Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

McWire Electric Inc

Phone: (619) 258-1242 Fax: (619) 258-1245 1736 N Magnolia Ave, El Cajon, CA 92020 View Additional Email Addresses http://mcwireelectric.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial solar and electrical work throughout the southern California region, including design, permitting, and financing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McWire Electric Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on McWire Electric Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 26, 2001 Business started: 10/01/1999 in CA Business incorporated 10/02/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 915872.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andrew McGuire, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew McGuire, CEO
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Electricians - Commercial Electrical Power Systems (Residential & Commercial) - Backup Systems Solar Panel Cleaning Contractors - Solar Energy Electricians Generators - Electric Energy Management & Conservation Consultant Lighting Systems & Equipment Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Solar Energy System Design & Installation Renewable Energy

Products & Services

McWire Electric Inc sells the following brand(s): Centro Solar, Enphase, Innotech, ITE , Leviton , Solar World, Sunpower solar

McWire Electric Inc offers the following product(s): electrical panels, lighting, Solar panels

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, credit cards, financing available
Service Area
Serving San Diego County
Industry Tips
Contractors Solar Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 1736 N Magnolia Ave

    El Cajon, CA 92020

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or around the 28th of June, 2014, McWire Electric installed solar panels at my residence. At the time, I was vacationing out of state. I received a notice from SDG&E on the 30th of June stating that solar panel system was ready for operation. On June 30th, I received an email from a McWire Electric employee who wanted to set up the monitoring of my solar panels. I returned from vacation on July 1st, I contacted the employee and provided him the information that he was requesting to set up the monitoring system. He informed me via email that he was having problems setting up the monitoring for my panels. Over the next 4 weeks, I provided the employee the additional information that he was requesting and I never heard back from him. I'm in the military and deployed in early August. I returned from deployment late December 2014. I contacted McWire Electric upon my return to assist me in monitoring my solar panels. A technician was sent out to my residence on Dec. 31, 2014 where it was discovered that the breaker for the solar panels was never turned on. I had been paying on the loan for the solar panels since July while my residence was still using SDG&E electriciity. I currently have a outstanding electric bill from SDG&E in the amount of $1359.70. No one informed me that I needed to turn on the breaker and when I contacted McWire Electric to set up the monitoring after the install, no one was sent out to my residence to ensure my solar panels were operating properly even after a McWire Electric employee acknowledged having issues reading the operation of my solar panels. I feel McWire Electric should be held responsible, McWire Electric was paid in full for their service but failed to complete the installation to include monitoring set-up and turning on the solar panels to ensure proper operation after installation. McWire Electric didn't exercise due diligence when a monitoring problem was discovered in July which would of prevented this situation.

Desired Settlement: McWire Electric cover the expenses I have incurred from SDG&E in the amount of $1359.70.

Business Response: To: BBB
From: ****** ********
Re: Complaint #********

McWire Electric has reviewed the complaint from **. *********  Upon completion of installation, McWire Electric is only allowed to test the solar system by turning on the main breaker for a short period.  At that time we are able to show the homeowner that the system is working.  Then we are required by law to turn off the breaker until SDG&E grants "Permission to Operate."  We instruct the homeowner that they can turn on the labelled solar breaker and use their system once they get this letter.  Please find the attached later that **. ******** received on 6/30/14 advising him that he can now use this system and that "it is the customer's responsibility" to ensure that the solar system is operating properly. 

Once the system is operating, our solar engineer then maps the panels for the online reporting.  On 6/30/14 we emailed **. ******** that he could use his system and that we wanted to set up the online monitoring.  Then we called and left messages on 8/18/14 at 4:25pm and 9/19 at 3:12pm.  Furthermore, SDG&E sends monthly statements to the client.  Upon going solar, the payment is only due once a year, but SDG&E will send the monthly statement showing the usage.  It is again the responsibility of the homeowner to review their utility statement and see that they are accruing a bill for electricity consumption.  

On the plus side, **. ********'s system is operating correctly now and we are able to monitor it.  The balance he has accrued to date will not be due until his annual true up this coming June.  In that time the Net Metering arrangement he has with the utility company will allow his system to credit back any overages he produces.  Also he will not continue to accrue a bill as long as he does not exceed his solar system's production, therefore the balance owned divided over the next 6 months minus the overage credit from the system production should be manageable.

In conclusion, it is unfortunate that **. ******** did run up a bill with SDG&E, but in his email to us on Jan. 12, 2015 he does state "I found the email that was sent to me from SDGE on the 30th of June, 2014.  I attached the letter that was sent in said email stating it was my responsibility to coordinate with my contractor to ensure the system was operating properly."  The letter and the SDG&E statements make it clear to the homeowner what their energy consumption is, along with their balance. 

The PV solar system is now operating perfectly, and now that McWire Electric has access to the monitoring, we are going to uphold our warranty to **. ******** for the next 30 years.

Thank You,

****** ********
General Manager
McWire Electric, Inc.
1736 N. Magnolia Ave.
El Cajon, CA  92020


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mcwire Electric's response is unsatisfactory. I sent Mcwire Electric the attachment which does state it's the homeowner's responsibility to contact the contractor to ensure their system is working properly. I did contact Mcwire Electric to ensure my system was working properly and it wasn't working properly when I contacted them in July 2014. At that time, Mcwire Electric failed to provide sufficient technical assistance to identify and ensure my system was working properly. Also, Mcwire Electric never informed me to turn on my breaker, even when Mcwire Electric discovered issues with the monitoring of the system. It has become readily apparent that after Mcwire Electric gets paid, the customer is no longer a priority to them. McWire Electric's customer service was a complete failure on this situation and me as the customer will end up paying over $1000 because of Mcwire Electric's failure and lack of responsibility. I encourage Mcwire Electric to take a second review into this situation. I will be pursuing this matter through litigation if we cannot come to solution via arbitration. 

Regards,

***** ********



Business Response: Dear BBB,
McWire Electric has read the response to the original statement from ***** *********  We understand that **. ******** is not satisfied.  Our original response covers the dates we reached out to **. ******** and illustrates what his responsibilities are as a homeowner.  Homeowners get monthly statements from SDG&E and if there are issues that appear wrong in their utility billing, our office is open for them to contact us.

McWire Electric offers a 30 Year Warranty and we are dedicated to our clients for this duration for component issues as well as customer service.

Mr. ******** closed his response with:

"I encourage Mcwire Electric to take a second review into this situation. I will be pursuing this matter through litigation if we cannot come to solution via arbitration."

We have answered, in our first response, our responsibilities for a solar installation.  This is not a matter of BBB arbitration, but rather a customer service issue.  We will email **. ******** to invite him to meet with our team so we can discuss his concerns and have the second review.

 

Thanks Again,

 

****** ********

General Manager

McWire Electric, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


McWire Electric doesn't admit to any wrong doing, they have continually avoided implications that they are guilty of any failures and/or poor customer service. You can view McWire Electric's response and notice that one of the issues that was in my complaint was the fact that it took them 6 months after solar panel installation to set up the solar panel monitoring was not addressed. So I ask McWire Electric again, is solar panel monitoring supposed to be set up 6 months after solar installation? What is your standard operating procedure and timeline for the set up of solar panel monitoring? Why wasn't the solar monitoring set up after solar installation where I could view the production of KW from my solar panel system? Why did it take me to notify McWire Electric that solar monitoring was not set up after I  returned from a 6 month deployment? Who is responsible for ensuring that solar panel monitoring is set up after solar panel installation? Why wasn't a technician sent out to my residence to troubleshoot my solar panels when one of your employees who was attempting to set up the solar monitoring after installation had problems reading my solar panels? Why wasn't there any follow up after aforementioned employee was not able to set up the solar monitoring of my solar panels?

The second issue in the complaint which ties into the first issue. The solar panel breaker was not turned on until I discovered it turned off upon my return from a  6 month deployment. McWire Electric's most recent response stated that they had reached out to me on "dates" and explained the homeowner's responsibilities for solar panels. McWire Electric DID NOT reach out to me on any dates to explain homeowner's responsibilities until after I discovered the solar panel breaker was off on Dec. 31st. I repeat McWire Electric never informed me that I was required to turn on the breaker for the solar panels. Why didn't McWire Electric inform me that I needed to turn on my solar panel breaker when one of McWire Electric's employees wasn't able to read my solar monitoring? Another comment from McWire Electric's recent response was that SDGE sends me bills every month and any issues with billing I should notify McWire Electric. The reason I did not contact McWire Electric was because I was told by the McWire Electric salesman who sold me the solar panels was that I would continue to receive monthly bills from SDGE but would not have to pay until the end of the year where the amount of KW of electricity that my solar panels generated and provided to SDGE compared to amount of KW of electricity that used from SDGE would offset each other and I would more than likely receive a check from SDGE because I produced more than I used from SDGE. McWire Electric's response just brought to the attention another issue. McWire Electric salesman are not properly trained on how the process works and are misinforming potential customers. Also, from McWire Electric's recent response, it was stated that "This is not a matter of BBB arbitration, but rather a customer service issue". BBB is used for arbitration because of a lack of customer service on the part of McWire Electric. So, I'm not sure what exactly McWire Electric is trying to say.

I have read all the BBB complaints against McWire Electric, I haven't seen nor do I expect to see McWire Electric admit to any wrong doing. It's an avoid and deny everything mentality within the McWire Electric company. I can go on and on with the various issues that I have experienced alone with McWire Electric, to include bait and switch sales tactic, possible California business/professions code violations, etc...  I would think this information would provide management a great opportunity to fix some of those problem areas within the company. But, with that in-denial mentality, you won't learn from your mistakes by not accepting responsibility and owning up to those problems. Also, McWire Electric needs to update their webpage because it's providing false credentials, at the bottom of the webpage it lists McWire Electric as a BBB (A+) Accredited Business but the BBB actually has McWire Electric an (A) Accredited Business.


Regards,

***** ********



Business Response: Again, it is the responsibility of the homeowner to turn on the system.  We keep stating we tried to contact the homeowner.  Also, this is not a surprise as the monthly statements from the utility company alert the homeowner and we have been available to solve the situation if he were to have called.  **. ******** asked for a second review and we are very willing to meet and offered time slots available or asked for other time he could suggest.  We have won national and local awards year over year for our service.  We are dedicated to our customer.  The accusations and name calling are not part of the solution.  We are available for **. ******** to meet and review the situation.  That seems to be the best solution vs. going back and forth in this forum.

Thanks Again,
****** ********
General Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I wish this issue didn't have to come to filing a BBB complaint, but it has because McWire Electric wasn't willing to resolve the issue when I brought it to their attention. I made multiple attempts to resolve this issue before filing the BBB complaint. SDGE sent me the notice that it's the homeowner's responsibility to work with the contractor to ensure the system is working properly. I did what was required from me as the homeowner, I contacted the contractor to ensure my system was working when attempting to set up the solar monitoring. The contractor (McWire Electric) did not act and failed to provide needed technical services and assistance. There's no name calling, no accusations, only the facts. McWire Electric's failure to provide technical services and assistance resulted in the accumulation of unnecessary electrical charges for the customer. I will not meet with you or your management at your place of business. The opportune time for that has passed after you disregarded my previous attempts to resolve the matter prior to filing the BBB complaint. The only solution that I am satisfied with is to be reimbursed for all unnecessary charges incurred. 

Regards,

***** ********



1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about December 1st at 3:30pm I met with *** from McWire Electric. My neighbor had called me to request that McWire, who was installing solar panels at their home, have access to the edge of my driveway while the upgraded the wiring. My neighbors are elderly and I did not want them to have to skirt a large pile of dirt when leaving their home so I agreed to let McWire cut a 9' section of concrete for access to the electrical box at my neighbor's house contingent upon several things, among them: 1) the job was to be completed in 4 days (Tim's estimate from start to finish). In the event of rain *** said it would be 7 days maximum. I agreed to let them do the work if they would be completed in 7 days maximum. 2) The concrete they were cutting is a custom concrete and *** had to agree to match the color exactly if the concrete was cut or removed. He agreed to do this. At this time, December 23rd, the work has not been completed. In addition, McWire, without asking our permission, cut an additional 9 feet (total of 23 feet) of trench. I have repeatedly attempted to contact the business to request a timeline of when the work would be complete. It has been 11 days since *** was to furnish an email with the schedule. Nothing has been received.

Desired Settlement: I would like McWire to simply finish the job as agreed.

Business Response: To: BBB
Re: Complaint ID# ********
From:  ****** ********, General Manager at McWire Electric

Per the complaint from **** *******, submitted to the BBB on 12/25/14:

We contacted **** on 12/26 and we met with him at his property on 12/30 at 8am.  We discussed all options to replace the concrete that was cut and removed to upgrade his neighbors electrical service.  It was determined that the best solution was to remove the entire slab and replace it, all at the cost of McWire Electric.  Our crew removed the additional concrete on 12/30 and then we matched, pumped, formed and finished the new concrete on Friday 1/2/15.  While the project took a little longer than expected due to weather and the busy season, the final outcome is a much improved new concrete slab, replacing old and cracked concrete.  

The project is completely finished and is better then when we started.  An image of the finished work is attached.


Thank You,


****** ********
General Manager
McWire Electric, Inc.
1736 N. Magnolia Ave.
El Cajon, CA  92020
###-###-####
www.getsolarsandiego.com
CSLB# 915872

12/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid McWire Elec Nov 2013 for the installation of Solar panels to be completed by Jan 17th 2014. This has not happened. they collected $65,000 and have only completed a $3000 electrical box upgrade. They are now claiming this is sufficient for services rendered. I now see they have many complaints all over the internet, many in 2014 for the same reason. They also damaged teh wall of my million dollar home and did poor work and did not color match. Since the emails they were fired in July, they now claim to be involved and ready to move forward. I do not trust them after the work done on a business partners home and office, the work is poor, causes damage, and still isn't connect or finished 9 months later.

Desired Settlement: I expect them to refund my money, and since I no longer trust them, I expect damage to my home to be done by another contractor of my choosing.

Business Response:

 

 

August 8, 2014

To:  San Diego Better Business Bureau

From:  ****** ********

Re:  Response to Complaint #********

 

 

In regards to the complaint # ******** from **** *****, McWire Electric is offering the simple responses to the 4 components of his complaint, then a summary then a detailed timeline follows below.

 

 

To quickly recap the complaint from **** *****:

Complaint #1:  **** states that the project was to be completed by January 17th 2014.

Response:  The original date was Jan 17th.  When we tried to move forward, we were told by ****’s business partner, ***** *****, that Jan. 17th was McWire’s date, not ****’s.  He then states that this is not time sensitive and must be configured correctly before a payment will be made.  Further, we were going to install **** *****’s project while installing ***** *****’s project, thus the volume pricing to both and **** ***** stated that he wanted to see the completion of ***** *****’s project before starting his project.

 

Complaint #2:  **** states that electrical panel is the only work completed. 

Response: McWire Electric has in fact designed his solar system, done engineering load calculations, completed work orders with SDGE and has stamped and approved plans from the City of San Diego for the project.  It is true that the solar ready electrical panel is installed at ****’s home.

 

Complaint #3: **** states that the color match is not correct around the installed electrical panel. 

Response:  The stucco work was professionally matched, textured, colored and fogged to match the home.  It was stated to **** that if the color did not cure to 100% correct we would correct it, as it dries to match.  This is the first we have heard the complaint and we always had the intention to make this perfect.

 

Complaint #4:  **** states that since he “fired” McWire Electric in July, and only now that the company is now ready to move forward with his project.

Response:  Detail will show in the timeline below, but McWire Electric has been performing to contact since the agreement and the many delays were from changes from Mr. *****, approved delays as he wanted to see the completion of ***** *****’s solar project, the lack of completion of paperwork by Mr. ***** and also the lack of returning addendums allowing McWire Electric to perform work.

 

Summary:  It has been McWire Electric’s intentions to meet all of **** *****’s requests.  We have been flexible to change design and specifications.  The required electrical panel was installed.  **** ***** rejected the generator because of a cosmetic blemish and did not wish for a replacement.  McWire Electric subtracted 100% of the generator cost from the agreement and did not charge restocking fees to Mr. *****.  McWire Electric has been ready to complete the installation and was waiting on the signed addendum from **** ***** to move forward.  It was explained to **** ***** by ****** McGuire, CEO of McWire Electric, on June 9, 2014, that the signed addendum was all that was delaying this project.  McWire Electric has all permits and is ready to perform the balance of work as contracted.

 

 

Detailed timeline:

 

Nov. 27, 2013             Agreement Signed between **** ***** and McWire Electric.

                                    Original install date planned for Jan. 17, 2014.

 

Dec. 6, 2013                ***** *****, ****’s business partner, stalls project stating that the install date is McWire’s date, not Mr. *****’s.  He states that this is not time sensitive and would be designed and paid for when they approved the plans.

 

Dec. 10, 2013              ****** ******* (CEO) and ****** ******** (General Manager) met with **** ***** at his home to review the solar design, electrical panel needs and generator concerns.

 

Dec. 11, 2013              Addendum sent to **** ***** to upgrade generator capacity as well as increase his electrical panel from 200amp to 400amp. 

 

Dec. 12, 2013              McWire does the measure of Mr. *****’s roof to prepare design and installation plans.

 

Jan. 2014                     **** ***** contacted McWire Electric via phone to request we hold on his project until the completion of ***** *****’s project.  *****’s final inspection was Jan. 30th.

 

March 19, 2014          ****** ******* and **** ***** met to discuss project and updated schedule.  New completion date target early May.  New addendum created.

 

April 2, 2014              Plans delayed as ***** ***** and **** ***** ask if we can redesign to add pool solar panels to the project. 

 

April 19, 2014            SDGE approves work order and service disconnect for new electrical panel.

 

April 28, 2014            ****** ******* sends update to **** ***** letting him know the generator will be installed the week of May 5th and the plans and permits are nearly issued so we can move forward with the installation.

 

April 29, 2014            **** ***** sends an email to ****** ******* asking for a full refund.  ****** ******* responds “Let us do our job, partner.”  Then explains if we get the paperwork completed we can move forward as long as **** does not keep changing his mind on number of panels.  ****** explains we are on track and as soon as we have the HOA form and your approved and signed addendum, that we will be on the job.

 

May 6, 2014                New electrical panel installed

 

May 22, 2014              New addendum created after ****** ******* again met with **** *****.  This   

addendum added two more solar panels and subtracted the generator.  This addendum also recalculated the balance of payments because of the change of materials but held to the payment percentages and work stages of the original agreement.

 

May 28, 2014              **** ***** emails back that the new payment terms are not acceptable.

 

May 28, 2014              ****** ******** emails **** explaining the payment dollars are changed because of material changes but the percentages and stages are per the original agreement.  ******** then ask for **** to explain the errors or concerns to they can be addressed.

 

June 4, 2014                ****** ******* emails **** ***** requesting the signed addendum so we can proceed with work. 

 

June 5, 2014                **** ***** writes “he agreed to the generator being removed from the contract but not the new payment terms as stated in the original contract as we agreed to.”

 

June 9, 2014                ****** ******* offers to again meet in person to explain work performed and balance of work to completion.  He also wanted to explain stages and payments for the duration of the project.  ****** ******* explained “This paperwork is the last thing needed to complete **** *****’s installation.”

 

June 27, 2014              ****** ******* again emails **** ***** to offer to meet so we can finalize details and complete the project.

 

July 2, 2014                **** ***** now states he has waited long enough and claims McWire Electric has stalled his project when the delays have been on the behalf of Mr. *****.  He claims he is paying high SDGE costs because of the delay.  **** then requests a full refund based on the fact that “McWire Electric has not performed.”

 

July 3, 2014                ****** ******* explains “We are proceeded forward with the project was we have performed per contract.”  The delay was the choice of Mr. ***** while he was waiting to see the completion of his business partner’s installation.  We have permitted the job and installed the electrical panel making the property ready to accept solar.  When we showed to install the generator, we were turned away over a cosmetic blemish and we deducted the full amount from your agreement.  The delay of the last month has been over getting Mr. ***** to sign the addendum so McWire Electric can complete the installation.  McWire Electric is waiting on the signed payment schedule so there are no gray areas when it comes to contract pricing.    ****** ******* then states “We are very close to the end, so if you

can get back to me with the payment schedule signature, we can close you out quickly.  We also will not accept any back charges for personal expense as the delay is not due to us.”

 

 

At this stage, McWire Electric is ready to complete the installation.  The 50% that **** ***** has paid is for the planning, design and permits.  We have performed beyond the 50% by installing the electrical panel.  There is no money due back to Mr. ***** as we have performed beyond contact. We are ready to complete the project.

 

 

****** ********

General Manager

 

Consumer Response:

Complaint #1:  **** states that the project was to be completed by January 17th 2014.

Response:  The original date was Jan 17th.  When we tried to move forward, we were told by ****’s business partner, ***** *****, that Jan. 17th was McWire’s date, not ****’s.  He then states that this is not time sensitive and must be configured correctly before a payment will be made.  Further, we were going to install **** *****’s project while installing ***** *****’s project, thus the volume pricing to both and **** ***** stated that he wanted to see the completion of ***** *****’s project before starting his project.

 It was actually their idea in conjunction with another project regarding ***** to put my project on hold. They seem to get confused with the Feb completion date and the march and may completion dates. I cannot understand how that gets so confused.

Complaint #2:  **** states that electrical panel is the only work completed. 

Response: McWire Electric has in fact designed his solar system, done engineering load calculations, completed work orders with SDGE and has stamped and approved plans from the City of San Diego for the project.  It is true that the solar ready electrical panel is installed at ****’s home.

Regardless of what he claims, nothing has been provided to date with numerous requests. No permits, plans or otherwise, save the electrical panel that was installed per one complaint regarding no work and robbing perter to pay paul.

 

Working as a civil engineer, it doesn’t take 65k USD to complete that, as their request that funds have been depleted. Doing a two story structure right now, it took 15k USD for plans permits inspections and much more. Where did the rest of the monies go and why wasn’t there some installation taking place?

 

Complaint #3: **** states that the color match is not correct around the installed electrical panel. 

Response:  The stucco work was professionally matched, textured, colored and fogged to match the home.  It was stated to **** that if the color did not cure to 100% correct we would correct it, as it dries to match.  This is the first we have heard the complaint and we always had the intention to make this perfect.

Yes, they were notified that there is a 3 color fog coating process to actually match these properties that only the original contractor can do, and they went to home depot, and tried to cheaply color match and it shows on a million dollar home. This was requested per phone, in person to his stucco and elec box person as well as email. And u can’t just paint stucco it messes it up. 

Complaint #4:  **** states that since he “fired” McWire Electric in July, and only now that the company is now ready to move forward with his project.

Response:  Detail will show in the timeline below, but McWire Electric has been performing to contact since the agreement and the many delays were from changes from Mr. *****, approved delays as he wanted to see the completion of ***** *****’s solar project, the lack of completion of paperwork by Mr. ***** and also the lack of returning addendums allowing McWire Electric to perform work.

Erroneous claims as usual. That comment is valid with the Jan 17th completion date it doesn’t drag out until Aug or the end of eternity like he was hoping. 

The ***** ***** project has one completed and another messed up to date. You might be hearing from them as well. And they were ready to roll when fired, so they claim, but could not scan or take a cell pix of any permits  plans or anything and were given 2 weeks to provide anything. So when two weeks came and went, they were fired. Refund requested as if they actually did work, they could have forwarded it. To date, I have not seen any plans since the first day and those were heavily red lined for correction.

 

Summary:  It has been McWire Electric’s intentions to meet all of **** *****’s requests.  We have been flexible to change design and specifications.  The required electrical panel was installed.  **** ***** rejected the generator because of a cosmetic blemish and did not wish for a replacement. McWire Electric subtracted 100% of the generator cost from the agreement and did not charge restocking fees to Mr. *****.  McWire Electric has been ready to complete the installation and was waiting on the signed addendum from **** ***** to move forward.  It was explained to **** ***** by ****** *******, CEO of McWire Electric, on June 9, 2014, that the signed addendum was all that was delaying this project.  McWire Electric has all permits and is ready to perform the balance of work as contracted.

 This is the first time I ve heard most of this, and Home Depot doesn’t charge restocking fees as all the HD tags were still on there. The blemish on a product charged 4x over retail is seldom acceptable in any walk of life. How this confuses them is beyond measure. Since then, I see many complaints on Yelp and BBB regarding McWire Elec including an article on Solar Sting which they were caught doing this exact thing, and they weren’t even the intended target. Which also includes backdating signature and dates, which I feel is the only thing they’ll do at this time. In regards to unacceptable payment terms, I wrote on the contract that a 25% payment would be withheld in verbal agreement and writing with ****** ******* in regards to him getting the project back on track, which did not happen. Any additional addendums tried to have that removed as they claimed they spent 65k USD on 5-8k USD worth of work and were demanding full payment. LOL full payment when not even 20% of the work was completed. And to this date they have yet to provide anything to substantiate any work. Also there was no HOA approval, as it did not go thru and get approved from the Architectural and Engineering committee, so as ready as they claim they were to work, they had many months to complete that and did not.

 

If they claim 50% at 65,000USD is for planning and permits, I should have a 10 story steel structure commercial building designed. No they just do solar panels. Its isn’t that big a project to warrant that kind of design and permit money, And thusly a 50% completed project of this minor capacity would not stand in any court or arbitration in the USA.

****



Business Response: **Response's from McWire Electric on 12/16/14 are noted in blue.**
(Original reply from McWire Electric is in black, then the responses to this from **** ***** are red)

MESSAGE FROM CONSUMER:


Complaint #1:  **** states that the project was to be completed by January 17th 2014.

Response:  The original date was Jan 17th.  When we tried to move forward, we were told by ****’s business partner, ***** *****, that Jan. 17th was McWire’s date, not ****’s.  He then states that this is not time sensitive and must be configured correctly before a payment will be made.  Further, we were going to install **** *****’s project while installing ***** *****’s project, thus the volume pricing to both and **** ***** stated that he wanted to see the completion of ***** *****’s project before starting his project.

 It was actually their idea in conjunction with another project regarding ***** to put my project on hold. They seem to get confused with the Feb completion date and the march and may completion dates. I cannot understand how that gets so confused.

To clarify our original response, the email from ***** *****, ****'s business partner, with **** ***** copied, states  "After my conversation with ****, we want to be clear the January 15th date was your selection (referring to McWire Electric) of an install date, not his.  This is not time sensitive and must be configured correctly."  Additional communication was verbal that we were to complete ***** *****'s project before starting **** *****'s project.


Complaint #2:  **** states that electrical panel is the only work completed. 

Response: McWire Electric has in fact designed his solar system, done engineering load calculations, completed work orders with SDGE and has stamped and approved plans from the City of San Diego for the project.  It is true that the solar ready electrical panel is installed at ****’s home.

Regardless of what he claims, nothing has been provided to date with numerous requests. No permits, plans or otherwise, save the electrical panel that was installed per one complaint regarding no work and robbing perter to pay paul.

 

Working as a civil engineer, it doesn’t take 65k USD to complete that, as their request that funds have been depleted. Doing a two story structure right now, it took 15k USD for plans permits inspections and much more. Where did the rest of the monies go and why wasn’t there some installation taking place?

The permit receipt and stamped plans are attached.  The progress payment collected is exactly as specified on the agreement for work performed as described above in the original response.  The percentages collected as progress payments were agreed to by **** ***** when he signed his agreement on 11/27/13.  The agreement is attached.  You will see on the bottom right, the explanation of payments.

 

Complaint #3: **** states that the color match is not correct around the installed electrical panel. 

Response:  The stucco work was professionally matched, textured, colored and fogged to match the home.  It was stated to **** that if the color did not cure to 100% correct we would correct it, as it dries to match.  This is the first we have heard the complaint and we always had the intention to make this perfect.

Yes, they were notified that there is a 3 color fog coating process to actually match these properties that only the original contractor can do, and they went to home depot, and tried to cheaply color match and it shows on a million dollar home. This was requested per phone, in person to his stucco and elec box person as well as email. And u can’t just paint stucco it messes it up.

McWire Electric had agreed to perfectly color match the stucco as **** has described.  We have a professional stucco repairman on our crew.  As he stated, he fired us from the job before the project was completed.  Had we been made aware the color did not dry to match, we would have corrected it.  If we are let back on the job, this will be addressed as it is part of our comprehensive warranty.


Complaint #4:  **** states that since he “fired” McWire Electric in July, and only now that the company is now ready to move forward with his project.

Response:  Detail will show in the timeline below, but McWire Electric has been performing to contact since the agreement and the many delays were from changes from Mr. *****, approved delays as he wanted to see the completion of ***** *****’s solar project, the lack of completion of paperwork by Mr. ***** and also the lack of returning addendums allowing McWire Electric to perform work.

Erroneous claims as usual. That comment is valid with the Jan 17th completion date it doesn’t drag out until Aug or the end of eternity like he was hoping. 

The ***** ***** project has one completed and another messed up to date. You might be hearing from them as well. And they were ready to roll when fired, so they claim, but could not scan or take a cell pix of any permits  plans or anything and were given 2 weeks to provide anything. So when two weeks came and went, they were fired. Refund requested as if they actually did work, they could have forwarded it. To date, I have not seen any plans since the first day and those were heavily red lined for correction.


McWire Electric has a 30 Year Warranty and we do take care of our clients.  We have resolved all known issues with the two installations for ***** *****.  The stamped plans for Mr. *****'s project are attached.

 

Summary:  It has been McWire Electric’s intentions to meet all of **** *****’s requests.  We have been flexible to change design and specifications.  The required electrical panel was installed.  **** ***** rejected the generator because of a cosmetic blemish and did not wish for a replacement. McWire Electric subtracted 100% of the generator cost from the agreement and did not charge restocking fees to Mr. *****.  McWire Electric has been ready to complete the installation and was waiting on the signed addendum from **** ***** to move forward.  It was explained to **** ***** by ****** *******, CEO of McWire Electric, on June 9, 2014, that the signed addendum was all that was delaying this project.  McWire Electric has all permits and is ready to perform the balance of work as contracted.

 This is the first time I ve heard most of this, and Home Depot doesn’t charge restocking fees as all the HD tags were still on there. The blemish on a product charged 4x over retail is seldom acceptable in any walk of life. How this confuses them is beyond measure. Since then, I see many complaints on Yelp and BBB regarding McWire Elec including an article on Solar Sting which they were caught doing this exact thing, and they weren’t even the intended target. Which also includes backdating signature and dates, which I feel is the only thing they’ll do at this time. In regards to unacceptable payment terms, I wrote on the contract that a 25% payment would be withheld in verbal agreement and writing with ****** ******* in regards to him getting the project back on track, which did not happen. Any additional addendums tried to have that removed as they claimed they spent 65k USD on 5-8k USD worth of work and were demanding full payment. LOL full payment when not even 20% of the work was completed. And to this date they have yet to provide anything to substantiate any work. Also there was no HOA approval, as it did not go thru and get approved from the Architectural and Engineering committee, so as ready as they claim they were to work, they had many months to complete that and did not.

The generator was purchased from Home Depot and it is not returnable as it was a special order item.  The cost of the generator charged by McWire Electric is more than the Home Depot price because of the extensive electrical and gas line plumbing required for the installation.   These costs were explained to **** ***** when he added the generator to his project.  When Mr. ***** refused the generator over a minor cosmetic blemish, McWire took 100% of the generator price off the agreement.  Next, the "solar sting" **** refers to was a sale by another company.  McWire Electric was the sub contractor for the installation only.  The agreement and all paperwork were not a responsibility of McWire Electric.  Finally, the reviews on Yelp are balanced and, as this site is designed, are the opinions of consumers, not facts.  On the HOA note, we sent the HOA form to Mr. ***** on 7/22/14.  He did not sign and return the document so we could complete the process.

 

If they claim 50% at 65,000USD is for planning and permits, I should have a 10 story steel structure commercial building designed. No they just do solar panels. Its isn’t that big a project to warrant that kind of design and permit money, And thusly a 50% completed project of this minor capacity would not stand in any court or arbitration in the USA.

****

McWire Electric has performed exactly to the agreement signed by **** ***** to the point of the 50% progress payment he made.  We have his materials and permits and are ready to complete his installation.  

8/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A McWire Electric salesperson came to my house sometime in February 2014 and presented me an advertisement flyer that included a $400 gift card for purchasing a solar power system from McWire Electric. I have purchased the solar power system and installation was completed around July 1, 2014. I have emailed representatives from McWire Electric 3-4 times regarding fulfilling their advertisement but I have not received a response from anyone.

Desired Settlement: Fulfillment of advertisement flyer that was presented to me to include receiving a $400 gift card.

Business Response: Hello,
This issues has been resolved. 
On 7/23 this message was sent to Mr. ********:

Hi *****,

I want to close out the Visa Gift Card concern.  Before ******* moved to Utah, I spoke to him about this and said he had written in better discounts.  The concept with the Visa Gift Card is that is “not valid with any other offers” and ******* said he had provided better pricing and already included discounts.

Anyway, I want to honor the gift card.  The wording on the promotion is “Sign up today for a free solar evaluation and receive up to a $400 gift card when you purchase a McWire Solar System”

The qualifications for the “up to $400” are:

 1-10 Solar panels $100

11-20 Solar panels $200

21-30 Solar panels $300

31+ Solar panels $400

Your system was 16 panels so you would get a $200 card.  

 Please confirm that you are satisfied if we get you the $200 card and I will get it for you immediately.  Then I can advise the BBB we have solved this and we can close the complaint.

Thanks so  much,"

 

 

Then on 7/23 Mr. ******** responded:

******,

 Thanks for the response. I emailed ***** several times but she wouldn't respond to my emails. The $200 gift card sounds good. Thanks.

 R/

*****

 

Per this communication, the VISA gift card for $200 will be purchased immediately for Mr. ********.

 

 

Thank You,

 

****** “****” ********    

General Manager

 

P: ###-###-####    E: ******s@mcwireelectric.net

F: ###-###-####    W: www.getsolarsandiego.com     

 

WE HAVE MOVED!  Our new address is:  1736 N. Magnolia Ave.  El Cajon, CA  92020  

 

7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract for services with an approximate completion date of April 24, 2014. I paid a deposit and have not received the bulk of services. I have made inquiries and McWire does not have time or crews to complete the contract.

Desired Settlement: I want my job completed now.

Business Response: Hi,
Sorry for the delayed response. I was in Alaska from June 19th to July 1st.  I understand **** ****** wants the solar project completed.  Her job is one of the next on the board and will be complete within the next two weeks.  We are in the final stretch.

Thank You,
****** ********
General Manager
McWire Electric

7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Aug. 30, 2013 I signed a contrat with McWire Electric to install solar at my residence. The contract stated a approximate completion date of 10-30-13, and an approximate start date of 9-15-13. ON 9-12-13 my site plans were completed and signed off on by the City of Whittier. On 12-9-13 after numerous call I signed an addendum to my contract stating that they were upgrading my system in order to meet the install date. The first install date was supposed to be 12-18-13. This is around the time that my panel were delivered to my house. On approximately Jan. 3, 2014 is when my panel were installed. After the installation I was told that the City of Whittier wanted engineering for the location where the panels had been placed and this should be done in a week. It was not until mid March that a final inspection was scheduled, I was not present for this inspection. After contacting SCE and determining that I was still not a solar customer I called McWire Electric to determine what the issue was now. I was informed the first part of June that my roof needed reinforcement for the weight of the panels. On June 17th the contractor came out to my house and stated to my son he didn't see any need for reinforcement and would call me tomorrow to let me know what was going on. Since this time I have not heard what the delay is from McWire Electric. I sent an email to them around the first part of June stating that I wished to have daily emails or phone call letting me know the status of my project. My chief complaint is that I have constantly had to be the one to call and try to find out what was going on with my project, when I do leave messages they are not returned by McWire Electric.

Desired Settlement: I want my project to be completed ASAP and I would like some sort of additional discount for the inconvience that I have been caused. At this late in the game I am at the mercy of McWire Electric because the propject has been started and I don't know what else can be done.

Business Response: McWire Electric is working closely with ****** ***** to complete her project.  The solar system was installed as contracted but, as mentioned by ****** *****, the City of Whittier requested an Engineering study of the existing garage roof.   McWire Electric contracted and paid for PEE to do the engineering study.  The report concluded that a structural modification was required for these loads to meet the City of Whittier requirements.  This was a unforeseen condition. The report was completed on 4/12/14.  McWire Electric contacted several General Contractors to evaluate and quote for the *****s.  The best quote was forwarded to ****** on 6/30.  McWire offered their direct wholesale cost to ****** so the changes could be made and the project could be completed. The cost from the contractor, PMB, Inc. is $1,000.  The work was slated to be completed within 3 days.  ****** ***** replied on July 3rd that she is going to choose her own contractor to complete the retrofit.  McWire Electric sent the engineering study to ****** on 7/3/14 so that her contractor would be able to meet the requirements.  Then McWire Electric has followed up twice since to see how we can help and to schedule inspections once work is completed.  We want to help the *****s complete this project.

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract was signed 3/18/13 for home solar electrical system. Installation did not even begin until January 31, 2014. Installation did not pass city/fire marshall inspection on February 27, 2014 because incorrectly installed. Company did not return to make changes until March 21, 2014 at which time panels were removed and laid on the roof and attempt was being made to move the rails. Job was left in that state - panels are laying across all areas of the roof, the side of the house where new electrical panel installed is still open and needs stucco repair. Customer has done all of the initiation of follow-up calls to inquire about when we are scheduled for re-installation, inspection, etc. and company responds with promises of a date, only to have no one show up and no phone call as to why or when rescheduled. Most recent example: Customer called April 3, 2014 after hearing nothing more from March 21, 2014 and was told that we were rescheduled for April 15 & 16, 2014 to complete the job. Customer stayed home from work today, April 15, 2014 and after no one called or emailed they were enroute, customer called company only to be told that the job has again been rescheduled to April 17 & 18, 2014. This is not the first time this has happened. In addtion, customer has been paying on the loan for this system since May 2013 PLUS the electric bills that this solar electrical system was to have replaced. I don't understand why, after over a year, this company is not held accountable for its contract obligation and why company does not initiate contact with the customer to keep customer abreast of the state of the project.

Desired Settlement: I would like the job completed, inspection passed, and the system operational as it was advertised to us. In addition, due to the company's delay of not installing the system within a reasonable time (the contract stated estimated completion date of 5/15/13), there should be financial compensation for NOT having the electricity produced requiring the customer to pay both $300 loan payment AND the $200+ monthly electrical bills that customer believed would substantially reduced with the installation of the solar energy panels.

Business Response: Sorry for the delay.  I wanted to make sure everything was completely address for the customer, ***********.
The project is complete and inspected. We have offered some compensation for the time loss that was on our behalf.
Here is the resolution email sent to the client on 5/14/2014 at 10:55am:

Hi *****,

I am reaching back out to you as we have completed the project and passed inspections.  I want to make sure that you are happy with the work and I wanted to address the complaint on the BBB site.  Since the complaint, we have made all corrections, completed the stucco repair and passed and inspections.


I have reviewed the timeline and bills you have paid to Edison.  While understanding your frustration, many of the delays were out of our control:  You had canceled and re-instated the loan, there were hold ups with the city and fire department that you were aware of along the way, etc.  I do feel that there were delays within our control and want to take some financial responsibility.   Reviewing the 9 months you listed, your average Edison bill was $232.16.  Going over the timeline and reviewing the gaps I feel we delayed your project, I will offer we reimburse 10 weeks of your average electrical bill.  The amount you can subtract from your final payment would be $580.40.

 

I am so glad we have you completed.  We are here for you for the next 30 years for service and warranty.


Thanks Again,

 

 

****** “****” ********    

General Manager

 

P: (619)258-1242    E: *******@mcwireelectric.net

F: (619)258-1245    W: www.getsolarsandiego.com     

 

1736 N. Magnolia Ave.  El Cajon, CA  92020  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


The installation is complete, however, the system is still not operational, so the project is NOT completed. All othe considerations regarding financial compensation cannot even be contemplated until the system is complete in operation.  When we signed the contract, it was for the complete job and solar activation, not just installation. A lot of good it does to invest in the system if it isn't operational. We have already missed out on rebates and other financial compensation due to the delays, whether solely by the company or not.  As of November 2012, the plans had been finally signed off and yet it took until May 2014 to get to this point of operation? the communication problems were continuous and the fact remains that we made our utility payments to SCE while also paying for a non-installed, non-operating system. At this point, the company refuses to accept its fair share of responsibility for the tremendous delay to this project and the ongoing lack of communication with me, the customer. 

 

Regards,

*********** 



Business Response: ***** ******** system has been finalized and payment terms agreed upon.  This job is 100% complete.

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After many communications with the company stating the importance of having the work completed before the beginning of the holidays I was assured that all work would be completed before the holidays and it will not. I even early on said it might be better to wait until after the holidays to begin work but was assured they would do whatever was necessary to make it happen and should not delay until January. After agreeing to not delay the start of the work it turns out they will not complete the project before the beginning of the holidays. The estimated completion date on the contract is 20 October 2013. If the final step to project completion occurs on the next scheduled date it will be almost 2 months after the estimated completion date.

Desired Settlement: Company should consider payments already made (which includedi paying for some work not yet delivered) as payment in full

Business Response: Regarding the complaint from ***** ******:
We have completed the installation of her solar system and are waiting upon SDGE for the electrical panel upgrade.  The first appointment from SDGE moved because of rain.  The second date offered was not good for the client so we are now waiting on SDGE but have a tentative date scheduled in December.  The Project Manager and General Manager met with ***** and *** ****** on 11/20 at their home to explain the situation.  The SDGE planning is out of our control, but we understand the client's frustration.  We offered to pay a month of the client's utility bill, as that is the true cost of the delay.    They said "let's just wait and see if we can get the commitment to hold from SDGE for mid December."  We are willing to work with the client but the offer to not pay the last portion of their contract is not acceptable.

Thanks so much,
****** ********
General Manager
************
**************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Actually the second appointment for SDG &E was missed because McGuire messed up the appointment.  This fact was admitted to by their finance/scheduling person during a meeting at my house on November 20.  The next appt they wanted to schedule was for today (the day before Thanksgiving). I told them I am having many guests on Thanksgiving and that I could not do that.  
 
Also when I suggested early on to wait until January I was assured by Andrew that the company would do whatever it took to complete the job before the holidays as well as written email from their scheduling person that The project would be 100% complete well before the holidays.

Regards,

***** ******



Business Response: I have read the response from Mrs. ******.  We did commit to having her system complete this year, as mentioned.  We are holding to this goal and have the month of December.
We are on target.
We will keep the client updated.
Thank You,
****** ********
General Manager
McWire Electric

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I am not able to get the contract attached to your system for some reason.  Can I email directly to you somehow?
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
Mr. ********** claim that all they commited to was to have the project complete by the end of the year is simply incorrect.  The attached email is just one instance that shows they had commited to having the project complete before the holidays.  In addition, as you can see on the contract the estimated completion date is Oct 20, 2013.

I  also assert the project installation is not complete if the panel upgrade is not yet done.  
I have also attached a copy of the contract.

Regards,

***** ******

For some reason this doc would not attach so I just copied and inserted below.

From: *** ****** <***************>
Date: October 30, 2013 at 3:18:26 PM PDT
To: ***** ****** <
****************>
Subject: Fwd: ****** Project Update



Sent from my iPhone


Begin forwarded message:

From: "****** *****" <y************************>
Date: October 30, 2013, 12:11:53 PM PDT
To: <
***************>
Cc: "Simi " <
**************************>, "****" <****@mcwireelectric.net>, "*****" <*************************>
Subject: RE: ****** Project Update

Hello ****** & *****,

I hope all is well! I apologize for the inconvenience of the reschedule for your panel upgrade. Unfortunately, this job cannot be completed during the rain for safety reasons. **** did talk to **** @ SDG&E and unfortunately they are not able to reschedule the panel upgrade for an earlier date. **** did however mention that if there is a cancellation she would be more than happy to move you up. We are still on schedule for your install which is 11/07/13. I know you had some concerns that your project would move into the holidays, but we will be 100% complete with your project when the holidays roll around. If you have any doubts you can contact your SDG&E Coordinator directly to confirm any information that I am giving you. ****’s contact information is the following:

****

SDG&E Coordinator

619-441-3969

Please let me know If you have any questions, or if I can help you with something.

Thank you,

****** *****

Finance/Project Manager

PH: (619) 258-1242

Fax: (619) 258-1245

We Have Moved!!

Our New Address Is:

1736 N. Magnolia Ave., El Cajon, CA 92020

From: ****** ***** [mailto:*************************]
Sent: Monday, November 18, 2013 10:36 AM
To: '*** ******'
Cc: ****
Subject: Panel Upgrade

Hello ***,

There was a mix-up with the inspection between our office and SDG&E.  We requested your appointment be rushed (high priority) and it has been rescheduled for 11/27/13 @ 9:30.  You wife was very clear that we needed to be complete by Thanksgiving Day.  SDG&E made sure that they reschedule as quickly as possible.  I apologize for the confusion, but I am doing everything I can to get this completed by the target date.

Thank you,

****** *****

Finance/Project Manager

PH: (619) 258-1242

Fax: (619) 258-1245

We Have Moved!!

Our New Address Is:

1736 N. Magnolia Ave., El Cajon, CA 92020

From: *** ****** [mailto:***************]
Sent: Monday, November 18, 2013 10:22 AM
To: '****** *****'
Subject: RE: Payment Receipts

Hi ******,

Can you give me a status of our Panel Upgrade scheduled for today?

About 8:45am SDG&E was out front of the house and someone was opening my electrical panel.  They

v

 

11/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was solicited by company via door-to-door sales, I contacted them to make inquiry into an estimate for installing solar on my home. ******* ***** arrived and I proceeded to inform him I was on a medical disability, on pain medication and did not want to commit to any type of transaction at that point in time. I explained to him that all I wanted was a "quote" to get an idea of the potential future cost of solar. I continually explained to him that I cannot afford any installation at this time due to being on disability. I was informed that what I was signing was not a contract, but authorization for the company to run my credit thru a bank for a possible loan. He was extremely pushy and kept telling me that I was not committed to anything and that it was just for authorization to run my credit. I asked why it said installation agreement on the top of the page, and he said "oh, that's just paperwork we need to fill out to run your credit." I kept telling that I did not want to sign anything and just wanted a quote. He assured me several times that it was only to run my credit to see if I would qualify. I was on pain medication, I told him so several times, I was not able to read the fine print on the paperwork and he just said I was not committing to anything. He was extremely pushy. I have been harassed weekly for over 5 weeks to set up the installation and proceed. Even the bank they submitted my credit to has been calling me to get me to start the process. I've spoken to the manager, ****** ********, twice and was told that since I signed a contract I would need to pay over $2,000 to cancel or provide him proof that I was in foreclosure on my home. The sales tactic used was dishonest and I feel like I was taken advantage of as a disabled individual. I've tried to work this out directly with the company, to no avail.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of installation agreement dated August 3, 2013 with no fees involved and no future contact by this company.

