BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Annuitants Federal Bank Division of BoFI Federal Bank

Phone: (855) 263-3348 4350 La Jolla Village Dr #140, San Diego, CA 92122 http://www.anfedbank.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides financial services to lottery winners and structured settlement annuitants and is a division of BOFI Federal Bank.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Annuitants Federal Bank Division of BoFI Federal Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Annuitants Federal Bank Division of BoFI Federal Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Annuitants Federal Bank Division of BoFI Federal Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 29, 2011 Business started: 09/27/1999 in CA Business incorporated: 09/27/1999 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eshel Bar-Adon, EVP and Chief Legal Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eshel Bar-Adon, EVP and Chief Legal Officer
Related Businesses
Bank of Internet USA, a division of BofI Federal Bank
Number of Employees

450

Business Category

Financial Services Banks

Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

U.S. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) 15 Rockdale Street, Braintree MA 02184-0172 http://www.fdic.gov/

Industry Tips
Debt Collection Rights-Spanish Debt Relief Strategies Financial Industry Foreign Lotteries Identity Theft Investments

Additional Locations

  • 4350 La Jolla Village Dr #140

    San Diego, CA 92122 (855) 263-3348

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by phone on 7/17/14 by "******" [***** ********] at Annuitant Federal Bank stating that he wanted to discuss purchasing an annuity that I own. I informed him that I am not interested in such a transaction and ended the phone call. Later in the day, I received a voice mail from my father stating that he was called earlier in the morning by someone named "******" from Annuitant Federal Bank, stating that he had an urgent banking matter to discuss with me, and that my father should pass ******'s contact information to me right away. The "urgent" matter is apparently to solicit me into selling an annuity. My problem is not that I was contacted directly to attempt a solicitation. That seems reasonable. My problem is that they called others with my last name trying to solicit me. This strikes me as an unethical business practice and a violation of my privacy. Not to mention that my elderly father was frightened by the potential of an "urgent banking matter" that had to be addressed.

Desired Settlement: My father cannot be un-frightened. My privacy cannot be restored. I seek only to expose this business and this, what I consider potentially unethical practice, for what it is. A violation of privacy.

Business Response: July 29,2014

******* *****
Better Business Bureau
4747 Viewridge Ave. Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123
Via Better Business Bureau Online Portal

Re: BBB complaint ID No. ********

Dear Ms. *****:

Please allow this letter to serve as the formal response of Bofl Federal Bank (the "Bank") to the above-referenced complaint (the "Complaint"). The Complaint was submitted by ******* ******** with respect to Annuitants Federal Bank, a division of the Bank. on July 17, 2014.

As the oldest branchless bank in the country, the Bank is proud of its long record of exemplary customer service, including, for example, having received the coveted ··Top Service Provider Award" from Costco. I thoroughly investigated the matters raised in the Complaint, and can assure you without reservation that no one at the Bank intended to cause Mr. ******** or his father any distress. However, I do apologize on behalf of the Bank if, despite our best intentions, anything said by our representative may have frightened Mr. ********'s father.

For the record, at no time during the call with Mr. ********s father did our representative indicate that the call was in regard to an "urgent banking matter," or state anything that could reasonably be construed as such. In fact, the evidence establishes that the Bank's representative told Mr. ********'s father that his call was "nothing se rious." Moreover. while I understand that Mr. ******** may generally feel that his privacy was invaded by the fact that we contacted him. no personally identifiable or confidential information was released to his father.

I note in closing that Mr. ******** did not request that any specific action be taken on our part. However, I do want him to be aware that we took his complaint seriously, and that it has served as the basis for providing additional training to our customer service representatives regarding the unintended perceptions that may arise from the things they say. We believe that this will prevent similar situations from arising in the future, and thank him for bringing this matter to our attention.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you or Mr. ******** should have any questions or concerns, or desire to discuss this matter in further detail.

Sincerely,

***** **** ****
EVP/ Chief Legal Officer

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

While I appreciate that the business apologized, I find it disturbing that they were correcting verbiage that was reported to me by my father, and stating that no interpretation of urgency could be construed.  The only way that this could reasonably be reviewed is if the call was recorded.  Florida is a two-party consent state for the purposes of recording a phone conversation.  My father has no recollection that such a disclosure was made to him.  To close this matter completely,  I'd like to request an audio copy of the entire call that they claim was used to correct the language, including the disclaimer that the call was being recorded and the statement that the matter was "nothing urgent".  That call should also provide evidence that they did or did not mentioned any of my personal identifying information.  If no recording exists, then it seems ludicrous to correct or reject the verbiage in my complaint.  Once I receive this information, I will consider this matter closed in a matter that is satisfactory to me.  If not, there will be lingering questions as to the appropriateness of the content of the call and the nature of the recording, if it exists.

Regards,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

8/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 9, 2013, I received an alarming voicemail message to my personal mobile phone stating, ["Hi, this message is for ******* ***** (name changed to protect identity). My name is **** with AnFed Bank. I was calling regarding a concerning transaction that we had recognized here. Uh, if you know *******, please pass this message on to her. I can be reached at ###-###-####."] I did not immediately respond to the message. Later that day my mom (with the same last name and address) called me and said the same person called her to find my stating there was a concerning bank transaction under my name and they were trying to get in touch with me. At this point, I was obviously seriously concerned that maybe someone was trying to use my personal information in another state since this bank is located in California and I am in Michigan. I called this person, ****, back to find further details regarding this "so-called" concerning bank transaction. He then just tried to pitch a sales speech on how he saw I have a structured settlement and that I had worked with Peachtree in selling a portion of my annuity in the past. He spent about 20 minutes going on to tell me that I needed to get away from them and come to their firm instead since apparently Peachtree was being sued for millions of dollars for bad business practices. I then told him, I was not interested at all because I had nothing but good experiences with Peachtree. I continually told him I was not interested and he kept belittling Peachtree as much as he possibly could and repeated that he could get me a much better deal. I again said I was happy with my decision already and nothing was going to alter my decision. What struck me the most is that he was calling my family members and thelling them there was a "concerning" transaction and that I need to get in touch with him right away. I find that in fact, this was only a soliciting sales tactic and unethical business practices on there part.

Desired Settlement: I don't know if this person wad calling everyone he saw in relation to my name to get a hold of purchasing my structured settlement. It's embarrassing for me when this company is calling people I know saying there is fraudulent activity taking place under my name when in fact he just wanted to make a sale and was going to do everything in his power to do so. I was sincerely scared that my identity was being stolen since this bank across the country was trying to relay an alarming message to me. I want it to be known that this company harassed both me and my family members just to try and purchase my structured settlement while belittling another company and falsely alarming me of a situation that was not "concerning" at alls

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *****.

Please see the attached email and letter sent to Ms. **********.

Let me know if you have any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

***** *****


Via Email

******* ***** **********
**** ********* ***** ***** ******** *****
Re: Better Business Bureau Complaint #*******

Dear Ms. **********:

We are in receipt of the Better Business Bureau complaint that you filed on July 23, 2013 against
Annuitants Federal Bank, a division of Bofl Federal Bank ("Bofl"). Since that time, Bofl has called you
twice on August 2, 2013, once on August 5, 2013, and once on August 8, 2013, with voice messages
being left for you on the 2 most recent calls, in an attempt to resolve this apparent misunderstanding.
Please give me a call at your earliest convenience, at ###-###-####, so that we may address your stated
concerns.

Sincerely,

***** *****
VP/Assistant General Counsel

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* **********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.