Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hitachi Home Electronics (America) Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 448-2244 Fax: (800) 685-7787 2420 Fenton St #200, Chula Vista, CA 91914 http://www.hitachi.us/tv


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers marketing and manufactures a wide range of consumer electronic products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hitachi Home Electronics (America) Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hitachi Home Electronics (America) Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hitachi Home Electronics (America) Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 22, 1999 Business started: 04/11/1979 in CA Business started locally: 10/01/1990 Business incorporated 04/11/1979 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Corporations
320 W 4th St Ste 750, Los Angeles CA 90013
http://www.corp.ca.gov
Phone Number: (866) 275-2677
The number is 603F507.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shigetaka Hikosaka, CEO Ms. Teresa Omar, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shigetaka Hikosaka, CEO
Principal: Ms. Teresa Omar, Customer Service Manager
Number of Employees

58

Business Category

Electronics Research & Development Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers Manufacturers & Producers

Alternate Business Names
Hitachi America Ltd

Additional Locations

  • 2420 Fenton St #200

    Chula Vista, CA 91914

  • 900 Hitachi Wy

    Chula Vista, CA 91914 (800) 448-2244 (619) 591-5200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

I purchased a Hitachi TV about 10 months agoa nd the TV stopped working suddenly. I filed a complaint with Hitachi to get the TV repaired or replaced. That was 3 weeks ago and it has been an uphill battle since then. It took a week and an half to get a technician in to look at the TV and determine that he could not fix it. I called as was told that the TV would be replaced or the money refunded.

I got another call looking for photos of an issue that I did not report and I did not feel that the issue was going to be resolved. It took threats of reporting them to get, what I assume was a supervisor, to tell me that this could go on for another month or so due to their claims process. I feel that I should have had this resolved 10 days ago when the technician said he could not fix the TV and I feel that the they are stalling the process until the manufacturers warranty expires.

Desired Settlement: I want Hitachi to issue a voucher to take back to the place of purchase to issue a new TV right away

Business Response: Dear *** *****


It is unfortunate when any of our customers have an occasion to be disappointed in the level of service we provide.  We appreciate the opportunity to address the issues, which you have brought to our attention.

In response to the complaint filed by *** ***** *****, Hitachi would like to provide you with the following response.  After a review of our records, I see where *** ***** contacted Hitachi Customer Service on 10/9/15 regarding an issue with his Hitachi television, model LE50H508 / CH4HC05799.  A technician was dispatched and determination was made to refund or replace the television due to a bad panel issue.  Upon receipt of completed paperwork from *** ***** and contingent on inventory availability; decision to refund or replace *** *****'s television would be made.  The Release of All Claims was received at our offices on 10/26/15 and an offer to replace the television with a LE50A6R9 was made on 10/30/15.  *** ***** accepted on 10/30/15 and the replacement was ordered and shipped.  Based on tracking information provided, this unit was delivered to *** *****'s residence on 11/6/15.

We thank you for bringing this matter to Hitachi's attention and hope this resolution is satisfactory to all parties' involved.

Many Thanks,

Hitachi America, Ltd., Digital Media Division

***** *****
Supervisor, Hitachi Service and Solutions Group

5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the first TV was purchased, it did not live up to its standards because of a light engine issue. Then this plasma was sent in its place. It too, did not live up to sales pitch of the quality promised on a unit barely used and it did not meet the expectations promised of 30 years, yes with minimal use, especially considering the cost of the unit. This is the second time there has been issues with their product with such a short warranty.

Desired Settlement: This business has the responsibility of replacing their product, offering support and honoring a concession,because neither product lived up to the 30 year pitch given at purchase. Done by living up to their corporate statement, “Inspire the Next” expresses Hitachi’s determination to breathe new life into the next era. With its social innovation businesses, Hitachi strives to become the "Best Solutions Partner" and help create a comfortable and abundant society. Deriving its business strategy from its vision, Hitachi combines passion and expertise to succeed even in the most challenging circumstances.” Every time a chance is given to experience “new life” their product, it is short-lived by a problem, too soon. Having such products will not create, “A comfortable and abundant society, because once society starts hearing their products aren’t living up to its quality they portray, they will move on to someone who can succeed both in quality on longevity which can be a challenge, but a challenge conquered.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *****,

It is unfortunate when any of our customers have an occasion to be disappointed in the level of service we provide. We appreciate the opportunity to address the issues, which you have brought to our attention.

In response to the complaint filed by Ms. *****, Hitachi would like to provide you with the following response.  After a review of our Customer Service database, I was unable to locate a file for Ms. *****.  Based on the information provided by Ms. *****, she purchased her plasma television, model 55HDS69 on 9/26/07, making is 4.5 years outside the 1-year manufacturer's warranty.  When a situation falls outside the 1-year manufacturer's warranty, however, the customer wishes to seek an out of warranty concession, the customer must present their case to the CSAC (Customer Service Appeals Committee).  This request should include proper documentation such as bill of sale, service history and reason for request.  If Ms. ***** wishes to submit a letter for warranty consideration, she may send correspondence to:

Hitachi Customer Service Appeals Committee

2420 Fenton Street ; Suite 200

Chula Vista, CA 91914

We thank you for bringing this matter to Hitachi's attention and hope this resolution is satisfactory to all parties' involved.

Many Thanks,

Hitachi America, Ltd.

