite. After the repair was completed you called and said you were unhappy with the way the granite looked. Upon inspection it was confirmed that the granite sunk down about an inch and a half in the corner back wall and the portion of granite that was removed during the remediation process did not line up correctly to the granite that was unaffected by the water damage. Per industry standards we always attempt to salvage granite and save the insurance and homeowner extra costs. When there is an issue with framing expansion from moisture even though it has been dried back down to dry standard when the drywall, cabinets, and granite go back in on the repair side it can be off anywhere from 1/8 to an inch and a half. This was the case in your home. Nevertheless, despite your insurance company not wanting to cover the additional repairs (due to the job already being completed to industry standards), we agreed to completely replace your kitchen, with no cost to you. To this point, we had still not been paid for the water and mold remediation, or the initial repairs. Despite multiple attempts to contact you for this payment, we were not paid for this work, and sent you to collections. It was only at this point that we learned of any question about workmanship on our part. I have included here a copy of the signed certificate of completion on your job that you signed, obtained from our subcontractor, stating that the granite work had been completed as per the contract. I have also included a picture of the affected area, after the job was completed, showing the quality of our workmanship. I would like to note that to date, we have not received any payment from you whatsoever for any of the work completed on your home, including the initial dry-out and mold remediation, despite the fact that we went out of our way to restore your kitchen at no cost to you. *********** ******* Chief Administrative Officer JW Building Solutions

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 In my home the granite was not removed it was not secured correctly by your employees during dry out and that is why it sunk and split at the seam in the picture you sent me you can clearly see the cabinet door sagging so I do not agree with quality of workmanship. You should talk to all individuals involved in this year and a half process of "industry standards and quality of workmanship" and you will find out how JW charged me and my insurance for time and repairs not done. Your file for the subcontractor is corrupted and will not open. You should get all the facts before you submit a statement that is false. Your scenario of events that took place and the timeline is incorrect you need to be better prepared or informed by your staff. Your granite subcontractor gave me 2 color choices for the granite repair and *** * told me the seam would be in a different place after cutting the granite in my driveway 2 weeks after I came home with my new baby girl after year long harassing phone calls from your staff and unreasonable demands JW put in the granite and the seam is worse than before. JW has never contacted my insurance regarding additional repairs or extra costs I have requesting multiple times itemized statements of work performed and have yet to see it produced. *** * agreed on a price and then changed his mind and sent me to collections JW have not been forthcoming or truthful in there business practices.


Regards,

**** *****



Business Response: We consider this matter to be closed, as we performed all of the work we were contracted to perform, and have not been paid for any of it. We have absorbed not only the cost of the dry out and mold remediation of the kitchen, but also the full cost of the granite replacement. We did contact her insurance company re: additional costs and were told that the claim had been closed as their insured had been issued payment for the water/mold repair.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

JW has not provided any invoices for this claim which have been requested numerous times and I have yet to see an invoice. So the matter is not closed, the only thing that is closed is my insurance claim and my ruined kitchen.
Regards,

**** *****

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: JW called to set up an installation appointment (ordered carpet through Home Depot #****). They told us someone would be there anytime between 8am and 4pm and would be finished by 6pm. On the day of installation (Jan 2, 2015) they said someone would be there between 11am and 1pm. The installer called us saying he was running late and that he would be there at 2:30pm. When he showed up, he was the only installer. When questioned if it’s normal for him to do the installation by himself he said no, but the other installer was too drunk to come into work. We also questioned why it wouldn’t be rescheduled since he was short-handed. He said his office was aware of the problem and told him to do the job anyway. We paid an extra $154 for them to move our furniture but since there was only one person, my husband had to help. It took the installer 8 hours to install carpet in the Master Suite and second bedroom. He left my house at 10:30pm. The installer was very nice and apologetic and wouldn’t even take a tip since my husband helped him so much. I called Home Depot the very next morning to make a complaint and to get refunded for the furniture move charge and additional compensation for the extreme inconvenience. On Monday morning **** ********* (Home Depot) sent me an email apologizing, offering to take the furniture charge off and additional $100 compensation. I told her that didn’t seem like a reasonable amount considering my inconvenience. She wrote back saying that JW has a record that the installer left our house at 8:48pm, which is a lie. That was when he finished the Master Suite. I have witnesses that were there when he started the second bedroom at that time. I also posted on social media at 9:30pm that they were still there and I have a text at 10:39pm saying he just left. So to add insult to injury they are calling us liars. They did offer to up the additional compensation to $150. This again, is an insult.

Desired Settlement: Refunded $154 furniture moving fee (which was already agreed to) and additional compensation of $500 for inconvenience and being accused of lying.

Business Response: After reviewing the complaint, we confirmed the fact that the installer did complete the job by himself, and that he was in the home later than is normally appropriate for our installers to be in the home. Customer filed a complaint with the Home Depot, and was refunded $403.00 for the negative experience, along with the refund of $154 that was charged for furniture moving.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  That is incorrect I was given a total of $404 that included the $154 for the installation.  So I was only given an additional $250 for my extreme inconvenience.  

Regards,

********* ********

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before installing titles on the hallway, installers had to remove fold-up doors. After installation was completed, they tried to put the fold-up doors back in place. However, they tried several times and could not do so. The installer was angry and jamped the door down onto the floor hing and dammaged the right hand side bottom door. They tried to patch the damaged part. When they tried to put it back, it was damaged again. They took it back and fixed it again for few times. Again, the patch on the door came off while putting it back. They said that it is the bad hing that damaged the door. They left the paint and told us to repair it ourself. They damaged the door they should repair it not us. Also, they took two srews out, now the fold-up doors are touching on the top and leave a wide gap at the bottom. It is difficult to close and open.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We want the door to be repaired and put it back in the right place.

Business Response:

 

Thank you for sending this complaint to me.  Our response is as follows:

 

After several attempts to repair Mr. ***’s door, it was decided that because the hinges on the door showed signs of age, and allowed the patched part of the door to rub the wall each time the doors were closed, that we would go ahead and replace the doors for the customer.  On May 16, 2014, we followed up with the customer, and proposed a suitable replacement.  The customer had found another model door that they wanted, and on May 23, 2014, we issued them a check for the material and labor to replace the closet door, and dispose of the old, damaged door.

 

Please let me know if you need any further information on this complaint.

 

Thank you,

 

 

*********** *******

Chief Administrative Officer, Controller

JW Floor Covering Inc.

Resource Floors Inc.

Ph: ###-###-####   Fax: ###-###-####

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on J W Floor Covering Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart