Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Veterans Aid

Phone: (877) 427-8065 Fax: (714) 202-5924 View Additional Phone Numbers 1717 W Orangewood Ave #G, Orange, CA 92868 http://www.americanveteransaid.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers insurance services and long term care consultation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Veterans Aid meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Veterans Aid include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Veterans Aid
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 29, 2013 Business started: 11/25/2002 in CA Business incorporated 09/19/2011 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glenn Pool, CEO Mr. Deron B Stokes, President Mrs. Jackie Stokes, Vice President Operations Ms. Joyce Navarro-Lucca, VP of Finance and Client Relations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Joyce Navarro-Lucca, VP of Finance and Client Relations
Principal: Mr. Glenn Pool, CEO
Principal: Mr. Deron B Stokes, President
Principal: Mrs. Jackie Stokes, Vice President Operations
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

Financial Consultants - No License Required Insurance Companies Insurance - Long Term Care Insurance Services Consultant - Planning

Industry Tips
Debt Relief Strategies

Additional Locations

  • 1717 W Orangewood Ave #G

    Orange, CA 92868 (949) 269-8164 (877) 427-8065

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr ******* * ******* was taken for $1150.00. American Veterans Aid asked him to pay for services for long-term care. Contract says if he decided to cancel within 30 days he would get his money back. They only gave him $650.00. He cancelled 2 weeks before the 30 day that was required, because this didn't sound right. If this service was legit, why did they take $500.00 from him. They didn't say anything about a service charge, and i'm sure it wouldn't be $500.00. Mr. ******* is 89 years old and I think they just took him for a ride. What can be done about this scam?

Desired Settlement: I would like to let Veteran's all over the nation to watch out for people like this that would take from the elderly and pretend it is legitimate. I know he will have no chance of getting his money back, but at least it will be on record with BBB.

Business Response: Mr. ******* ******* signed up for our Long-Term Consultation on June 16, 2014.  In July 2014, he sent a letter to American Veterans Aid advising he no longer wished to continue with our services.  Per the Service Agreement he signed, he was only entitled to a 50% refund so we honored his request and credited $575 to his charge card on August 21, 2014.   On September 19, 2014, we were contacted by the Merchant Bank as Mr. ******* disputed the remaining charge.  As a result of his dispute, AVA was charged back the remaining $575 from its account.  Mr. ******* has been credited the full $1150 on his credit card since September 2014.   In light of the full refund he received, we request he withdraw this complaint filed in error. 

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Engaged this firm to assist with filing a claim for a "Veterans Aid in Attendance" benefit with the VA for my 89 year old mother, in about October 2011. Paid firm $650.00 for this service. Claim drug on for nearly 2 years without success. My mother passed away in May of 2013 without the claim ever having been resolved. My contract with American Veterans Aid (AVA)specifically states that should the claimant die during the application process, a refund of 1/2 the fee paid ($325.00) is triggered. There are no circumstances or language in the contract that would negate the subject refund. I Have provided documents supporting all this, and emailed American Veterans Aid on numerous occasions but am getting the 'run around'. They say that they will submit it to the 'refund committee' for review (as of August 7). as though there is some mechanism for refusing the refund. Believe me, there is not! Firm seems to be more interested in selling 'immediate annuities' to get around VA claimant asset rules. (Which I did not do because my Mom had to assets to speak of anyway.) Some web sites seem to indicate that AVA is in some manner connected with the Church of Scientology, who has a less than stellar record in such matters. I would appreciate your follow up to help obtain the refund I am due in the amount of $325.00 and to make this complaint available to anyone requesting information about the viability of AVA. Product_Or_Service: Veterans benefit application assistance

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** * *******

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by this company after an internet search. Talked to a rep regarding veteran benifits for my Dad. Gave all the info asked for and was told my Dad would qualify for the benifit. Asked for payement. Which I sent. Then I received a call from an investment advisor who I again gave all the info he asked for and was told that we had to either gift the money or buy aniuities since my Dad had too much assits. Then we spoke to an attorney and was told that if we did what they wanted to do Dad would not qualify for Medicaid when he needed it in 3 years. We then made a call to the company to explain that we did not want to continue with the proscess. For the last 3 days we have tried to get in touch with someone and on one will call us back. The company preys on the vunerable. Product_Or_Service: Premium Pre-filing fee Account_Number: american veterans ai

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While attempting to obtain health aid assistance for surviving spouse of veteran due to her failing health I had one telephone assessment interview where the program was explained and I was told that if she did not qualify, for whatever reason there would be a refund of the monies. No mention was made as to how much would be refunded in the telephone interview. AFTER I agreed and the service contract was emailed to me, then it indicated in the agreement it would only be 40% no matter what the reason, they already had my money. The process started Nov 11, 2013 and she passed away Dec 3, 2013, LESS THAN 30 days.I contacted the representative to let her know and requested a refund. Mind you, I had no consultation, no assistance with financial matters to help her qualify and no claim had actually been set in place, but my refund was only $780.00!?! I can understand some fees, but 60% for NO services done other than the initial consultation. I feel this is a rip-off and I indicated that it was less than 30 days and I was having financial hardship for final funeral arrangements.

Desired Settlement: I feel since it was LESS than 30 days and it was not mentioned during the interview only 40$ of the payment would be refunded and I did not know until AFTER the agreement was emailed to me that they would only refund 40% of the $1950.00, I am requesting 75% of the money be refunded. I feel 25% is reasonable enough for their time explaining and assisting me.

Business Response: Dear  Ms. *******

Your voice mail  and request to reconsider the partial refund  has been reviewed.  Based on the 
services  rendered from the time  of service  to your  father's passing, we will be happy  to 
provide a full refund less an administrative fee of $250, if that  is acceptable to you.

Although we strive to adhere  to the terms of our service  agreement, we understand that certain 
circumstances do not fit the parameters and we can accommodate special consideration as requested.

We are sorry for your  loss and look  forward to your  reply.

Best regards,
****** ******
VIce President,Operations
AMERICAN VETERANS AID,  INC.
###-###-####

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******