Business Response: We do offer estimates for solar at no obligation.  We offer a quote that is good for an entire year. If the homeowner chooses to go solar, as is the case with **** ***********, we then create an agreement for work to be performed, complete a credit application, and complete a # Day Right to Cancel form.  We fill these out at the client’s home, explain each in detail and get signatures on each form.   After the 3 Days lapsed we contacted the bank and **** was approved for the solar installation.   The documents are attached showing the signed agreement, lending application and right to cancel.  **** went over these in detail with our Sr. Solar Consultant, ******* *****, and understood all the details of these documents.  ******* is our best consultant and is a Marine.  He is very respectful and is definitely not pushy.  
Please see the attached and advise what additional information you would require.
The original complaint details are at the bottom of this email.
Thank You,
 
****** ****** ********  
General Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First I would like to correct ****** on his statement , nothing was explained to me as the contracts that he Mr *****, was advising me to sign were for credit check only. As stated on original complaint as soon as I met Mr ***** I advised him I am on state disability and pain medication and that I was seeking estimate Only on solar and that I could not afford nor did I have intensions to install solar at any time soon. I felt I had made myself very clear on where I stood on this appointment I advised Mr ***** numerous times I did not want to sign anything  regarding installing solar , he kept advising me  filling out papers and sign here told him numerous times again I just felt pushed into something that I  had no idea he was setting me up into a contract as stated earlier I have been under strong pain medication , just felt fully taken advantage of so he could make a sale even if  it  was deceitful as he sat there  and said I wasn't signing anything that I was obligated to, he had all papers folded on clip board filling everything out not explaining anything  or what it was that I was actually truthfully signing. I would like to  just be done with this Company and move on. Thank You

**** ***********



s,

Business Response: As the our original replies illustrates, Mrs. *********** signed an agreement, filled out a credit application with perfect hand writing and signed and was explained her 3 day right to cancel.  Clearly it is not our business practice to take advantage of anyone. 
Mrs. *********** referred to three items:

1)      She was on medical disability

2)      Heavy pain medication

3)      She is disabled

If Mrs. *********** can provide verification of the three items above, at the time of contract signing, then we will void the agreement with no fees.  Our feeling is that the agreement was filled out by a lucid person and that she is trying to escape late cancellation fees, per section 15a on the back of her agreement,  after work was performed.
 
Thank you for your assistance,

 
****** ****** ********  
General Manager

9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: McWire electric installed a solar system on my townhouse. The contract stated they much notify the HOA to get approval prior to getting on the roof. They failed to contact the HOA and I was fined $100 dollars by the association and required to have the roof reinspected at a cost of $250 and repairs for broken tile at $150. During that process the association ask for the solar installation plans and notice the electrical conduit was not installed to spec. McWire came out after going back and forth and worked with the association to come up with a plan to redo the conduit. The problem is they want to charge me $1860.00 to do the work. I feel they are responsible for fixing what they did wrong and refund me the $500 that it cost me by them not following the contract direction. I was even will to pay the $500 if they fixed the conduit per the specification and satisfying the association. When asked why the are not fixing it at no cost. They stated they are not responsible. The project manager has state to the association they are not responsible because I approved it which I did not and they are telling my wife they are not responsible because the association would not previously respond to them but there is no proof that contact was ever made.

Desired Settlement: I wish for them to redo the conduit per the specification and to be approved by the association. At no cost to me.

Business Response: ****, 

Pleasure speaking with you.On the ******* complaint, he was asking us to do work out of our scope of work for free.We submitted a change order for the work & he then accepted to pay us to do the change in scope.He thought at first it was in our contract to do the work, then later afterwards decided that we would meet half wayOn the cost of the work to complete. Work is being scheduled to complete by next  week and he should be fine now

****** *******
CEO

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******

3/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a solar system installed with McWire Electric and were told that we would receive a free panel with each referral. We referred a family of ours (****) and when they were at a fair they went to the McWire booth and listed us a reference and have since had their system installed. When I followed up with McWire about the Free Panel we should be receiving here is the response I received:Hi ******,We really appreciate you as a customer and want to reward you when you have referrals. We met **** **** at the La Mesa Octoberfest and because of this, we do not view this as a referral. As you do come across friends and family or neighbors that you can refer to us, we will be excited to put a panel on your home.Thanks so much.The **** Family went to the booth because we referrd them to McWire and has listed us a reference on all their paperwork! So why when it comes down to us receiving our Free panel they have this reponse and then tells me to refer others? I am so disappointed with this Company and feel that once they received their funds they could care less about doing right by their Customer.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the free panel I am entitled to.

Business Response:

****,

Thank you for your reaching out to our firm in regards with our customer Mrs. ******* *******. We were shocked when we got this complaint against us as our contract was to install solar on her house not to give her free panels.

We do have a program for free panels but she did not hit the mark.

Our program for a Free solar panel is basically if a current customer refers us to a friend or family member we will give them a free solar panel for each referral.

In ******’s case, we met their neighbor Mr. **** ( new customer ) at the La Mesa Octoberfest in 2012. Signed a contract with them as well. We had already completed the ******’s project.

Since they were friends and neighbors, Mr. **** asked the ******* how we did for them. This was considered a credit / performance reference not a referral.

A REFERAL is defined as ( physically stearing a potential customer to contract with us prior to us meeting them on our own ) we met the ****s on our own.

1. To direct to a source for help or information: referred her to a heart specialist; referred me to his last employer for a recommendation.

2. To assign or attribute to; regard as originated by.

3. To assign to or regard as belonging within a particular kind or class.

4. To submit (a matter in dispute) to an authority for arbitration, decision, or examination.

A REFERENCE is defined as

a. A person who is in a position to recommend another or to vouch for his or her fitness, as for a job.

b. A statement about a person's qualifications, character, and dependability.

These are totally different meanings and where we draw the line on what is accepted as a referral and what is not.

We thanked them for telling the new customer we were good and took care of them. but this was not a referral.

We also have documents attached stating that we met the ****’s on our own not referred by the *******. Please see attached.

 

 

****** ******* - Director of Operations

" Conserving Power For California's Future"

www.mcwireelectric.net

Office# (619)258-1242

Fax#     (619)258-1245

Direct# *************