Digital Media Division 

***** *****, Supervisor , Hitachi Service and Solutions Group

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Hitachi 60VF820 about 6 years ago with an extended warranty. The television is located in a second living area and gets very little use. The lamp went out recently and I called two Hitachi service technicians in my local area for repair. Before I could describe my problem, both techs asked if the color is still good on my set because the color generators are known to be faulty in these units. Besides my lamp going out, which they say is normal, the picture is very green which both techs said was the bad color generators that Hitachi used. One tech told me to call Hitachi because they have sent out new color generators to some customers to fix the problem even though the warranty was out. They know all about the problem. I called Hitachi and told too bad, no help at all. A $2000 television when new with a $800 faulty part that the manufacturer knows about but refuses to correct. Terrible customer service for a repeat customer.

Desired Settlement: Replacement part to correct defective part, or credit toward a newer television.

Business Response:

Dear *** ****,

It is unfortunate when any of our customers have an occasion to be disappointed in the level of service we provide.  We appreciate the opportunity to address the issues, which you have brought to our attention.

In response to the complain filed by *** ***** ********, Hitachi would like to provide you with the following response.  When a situation falls outside the 1-year manufacturer's warranty, however, the customer wishes to seek an out of warranty concession, the customer must present their case to the CSAC (Customer Service Appeals Committee).  If *** ******** wishes to seek out-of-warranty support for his 60VF820, he may send a request to the Committee.  This request should include proper documentation such as bill of sale, service history and reason for request.  *** ******** may mail his correspondence to the following address:

Customer Service Appeals Committee

900 Hitachi Way

Chula Vista, CA 91914

Members of the CSAC will collectively review this letter with a majority ruling for approval or denial of customer request.  A written confirmation of approval or denial will be sent directly to the customer.

We thank you for bringing this matter to Hitachi's attention and hope this resolution is satisfactory to all parties' involved.  Please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or concerns.

My Best Regards,

Hitachi America, Ltd., Digital Media Division

 

***** *****

National Service Supervisor

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Why was I not told about this appeal process 6 weeks ago when I called. Why is there no mention of the class action lawsuit against Hitachi concerning these known problems with these expensive tv's, or the fact that Hitachi was approving repairs from Hitachi techs previously for these known defects after the warranty had expired but quit doing so. This is obviously another attempt at not standing behind a faulty product and a lame attempt at delaying or dragging out a resolution in hopes that customers will give up. No customer wants to be forced into a long resolution for months when there main tv is broken.

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

Business Response:

Dear *** ****,

In response to *** ***** ********' rebuttal, Hitachi would like to provide you with the following response. 

After further review, we were unable to locate a file / call in our database from *** ********, therefore, we are unable to speak to why *** ******** was not referred to the Committee for further consideration.  We specifically note that his rebuttal referenced the existence of litigation against Hitachi.  Hitachi does not agree that the LCD Rear Projection televisions are defective.  A small number of customers filed a proposed class action, but the lawsuit was dismissed.  As stated in our previous response, should *** ******** wish to seek an out of warranty concession, he must present his case to the CSAC Committee.  *** ******** may mail his correspondence (reason for request, bill of sale, and service history) to the following address:

Customer Service Appeals Committee

900 Hitachi Way

Chula Vista, CA 91914

We thank you for bringing this matter back to our attention.

Best Regards,

Hitachi America, Ltd., Digital Media Division

***** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

I disagree that a it was a small number of customers that filed a class action suit against Hitachi and a few others for these defective televisions.  It may be a small number to you, but not to those of us affected by it.  Here is a link to one of the suits which was not thrown out of court, and you were forced to pay a settlement, ******************************.  According to Hitachi tech, your company was providing parts to repair these defective tv's even after the warranty had expired in an effort to avoid a recall or class action suit for a period of time, but stopped doing so. 

It's ironic that you cannot find records pertaining with the problems with my personal tv, but not surprised after experiencing your lack of customer service and support.  

Regards,

***** ********



7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/8/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a Hitachi TV, serial number RL2C004312, MODEL # L40A105E. It went out after about 5 mo, but still under warranty. We called Hitachi warranty number around the 1st of November 2012 and were referred to ***** ********** here in ****** ******** for warranty repair. ***** ********** said this was a pretty common problem w/ this TV, the boards going out. However, these boards are not in stock at Hitachi and Hitachi has no ETA on getting the parts in. They also require the parts be ordered from them when under warranty, not anyone else. I've been without the TV for roughly 3 and a half months now, and and as of today, there's still no ETA on when they will have this part. We spoke with the warranty department at ************** again today 2/11/13, and they still can't give me a date on when the part will be shipped out. I don't have use of my cable package or the use of my surround sound system I purchased just for this TV. I talked to the warranty department on 12/31/12 with the same results. Again, my TV has been out since the 1st of November 2012, and has been in the repair shop that Hitachi specified since 11/15/12.In other words, Hitachi TV breaks while under warranty, Hitachi requires parts come from Hitachi, just no ETA on when it will be available for shipmentI am requesting a new TV at this point. I feel it's unacceptable to make a customer wait any longer with no date available for repair.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a new replacement TV at this point.

Business Response:

Hi ***,

 I just received the below response from our Partner who handles all of the support for the model television ***** ******** purchased.  Here is their response and status update:  “This customer’s part was shipped to the service center on 3/11/13  & delivered 3/13. The service center said the repair was complete on 3/15 & they tried to call the customer but has not been able to reach them yet.”  Please ask ***** ******** to contact the service center directly to arrange a suitable time for delivery and / or pick up of their repaired television.  Please let me know if you have any further questions.  

Many Thanks,

***** *****
National Service Supervisor
Hitachi America, Ltd.,
Digital Media Division